Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sun Joe Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Sun Joe Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

The compact design of the Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower makes it very easy to push and maneuver on small lawns. This versatile manual lawn mower is maintenance-free and quite easy to assemble. It offers a nine-position manual height adjustment, so you can customize the push reel mower to suit your preferences. The Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower comes with five steel blades, two large 10" wheels and two small 6" wheels. The 6.6 gal grass catcher collects grass clippings, and detaches easily for convenient disposal.
Average Customer Rating:
3.985 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation82%55 out of 67reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 32 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Pass! Pass! Passssssssssssssss!

10/02/2012
By ,
Tulare, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Once upon time I had one of the original reel mowers made of heavy steel. It was wonderful, but when I sold my house, the mower stayed. Fast forward 14 years... I buy this mower hoping it would be everything my old mower was and more because it came with a bag. WRONG! It was hard to use, push, get grass into the bag and manuver. The only time it worked well was a flat, even piece of the lawn where the grass was not too thick... not tall, thick. If you have the muscle to try and push this thing around... go for it. I am small and simply could not make the reel turn properly... add to that the fact that the handles are rather flimsy and move too much. We wound up having to get a small simple lawn mower, also at Walmart that works just great, doesn't have a bag and mulches just the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Not suitable for 'wild' yards

04/16/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased and used this product, or at least tried to, a few times. I live in Georgia and don't have one of those lawns that are one consistency/type of grass throughout. It cut the regular soft/green/level grass fine. It will make your arms strengthen though. When I got to parts of my lawn that had the grass rising from the lawn, like a little explosion of grass, it would not mow it. I had to go over it multiple times, and even then some of the grass just laid down. Random weeds or grass with the texture/thickness of daffodils would only bend or lay down. They sprung back up the next day. Also, parts of the yard where the grass was dry/brownish the mower would get stuck. The blades do fine on regular healthy grass, but if you have any imperfections in your yard be ready to spend twice as long mowing.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Not impressed...

06/14/2012
By ,
iowa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this mower thinking 1) it would save on gas money 2) based on other reviews, it seemed to work well.
After I got it home and tried it out, it really wasn't anything I expected. It wouldn't go through the grass to start with. It would keep getting jammed up. So we had to raise it to the tallest setting, and keep dropping it down to lower settings. It took almost 3 passes just to mow the front yard, where as with a gas powered, it would have only taken 1. Another reason I bought this mower was for the catch attachment, but only half of the grass (that was actually cut) would make it into there. There is also a safety guard on the front, this prevents anything tall from being cut because it just bends the tall grass down and it doesn't hit the blades.
Needless to say I'm not impressed with this product at all, ecspecially for just shy of $100.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Good for the price

02/13/2014
By ,
Lakc Charles, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a small yard and this is great for me. The person who was cutting my yard moved away so it has taken a couple of passes to cut the grass down to the height I want but it did it. I read the reviews before I bought this one and saw several that said to do the first pass on high and then lower the blades. I did this and had no problems. My yard looks great again and I get some much needed exercise.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Great Mower for small flat yards

05/26/2014
By ,
Bennington, VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only is the price great, the price to keep it going is even better- no gas, no electricity...
Obviously, you can't use this on grass that's really tall- the grass just bends over and can't be cut. But if you keep your grass fairly well tended, have a smallish yard with no hilly landscape this is a great mover and the workout is free- no need to join a gym!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

excellent mower for small area

05/22/2012
By ,
myrtle beach, sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mower is very easy to use and does an excellent job. It was very easy to assemble and ready for use. It is almost effortless to push.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Great mower

04/09/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great mower. Easy to put together. Great value for the cost. Have a small lawn but great for exercise for a senior citizen. Would recommended it to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Better than expected

05/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised by this little mower. I wasn't sure exactly the quality that it would be for the money. It is well made and performs far better than I thought it would. The grass catcher that comes with it might as well not be sent and knock off $10 from the price as it doesn't do anything at all. If you have a rough yard I wouldn't recommend this mower for that type of terrain. If you have a flat yard that is relatively small this will pay for itself in no time flat. It was easy to put together and you can really get the mower humming along. It doesn't do well in longer grass, but once you have a height that you want to maintain it works well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Good For Green Lawn

05/08/2014
By ,
Sylvania,GA 30467
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I returned the item to Walmart...It was okay for cutting "grassy area", but my yard is not really grassy; I have "weeds" and it would not cut the weeds...It was a mistake on my part.I have no doubt if my yard was green and grassy, the Reel Mower would have been ideal for maintaining my lawn...Thankfully, Walmart allowed me to return the mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher
08/01/2012
By ,
kissimmee, florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works wonderfully. If grass is high, put on highest level and then lower when you go on the second pass. With the 9 different settings you can adjust to the height of the growth of grass. Even with carpal tunnel it was easy to push. If pushing for long periods - just use wrist braces- so as not to do overdo pressure on wrist. easy to push-even grandkids pushed it- some of the younger ones also wanted to push it. Great on the pocketbook (no gas), good for excerise and even better for the environment!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Wanted a way to save on the gas.

04/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GOOD FOR THE ENVIORMENT. GOOD EXERSISE. No longer have to buy gas ........ we spent more on gas and not use most of it. our yard is small so we did not need anything else.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Great manual mower

07/06/2012
By ,
Balmorhea, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The mower takes a little to get use too. You need to train youself when to mow before the grass gets to tall. The reason I purchased the mower because no gas is needed and to maintain is simple.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher
06/20/2012
By ,
Memphis, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love using the Reel Mower with or without the catcher to maintain my lawn. The grass is cut with the regular mower first. Then I use the reel mower to maintain it. I found it difficult to use in really tall grass.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Great little mower

05/27/2012
By ,
Petoskey, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have only a small grass area in our yard plus the boulevard that need to be mowed, and this reel mower is perfect for it. It is easy to push, rolls smoothly, is sharp, and the handle is comfortable. Much better than firing up a gas engine, so you can feel good about that, too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Great for clean mowing

08/16/2012
By ,
Clarksville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mower is easy to use & cuts the grass cleanly. I am 65 & my yard slopes in in two directions so it is not easy to mow. This mower is as good as a gas or electric without the fuel usage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Loving this mower!

05/28/2012
By ,
Mishawaka, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used this mower twice, however it has met my expectations and then some. I love how easy it is to start mowing-don't have to worry about storing the gasoline, buying oil for the motor, getting killed by rogue rocks, having my eye impaled like a shishkabob by a sharpened, flying stick, or annoying the neighbors with all the noise.
I have at least two different types of grass on my lawn - one is super soft and stays pretty short due to growing in the shade. This is very easy to mow, and probably the preferred type of grass for these push reel mowers. The other type of grass is very thick and hardy, and littered with fox-tails and other thick weeds. After I was done mowing this part of the lawn, it looked like a terrible hair cut. I suggest that you know your grass before you get this mower, just so you won't be disappointed.
I paired this purchase with the Expert brand electric trimmer to get rid of the aforementioned hardy weeds that the reel mower just can't cut. And as long as you stay on top of the lawn-don't let the grass get too high-it makes it soo much easier to cut.
The grass catcher really wasn't needed, but that is just my personal preference and it definitely can be a plus for people that don't enjoy raking and/or leaving the grass clippings on the lawn.
Assembling the mower was easy and simple, I built it in my living room within 15 minutes.
The only cons for this product is that it does not cut as well as a power mower, and the pros (noise reduction, cost in upkeep and fueling, ease of take down and storage, and reduction of air pollution).
Buy it and Captain Planet will be your bff!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
 
My Product Recommendations
Expert Gardener 8" 2.2-Amp String Trimmer
2 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
 
 
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Sun Joe 18 Manual Reel Mower

05/23/2014
By ,
Ormond Beach, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once the wheels adjusted to movement, it works like a dream. I find it is cleaner than an electric and I have to sweep around less. Therefore, it is more convenient. It was just slow to begin with because it had never been used before.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Great product for the price.

09/22/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does a great job if you don't let the grass get too high. The bar that covers the front of the blades knocks the taller stuff over instead of cutting it. Easy to push and does a great job if you mow before it gets too high. I would recommend it to others. Love the fact that I don't have to constantly buy gas and oil, and that it does not make all that noise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Just ok

06/04/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We got this type of mower because our yard is basically flat and easy, we didn't want the loud gas guzzling poluting normal mowers and wanted a more natural look to our yard and not the neat little rows. So if your grass is not more then 5 inches high and its dry this is an easy mower to use, like taking a sunday stroll, but any height on the grass or damp and your in for a struggle and the blades will dull fast. I would recommend it to someone whos not likely to let the grass grow too long before cutting.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

mowing

05/21/2014
By ,
Independence, Mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was very hard to mow the first time but after we got the grass down to the mowers highest level it has been easy to mow and with it being spring, everything growing so fast, we have to mow every couple days to keep it easy to push but its way much better than trying over and over to get the gas mower to start. we did try using the catcher once when we first started but it didn't help much, it did catch most of the grass but it wasn't necessary, we haven't used it sense. over all I would buy this product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1 2 3 Next