Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sun Joe Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Sun Joe Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

The compact design of the Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower makes it very easy to push and maneuver on small lawns. This versatile manual lawn mower is maintenance-free and quite easy to assemble. It offers a nine-position manual height adjustment, so you can customize the push reel mower to suit your preferences. The Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower comes with five steel blades, two large 10" wheels and two small 6" wheels. The 6.6 gal grass catcher collects grass clippings, and detaches easily for convenient disposal.
Average Customer Rating:
3.974 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
9
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation81%62 out of 77reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 34 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
9
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Pass! Pass! Passssssssssssssss!

10/02/2012
By ,
Tulare, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Once upon time I had one of the original reel mowers made of heavy steel. It was wonderful, but when I sold my house, the mower stayed. Fast forward 14 years... I buy this mower hoping it would be everything my old mower was and more because it came with a bag. WRONG! It was hard to use, push, get grass into the bag and manuver. The only time it worked well was a flat, even piece of the lawn where the grass was not too thick... not tall, thick. If you have the muscle to try and push this thing around... go for it. I am small and simply could not make the reel turn properly... add to that the fact that the handles are rather flimsy and move too much. We wound up having to get a small simple lawn mower, also at Walmart that works just great, doesn't have a bag and mulches just the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Pleasantly Surprised

06/18/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The reel mower was simple to assemble. It took only a few minutes, the instructions are clearly written and easily accomplished. The mower is much easier to push than expected. I live in central Fl and have St Augustine grass and lots of tall thin weeds that pop up. After reading other reviews I didn't expect it to cut the tall thin weeds, and as expected it doesn't cut the weeds. But, it does cut the grass. So, you have to keep the yard cut regularly. Pushing the mower was actually much easier than I expected. It does get stuck, the reel gets jammed and needs to be cleared. This happens more than I would like, but it is easy to fix. The yard has to be cleared of sticks and other things that would cause the mower to jam. The grass catcher fills quickly and needs to be emptied often. It is definitely not for someone who isn't willing to put effort into the whole process. It doesn't throw sand and debris into the air so it is much cleaner to use and doesn't stir asthma and allergies as much as a power mower.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

cutting old school style

06/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i read the reviews and it is was it is. some people live in a world of ridiculous expectations. Got it , took it out of the box, just had to snap on handle and screw the handle together and pop on the catcher. Adjusted height and catcher and mowed grass that was probably too high and it did well. Had to go over some spots 3-4 times because grass was too high. no big deal. did a great job and is green footprint. I have had a shoulder dislocated several times so pulling on a lawn mower is not conducive to my health. It is quiet so I can mow at 6AM if I please. No need to keep a gas can on hand anymore and it takes up 1/4 the space in the shed. My yard is a postage stamp so this rules for me. I think they make a snow removal machine so I might look into that. The catcher fills quickly and makes almost a mulch. I like it and for under a c-note ($100) it is all kinds of fun
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

find another option

07/02/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought this mower with too high hopes. it didn't cut the grass, only cut some weeds in a 2x2 area after going over back & forth at least 5 times, it never did cut the paper that was included as a means of adjusting the blades; maybe I just got a lemon. I wondered if the blades were on backwards, I think I tried everything for a resolution. However I was mostly attracted to the catcher so I wouldn't have to rake afterwards - it does not hold more than a handful then it starts to fall out the front of catcher. item returned
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Not impressed...

06/14/2012
By ,
iowa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this mower thinking 1) it would save on gas money 2) based on other reviews, it seemed to work well.
After I got it home and tried it out, it really wasn't anything I expected. It wouldn't go through the grass to start with. It would keep getting jammed up. So we had to raise it to the tallest setting, and keep dropping it down to lower settings. It took almost 3 passes just to mow the front yard, where as with a gas powered, it would have only taken 1. Another reason I bought this mower was for the catch attachment, but only half of the grass (that was actually cut) would make it into there. There is also a safety guard on the front, this prevents anything tall from being cut because it just bends the tall grass down and it doesn't hit the blades.
Needless to say I'm not impressed with this product at all, ecspecially for just shy of $100.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

I LOVE this mower!

05/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm pretty new to living on my own. My boyfriend and I started renting a home together about 7 months ago. We were in need of a mower to take care of our tiny yard. Being college students, any other kind of mower wasn't really in our price range; not to mention having to spend money on gas or adding to our electric bill. I read the reviews on this little guy and thought, "Why not? At least I'll get a work out."
I used it for the first time today and WOW! I did not expect it to work so well. Yes, it's a work out but you don't exhaust yourself doing it. I'm a 22-year-old, 120-pound female with very little muscle and I had no problems. Even in the areas with taller grass I only had to mow over them a few extra times.
Not to mention, it's really fun! There's some satisfaction in actually seeing your mower cut the grass and knowing you're the one giving it the power to do so (then again, I find joy in little things like that).
I would HIGHLY recommend this mower to anyone with a small to medium size yard who is looking to save money and time. Maintenance is very easy-you just have to wipe off the excess grass on the blades and it's small enough to store in a shed or garage. I ended up not using the grass catcher and just raked up the clippings when I was done. The fact that I was not too tired from mowing to do so is a good indication that this mower has been a worthy purchase for us!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Not suitable for 'wild' yards

04/16/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased and used this product, or at least tried to, a few times. I live in Georgia and don't have one of those lawns that are one consistency/type of grass throughout. It cut the regular soft/green/level grass fine. It will make your arms strengthen though. When I got to parts of my lawn that had the grass rising from the lawn, like a little explosion of grass, it would not mow it. I had to go over it multiple times, and even then some of the grass just laid down. Random weeds or grass with the texture/thickness of daffodils would only bend or lay down. They sprung back up the next day. Also, parts of the yard where the grass was dry/brownish the mower would get stuck. The blades do fine on regular healthy grass, but if you have any imperfections in your yard be ready to spend twice as long mowing.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Mower

07/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excelent product
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Not all it's cracked up to be

06/30/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I thought this mower would work with my not very thick grass, but it does not cut the long seed stems that grow in the yard. Only cuts flat blades of grass that is not to thick. Purchase is not worth 100 dollars.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

excellent mower for small area

05/22/2012
By ,
myrtle beach, sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mower is very easy to use and does an excellent job. It was very easy to assemble and ready for use. It is almost effortless to push.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Good for the price

02/13/2014
By ,
Lakc Charles, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a small yard and this is great for me. The person who was cutting my yard moved away so it has taken a couple of passes to cut the grass down to the height I want but it did it. I read the reviews before I bought this one and saw several that said to do the first pass on high and then lower the blades. I did this and had no problems. My yard looks great again and I get some much needed exercise.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Great Mower for small flat yards

05/26/2014
By ,
Bennington, VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only is the price great, the price to keep it going is even better- no gas, no electricity...
Obviously, you can't use this on grass that's really tall- the grass just bends over and can't be cut. But if you keep your grass fairly well tended, have a smallish yard with no hilly landscape this is a great mover and the workout is free- no need to join a gym!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Great mower

04/09/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great mower. Easy to put together. Great value for the cost. Have a small lawn but great for exercise for a senior citizen. Would recommended it to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Sun Joe Mower

06/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It worked well, I knew someone who had bought one.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Love it!

06/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love mowing with it, it is my exercise almost daily. It handles very easy and takes up very little space when stored.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Better than expected

05/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised by this little mower. I wasn't sure exactly the quality that it would be for the money. It is well made and performs far better than I thought it would. The grass catcher that comes with it might as well not be sent and knock off $10 from the price as it doesn't do anything at all. If you have a rough yard I wouldn't recommend this mower for that type of terrain. If you have a flat yard that is relatively small this will pay for itself in no time flat. It was easy to put together and you can really get the mower humming along. It doesn't do well in longer grass, but once you have a height that you want to maintain it works well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Sun Joe Mow 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

06/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use cuts small yards good . Gets into the hard to reach places . Easy to clean after mowing. Cutting Blades are very sharp
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Great manual mower

07/06/2012
By ,
Balmorhea, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The mower takes a little to get use too. You need to train youself when to mow before the grass gets to tall. The reason I purchased the mower because no gas is needed and to maintain is simple.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Great for clean mowing

08/16/2012
By ,
Clarksville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mower is easy to use & cuts the grass cleanly. I am 65 & my yard slopes in in two directions so it is not easy to mow. This mower is as good as a gas or electric without the fuel usage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Grass to thick

05/26/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Depending on the grass in your yard I would advice keep the receipt. My grass is to thick I can't even use the reel mower.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next