Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sun Joe Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Sun Joe Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

The compact design of the Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower makes it very easy to push and maneuver on small lawns. This versatile manual lawn mower is maintenance-free and quite easy to assemble. It offers a nine-position manual height adjustment, so you can customize the push reel mower to suit your preferences. The Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower comes with five steel blades, two large 10" wheels and two small 6" wheels. The 6.6 gal grass catcher collects grass clippings, and detaches easily for convenient disposal.
Average Customer Rating:
3.97 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation82%54 out of 66reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 32 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Pass! Pass! Passssssssssssssss!

10/02/2012
By ,
Tulare, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Once upon time I had one of the original reel mowers made of heavy steel. It was wonderful, but when I sold my house, the mower stayed. Fast forward 14 years... I buy this mower hoping it would be everything my old mower was and more because it came with a bag. WRONG! It was hard to use, push, get grass into the bag and manuver. The only time it worked well was a flat, even piece of the lawn where the grass was not too thick... not tall, thick. If you have the muscle to try and push this thing around... go for it. I am small and simply could not make the reel turn properly... add to that the fact that the handles are rather flimsy and move too much. We wound up having to get a small simple lawn mower, also at Walmart that works just great, doesn't have a bag and mulches just the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Not suitable for 'wild' yards

04/16/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased and used this product, or at least tried to, a few times. I live in Georgia and don't have one of those lawns that are one consistency/type of grass throughout. It cut the regular soft/green/level grass fine. It will make your arms strengthen though. When I got to parts of my lawn that had the grass rising from the lawn, like a little explosion of grass, it would not mow it. I had to go over it multiple times, and even then some of the grass just laid down. Random weeds or grass with the texture/thickness of daffodils would only bend or lay down. They sprung back up the next day. Also, parts of the yard where the grass was dry/brownish the mower would get stuck. The blades do fine on regular healthy grass, but if you have any imperfections in your yard be ready to spend twice as long mowing.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Better than expected

05/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised by this little mower. I wasn't sure exactly the quality that it would be for the money. It is well made and performs far better than I thought it would. The grass catcher that comes with it might as well not be sent and knock off $10 from the price as it doesn't do anything at all. If you have a rough yard I wouldn't recommend this mower for that type of terrain. If you have a flat yard that is relatively small this will pay for itself in no time flat. It was easy to put together and you can really get the mower humming along. It doesn't do well in longer grass, but once you have a height that you want to maintain it works well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Great Mower for small flat yards

05/26/2014
By ,
Bennington, VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only is the price great, the price to keep it going is even better- no gas, no electricity...
Obviously, you can't use this on grass that's really tall- the grass just bends over and can't be cut. But if you keep your grass fairly well tended, have a smallish yard with no hilly landscape this is a great mover and the workout is free- no need to join a gym!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Good For Green Lawn

05/08/2014
By ,
Sylvania,GA 30467
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I returned the item to Walmart...It was okay for cutting "grassy area", but my yard is not really grassy; I have "weeds" and it would not cut the weeds...It was a mistake on my part.I have no doubt if my yard was green and grassy, the Reel Mower would have been ideal for maintaining my lawn...Thankfully, Walmart allowed me to return the mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Good for the price

02/13/2014
By ,
Lakc Charles, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a small yard and this is great for me. The person who was cutting my yard moved away so it has taken a couple of passes to cut the grass down to the height I want but it did it. I read the reviews before I bought this one and saw several that said to do the first pass on high and then lower the blades. I did this and had no problems. My yard looks great again and I get some much needed exercise.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Great mower

04/09/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great mower. Easy to put together. Great value for the cost. Have a small lawn but great for exercise for a senior citizen. Would recommended it to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Wanted a way to save on the gas.

04/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GOOD FOR THE ENVIORMENT. GOOD EXERSISE. No longer have to buy gas ........ we spent more on gas and not use most of it. our yard is small so we did not need anything else.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Not impressed...

06/14/2012
By ,
iowa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this mower thinking 1) it would save on gas money 2) based on other reviews, it seemed to work well.
After I got it home and tried it out, it really wasn't anything I expected. It wouldn't go through the grass to start with. It would keep getting jammed up. So we had to raise it to the tallest setting, and keep dropping it down to lower settings. It took almost 3 passes just to mow the front yard, where as with a gas powered, it would have only taken 1. Another reason I bought this mower was for the catch attachment, but only half of the grass (that was actually cut) would make it into there. There is also a safety guard on the front, this prevents anything tall from being cut because it just bends the tall grass down and it doesn't hit the blades.
Needless to say I'm not impressed with this product at all, ecspecially for just shy of $100.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Sun Joe 18 Manual Reel Mower

05/23/2014
By ,
Ormond Beach, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once the wheels adjusted to movement, it works like a dream. I find it is cleaner than an electric and I have to sweep around less. Therefore, it is more convenient. It was just slow to begin with because it had never been used before.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

excellent mower for small area

05/22/2012
By ,
myrtle beach, sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mower is very easy to use and does an excellent job. It was very easy to assemble and ready for use. It is almost effortless to push.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Just ok

06/04/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We got this type of mower because our yard is basically flat and easy, we didn't want the loud gas guzzling poluting normal mowers and wanted a more natural look to our yard and not the neat little rows. So if your grass is not more then 5 inches high and its dry this is an easy mower to use, like taking a sunday stroll, but any height on the grass or damp and your in for a struggle and the blades will dull fast. I would recommend it to someone whos not likely to let the grass grow too long before cutting.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Serves the purpose with Style.....

07/13/2014
By ,
CP, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice look for its manual use.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

mowing

05/21/2014
By ,
Independence, Mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was very hard to mow the first time but after we got the grass down to the mowers highest level it has been easy to mow and with it being spring, everything growing so fast, we have to mow every couple days to keep it easy to push but its way much better than trying over and over to get the gas mower to start. we did try using the catcher once when we first started but it didn't help much, it did catch most of the grass but it wasn't necessary, we haven't used it sense. over all I would buy this product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher
08/01/2012
By ,
kissimmee, florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works wonderfully. If grass is high, put on highest level and then lower when you go on the second pass. With the 9 different settings you can adjust to the height of the growth of grass. Even with carpal tunnel it was easy to push. If pushing for long periods - just use wrist braces- so as not to do overdo pressure on wrist. easy to push-even grandkids pushed it- some of the younger ones also wanted to push it. Great on the pocketbook (no gas), good for excerise and even better for the environment!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Very pleased

05/15/2014
By ,
Equality, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very well pleased with this purchase. I was looking for something functional that my grandson could use to help in the yard. We both love it! I don't recommend it for people with very weedy lawns but for cutting grass, it earns a five star rating from our household.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Good mower - Marginal handle

06/24/2014
By ,
Western PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to push, cuts well, easy to adjust the cutting height. The mower is sturdy and seems well built, but the handle is not as sturdy. Sometimes it seem like the handle will bend if I push too hard (haven't bent it though).
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Save your money

06/20/2014
By ,
gloversville, ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I didn't think I good go wrong with an old fashion mower for me little lawn. I was very wrong.
The mower looks well made and putting it together was easy but the cutting blades didn't cut anything but the paper they out in the box to adjust the blades. I ended up returning the mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

Great for flat, even ground

06/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am unable to give a five star rating because of the condition of my yard. The ground has dips, which make it hard to push this mower evenly. Also, it does not chop some of the "finer" blades of grass. It would be fantastic (and easy to use) on nice, even ground. This only makes me want to till my yard and try again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sun Joe Mow Joe 18" Manual Reel Mower with Catcher

it doesn't cut very cleanly...

06/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm THINKING OF RETURNING IT FOR A REFUND...CAN I JUST TAKE IT TO THE STORE IN MY TOWN? And does it have to be packed up in the same box, or can I just take the mower to Walmart with the receipt for a refund?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next