Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sun Joe Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Sun Joe Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

The Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder makes quick work out of brush, leaves and branches. Turn your yard rubbish into garden mulch, while doing your part to reuse, reduce and recycle. The CJ601E can handle sticks and wood limbs up to 1-1/2-inches in diameter. The minimized wood chips make great mulch to put around your trees and flowerbeds. It has a lightweight design that makes it easy to move around the yard.
Average Customer Rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation88%53 out of 60reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Light weight chipper/mulcher

08/06/2012
By ,
SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product works well for chipping and mulching everyday garden trimmings. Easy to use. It is somewhat fragile - an odd part broke after three days usage, but it is under warranty.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Good tool for small yard projects

01/18/2014
By ,
Austin, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Assemby was easy. Caution and safety info was adequate.
I did read other users comments and agree straight branches quick chipping. Those with bends or where multiply branches join in it's better to separate them takes a little longer but well worth the time. The Sun Joe only jammed on me once I did not notice a knot growth on a branch and this is where it jammed.
I chipped two types of wood. Very dry from a tree that I removed a year ago and the recent trees I removed recently. The dry wood did take the 1 1/2" brances well. The green branches same size I had to feed slowly.
Reference what someone else posted:
a. very small twigs do not chip. I removed them while working.
b. This unit does not shred. The opening is to small, with two chipping blades most of what I did shred just went thru and it was hard to tell if it shred at all.
This is a good tool for the price. Take your time, split branches to reduce jams, and keep the chipping area clean
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

This Was a Great Purchase

05/04/2014
By ,
E. Hartford, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been very pleased with this little wood chipper so far. It has performed very well and done exactly what it is advertised to do and a little more. The larger pieces need to be fed slowly, but so far I have had only 3 jams (in a total of about 6 hours of operation) and those were on hard wood or on large pieces at or more than 1.5 inches. The jams are easy to clear. Turn off the machine and pull the plug. Then, unscrew the big red knob. The whole top folds over for cleaning and debris removal. I think this will be easy to get to for sharpening and/or blade changes, too. To put it back in working order, just close the top again and screw the red knob back down (all the way). Plug it back in and turn it on. 2 minutes tops.
I was skeptical about this because it is electric, but absolutely no problem. Assembly was less than 20 minutes and very easy. The product shipped fast and arrived in good shape. This little machine did a great job for me and was well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

WOW, mine really, really works!

04/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered online the 7 th it came to my house the 11 th. I used it this afternoon for about three hours [with 2 or 3 coffee breaks] and filled two 40 gal. trash cans with chips! The chips are much finer than I thought thew would be and the thing did not jam or stop once! I was chipping dry willow and walnut not over 1 1/2". This is what I bought it for and it works GREAT! I think it's very important to keep the blades sharp.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Good for the small stuff

06/22/2012
By ,
Pueblo, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With a lot of overgrown trees to remove from my yard and lot's of clean up, this unit is perfectly servicable for the small things, which the majority of the taking-up-space volume of trees and branches turn into once they are cut up. I have a chainsaw to cut the rest into firewood, so it's no big deal. It won't handle anything bigger than about an inch or inch and a half, the branches have to be cut so that they are straight enough to fit through the opening, you will need some dry, dead things to run though it frequently to "clear" it, and it's best to let it "rest" for a little bit after each pile reaches the height of the bottom opening. I've used it for hours every day after work, and the only problems are operator error when I try to run something through that doesn't fit, but it's easy to open and clear when that happens. The time it takes to cut another stack of branches with a pair of pruners is long enough for a cool off period if it seems to be getting hot or working too hard.. It just isn't heavy duty unit designed for the job I bought it to do, and I knew that to begin with. For the price, it is most certainly worth the money. It will take care of the most unsightly mess and if I kill it with overwork, it's cheap enough to buy a new one. If it survives the abuse I'm putting it through with a major tree clearing project, it will be really good for the pruning that will go on in future years. If not, it did it's job, it cost less than having someone come over and do the chipping for me, and I'll give it a decent recyling burial. It paid for itself in the first week.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Not Very Impressive

02/10/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The biggest issue with this little machine is the screw to open the hatch for clearing a jam. OMG! The screw is SOOO long, it takes forever to undo it, then a mere second to clear the jam, then more unbearably long moments screwing it back in again. A lock switch would be a much better solution. Something like a foot locker type lock.
Because of that, you quickly lose interest in chipping anything worthwhile. I got this to chip up small cedar twigs to mulch around the yard, and it does a nice job of it. But the time spent on any jams is just not really worth the hassle of pulling it out, thinning the sides of the limbs and twigs to fit in, and seeing the small pile of chips from so much work.
Pretty disappointed...even for the low price.
I would NOT recommend this to my friends.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Works Good

02/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now I've only used it for one day, so I can't attest to durability. But it's made a nice pile of mulch for me already. I'd say about enough to fill two five gallon buckets so far. As others have mentioned, you have to clip side branches off to fit limbs through the hopper. So it's a little tedious. But much cheaper than renting an industrial chipper. And much better than dragging your pruning to the curb and then driving to the store to buy a bag of mulch.
Based on the construction, I'd say the weakest part is probably where the plastic body attaches to the metal tubing stand. It may break there after several years of use. We'll see.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Quick, clean mulcher for shrubbery trimmings

04/16/2014
By ,
Ocotillo, CA (desert)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little chipper has been in use for two days now without any problems of any kind. It easily handles both green and woody shrub material and produces a nice mulch. It is the answer for my yard full of Oleanders and other shrubs and trees as well. The trimmings from a very large Oleander would easily fill four large contractor bags that have to be hauled to the dump since I live in a rural area without a refuse disposal service. Instead of four (or more) large contractor bags, I ended up with one kitchen bag of usable mulch. I wish I had run across this ten years ago. These initial days of use of the Sun Joe Chipper presented no clogs or jams. I am extremely satisfied thus far. It is easy to maneuver and stores in a small area. I have already recommended it to four others. I am delighted with this product and found the best price (with free shipping) at Walmart. (P.S. I am an elderly woman over 70 years old; it's fun to use.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Sun Joe does the job

02/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Sun Joe works well for small branches and twigs. The largest branch I put through it was about an inch but it would probably take an inch and a half as is advertised. I tried putting green bush trimmings though it and it does not take those as well. You need to push all of them through with the paddle. So, after I learned what it does best I am very satisfied with this item. You can't find anything close for this price that will do what this machine does. It is also light and easy to move around. I plugged it a couple of times, but it is easy to clean. The steel blades look very strudy. It is well designed so you can't get your hand close to them when the machine is running. Good safety feature.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Imagine my surprise

02/13/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was happy to receive my chipper/shredder a few days earlier than was originally predicted. Imagine my surprise....when I opened the box and found a pressure washer!
Returning it was fairly easy. I just took it to the closest Walmart with the packing slip and a receipt that I printed from my online order. It took a few days, but my credit card was refunded.
So while I DO like my chipper/shredder...I can't say that I'm pleased with the order I placed at Walmart.com. I found it locally and purchased it for about $12.00 more. I've used it twice now and it seems to do the job just fine.
My 4 star rating reflects the product only...not Walmart's ordering/shipping process.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

The little thing works

04/06/2014
By ,
Eldersburg, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a half acer with lots of trees. Branches are always coming down in the yard. This little guy really works. Just take it slow on feeding the branches in the hooper. It takes as advertise up to an inch and half. You wouldn't think it could do the job to look at it, but it meets all my needs. Used it this weekend on maple and pine branches and also prunings from several shrubs. Took them all and made fine woodchips out of the bunch. It nice to have a product that does what it advertises.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Great for small garden branches and clippings

09/20/2013
By ,
san francisco, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Even though it's somewhat slow it does make great mulch. There's little danger to hurt yourself because the chute is very small and the shoving paddle works fine. Though, when it does get jammed and you have to open the top to clear the jam from the blades, you have to remember to unplug the machine. The largest branch width it will take is about 1 1/2 inches but considering the limitations, it's a nice little garden machine that's great for trimmings from bushes and trees to make nice mulch to spread around the garden.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

BRANCHES

02/19/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It won't do a 11/2 branch like it says it will.It jambs up on a 3/4 branch.The opening on top is about 11/4 wide so if your branches have knobs on them it's hard to get them through but it did the job.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Perfect branches?

02/18/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The feed is made for perfectly straight branches... of which there are very few! other than that it works great!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Super Chipper shredder

08/23/2014
By ,
Houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
More than time was saved by purchasing. Ease of use , only jammed once in using daily for the last week removing a 25 ' Diameter Crepe Myrtle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Great customer service - product OK

10/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first unit I received worked for about one hour and then died... But the excellent customer service at Sun Joe sent me a new unit in just a few days. Since then the chipper has been chipping for several hours and no problems so far.
The excellent customer service deserves 5 stars.
The chipper works but I'm not sure the electric components will last very long.
Let me explain:
Sometimes when you insert a 1 inch branch or when a piece of wood gets in the wrong position it can slow the cutting disk down to a halt. That's when the electric protections take the heat to protect the engine and if you don't turn off the chipper when the rotor stopped the thermal protection will turn it off.
The engine protections take a lot of heat to protect the engine when it gets stuck.
Now (after a few hours of work), my chipper's engine accelerates and decelerates uncontrollably.
I think that's what my first unit was doing before it died prematurely. I hope this is not the beginning of the end of my second unit... I am done with my first batch of branches and will continue in a few months. I will update the post if possible.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Absolutely Incredible

07/05/2014
By ,
Munhall, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tiller is well worth the money as it saves time and effort in leveling/pruning trees. Although a pole chainsaw, pole pruner and regular chainsaw we used to cut down a 30' tree, this machine made quick work of limbs over 10' tall and no more than 1.25" in diameter. Don't let the plastic housing/inexpensive price fool you.
It took all of 5 minutes to set up and working with it for 6.5 hours, I only had to clear the hopper twice. The motor actually sounds stronger as it's chipping the branches. It does a great job with branches but being that it's a chipper not a mulcher, the leaves come out approx 30% of size with some leaves leaving the hopper at 50%.
All-in-all, this is a fabulous buy and although I didn't purchase the product from this vendor, I thought it'd be good to review it on this site none-the-less.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Chopping hay for old goats

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using it to chop up hay for old goats with bad teeth. I was afraid that the hay would wrap a round the blade but it didn't. I looked all over the internet and only found very large hay choppers but this worked great for just two goats, they are 15 years old. I have heard of people doing this for very old horses to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
08/14/2012
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased. The unit was lightweight yet handled everything I put into it and never jammed once. I also could not believe the small pile of mulch it left after chipping a very large pile of tree branches.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

I have 27 trees and no regrets.

07/27/2014
By ,
C.F.,Ia.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Use when you have no leaves for the best results. When I chipped red oak with leaves I had powdered leaf jams. Will chip a straight 10 foot, 1+ inch leafless branch in about 5 seconds. Leaves turn to powder and plug the exit or run right through with little reduction in size. It should work great in the early spring or late fall without leaves!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1 2 3 Next