Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sun Joe Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Sun Joe Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

The Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder makes quick work out of brush, leaves and branches. Turn your yard rubbish into garden mulch, while doing your part to reuse, reduce and recycle. The CJ601E can handle sticks and wood limbs up to 1-1/2-inches in diameter. The minimized wood chips make great mulch to put around your trees and flowerbeds. It has a lightweight design that makes it easy to move around the yard.
Average Customer Rating:
3.826 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
28
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation86%59 out of 69reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 31 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
28
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Light weight chipper/mulcher

08/06/2012
By ,
SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product works well for chipping and mulching everyday garden trimmings. Easy to use. It is somewhat fragile - an odd part broke after three days usage, but it is under warranty.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Truly needs a zero star

05/09/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased on Sunday night and received on Wednesday morning via FedEx. It worked off and on for 3 hours, mulching small branches 1" or less. These were all hedge bush branches. The overload protection kicked in. I attempted multiple times to reset by pressing the circuit breaker reset button and then restart it. We tried this in various different ways, attempting to start the motor back up. After 5 more hours of never getting it to reset, I took it back the same day I received it. That night, I ordered another one, hoping that I had just gotten a dud. Ordered on Wednesday night, received on Saturday morning. I started it up and did branches that were 1/4" - 3/4". I never forced the branches with either unit. It self-fed, which was nice. After 10 minutes and 6 tiny branches, the overload protection kicked in. I have tried several times to reset this unit, but it wont start. I'm taking it back. This brand was suppose to be the #1 electric chipper on the market, and it's awful. I'm sorry, but it's not good. Wish I had the money for a gas chipper....
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Good tool for small yard projects

01/18/2014
By ,
Austin, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Assemby was easy. Caution and safety info was adequate.
I did read other users comments and agree straight branches quick chipping. Those with bends or where multiply branches join in it's better to separate them takes a little longer but well worth the time. The Sun Joe only jammed on me once I did not notice a knot growth on a branch and this is where it jammed.
I chipped two types of wood. Very dry from a tree that I removed a year ago and the recent trees I removed recently. The dry wood did take the 1 1/2" brances well. The green branches same size I had to feed slowly.
Reference what someone else posted:
a. very small twigs do not chip. I removed them while working.
b. This unit does not shred. The opening is to small, with two chipping blades most of what I did shred just went thru and it was hard to tell if it shred at all.
This is a good tool for the price. Take your time, split branches to reduce jams, and keep the chipping area clean
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

This Was a Great Purchase

05/04/2014
By ,
E. Hartford, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been very pleased with this little wood chipper so far. It has performed very well and done exactly what it is advertised to do and a little more. The larger pieces need to be fed slowly, but so far I have had only 3 jams (in a total of about 6 hours of operation) and those were on hard wood or on large pieces at or more than 1.5 inches. The jams are easy to clear. Turn off the machine and pull the plug. Then, unscrew the big red knob. The whole top folds over for cleaning and debris removal. I think this will be easy to get to for sharpening and/or blade changes, too. To put it back in working order, just close the top again and screw the red knob back down (all the way). Plug it back in and turn it on. 2 minutes tops.
I was skeptical about this because it is electric, but absolutely no problem. Assembly was less than 20 minutes and very easy. The product shipped fast and arrived in good shape. This little machine did a great job for me and was well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Sun Joe Chnipper

05/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to avoid burning the numerous small sticks that daily fall from my oak trees.. You cannot tell from the picture or description but the opening for the sticks is very small. It does well on small straight sticks. It cannot accommodate any leaves unless you stuff then into the opening. I wish I had bought a chipper that could accommodate larger sticks and ward waste, but the Sun Joe is a good buy and the shredded sticks makes good mulch..
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Set expectations with price. Was not dissapointed

05/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is perfect for general yard maintenance. This is definitely not a full on wood chipper but for just a little over $100... this is perfect to include in my shed with my other yard maintenance tools.
I was able to mulch my flower beds and tree bases with the trimmings from 3 trees and some bushes.
It will take branches a little larger than 1 inch but its rough and you have to feed very slowly. As I said before, it is perfect for general maintenance of your yard when you trim off suckers, stray branches, etc... and you can feel good about recycling and reusing the mulch.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Electric chipper

05/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product works as expected. I would recommend to anyone who has small branches from trees like a willow or shrubs.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

GREAT Item!!

05/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item works well and is FUN to use!! When I finished with my job... I found myself looking for things to run through this thing!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Yes

05/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product gets the job done for what it offers. This definitely helped me out with the fire clearance on my property. Lots of branches turned into mulch. So far so good
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Good for the small stuff

06/22/2012
By ,
Pueblo, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With a lot of overgrown trees to remove from my yard and lot's of clean up, this unit is perfectly servicable for the small things, which the majority of the taking-up-space volume of trees and branches turn into once they are cut up. I have a chainsaw to cut the rest into firewood, so it's no big deal. It won't handle anything bigger than about an inch or inch and a half, the branches have to be cut so that they are straight enough to fit through the opening, you will need some dry, dead things to run though it frequently to "clear" it, and it's best to let it "rest" for a little bit after each pile reaches the height of the bottom opening. I've used it for hours every day after work, and the only problems are operator error when I try to run something through that doesn't fit, but it's easy to open and clear when that happens. The time it takes to cut another stack of branches with a pair of pruners is long enough for a cool off period if it seems to be getting hot or working too hard.. It just isn't heavy duty unit designed for the job I bought it to do, and I knew that to begin with. For the price, it is most certainly worth the money. It will take care of the most unsightly mess and if I kill it with overwork, it's cheap enough to buy a new one. If it survives the abuse I'm putting it through with a major tree clearing project, it will be really good for the pruning that will go on in future years. If not, it did it's job, it cost less than having someone come over and do the chipping for me, and I'll give it a decent recyling burial. It paid for itself in the first week.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

good little chipper

05/10/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works as expected, good for small items around the yard. It would be nice if the hopper was a bit easier/larger to send a small handful of twigs/brush through.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Works Good

02/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now I've only used it for one day, so I can't attest to durability. But it's made a nice pile of mulch for me already. I'd say about enough to fill two five gallon buckets so far. As others have mentioned, you have to clip side branches off to fit limbs through the hopper. So it's a little tedious. But much cheaper than renting an industrial chipper. And much better than dragging your pruning to the curb and then driving to the store to buy a bag of mulch.
Based on the construction, I'd say the weakest part is probably where the plastic body attaches to the metal tubing stand. It may break there after several years of use. We'll see.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

A waste of money

05/04/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used this item 3 times and can no longer use it. I checked it and a limb less than 1 inch had jammed and bent one of the blades and when I removed the limb and turned it on the blade was hitting the metal inside the unit. I turned it off and put it up with no plans to ever use it again. I will never buy something from Walmart that I can't return to local Walmart again.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Perfect if ALL you're doing is 1/2 to 1" branches.

04/29/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I needed something to shred brush, but thin branches just get turned into 5" long twigs. I would then use my clippers to cut all the twigs down so they would compost better. If you're shredding nothing but branches that are bigger than 1/4" but less than 1", this will work perfectly, otherwise don't even bother using it to shred brush.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Sun Joe does the job

02/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Sun Joe works well for small branches and twigs. The largest branch I put through it was about an inch but it would probably take an inch and a half as is advertised. I tried putting green bush trimmings though it and it does not take those as well. You need to push all of them through with the paddle. So, after I learned what it does best I am very satisfied with this item. You can't find anything close for this price that will do what this machine does. It is also light and easy to move around. I plugged it a couple of times, but it is easy to clean. The steel blades look very strudy. It is well designed so you can't get your hand close to them when the machine is running. Good safety feature.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Quick, clean mulcher for shrubbery trimmings

04/16/2014
By ,
Ocotillo, CA (desert)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little chipper has been in use for two days now without any problems of any kind. It easily handles both green and woody shrub material and produces a nice mulch. It is the answer for my yard full of Oleanders and other shrubs and trees as well. The trimmings from a very large Oleander would easily fill four large contractor bags that have to be hauled to the dump since I live in a rural area without a refuse disposal service. Instead of four (or more) large contractor bags, I ended up with one kitchen bag of usable mulch. I wish I had run across this ten years ago. These initial days of use of the Sun Joe Chipper presented no clogs or jams. I am extremely satisfied thus far. It is easy to maneuver and stores in a small area. I have already recommended it to four others. I am delighted with this product and found the best price (with free shipping) at Walmart. (P.S. I am an elderly woman over 70 years old; it's fun to use.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

WOW, mine really, really works!

04/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered online the 7 th it came to my house the 11 th. I used it this afternoon for about three hours [with 2 or 3 coffee breaks] and filled two 40 gal. trash cans with chips! The chips are much finer than I thought thew would be and the thing did not jam or stop once! I was chipping dry willow and walnut not over 1 1/2". This is what I bought it for and it works GREAT! I think it's very important to keep the blades sharp.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

The little thing works

04/06/2014
By ,
Eldersburg, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a half acer with lots of trees. Branches are always coming down in the yard. This little guy really works. Just take it slow on feeding the branches in the hooper. It takes as advertise up to an inch and half. You wouldn't think it could do the job to look at it, but it meets all my needs. Used it this weekend on maple and pine branches and also prunings from several shrubs. Took them all and made fine woodchips out of the bunch. It nice to have a product that does what it advertises.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Not Very Impressive

02/10/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The biggest issue with this little machine is the screw to open the hatch for clearing a jam. OMG! The screw is SOOO long, it takes forever to undo it, then a mere second to clear the jam, then more unbearably long moments screwing it back in again. A lock switch would be a much better solution. Something like a foot locker type lock.
Because of that, you quickly lose interest in chipping anything worthwhile. I got this to chip up small cedar twigs to mulch around the yard, and it does a nice job of it. But the time spent on any jams is just not really worth the hassle of pulling it out, thinning the sides of the limbs and twigs to fit in, and seeing the small pile of chips from so much work.
Pretty disappointed...even for the low price.
I would NOT recommend this to my friends.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Great for small garden branches and clippings

09/20/2013
By ,
san francisco, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Even though it's somewhat slow it does make great mulch. There's little danger to hurt yourself because the chute is very small and the shoving paddle works fine. Though, when it does get jammed and you have to open the top to clear the jam from the blades, you have to remember to unplug the machine. The largest branch width it will take is about 1 1/2 inches but considering the limitations, it's a nice little garden machine that's great for trimmings from bushes and trees to make nice mulch to spread around the garden.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next