Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sun Joe Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Sun Joe Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

The Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder makes quick work out of brush, leaves and branches. Turn your yard rubbish into garden mulch, while doing your part to reuse, reduce and recycle. The CJ601E can handle sticks and wood limbs up to 1-1/2-inches in diameter. The minimized wood chips make great mulch to put around your trees and flowerbeds. It has a lightweight design that makes it easy to move around the yard.
Average Customer Rating:
3.828 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation86%25 out of 29reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Good tool for small yard projects

01/18/2014
By ,
Austin, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Assemby was easy. Caution and safety info was adequate.
I did read other users comments and agree straight branches quick chipping. Those with bends or where multiply branches join in it's better to separate them takes a little longer but well worth the time. The Sun Joe only jammed on me once I did not notice a knot growth on a branch and this is where it jammed.
I chipped two types of wood. Very dry from a tree that I removed a year ago and the recent trees I removed recently. The dry wood did take the 1 1/2" brances well. The green branches same size I had to feed slowly.
Reference what someone else posted:
a. very small twigs do not chip. I removed them while working.
b. This unit does not shred. The opening is to small, with two chipping blades most of what I did shred just went thru and it was hard to tell if it shred at all.
This is a good tool for the price. Take your time, split branches to reduce jams, and keep the chipping area clean
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Quick, clean mulcher for shrubbery trimmings

04/16/2014
By ,
Ocotillo, CA (desert)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little chipper has been in use for two days now without any problems of any kind. It easily handles both green and woody shrub material and produces a nice mulch. It is the answer for my yard full of Oleanders and other shrubs and trees as well. The trimmings from a very large Oleander would easily fill four large contractor bags that have to be hauled to the dump since I live in a rural area without a refuse disposal service. Instead of four (or more) large contractor bags, I ended up with one kitchen bag of usable mulch. I wish I had run across this ten years ago. These initial days of use of the Sun Joe Chipper presented no clogs or jams. I am extremely satisfied thus far. It is easy to maneuver and stores in a small area. I have already recommended it to four others. I am delighted with this product and found the best price (with free shipping) at Walmart. (P.S. I am an elderly woman over 70 years old; it's fun to use.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Works Good

02/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now I've only used it for one day, so I can't attest to durability. But it's made a nice pile of mulch for me already. I'd say about enough to fill two five gallon buckets so far. As others have mentioned, you have to clip side branches off to fit limbs through the hopper. So it's a little tedious. But much cheaper than renting an industrial chipper. And much better than dragging your pruning to the curb and then driving to the store to buy a bag of mulch.
Based on the construction, I'd say the weakest part is probably where the plastic body attaches to the metal tubing stand. It may break there after several years of use. We'll see.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Good value for the price

04/07/2014
By ,
Santa Fer, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had to reverse the blades after 4 hours, so I will have to buy new blades soon. But it has worked well on converting my dead tree limbs into mulch.
The paddle thing is a mystery. It doesn't fit in the hopper, so it is useless. There is nothing in the instructions about how to mount the holder or use the paddle. When I attempted to attach the holder to the tubing per the pictures on the box it broke. I will probably just throw the paddle away.
Otherwise it works pretty well for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

The little thing works

04/06/2014
By ,
Eldersburg, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a half acer with lots of trees. Branches are always coming down in the yard. This little guy really works. Just take it slow on feeding the branches in the hooper. It takes as advertise up to an inch and half. You wouldn't think it could do the job to look at it, but it meets all my needs. Used it this weekend on maple and pine branches and also prunings from several shrubs. Took them all and made fine woodchips out of the bunch. It nice to have a product that does what it advertises.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

great chipper/shredder

04/10/2014
By ,
Lehighton, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first time ever I used this kind of machine. I was worry little, but this chipper is so easy to use it, and works great! Ha, I felt like in the kitchen using juice extractor.
And kind of fun for me.
Great thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

does not shred up to 1 1/2

04/06/2014
By ,
bardstown ky
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
works good for branches up to 1" but 1 1/2 NO WAY!!! every time I tried to chip anything over 1" it locked up no matter how slow I fed the branch,and were talking dry 1 year old dead branches !!!.Good deal for price but greatly overrated in description
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Good for doing my knock-out-roses.

04/06/2014
By ,
Broken Arrow, Ok
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Chipper is good for small projects. I used it after I trimmed my knock-out-roses. However when you get to the real small branches sometimes it didn't want to totally shred them. Am glad I purchased this item and think it was well worth the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Does what you pay for

04/02/2014
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good chipper for small to medium size branches. As is advertised up to 1.5". Good construction, easy assembly. Does a good job for what it costs. Had no issues with it and got the pile down quickly with no jams. Don't expect to put large limbs in. Get a bigger unit if that is what you need.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Terrible product!!!

04/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lasted about a half hour before it quit working, cheap blades that dull fast, DONT waste your money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

It's great for one thing....small pruning s.

01/17/2014
By ,
florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's wonderful for small pruning s of bushes and trees, up to 1 1/2 " diameter. You do have to prune off the side branches. The aggravating part of using it, is the very skinny hopper. I understand why they make it that way...safety, so people can't stick their hands down there, as people would.....
The power level was just fine, if you don't force it. The noise level is fine. I leaned up a plastic garden cart I also bought online, and it collected the nice small chips well.
I wish there was a way to have a little chute for smaller twigs, and leaves. I plan on getting a load of tree trimmer chips and would love to chop them smaller. I think this will do it, but very slowly.
I haven't clogged it once, as I just let it do it's job as intended. You definitely have to have patience.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Good for the small stuff

06/22/2012
By ,
Pueblo, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With a lot of overgrown trees to remove from my yard and lot's of clean up, this unit is perfectly servicable for the small things, which the majority of the taking-up-space volume of trees and branches turn into once they are cut up. I have a chainsaw to cut the rest into firewood, so it's no big deal. It won't handle anything bigger than about an inch or inch and a half, the branches have to be cut so that they are straight enough to fit through the opening, you will need some dry, dead things to run though it frequently to "clear" it, and it's best to let it "rest" for a little bit after each pile reaches the height of the bottom opening. I've used it for hours every day after work, and the only problems are operator error when I try to run something through that doesn't fit, but it's easy to open and clear when that happens. The time it takes to cut another stack of branches with a pair of pruners is long enough for a cool off period if it seems to be getting hot or working too hard.. It just isn't heavy duty unit designed for the job I bought it to do, and I knew that to begin with. For the price, it is most certainly worth the money. It will take care of the most unsightly mess and if I kill it with overwork, it's cheap enough to buy a new one. If it survives the abuse I'm putting it through with a major tree clearing project, it will be really good for the pruning that will go on in future years. If not, it did it's job, it cost less than having someone come over and do the chipping for me, and I'll give it a decent recyling burial. It paid for itself in the first week.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Good for small jobs

03/11/2014
By ,
Pensacola
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found the sticks had to be stripped of leaves and small twigs for best effect. Otherwise the leaves and small side twigs pass through without being shredded.
This is a good machine for small jobs. It took a lot of prep work to prepare the sticks for chipping, so it's tedious, but the chipped material is good ground cover for reducing weeds.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Great for small garden branches and clippings

09/20/2013
By ,
san francisco, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Even though it's somewhat slow it does make great mulch. There's little danger to hurt yourself because the chute is very small and the shoving paddle works fine. Though, when it does get jammed and you have to open the top to clear the jam from the blades, you have to remember to unplug the machine. The largest branch width it will take is about 1 1/2 inches but considering the limitations, it's a nice little garden machine that's great for trimmings from bushes and trees to make nice mulch to spread around the garden.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Light weight chipper/mulcher

08/06/2012
By ,
SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product works well for chipping and mulching everyday garden trimmings. Easy to use. It is somewhat fragile - an odd part broke after three days usage, but it is under warranty.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

great chipper for its job

02/28/2014
By ,
Tulsa, Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great just tested it in my backyard and it proved the job
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder
08/14/2012
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased. The unit was lightweight yet handled everything I put into it and never jammed once. I also could not believe the small pile of mulch it left after chipping a very large pile of tree branches.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Husbands New Toy

11/21/2013
By ,
Warrington Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this at my husbands request. He wanted it to use on leaves and small twigs. He used it all day last Sunday and is pleased with its performance. The price was a lot cheaper than the other places we looked. The Site to Store shipping was really fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Good wood chipper

07/16/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've used the Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder for about 2 hours since I purchased it. I was surprised @ how well it turned twigs into something resembling sawdust. It actually chipped/mulched the larger twigs better than the very small ones. However, as my technique @ using it improved more of the smaller twigs were sawdusted also. I just hand pruned the smaller twigs that had not been sawdusted by Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder before putting the remains into my compost bin.
As my technique using the Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder improves, I expect to get more sawdust from my twigs up to the recommended 1&1/2 inch diameter. The paddle that came with the unit to push the twigs into the blades was very helpful & well designed.
I did not find that leaves were effectively mulched by the Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder.
Assembly for the unit was quick and straightforward. The instruction manual is well and clearly written.
Up to this point I am very pleased and somewhat surprised @ how well the Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder actually chips & mulches twigs.
Sun Joe also told me that they do sell replacement parts ( replacement blades) for the Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder.
Only time will tell how pleased I will ultimately be with this product but it's certainly off to a great start with me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NC
Only one star? confusing
Posted 10/14/2012
Sorry, but this review is confusing. A good product by the description in the full review. However, it has only one star rating (?) which is usually reserved for poor ratings.
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Fits our needs

09/13/2013
By ,
Huron, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a small yard which annually yields a lot of twigs, grapevines, and canna lilies. We used to try and cut them into short pieces and place them on the curb in a recycle bag. I wanted a shredder to reduce the work and the volume of the cuttings, but I was totally prepared to be disappointed by a small hopper powered by an electric motor. I was wrong. It makes short work of branches and other awkward yard waste. I am very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next