Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sun Joe Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Sun Joe Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

The Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder makes quick work out of brush, leaves and branches. Turn your yard rubbish into garden mulch, while doing your part to reuse, reduce and recycle. The CJ601E can handle sticks and wood limbs up to 1-1/2-inches in diameter. The minimized wood chips make great mulch to put around your trees and flowerbeds. It has a lightweight design that makes it easy to move around the yard.
Average Customer Rating:
3.827 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
22
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation88%46 out of 52reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 23 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
22
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

This Was a Great Purchase

05/04/2014
By ,
E. Hartford, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been very pleased with this little wood chipper so far. It has performed very well and done exactly what it is advertised to do and a little more. The larger pieces need to be fed slowly, but so far I have had only 3 jams (in a total of about 6 hours of operation) and those were on hard wood or on large pieces at or more than 1.5 inches. The jams are easy to clear. Turn off the machine and pull the plug. Then, unscrew the big red knob. The whole top folds over for cleaning and debris removal. I think this will be easy to get to for sharpening and/or blade changes, too. To put it back in working order, just close the top again and screw the red knob back down (all the way). Plug it back in and turn it on. 2 minutes tops.
I was skeptical about this because it is electric, but absolutely no problem. Assembly was less than 20 minutes and very easy. The product shipped fast and arrived in good shape. This little machine did a great job for me and was well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Good tool for small yard projects

01/18/2014
By ,
Austin, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Assemby was easy. Caution and safety info was adequate.
I did read other users comments and agree straight branches quick chipping. Those with bends or where multiply branches join in it's better to separate them takes a little longer but well worth the time. The Sun Joe only jammed on me once I did not notice a knot growth on a branch and this is where it jammed.
I chipped two types of wood. Very dry from a tree that I removed a year ago and the recent trees I removed recently. The dry wood did take the 1 1/2" brances well. The green branches same size I had to feed slowly.
Reference what someone else posted:
a. very small twigs do not chip. I removed them while working.
b. This unit does not shred. The opening is to small, with two chipping blades most of what I did shred just went thru and it was hard to tell if it shred at all.
This is a good tool for the price. Take your time, split branches to reduce jams, and keep the chipping area clean
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Great customer service - product OK

10/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first unit I received worked for about one hour and then died... But the excellent customer service at Sun Joe sent me a new unit in just a few days. Since then the chipper has been chipping for several hours and no problems so far.
The excellent customer service deserves 5 stars.
The chipper works but I'm not sure the electric components will last very long.
Let me explain:
Sometimes when you insert a 1 inch branch or when a piece of wood gets in the wrong position it can slow the cutting disk down to a halt. That's when the electric protections take the heat to protect the engine and if you don't turn off the chipper when the rotor stopped the thermal protection will turn it off.
The engine protections take a lot of heat to protect the engine when it gets stuck.
Now (after a few hours of work), my chipper's engine accelerates and decelerates uncontrollably.
I think that's what my first unit was doing before it died prematurely. I hope this is not the beginning of the end of my second unit... I am done with my first batch of branches and will continue in a few months. I will update the post if possible.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

LITTLE garden buddy

11/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Considering the low price this chipper does a good job on small, straight branches. When they say it will chip a 1.5in branch it probably will.....but the restrictive design of the input chute controls what you can actually get in there. I dont know what other people have to chip but I have a backyard full of pin oaks and the branches diverge at 90 degree angles meaning I have to cut them all apart before they fit into chute.
Also I was a little surprised the machine doesnt actually shred leaves or twigs, it just cuts them in half and spits them out. Many of the small pin oak leaves passed through completely whole so it is an inexpensive chipper but NOT a shredder.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Chopping hay for old goats

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using it to chop up hay for old goats with bad teeth. I was afraid that the hay would wrap a round the blade but it didn't. I looked all over the internet and only found very large hay choppers but this worked great for just two goats, they are 15 years old. I have heard of people doing this for very old horses to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

quick and easy

11/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The chipper came one day late from the promise date, puting it together took a little work the legs wouldn't go all the in to allign with the screw holes, I had to bang it in. Once assembled the device worked like a charm. It does not do good with tine twigs, seems to fall through and watch out for the oak, the machine said 1.5" branch, but barely an inch for the oak or maples. If it hits a branch too tough it will blow a fuse and in my case the generater shutoff due to over load. Once you understand the branch type and size just chip away.w
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Super Chipper shredder

08/23/2014
By ,
Houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
More than time was saved by purchasing. Ease of use , only jammed once in using daily for the last week removing a 25 ' Diameter Crepe Myrtle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Quick, clean mulcher for shrubbery trimmings

04/16/2014
By ,
Ocotillo, CA (desert)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little chipper has been in use for two days now without any problems of any kind. It easily handles both green and woody shrub material and produces a nice mulch. It is the answer for my yard full of Oleanders and other shrubs and trees as well. The trimmings from a very large Oleander would easily fill four large contractor bags that have to be hauled to the dump since I live in a rural area without a refuse disposal service. Instead of four (or more) large contractor bags, I ended up with one kitchen bag of usable mulch. I wish I had run across this ten years ago. These initial days of use of the Sun Joe Chipper presented no clogs or jams. I am extremely satisfied thus far. It is easy to maneuver and stores in a small area. I have already recommended it to four others. I am delighted with this product and found the best price (with free shipping) at Walmart. (P.S. I am an elderly woman over 70 years old; it's fun to use.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

good for the price

11/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The motor and blades work great. I just wish the opening was a bit wider for the leaves on the end of branches. The twigs are fine, but the leaves get jammed at the end of the branches. Also, the plastic paddle for shoving the branches is too flimsy. It cracked on the first day. So I made a wooden one to replace it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

For the price

11/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We could not afford to purchase a large chipper. This one is affordable but does take a long time and can not do large branches. It did jam a couple of times but was easy to unjam. My only complaint is that it is labor intensive. The assembly is easy and is designed well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

good for small limbs

11/12/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We Got this to use on leaves and small limbs it works good for the limbs but to do leaves if you had a lot it would take all day and then some.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Good for the small stuff

06/22/2012
By ,
Pueblo, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With a lot of overgrown trees to remove from my yard and lot's of clean up, this unit is perfectly servicable for the small things, which the majority of the taking-up-space volume of trees and branches turn into once they are cut up. I have a chainsaw to cut the rest into firewood, so it's no big deal. It won't handle anything bigger than about an inch or inch and a half, the branches have to be cut so that they are straight enough to fit through the opening, you will need some dry, dead things to run though it frequently to "clear" it, and it's best to let it "rest" for a little bit after each pile reaches the height of the bottom opening. I've used it for hours every day after work, and the only problems are operator error when I try to run something through that doesn't fit, but it's easy to open and clear when that happens. The time it takes to cut another stack of branches with a pair of pruners is long enough for a cool off period if it seems to be getting hot or working too hard.. It just isn't heavy duty unit designed for the job I bought it to do, and I knew that to begin with. For the price, it is most certainly worth the money. It will take care of the most unsightly mess and if I kill it with overwork, it's cheap enough to buy a new one. If it survives the abuse I'm putting it through with a major tree clearing project, it will be really good for the pruning that will go on in future years. If not, it did it's job, it cost less than having someone come over and do the chipping for me, and I'll give it a decent recyling burial. It paid for itself in the first week.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Absolutely Incredible

07/05/2014
By ,
Munhall, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tiller is well worth the money as it saves time and effort in leveling/pruning trees. Although a pole chainsaw, pole pruner and regular chainsaw we used to cut down a 30' tree, this machine made quick work of limbs over 10' tall and no more than 1.25" in diameter. Don't let the plastic housing/inexpensive price fool you.
It took all of 5 minutes to set up and working with it for 6.5 hours, I only had to clear the hopper twice. The motor actually sounds stronger as it's chipping the branches. It does a great job with branches but being that it's a chipper not a mulcher, the leaves come out approx 30% of size with some leaves leaving the hopper at 50%.
All-in-all, this is a fabulous buy and although I didn't purchase the product from this vendor, I thought it'd be good to review it on this site none-the-less.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Its okay

10/07/2014
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for wife as an anniversary present she wanted. Being a typical guy I wanted bigger and more power but this was best one found that she could easily tote around.
Never contacted Walmart after delivery, but after receiving the chipper/shredder I found screws were stripped that should be new when as I put the shredder together. It's about as strong as you would expect an electric chipper. I did a lot of investigating before purchasing and found videos online that showed it in use. It works well on the small stuff and has a hard time on the bigger stuff. The plastic stuffer tool is more comical than helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

I have 27 trees and no regrets.

07/27/2014
By ,
C.F.,Ia.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Use when you have no leaves for the best results. When I chipped red oak with leaves I had powdered leaf jams. Will chip a straight 10 foot, 1+ inch leafless branch in about 5 seconds. Leaves turn to powder and plug the exit or run right through with little reduction in size. It should work great in the early spring or late fall without leaves!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

The little thing works

04/06/2014
By ,
Eldersburg, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a half acer with lots of trees. Branches are always coming down in the yard. This little guy really works. Just take it slow on feeding the branches in the hooper. It takes as advertise up to an inch and half. You wouldn't think it could do the job to look at it, but it meets all my needs. Used it this weekend on maple and pine branches and also prunings from several shrubs. Took them all and made fine woodchips out of the bunch. It nice to have a product that does what it advertises.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Exactly what I was looking for.

10/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK, you are spending approx $150 on a wood chipper with a plastic outer casing. If you are hoping to make your way onto the next season of Ax Men, you are going to be disappointed. If you have trashmen who require you to cut tree limbs into crazy lengths and tie them up into bundles with specific measurements...it's a great product to avoid the aggravation.
I purchased the product after I lost a tree in a wind storm. I've "chipped" away about 85% of the tree (of the branches, the trunk and larger limbs are now in a wood pile). Read the instructions and wear a good pair of gloves.
No problem with assembly, storage, cleanup or usage. As I've read from other reviewers, as I used the chipper, I got better at it and was able to feed limbs in quicker. It simply spits out the leaves without mulching them. Surprised me until I first cleaned it and saw the configuration of the blades. I honestly avoided feeding the larger limbs into it. You get a feel for it's limitations as you use it. It handles a 1" limb with no trouble. If it has a bunch of limbs protruding from it, it could stop the blades, but I never had a jamb that required me to remove the cover. Simply turned it off and removed the branch.
I've gotten out of it what I purchased it for. I've probably used it, over all, for about 6 or 7 hours over the course of a couple days and had no issues, it is still running strong. When and if this ever breaks down. I will replace it with another just like it. It has earned a place in my tool shed
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Works Good

02/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now I've only used it for one day, so I can't attest to durability. But it's made a nice pile of mulch for me already. I'd say about enough to fill two five gallon buckets so far. As others have mentioned, you have to clip side branches off to fit limbs through the hopper. So it's a little tedious. But much cheaper than renting an industrial chipper. And much better than dragging your pruning to the curb and then driving to the store to buy a bag of mulch.
Based on the construction, I'd say the weakest part is probably where the plastic body attaches to the metal tubing stand. It may break there after several years of use. We'll see.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

good purchase

10/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for straight limbs. Used it on bamboo and it did a really good job chipping the pile it for my compost. It doesn't handle the leaves (and the small twigs) but I already knew this based on previous reviews. Totally worth it if you are trying to cut up branches for the compost bin or create mulch.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sun Joe Chipper Joe 14 amp Electric Wood Chipper/Shredder

Light weight chipper/mulcher

08/06/2012
By ,
SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product works well for chipping and mulching everyday garden trimmings. Easy to use. It is somewhat fragile - an odd part broke after three days usage, but it is under warranty.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1 2 3 Next