Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dell Dell Obsidian Black 15.6" Inspiron N5050 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2350M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Dell Dell Obsidian Black 15.6" Inspiron N5050 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2350M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Quickly work through tasks and stay connected with the powerful, budget-friendly Dell Black 15.6" Inspiron Laptop PC. Your music playlists, photo albums and favorite content are always at the front and center with Dell Stage. Immerse yourself in movies, online video and casual games on the 15.6" widescreen HD display. Plus, you can always count on the reliable computing power of the black Dell laptop's second generation Intel Core processor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.051 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
25
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation83%80 out of 96reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
25
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dell Obsidian Black 15.6" Inspiron N5050 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2350M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Well Worth It!

05/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never, not once, written a review on a product that I have purchased. I recently purchased this laptop from Walmart. Our family has used this computer for over a week. I can say that I'm very impressed with the quality, quietness, and speed of the machine. I researched the market for months and concluded, without any doubt, that this laptop was the perfect fit for my family. We mainly use this for our home with our children (strictly educational). LOL. Anyway this laptop is well worth the money. I could not find I better price anywhere for a solid built, fast processing, and sleek looking laptop until I found this at Walmart. All of my friends are impressed too! Would've spent more but for everyday, family fun, and some business this is perfect! Probably will be buying a second one from Walmart. Don't think twice about it. Some of these reviews have really shocked me? Must be extremely hard to please individuals? I will be buying Dell again soon from Walmart, because everyone shops here, right? So, there it is, my first review!
+6points
Review 2 for Dell Obsidian Black 15.6" Inspiron N5050 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2350M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Fair Value: Still Better Than an HP

05/28/2012
By ,
IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I use many computers; both Mac and PC. This Dell laptop is alright. I bought it for my parents who aren't too tech-savvy. My biggest complaint about this laptop is the area on the trackpad to scroll. On any other laptop, you're allowed a good half inch to drag in. With this laptop, you're finger has to be precisely over the quarter inch area. It's pretty frustrating. I'd still take this over an HP. I'm currently typing this review on an HP laptop. It has been nothing but problems for me. I have a few friends who also own HP laptops that are causing them trouble. HP might be cheaper, but if you're undecided between this Dell and an HP, save yourself a headache and just buy the Dell.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 3 for Dell Obsidian Black 15.6" Inspiron N5050 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2350M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Worth the money.

03/02/2012
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this after careful consideration under a $500 budget. It's quite the step up from my previous laptop. It does a good amount of multitasking. The battery lasts about 2 to 5 hours, depending on what you do with it. It's clustered with bloatware though, so I recommend uninstalling all you don't need before getting on with your computing. Overall a great buy for the next 3 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+82points
Review 4 for Dell Obsidian Black 15.6" Inspiron N5050 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2350M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Dell Inspiron

03/01/2012
By ,
Kansas, USA, Earth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love my new Dell! I saved my money and I researched and compared laptop computers for a long time before I finally made my decision. I had an Acer before and I almost went with another Acer, but decided to change it up a bit. I am very happy with my purchase and decision. I would recommend this computer to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+52points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kansas, USA, Earth
Wish I'd waited another week before writing review
Posted 03/12/2012
I decided to return this laptop. After two weeks of minor use the keyboard and the touchpad and the mouse buttons stopped working properly. Thankfully Walmart refunded my money and I am going to get the Acer instead. Very disappointed in Dell.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Dell Obsidian Black 15.6" Inspiron N5050 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2350M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Best Computer Ever!

03/24/2012
By ,
Wichita, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This computer rocks! It's light, fast, and sleek. I game alot so I needed a good computer and this one is the way to go! Keyboard is great. This is a brand I will be buying from again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+53points
Review 6 for Dell Obsidian Black 15.6" Inspiron N5050 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2350M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Was bought for my sister

08/02/2012
By ,
Vidalia, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this to help my sister out. She had been having problems with her old computer and was trying to order a new computer from another buyer. However, after two months of "losing" the order I told her I will get her one and saw that this one was available for pick up at my local Walmart. I placed the order and picked it up the day after. After taking it home and "playing" on the computer I told my sister that she can just keep mine computer and I will take this one; sadly after she got ahold of this computer I got my old one back.....hmmm wonder if there is another one I can pick up. You do have to by Word, Excel, and other programs since there is only a "Sample" on here but it has been dropped and stepped on sevral times already and still good as new. My sister loves it!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for Dell Obsidian Black 15.6" Inspiron N5050 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2350M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

You get more than you pay for!

08/07/2012
By ,
Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was hesitant on buying a laptop . mostly because I was looking for something portable that would beat my desktop out of its place without spending too much. After careful searching I found this beast. This by far has been the best purchase ive had in a long time.
Lets start with the shell of the laptop: The is cover slick, and shiney and does not attract finger prints as much as you would be led to believe by looking at it. The overall size is perfect for someone who wants a genuine HD experience on a sharp display. It does not weigh much and the hinges for the lid are tight and controlled for when you open and close it.
Turning on and setting up is quick and easy, takes about 5 minutes after plugging in for the first time (as instructed).
Everything is great, and fast, alot of memory onboard and speed . I play star trek online with the integrated graphics (intel 3000) with no lag. Diablo 3 runs smooth . Usb connections are quick, HDMI out is crisp and clean and easy.
Battery is ok, out of the box with heavy use = about 2 hours, with battery saver plan and additional removal of processes 4 hours.
Visually everythign is stunning on the display . Im happy with this product and recommend to someone who is into video streaming, surfing, and light gaming.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 8 for Dell Obsidian Black 15.6" Inspiron N5050 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2350M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Exceptional!

08/04/2012
By ,
tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off i am making this review from my laptop, and secondly, this is my first laptop. This laptop is very affordable and is very fast. I have had no trouble with lagging or anything else. The speakers are loud and clear and the webcam has great picture. I will definitely be bying more dell products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 9 for Dell Obsidian Black 15.6" Inspiron N5050 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2350M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

MY BABY

04/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop is the best the only thing im mad about is the battery its only lasts 2 hours im also using it right now. Im a video chat person i love talking to people and stuff it comes with a Very High quality webcam it also comes with this software called Dell Webcam Central it gives you Lots of cool Camera Affects. Its very fast with Windows 7 Home Premium. The Keyboard is very cool looking and easy to type with. But when you first by the laptop i recommend not to use internet explorer its very slow with this computer download Firefox or the google internet service
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for Dell Obsidian Black 15.6" Inspiron N5050 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2350M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Not Worth It In The Long run

03/09/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had this computer for a year or a year and a half. About 6 months into owning this computer the battery stopped charging all together; being a student this really was a major pain. On the rare occasion that it did charge, the battery would only hold for about an hour. I had to keep it plugged in all the time and on several occasions it came unplugged when I was writing a paper and I lost all of my work & was completely unable to recover it because it had to do a system reboot or something in order to start. I would never buy this product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/11/2012
I know what ya mean. My old Acer did that. Though I went to a battery shop and they gave me a discount when I gave them my old battery and got a new one. Also I learned if you're at home it's easier to remove the battery and keep it plugged in then the batter doesnt start to die from the unused cells.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/05/2012
Not sure if I would give a laptop 2 stars for a bad battery. You didn't say anything about the laptop itself so I would assume it runs great?
+5points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Dell Obsidian Black 15.6" Inspiron N5050 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2350M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Never Again

05/01/2012
By ,
Timonium, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this computer to do small home business work and for blogging. The hard drive died in the second month of owning it. I don't download or anything like that , I do work and that is it. I sent the computer in to be fixed. When I received it back it was still not working. They then sent me a million disks so that I could install all the drivers and programs myself. Once I finally got the computer running again I noticed that the Microsoft Word Starter Kit was no longer there. This means no Microsoft Word. I need this to do business and create documents... my whole reason for buying a laptop. Dell told me that there was nothing they could do. They would not help me get it back. Now I am stuck with a laptop that I can't do business on.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Albemarle, NC
Wow
Posted 08/06/2012
Imagine what the shipping must have cost on a million discs! Where do you store all of them? The Word Starter won't do much of anything productive until you pay to activate it anyway. Did you pay to activate it? As pointed out OPEN OFFICE is free and interoperable with Microsoft Office, so there is no need to sweat losing MS Office. Open Office from Apache software (which writes the software used on web hosting servers among other things) works good and is free.
0points
Customer Avatar
SC
= or better than Word I use Open Office
Posted 07/24/2012
You can download Open Office for free from filehippo.com
It includes Microsoft compatible spread sheet (Excel) and (Power Point) presentation
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for Dell Obsidian Black 15.6" Inspiron N5050 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2350M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Not worth it.

03/29/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hard drive crashed in less than two months. Can't return to Wal-Mart b/c it's past the return period and Dell won't help me AT ALL even though it's still under warranty. I should have known better. Had this happen to me TWICE before with Dell PCs about five years ago. I just assumed within five years they would have improved. Guess not.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 13 for Dell Obsidian Black 15.6" Inspiron N5050 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2350M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Not great

08/20/2012
By ,
Fort Smith, AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I just bought this laptop a week ago and am considering returning it before the Walmart deadline. The speakers are bad, the touch pad has been giving me trouble, the Bluetooth doesn't work at all, and twice now I've gotten error messages and a blue screen on start up. The Wifi wouldn't connect yesterday or today until I decided to do a system restore as it's the only quick fix I know of. The Wifi worked after that, but I don't understand why a new laptop is having these issues in the first place. I have to say though, the battery is awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Dell Obsidian Black 15.6" Inspiron N5050 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2350M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Good for school

04/07/2012
By ,
cocoa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i got the n5050 i3-2330 and returned it cuz the battery was shot then i got this one,its nice for school or surfing the web thats about it.the back up software dont work at the end of making a disk it says error.But everything else is good the DVD drive is fast for copying files.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for Dell Obsidian Black 15.6" Inspiron N5050 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2350M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Excellent Laptop

08/09/2012
By ,
Bradenton, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I surprised my wife and bout two of these, one for each of us. The thing that attracted my to this model, aside from a price of $400, is the 6GB Ram to run the Win 7 64 bit operating system. Toy really DO need higher ram to run the 64 bit. I run 32 bit on my desktop with 4 GB ram, and it is acceptable enough though.
Another great thing...7.5 hour battery life (untested). I'm an author, so being able to write on the go is important.
Vibrant screen. Fast operations. Plays my 3D MMO games. I even hooked it up to my new Vizio 3D tv to watch downloaded 3D movies...was great.
I have owned the product for roughly a week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Dell Obsidian Black 15.6" Inspiron N5050 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2350M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

This Computer Did Very Dell... I mean Well

08/18/2012
By ,
Lamar
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this computer for quite a while now, and I enjoy every bit of it. I wish this had more RAM, but for a gamer, this is all I can a afford; however, I have been able to play some of the latest games. I do however have 27 games for this computer and they all run smoothly. To me, I think having the intel HD Graphics 3000 bult-in helps with that. The latest game that I found to be compatible, was Portal 2 which is very funny to play.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Dell Obsidian Black 15.6" Inspiron N5050 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2350M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Great Laptop for the price.

08/25/2012
By ,
Prospect,Ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a laptop for some time. I found this one while searching Walmart.com.I compared it's features and price to others and found that they didn't compare. I would recommend this laptop to anyone looking for a great laptop for an great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Dell Obsidian Black 15.6" Inspiron N5050 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2350M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Great product

06/26/2012
By ,
WPB, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first laptop and I have to say I was quite impressed, it seemed very fast and the display was very vibrant, my daughter got a laptop with the I5 core processor for $100.00 more, and I really don't notice any differance in the speed!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Dell Obsidian Black 15.6" Inspiron N5050 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2350M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Excellent computer for the price

08/24/2012
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best price for a computer with a 2nd generation Intel I-3 chip with 6 GB's of ram. We have had Dell products over the years and have been very happy with them. This product seems to be of excellent quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Dell Obsidian Black 15.6" Inspiron N5050 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2350M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

This laptop is a perfect, sturdy, and affordable.

08/03/2012
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The computer is GREAT for back to school. I absolutely love it. I've never had a Dell PC before, and I can honestly say, I will be brand loyal to Dell after having this laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next