Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Remington Remington R2-405 Micro-Flex Corded Rotary Shaver

Remington Remington R2-405 Micro-Flex Corded Rotary Shaver

Average Customer Rating:
3.767 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(90 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
29
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation80%72 out of 90reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 52 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
29
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Remington R2-405 Micro-Flex Corded Rotary Shaver

weak and underpowered

12/21/2012
By ,
Livermore, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I plug the shaver into a 115 volt outlet I have to shake the shaver to get the motor started. It works better running on 220 volts, but it still runs so slowly that it takes a long time to shave. On the plus side it is a corded shaver so you don't have to charge the battery.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Remington R2-405 Micro-Flex Corded Rotary Shaver

No good for heavier growth

09/02/2012
By ,
Decatur, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this shaver as it met my two criteria, it was rotary, and it was corded, I was very disappointed by it. I was replacing a corded Braun, and had been told that a rotary shaver would work better on heavier growth, as I sometime miss a day with my work, and the Braun can take a while.
The first thing I noticed is it sounded slower than my Braun, and it pinched and tweaked at the hair. I contacted Remington to ask if it was defective, they responded promptly and asked if I had let it charge for 24 hours, I pointed out again that it was corded, and they said, yes it could be defective, so I returned it and exchanged it for another one.
This time I deliberately skipped a days shave to test it out, and it behaved as badly as the first one. I'll be returning it and keep using my 10+ year old Braun.
I wouldn't say I had a particularly heavy growth, even after two days, so I would not recommend this for anyone who has much more than a light fuzz. It seemed built well, it just didn't do the job.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Remington R2-405 Micro-Flex Corded Rotary Shaver

Great Corded Rotary Shaver

07/05/2012
By ,
Brook Park, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Remington is excellent the one I am replacing lasted for 17 years they are easy to use and it's cut is very close. Thank You.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Remington R2-405 Micro-Flex Corded Rotary Shaver

Men's corded Rotary shaver

08/15/2012
By ,
shakopee mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Remington to replace a Norelco that I had, the Remington's a little more bulky, but it runs very quiet a cuts close and the price was very reasonable less then the norelco.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Remington R2-405 Micro-Flex Corded Rotary Shaver

Good value from top brand name company

06/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In over 40 years of shaving I never had or tried an electric shaver.
I have almost always used the disposable 2 and 3 blade razors even though they can irritate my face and neck.
Throughout the years of seeing ads and commercials for electric shavers I always wondered if I would like one.
I finally decided to try one and went with a brand I recognized as the leader in electric shavers, Remington. Not knowing if I would like one I looked for an inexpensive model. The R2-405 is corded only which is exactly what I wanted and has a lot of the same features of the more expensive models. I have used it for just about 2 weeks now, and although it doesn't shave as close as a razor blade, it's more than adequate and no more irritated skin.
Glad I bought it, would buy it again and would recommend this product as a good value.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Remington R2-405 Micro-Flex Corded Rotary Shaver
08/06/2012
By ,
Lombard, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The electric cord is a little short. The razor heads can pop out unexpected while cleaning. Handles well, good close shave.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Remington R2-405 Micro-Flex Corded Rotary Shaver

Does the job!

06/18/2014
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the Remington R2 to replace my aging, but higher featured, Norelco shaver. While the Norelco is comfortable with more swivels and tilts, the Remington gets the job done much quicker!
Corded operation is no drawback to me vs. cordless because I get consistent power every time without the need to ever charge the unit.
In fact, because my Norelco Cordless Unit's charge lasted for a short period of time, I wound up using it [Plugged-In] to avoid the hassle of losing power while shaving or having to go through the re-charging regimen.
The Remington R2 is still new, but hopefully, will continue to work acceptably well for a good time longer.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Remington R2-405 Micro-Flex Corded Rotary Shaver

Great close shaving electric corded razor.

10/07/2012
By ,
Big Bull Falls, Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great close shaving electric corded razor for the price. The electric cord is a littlr too short but I fixed that problem with a small extension cord. Very satisfied with it. The exact same razor was selling at one of your competitors here in town for $20.00 more and it was on sale there too! I highly recommend it for anyone with a medium to light beard. Only problem I had was that it took 2 weeks to get it from Indianapolis, Indiana to Big Bull Falls (Wausau) Wisconsin. This item should be available in all your stores because it will sell. You are losing sales because of the lack of immediate availability! Just buy it! You Will like it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Remington R2-405 Micro-Flex Corded Rotary Shaver

Good Electric Shaver

01/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good basic shaver. Easy to use and clean. Its gives a nice shave. The others of the same type as this lasted for 3 or more years!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Remington R2-405 Micro-Flex Corded Rotary Shaver

review

01/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
poor quality
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Remington R2-405 Micro-Flex Corded Rotary Shaver

excellent shaver

09/24/2012
By ,
miami, florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
always have used norelco,sic., this razor is superior to the norelcos produced today. add'l trimmer works great. did i say the price was great as well?
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Remington R2-405 Micro-Flex Corded Rotary Shaver

A GREAT Value

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this razor to be very quiet and it gives a nice close shave. I don't see how anyone could find a better value!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Remington R2-405 Micro-Flex Corded Rotary Shaver

Good Shaver for the Price

10/22/2012
By ,
Huntington, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The micro blades pull on your beard if it gets too long and causes a little irritation. And if you're looking for a super close shave, this razor won't do the trick. But it does give a nice quick shave without too much irritation especially if you shave 2-4 times per week.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Remington R2-405 Micro-Flex Corded Rotary Shaver

USE COUPLA TIMES TO BREAK IT IN, GREAT AFTER BREAK

01/20/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
AFTER BREAK IN[3-4 TIMES] WORKS GREAT!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Remington R2-405 Micro-Flex Corded Rotary Shaver

Good bye

08/23/2012
By ,
Delson, Quebec, Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very smooth. At $20 at walmart it is the best bye. It is better to buy another razor when the cutter are finish, the cutter are selling for $29.99
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Remington R2-405 Micro-Flex Corded Rotary Shaver

Good and cheap. Buy it!

12/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This works better than a more expensive Pana_onic linear I have. Corded is better than battery. I had a more expensive P_illips N_relco rotary that worked really well, but after a while the battery would no longer charge. I took it apart to replace the AA cells, but after a while they failed again. My experience if rotary is always better than linear foil, since if you don't shave for a few days, the hairs get too long to fit through the holes in the foil. The slots in the rotary head don't have this problem.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Remington R2-405 Micro-Flex Corded Rotary Shaver

very good, inexpensive shaver

11/20/2012
By ,
Forest Hills, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it's supposed to very well: silky smooth, easy shaving. Corded! The head assembly opens up without detaching -- no risk of dropping or misplacing it. Better than my more expensive Philips Norelco shaver. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Remington R2-405 Micro-Flex Corded Rotary Shaver

Great value, does the job.

03/10/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this razor after my 10 yr old rechargable Remmington triple header battery started to fail. You can't replace the battery in it. So it's a throw away. I wanted to get a razor that DIDN'T have a rechargeable battery for this reason, so about the old option was this R2-405 with the triple heads. Ordered it on-line since Walmart never has them in the store, and it took about 10 days to pick it up at the store.
Honestly, I was a bit disappointed because it's kind of clunky. The heads on my old rechargable were 100 times better and comfortable compared to this unit. But for $20, it does the job and I have to say my last one cost $50, ten years ago. So after getting past my disappointment, I'm adjusting to this lower end razor. I paid for it with a WM giftcard so for free, it's just fine.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Remington R2-405 Micro-Flex Corded Rotary Shaver

Basics well done.

08/16/2014
By ,
Port Angeles, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 70 years old and have been shaving with electric rotary head shavers for over 53 years. This is a completely competent product that does a fine job at a bargain price. No need in going with fancy flimfam. Stick with a basic well done.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Remington R2-405 Micro-Flex Corded Rotary Shaver

You get what you pay for.

09/07/2013
By ,
Coral Springs, FL.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very happy to get a razor that was corded and not worry about batteries running down. As mentioned in other reviews there is only 1 speed. What's not mentioned is that the speed is "slow" and it does a poor job on whiskers.
After 2 weeks of normal use the hinge that holds the blade compartment to the razor body separated. Its a simple spring that you can not reattach and makes the razor useless. If you haven't kept the molded plastic packaging (the kind that you need scissors to open) your local Walmart won't be able to find a skew to accept a return. Luckily at my local Walmart I found 2 exceptional customer service reps that spent 15 full minutes working the system to take the return (and the razor in a zip lock bag).
The only plus here is I am appreciative of my local Walmart CSRs. As for the razor, don't waste your money, invest in a Norelco that will last for years.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next