Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mongoose Mongoose 26" Men's XR-75 Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mongoose Mongoose 26" Men's XR-75 Mountain Bike

Get ready for off-road fun with the Mongoose XR-75 Men's Mountain Bike. Designed with an aluminum suspension frame, the Men's 26" Mountain Bike gives you maximum comfort as you ride against all- terrain trails. This Men's 26" Mountain Bike is ideal for all terrains and expeditions. The Mongoose Dual Suspension Mountain Bike features a dual-suspension frame thats powerful, yet lightweight for easy maneuverability. With 21 speeds and linear brakes, this 26" Mongoose XR-75 Mountain Bike offers maximum safe stopping power. Not only does hits Mongoose XR-75 Men's Mountain Bike feature a wide-gear range, but the SRAM twist shifters make changing gears easy. The quick-release seat post makes riding the Mongoose XR-75 Men's Mountain Bike more efficient. Plus, the linear pull brakes give you the complete control, without uncontrollable skidding. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your Mongoose XR-75 Men's Mountain Bike will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
3.583 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation73%8 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mongoose 26" Men's XR-75 Mountain Bike

What a steal!!

05/04/2012
By ,
hemet, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm stoked with the quality and features of this bike. It rides like a Cadillac over bumps, cracks, and off-road. The bike is light weight and the breaks stop me on a dime.
I've had a couple Diamondback mountain bikes, but this one is so much better.Also, this bike shifts very smoothly. If you've never had a dual suspension bike, you owe it to yourself to try one out.
It's an awesome ride, on or off-road!It doesn't hurt that the bike is so good looking, either!!! I bought mine on sale, fully assembled and oiled by my local Walmart. Who knew they had an entire service department for assembly and service?
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+29points
Review 2 for Mongoose 26" Men's XR-75 Mountain Bike
03/16/2012
By ,
Lauderdale, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bike today and put about 5 miles on it on and off rode...it rides smooth for a great beginner bike..it only needed minor adjustments like the brakes, gears, and the chain needed to be oiled, but all in all great bike for the price..would recommend to anyone..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Orland CA
Posted 05/04/2012
Bought this bike 4 weeks ago when my brother came for a visit with his VERY expensive Trek MB. Haven't ridden a bike in decades. Love this bike. We have ridden the bikes off road all month and many miles. We have ridden in creek beds, dirt paths, weedy fields. Except for a flat tire, I have had no problems with this bike. The soft tail makes the bike very comfortable. The shifters are very easy to use, even though I have never ridden anything but a single speed in the past. It is light weight and easy for this 60 year old women to throw in her explorer. The only changes made were a nice wide confort seat, higher handle bars for a more up right ride and a quick release on the front wheel. I recommend tire liners and heavy duty tubes if your going to ride on rough terrain. I highly recommend it and continue to ride it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Mongoose 26" Men's XR-75 Mountain Bike

Big name brand failure

02/05/2012
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I gave this bike 3 chances. The first bike made it around the block once. The whole left pedal stem fell off. Exchanged for second bike and the chain kept falling off every time the bike shifted. The 3rd exchange the left pedal stem kept falling off even with good dose of locktite on it. So, if you like to be frustrated & stranded this is the bike for you. It's a shame for such a well known brand. I really tried to give this bike a shot but only wasted my time trying to get it to work,exchanging,& returning it!
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+29points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
wa
In Washington
Posted 03/01/2012
Bought this for my son and had same problem with pedals coming off,and chain falling off. DO NOT BUY!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Mongoose 26" Men's XR-75 Mountain Bike

good

05/18/2012
By ,
everett, wa.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It came with two right hand pedals, but i bought one pair at walmart and they will refund my money. The bike works fine,only the seat need more cushion.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Barceloneta Puerto Rico
Mongoose XR-75NewModel with Full Suspension GREAT!
Posted 07/30/2012
Note: I don't and haven't work for any brand, corp. company or store of any kind of bicycles, I don't and haven't work at Walmart never, and I haven't assembly a bicycle never, and I am not a full time sportsman in any way, never. Ok; Hi, my name is George, and I am the average young civilian, who like see and do some recreational sports, I know the importance of health etc., so I am a bicycle amateur only. /// Ok, then: This review is very important to read::: , well, first of all, we have to make clear that maybe some people don't know that Mongoose is a great brand, specialized on BMX since old school, years; and more recent on Mountain and Urban bikes, if you go to their official website, you will discover that Mongoose have a good inventory of HIGH PERFORMANCE, VERY EXPENSIVE AND GREAT QUALITY BIKES from: $500+ to $1,000 and even up to $4,499.99 WOW!!! So, please stop doing unfair reviews about some brands just because they sell unexpensive bikes. Ok, now, in the other hand, Mongoose have also bikes that cost a lot less from high $500 to low's under $100.00 bucks; but these bicycles does not means in any way that they are cheap or garbage, NOT. This only means that these and those bicycles are intended for not profesional, or full time competition puporses, so if you are not going to race at the Tour of France, or you will not even ride over 5miles a day, but you will ride ocasionaly or just few miles a week, then these bikes are for you; I mean, what you will do with a $thousand bike (ej. a Rally modified car# in your garage stationary in there??? That's a crime. So, also, what you will do with one of these low performance bicycles #ej. stock non Rally cars# if you have in mind to going through the Great Canyon trails??? No Way, and it's understood too. So, since 2007 I haven't go on a bike, due to Full Time University, and High Performance Rally cars... but, recently this year, it back to me an enthusiasm of desesperately going on a bike again #Do this have some kind of relation with London 2012???#.. Well, I started to do some research, and of course that I just want a non expensive bicycle to start progressively doing under 5 miles a day, so I put my eyes on Wal-Mart bicycles, and after researching, I was undecided between these: Genesis V2100 26'', Roadmaster Granite Peak 26'', and this the Mongoose XR-75 26'', ok wel,l I will not talk about why I didn't chose the others; because I am a faithful believer of that you have to buy what you feel comfortable with, and what you like more, the most important thing, is that you can feel happy with what you are buying, and you and your family will enjoy it more and have more fun# But what I will going to tell you is why I chose this bike: First is a Mongoose #Madison WI, USA Brand / Made in China, but again what is wrong with that???#, and it have great quality materials, is medium lightweight, have great features 3 x 7 = 21 speeds, Shimano features, full suspension with high quality spring in the middle, and Element Racing shocks in the front. It have good brakes, and heated treated aluminum frame and tube. The tires are great, with up to 50PSI inflation specs. and up to 198pounds of weight; and this one the Grey and Blue color is ASTONISHING GOOD LOOKING, ONCE YOU SEE IT, YOU WILL LOVE IT. It also comes on Red and Black more suitable for young kids, and on Light purple metallic for Women, so that's anoher good point about this model, that you can buy this great bicycle for the entire family, and don't have to fool around, trying to find another good one but in another brand, just because color or trivials things. Well, I buy this bike at Walmart at Hatillo PR for $168.00, the bicycle comes with low air pressure on the tires, so have in mind that's no a good idea to get on the bike without inflating the tires, because you can damage the inner tire tube, or you can bend the rims. So I recommend that you inflate the tires righ at the store and to test the bike BRAKES, MORE THAN EVERYTHING, but I take the bicycle to home without testing it. And the next day I was testing the brakes, and there was a mistake on how the brake cable was assembled, so the front brake cable it was getting stuck, so it wasn't applying the front brakes, I tried to adjust it, but even adjusted to maximum cable at the brake end cap calipers, and still the cable wasn't working, so then, I went to a nearest Walmart, this time at Barceloneta PR within 2miles of my home, and went to the customer service, I explained the issue with the front brake, and they just let me take another same bicycle from the stock ones, this time I inflated the tires in the store, and I tested the bike inside the store, this time the brake cables was working propertly. Finally today I make a check of all the bicycle assembly details, and I found that the brakes need adjustment, but people let's be fair, this happens always even with the most expensive bikes, so you will need to gain some experience adjusting brakes, or you have to take it to a bike shop, so they can adjust it for you, but in overall is a simple procedure; so, I adjusted the brakes, and another thing that I found, it was that the tire rotation of the front tire #Thanks God, that wasn't the rear tire#, it was assembled to the wrong direction of the arrow in the tire; so I simply remove the front tire frame bolt nuts, and flipped the tire, and I installed it back, tightening the nuts in their correct position and with enough torque; so now, the rotation arrow of the tire is correctly pointing to the front. Then, I tested the bicycle for some minutes, and I have to say that I love this bicycle for the price, and you will not being disapointed, I inflact my tires to 40psi for asphalt, and rides great. Of course and this is important, IF YOU HAVE NEVER RIDE A MOUNTAIN BIKE, BUT ONLY BMX OR ROAD BIKES, you must better ride a Mountain bike of a family member or a friend, before buying one, because people, be fair with this: Mountain bikes are intended for that, for MOUNTAIN BIKE TRAILS OR FOR AROUND THE FORESTS etc., so when you use it at asphalt you will notice a rigid rough ride, also the curves and turns are very ridig, and of course the seat is very hard; and because the tires are made for super grip at dirt, you will wear out the tires faster at asphalt, so have all that in mind, and learn that these are normal aspects of any mountain bike. I haven't any critical problem with the second bike so far, it change trough gears speeds very smooth, and it respond great to the pedaling, please use of course some good sport shoes for ride this bike, the pedals have some very sharp metal ends; the only really bad thing about this bike is the quality material of the handlerbars they are of a really soft plastic material, that although it feels comfortable to the hands, it can also easily torn out. The bike is great, I love it. And I really recommend that you try this bike, without prejudice it. NOTE IN THE CASE OF IF ADJUSTMENT IS REQUIRED: Not Allen keys are required for brake cable adjustment, for this model, you will need a 10mm hand wrench, and for the bolt nuts of the tires a 15-16mm hand wrench. But you will need an Allen key for brake pad position adjustment, and for some kind of other cosmetic parts. And for balancing the brake caliper springs you will need a Philip head screwdriver. If you need tio adjust the gears, please go to a bike shop or a profesional assembler for that procedure, because is the most critical adjustment, if you don't doit properly, you can ended taking the whole mechanism out of safety working ranges. The bike comes with a Factory Owner's Manual that you MUST READ BEFORE RIDE ANY BIKE, ALWAYS. I will make a video review of this bike at: josiqvideos09 on yt channel. Look for it. Thanks a lot. -George-
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Mongoose 26" Men's XR-75 Mountain Bike

Great Price, Great delivery, Not to good shipping

06/17/2012
By ,
brooklyn, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
$135.00 for a Mongoose is unbeatable. Shipping could have been better. Both rims were bent and now i have to pay $15.00 each to repair them. The gears dont switch precisely on the mark which i will have to get adujsted that will probably cost me another $15.00. Other than that, good bike for your buck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 6 for Mongoose 26" Men's XR-75 Mountain Bike

economical entry level mtb

11/25/2012
By ,
texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i wouldnt recommend hitting the trails hard on it but its fine for riding about... ive had mine for a year and ive been tough on it and its still intact. ive had to pull out the crank and pack more grease in as it started making noise and the brakes were a mess when i first purchased it but at 130 bucks its not a bad entry level bike.... more color options would be nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 7 for Mongoose 26" Men's XR-75 Mountain Bike
05/20/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this for my son's birthday. Only the gears change unexpectedly when he is riding it. I dont know what we will do. Try to exchange it or get a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 8 for Mongoose 26" Men's XR-75 Mountain Bike

for the price a good buy

06/17/2012
By ,
wilkes barre, pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought the bike for my fathers day gift to myself well it wouldn't fit in the car so i rode it home from my local Walmart, even with the extra padded seat its bad on the butt other than that its a good bike
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 9 for Mongoose 26" Men's XR-75 Mountain Bike

Rough ride

05/28/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very uncomfortable ride. But, has good features for the price.
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Review 10 for Mongoose 26" Men's XR-75 Mountain Bike
06/12/2012
By ,
Santa Clara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would rate as "Excellent" for everything
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-5points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Mongoose 26" Men's XR-75 Mountain Bike
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5