Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Iron Horse Iron Horse 29" Men's Sinister 6.5 Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Iron Horse Iron Horse 29" Men's Sinister 6.5 Mountain Bike

This Iron Horse Sinister 29" Mountain Bike features aluminum a full suspension frame with Rock Shock XC28 for maximum shock absorbing performance. An Ahead stem with MTB riser bars creates a more controlled riding position on this Iron Horse Mountain Bike, Sinister 6.5. Additional features of this 29" men's mountain bike include Shimano 24 speed trigger shifters with Shimano rear derailleur for quick, efficient gear changes and front and rear HL disc brakes for high-performance stopping power. Plus, alloy crank set 42/32/22 with platform pedals and dual sided lock on handlebar grips round out this Iron Horse Mountain Bike, Sinister 6.5. This Iron Horse Sinister 29" Mountain Bike requires some assembly. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your Iron Horse Sinister 29" Mountain Bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation75%9 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Iron Horse 29" Men's Sinister 6.5 Mountain Bike

Sinister 6.5

08/19/2012
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 3 weeks ago a Ironhorse 6.2 from Walmart. I took it home and had problems with it immediately. I returned it to the store and exchanged it for another 6.2. I rode it for 2 weeks and the front Suntour forks developed a horrible squeak and the back hub was so loose that the wheel had a serious wobble. I returned it and kicked in the price difference for the sinister 6.5. I have had it for a week now and I am in total shock of the difference.
This bike is really a good bike for the money. I need to adjust the front derailer a bit but nothing serious. Rides quiet and smooth. Changed out the handlebars for a set that has a 4" rise and can't believe the difference. The Rock-Shox suspension beats the Suntour suspension hands down. Really a nice bike! I ride 15 miles or more a day and love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 2 for Iron Horse 29" Men's Sinister 6.5 Mountain Bike

Way above average entry level

12/17/2012
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Totally blown away by the quality for the price. I would still upgrade some parts, but still a very attractive starting point and not very much to do to lighten the bike (39 and something pounds, no biggie). Went trailing at the snow hill trail in Florida, and this bike took the beating like a trooper. I've had it for a good two months now, using it four days a week, and two of those days on the trail. The bike is still in great shape, something you don't expect from a Walmart bike. Truly the 6.5 is an impressive bike and the price is unbeatable for what you get. Recommend 110%
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 3 for Iron Horse 29" Men's Sinister 6.5 Mountain Bike

Low Price Full Suspension

06/18/2012
By ,
Olive Branch, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first Full Suspension MTB, so the low price is what sold me. I would like to purchase a carbon fiber MTB one day, but, not at a price of $3000 and up. This bike is going to abused fairly hard this summer. Long rides of 30+ miles on-road, trails with mix of mud, sand, and thick brush. Every chance I have, I'll jump this bike into the river. This is a beater-bike for me.
Pros:
Low Price/Cost
24-speed trigger shift (i dislike the twist shift)
Front fork Rock Shox
Front and rear disk brake
Adjustable full suspension
Cons:
Saddle (after 30min/5 miles it feels like there is no cushion)
Very heavy bike 39.5lbs according to my scale
Overall Review:
Above average starter bike. The Sinister 6.5 upgraded components seem like a better value over the Sinister 6.2. I would recommend the Mongoose XR-Pro 29" if you can find it (better cost value and SRAM groupset). Watch YouTube videos, Sheldonbrown.com, and Bigboxbikes.com on how to adjust the derailuers and disk brakes. You'll enjoy the bike much more and save a ton of money once you learn how to make these adjustments yourself. The suspension smoothes out most bumps and the 29" wheels roll easy on all terrain. I'm 5'10" with a 32" inch inseam and top tube comes right up on me. I weight 225 lbs. so the saddle has to be replaced...plus me losing weight would help too. Ha!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
29" Iron Horse Men's Sinister 6.1 Mountain Bike
3.6 out of 5(19)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+14points
Review 4 for Iron Horse 29" Men's Sinister 6.5 Mountain Bike

Excellent value and good looks.

07/17/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After being away from mountain biking for nearly 5 years, I decided to get back into it. I looked hi and low for a new mtb for nearly 6 months when I finally decided on this Ironhorse Sinister 6.5 because of the price, and value. Like the last reviewer, 3000 dollars and up for a carbon fiber mtb is just way out of my league and simply put, just way ridiculous in cost. So the cost of this Ironhorse was exactly what I wanted to spend. I do plan on upgrading some components in the near future though such as the standard pedals to clip in style pedals, the seat because it will wear your rear out quickly, and the rear spring shock to a rock shox, and probably some Kenda tires. Overall I recommend this mtb for the value and good looks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Leadville, Colorado
Nice 29er
Posted 11/06/2012
Gotta say, this bike is not bad. A wee bit heavy, but for less than half the price of a froo-froo bike, it is not twice the weight. I just did a bomber CMC downhill in the Rocky Mountains, and she left nothing to be desired... except maybe a lower gear for climbing. Might just need to be in better shape though...(: Way to go Iron Horse. For Sure worth the extra bucks for the 6.5
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Iron Horse 29" Men's Sinister 6.5 Mountain Bike
03/29/2013
By ,
Richardson,Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started riding bicycles to and from work in April 2012. from that date i have gone through 5 different bicycles(Mongoose hatchet, Mongoose deception, Genesis Two-Nine,Shwinn DSB, GMC denali) , each one had their own issues, from being to small (I am 6'2" ) to having mechanical issues like pedal arms breaking off. I then went into the sinister 6.5, it felt great for my size and doesn't seem to have any mechanical issues. I ride on 40-50 miles each day that I work, and in that the bike performs great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Iron Horse 29" Men's Sinister 6.5 Mountain Bike

Awesome bike for beginner trail rider

06/10/2013
By ,
Alpine, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am writing this review on my bike that I have owned for just over a month now. I purchased this bike as my first re-introduction to a hobby that I love so much. I owned two mountain bikes, one hard tail 29, and a full suspension 26, both were stolen while I was away at basic training. They were not "Wal-Mart" bikes, they costed me $1,200 for one and $2,000 for the other. I waited until now to write my review so that I would be sure not to let the new bike "giddies" affect my review. I would just like to say that I absolutely love this bike, I have beaten the daylights out of it, and so far, nothing has broken. I am a daily rider, I live in the middle of nowhere in a small rural area with plenty of places to ride. It has been through every obsticle imaginable, according to my bike computer it has just over 100 miles on it, and has never let me down. I will say this though, if you do purchase this bike go through it with a fine tooth comb, or take it to a bike shop and let them take a look at it. My front brake was squeaking when I first got it due to a misadjustment as well as the chain popped off the front sproket also from a misadjustment. It was not the bike just the assembler, not paying attention to the task at hand. Once everything was dialed in, it was on! For the price and quality of the parts, I would much rather had this bike. There is only one modification in the works for this bike, a Rock Shox rear shock, the factory one is definately the weakest link on the bike. Oh and just in case you didn't know, it has a $150 front suspension, you can verify this for yourself the factory front shocks is a Rock Shox XC 28 TK Mg 29. You can find this at SRAM.com click on the Rock Shox icon at the top then, products, then XC on the left of the screen, it is on the bottom right. I hope this review is helpful, thanks for your time, and happy cycling!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Iron Horse 29" Men's Sinister 6.5 Mountain Bike

The Bells & Whistles + Sturdy + Outstanding Price

09/07/2013
By ,
Laredo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this bike in December of 2012 (Christmas). Got it instead of a higher-end bike because it had all of the features I wanted (29", Shimano Shifters, Front & Rear Suspension, Front & Rear Disc Brakes) at a fraction of the price.
I was skeptical at the beginning because it did cost a couple of hundred bucks and there were some scratches on it fresh out of the box. Also, the crank needed tightening, the gears needed adjustments and the front brakes were a bit tight.
Since ironing out the aforementioned details I have grown very fond of this bike. I have used it extensively on some rough South Texas trails and the open road, and it has never failed me. Furthermore, it has delivered a great ride throughout.
If you are looking for a sturdy bike, equipped all the bells and whistles, and for a great price, then this may very well be the bike for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Iron Horse 29" Men's Sinister 6.5 Mountain Bike

sweet ride

04/14/2013
By ,
pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything i expected and much more
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 9 for Iron Horse 29" Men's Sinister 6.5 Mountain Bike

Not worth it

04/01/2013
By ,
N. Conway NH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought it to get back into MTB riding and didn't want to spend a ton of money so I purchased. Bike came damaged on frame ,and handlebars. Iron horse service was no help so I had to bring back the bike I waited two weeks to get. Came with cheaper tires than that were supposed to come on bike. Cheap crank, brakes, rear shock. Heavy!!!!. Good looking bike but needs upgrades. If the price was more reasonable it would be worth the upgrading. At $479.00 it is no deal. A good hard tail would be a better purchase for that money.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
-3points
Review 10 for Iron Horse 29" Men's Sinister 6.5 Mountain Bike

Good bike only for real beginners.

08/26/2013
By ,
Derry, NH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got the bike expecting a little more than what I got. The rear suspension does not give very much travel, it isn't very comfortable. Also the day I got it, the non-drive crack arm fell off and stripped the bottom bracket. I love the front suspension and the looks of it.
Pros.
Good front suspension
Good looks
Cons.
Bad rear suspension
Bad crank set
Horrible tires (no grip on flowy trails)
Uncomfortable
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Iron Horse 29" Men's Sinister 6.5 Mountain Bike

Rear Brake had a manufacturer defect

08/03/2013
By ,
Cupertino, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bike came without any adjustment to the shifter and brakes. The rear brake disfunctioned after four or five rides. I am not sure what to do yet. Try to find out whether this bike has any warrantee at all. I took it to the local bike shop. Thay told me it'd cost $100 for the part and $20 for installation to replace the brake.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 12 for Iron Horse 29" Men's Sinister 6.5 Mountain Bike
06/03/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike, get what you pay for: on the heavy side: overall great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points