Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Iron Horse 29" Iron Horse Men's Sinister 6.1 Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Iron Horse 29" Iron Horse Men's Sinister 6.1 Mountain Bike

Do you need a bike as adventurous as you are? Take a ride on the wild side with the Iron Horse Bike. With 29" wheels and dual suspension, the Sinister 29" Men's Bike is the peak of off-road riding performance. The Men's Sinister 6.1 29" Mountain Bike gives riders the ability to roll over anything standing in their way. For immediate halting response, the Iron Horse Bike Disc brakes offer maximum stopping response in any weather condition —this includes slick roads, dry roads and wet terrain. Made from lightweight aluminum, the Men's Sinister 6.1 29" Mountain Bike is both durable and easy to ride. Plus, the Sinister 29" Men's Bike features 21-speed thumb shifters, so you can adjust gears and speeds quickly when you need to grind over bumps and rougher terrain. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your Iron Horse Bike will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
3.579 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation74%14 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 29" Iron Horse Men's Sinister 6.1 Mountain Bike

eh... got it in the mail and had some issues

08/03/2013
By ,
garden grove, ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
over all i guess the bike is ok, my husband is kinda forced to like it even though i told him to return it and here is why:
when we got it shipped to our house and we started to put it together we noticed the handle was flipped around. we had to unscrew it and adjust it to how its suppose to be. (maybe it was flipped to fit in the box idk)
the second thing was when tightening the bolts, since we had to turn the handles around, the bolts didnt tighten. the handle was loose and something seemed off. somehow he manged to tighten it so it wouldnt move but almost stripping the bolt. if it was me i would have returned it but my husband is a mr. fix it so i let him deal with it.
over the bike was easy to put together and is nice to ride.
all i have to say is u better be tall to ride this bc im 5'1 and this bike is WAY too big for me. my husband is 6'1 so this bike is good for his long legs.
if it didnt have those kicks i would have gave it 5 stars but we hand to work with what we had.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wisconsin
handlebars
Posted 04/06/2014
It is funny you mention the handlebars because mine were actually bent! I rode the bike several times and it didn't feel right, so I took the handlebars in to work and found one side was bent down slightly. I re- bent it and it felt better, but I am also 6 foot one like your husband and it felt too low, so I have replaced them with a 100mm riser mountain bike handlebar. Much better feeling and ride. Overall I have to give the bike high comments, but the sloppy assembly left a lot to be desired. I basically took the bike apart and re-assembled it, and then it was fine.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for 29" Iron Horse Men's Sinister 6.1 Mountain Bike

Rides nice

06/10/2013
By ,
Spring, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had the bike for a few months and can hardly find anything to complain about besides the seat, which I changed out and I had to adjust the derailleur. The bike wasn't assembled 100% to my expectations but watch some videos on youtube and you can figure it out and fine tune all the small issues.
I adjusted the brakes several times including brake force and disc wobble. I also trued the wheels myself so they would spin straight instead of wobbling. Took a few tries and a couple of inexpensive tools but I got it down.
Suspension works great, I mostly ride around my neighborhood and often in the dirt or trails around the house and the bike is awesome. Handles nicely, eats up bumps with full suspension and offers a good ride height for taller riders.
I did upgrade to a longer stem because I was having to lean hard on the handle bars even with which made my hands and back hurt. Longer stem helped with a more comfortable riding position as well as better control on the trails.
Hope this helps
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wisconsin
handlebar height
Posted 04/06/2014
This is exactly what I found also. I went with 100mm riser mountain bike handlebars and it felt great. It really does soak up the bumps with those 29 inch wheels, and I really do like the stopping action of the disc brakes. My previous mountain bike had 26 inch wheels and side pull brakes.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for 29" Iron Horse Men's Sinister 6.1 Mountain Bike

FANTASTIC BIKE!

07/08/2013
By ,
Palm Bay Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me just start by saying, I am a 500+ lb man. I wanted a bike because I live about a mile from the closest bus stop, and I don't have a car, and I need the bus to get to school and back almost daily. I knew I wanted a 29 inch wheel (I mean, if you're big enough to ride it, who wouldn't? and I am also 6'5" tall.) I sat on this bike for the first time, and did not bottom out the tires, OR the springs, so, though it was a little more than I wanted to spend, i bought it.
I HAVE NOT BEEN DISSAPOINTED!
I absolutely LOVE this bike, it holds up to my weight well (which means those of you who are normal size will not have ANY problems with such things...) and flies like the wind, the more you push, the faster it goes (of course) and takes it all without a squeek. I am SO glad to be able to ride again, I cannot overstate how much I love this bike. seriously.
(I did change the seat out, and angle the front of the seat down more than it came with out of the box, but other than that... SPOT on.)
(you MAY want to tighten the brakes a little too, but that's personal preference... like the seat.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 4 for 29" Iron Horse Men's Sinister 6.1 Mountain Bike

Great Buy!!!

08/04/2012
By ,
Orange CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comparing to: Mongoose deception, mongoose hatchet, schwinn dsb
tried all 4 bikes and here are my inputs:
Schwinn DSB: Best overall bike but the front derailleur system is a mess. It is not a smooth change and i think thats a standard issue with any bike that has a 3 step front derailleur. other than that the bike was gorgeous. overall my heart still aches for this hybrid but no rear suspension and poor front shifts make it a difficult thing to retain. the only real pro... it has a 43" front height - tallest i have seen.
Mongoose Deception: looked very cheaply built for my taste. All the ones in the shop were not smooth to roll. I know you can adjust things better but i like to see the mess i am buying and the lesser the mess the better
Mongoose Hatchet: definitely better than the deception but again i dint get "this is my bike" feel from it.
now: Iron horse 6.1:
where should i start: the front shifter is not a 3 step shifter it is a series of down and up clips that enable you to give more or less tension. i think this works better cause the "3 hard stop" shifts usually require the front cable tension to be absolutely perfect - that to many could be an adjustment nightmare. But with this "so called cheap" front set up you can push a mark up or down and get the gears to move up- and down. I checked this on 4 bikes and now my 3 rides and it seems to work great... crossing my fingers...
Other Pros:
1) Lovely feel to the bike
2) 39.5 inch front height - i had to buy a riser to get to the schwinn dsb height
3) lovely full suspension and awesome rear suspension for the price
Cons:
1) a bit on the expensive side but worth it
2) a bit heavy
3) seat u will have to upgrade (but that you will need for all bikes and i am sure you know). I am using a Schwinn deluxe saddle.
Hope this reviews help you guys... i say buy a 150$ bike or if u are picky buy this above 300 one.. anything in between will always give heartache...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+31points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Adirondack Mountains
How to adjust the front derailuer
Posted 09/16/2012
I had the 6.2 and upgraded to the 6.3. Both had poor front shifting.
I gave up on having a perfect perfect shifting. Turns out the adjustment procedure is wrong. The the procedure using the mm clearance adjustment from the large chain ring to the cage is does not work.
Here is how to get the front derailleur perfect:
Put chain on front and rear small gears using shifters.
Adjust front derailleur so that it tracks perfectly on the smallest chain ring.
Detach cable from derailleur.
Remove derailleur from down tube.
Clean the mounting area and derailleur clamp.
Remount. Do not attach the cable.
Adjust the height so that the bottom of the derailleur cage just about touches the chain.
--The bottom of the cage is slightly wider and this makes all the difference in the adjustment.
Screw the adjustment barrel on the shifter all the way in and then back it out 3 turns.
Reattach the shaft cable and go through the normal alignment routine.
--->> Be very aware of the 2 different widths inside the cage and use them to your advantage while making the adjustments.
Hope this helps. Have fun riding. 29ers are fun!
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for 29" Iron Horse Men's Sinister 6.1 Mountain Bike

Shoddy and poorly made

07/21/2012
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one of these and got it home and took it out for a spin. I got about 3 miles from home and tried to shift into high and the chain jumped the sprocket and jammed into the chain guard so hard that it broke the chain guard which turned out to be plastic. Really? A plastic chain guard on a $300 bike?
It was jammed so hard the it had to be disassembled to fix. A nice 3 mile walk home. After that every attempt to shift into high caused the chain to jump. I went through the bike carefully and found the front derailleur was damaged beyond repair. Just about every screw on the bike was loose and RUSTED. I should also mention that the seat on the bike could double a torture device. Just about everything about this bike is shoddy.
I was disappointed because Iron Horse used to have a good reputation. I did some checking and found out that some company called Dorel bought out Iron Horse bicycle so they could use the name. That is all you are getting now...the name.
I took it back and got a refund. At least Walmart is great about that. Great service and zero hassles. They told me they hired a company to assemble their bikes. They were very upset also.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Review 6 for 29" Iron Horse Men's Sinister 6.1 Mountain Bike

Great bike once personalilized

07/19/2012
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the included seat hurts when your on it for more than 15min. after changing the seat the bike is wonderfull. one thing that I didn't think of before buying this bike the large tires are nice and ride smooth but you feel the wind alot more when it hits the side of the bike.
all in all I am quite happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 7 for 29" Iron Horse Men's Sinister 6.1 Mountain Bike

Great road bike ONLY, not for rough riding!

08/10/2013
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered bike on Wednesday, received on Friday. Fast!
Warning: This is a huge bike. In terms of size, it's long and tall.
I am 6'1. With the seat all the way down, my feet barely touch the ground. Yes it's that tall.
Bike measures, fully assembled, 6 1/2 feet long...yes it's a very long, front to back bike and very tall!
Bike was shipped in a double box. Very well protected.
Easy easy easy to set up.
MUST HAVE ALLEN WRENCHES.
For being a dual suspension bike, with front and rear disc breaks, I am totally impressed with quality!
Please do not think this is a "true" mountain bike....it's a street bike. There is even a label under the front forks that say, no jumping, no downhill riding. Doing so may be hazardous.
The bike is super fun to ride, the big 29in wheels ride like a dream. Very smooth. Very responsive. I'm totally impressed with the disc breaks. It's common to get "slightly warped" disc but mine are perfect! Even the rims spin with no wobble, no warps!
The ONLY major complaint is the seat! It's bad. Had to get a gel cover for $20.
Now it's much better!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 8 for 29" Iron Horse Men's Sinister 6.1 Mountain Bike

Bike was great, Service needed work...

10/26/2013
By ,
Orange County, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bike is a great product, took half a day to assemble (as I've never put a bike together before) some of the parts come in the box backward. I bought this product as a "pick-up in store same day" but it took a week to get there, when it did I got the box and Walmart didn't assemble it (which would have been done if I "picked-up in store same day") however it didn't say anything about any assembly required until the final email (saying it was ready to be picked-up some assembly required). The bike itself once assembled is a truly great bike and has great features. I take it to a local bike shop for tuning and they were all surprised with how great a bike I got for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for 29" Iron Horse Men's Sinister 6.1 Mountain Bike

Problem with the assembly.

09/16/2012
By ,
Long Island, New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am unable to determine whether the bike is a good product or not. Whoever assembled the bike completely stripped the rear brake assembly in the process. The rear brake does not work at all. I now have to go through the process of returning the bike and am unable to go biking with my family. It is almost impossible for the person who assembled the bike not to notice this. It is very disappointing to see the lack of pride taken in the workmanship.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 10 for 29" Iron Horse Men's Sinister 6.1 Mountain Bike
09/07/2013
By ,
S.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I,ve been a mechanic for 24 years,i had the bike shipped.and it was easy put together.The 29 in wheels have much larger hubs than a 26 in tire.fully assembled everthing is real tight.I put grease fittings in both hubs and crank so you don't have to take the hubs apart to grease them.Im 296lbs and the suspension responds great.alot the bad reveiews I ve read most of the problems are improper assembly.Have a bike shop tune it for you,its worth it.Ive ridden my 120 miles it shifts great all the bearings are tight.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 11 for 29" Iron Horse Men's Sinister 6.1 Mountain Bike
09/27/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gears don't work right, never received my service paper work, need to pay someone to fix it a disapointment
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 12 for 29" Iron Horse Men's Sinister 6.1 Mountain Bike
09/05/2013
By ,
Nokomis, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bike is very nice. The one we recieved had a mark on it when it arrived at our house but we contacted Wal-Mart and they made it good with us they told us a few things they could do and we got to decide which we wanted. But our 12 year old son loves it. He said it's a little hard getting use to how everything works but this is his first bike that has different gears. My husband and I wasn't sure if the 29 inch would be to big or not but with the seat all the way down it works for our son and he still has room to grow. He has had alot of people comment on how nice it is. This is a beautiful bike also if you like Harley Davidson's then you would love this bike the color is perfect for that.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 13 for 29" Iron Horse Men's Sinister 6.1 Mountain Bike

29" Iron Horse

02/18/2013
By ,
Escondido, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Bike, especially for the price, only down side is the rock hard seat, will need to replace or buy mtb shorts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 14 for 29" Iron Horse Men's Sinister 6.1 Mountain Bike

Awful

10/04/2013
By ,
Seattle, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this for my husband's birthday. The bike looks great and has loads of features. For the money you seem to be getting a lot. The first time my husband took this bike for a ride and changed the gears, the gears moved got caught in the spokes, bent, and the bike was completely jammed up and useless. Bike was returned and I got a full refund. Such a pity.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 15 for 29" Iron Horse Men's Sinister 6.1 Mountain Bike

Awesome Mountain Bike!!

05/22/2013
By ,
Palatka, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decided to get back into biking after many years. This bike is great, especially if you have long legs. The 29" tires are very nice. I picked it up already assembled, and everything works perfect. Only thing I did replace was the seat. Helped out so much!! Now I can ride for hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for 29" Iron Horse Men's Sinister 6.1 Mountain Bike

great starter bike for the$$

11/14/2013
By ,
riverside,ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Its definitely not a down hill race bike, but it will do the job for many. I'm 6'3 330 and so far so good for a evening neighborhood ride.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 17 for 29" Iron Horse Men's Sinister 6.1 Mountain Bike

Bike arrived damaged

11/18/2012
By ,
Crestview, Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bike arrived damaged, and still trying to fix the knocking and rubbing noises that occur when trying to ride the bike. The rear tire was tightened to tightly from the factory and caused the tire to be out of alignment. We managed to correct that that now there is an extremely loud knocking coming form somewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
-6points
Ratings-Only Reviews for 29" Iron Horse Men's Sinister 6.1 Mountain Bike
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5