Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Greenworks Greenworks 9.0 amp 14" Electric Chain Saw, Green

Greenworks Greenworks 9.0 amp 14" Electric Chain Saw, Green

The Greenworks 9.0 Amp 14" Electric Chain Saw has a zero carbon footprint and releases no emissions. It will allow you to trim limbs and smaller trees without running the risk of raising up a cloud of gas emissions. This ensures the safety of the user and protects the environment at the same time. Suitable for both small indoor repair and large outdoor projects, this Greenworks Chain Saw features a 9.0 amp motor, lending it enough horsepower for tough jobs. It also has as a 14" bar and chain, which allows the green chain saw to have a 26" cutting capacity, increasing its versatility. You can easily adjust the tensioning on this Greenworks 9.0 Amp 14" Electric Chain Saw without the need for tools, making for easy maintenance and handling. Simply use the quick adjust knob that is located on the side and get right back to work. With its efficiency in handling quick jobs around the home, the Greenworks 9.0 Amp 14" Electric Chain Saw is a must-have tool.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%11 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Greenworks 9.0 amp 14" Electric Chain Saw, Green

This is a great chain saw!

12/06/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At least that's my opinion after my first use of it. I attacked a big Willow tree that was shading some more desirable trees and shrubs. I took off more than half of the limbs and cut them into 4 to 5 foot pieces, which I will burn after the wood dries out.
The saw seemed to be as powerful as my gasoline powered chain saw. it really cut through the wood fast. Of course Willows are softwood.
I only need a chain saw once a year or so, and I found that I had to spend a lot of time cleaning the carb of the gas saw and then pulling the start cord many times after it sat up unused for many months. It was a chore I dreaded.
Now I figure that the electric saw will require almost no maintenance, except for sharpening the blade occasionally.
Luckily I have some good extension cords that will handle the nine amps the saw draws. I planted about 70 trees after I bought a house in 2003 and they have grown so much that there is a lot of pruning to do, and a few trees will be removed entirely, so I will be using this saw more than I was using the gasoline powered saw.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Greenworks 9.0 amp 14" Electric Chain Saw, Green

ALMOST as good as advertised.

10/14/2012
By ,
Central Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would have given this electric chain saw a 5-star rating except for one thing. It advertises a "Tool-less tensioning with quick adjust knob". Yes, it is tool-less, but their description makes it seem like it adjusts solely with the quick adjust knob. I found that it takes more than that. The knob locks the blade in position, once you have manually pulled out on the blade to put tension on the chain. If there is an easier way to do it, I didn't see it in the manual. I had the blade jump off the bar twice before I got the tension set correctly. I read other reviews stating that the chain jumped off the bar, so I suppose others have the same experience with it as I have.
For the positive, this saw cuts great, is well balanced, and automatically dispenses the chain oil. The oil reservoir window lets you see how much oil is left and when to refill it. I am using it to cut down a boxwood hedge with trunks up to 3" in diameter and it cuts through them fast and clean. I don't expect to do a lot of heavy cutting, so this saw should last me a long time to come. Another feature that led me to buy this saw was the 4 year guarantee, the longest I've seen on a saw in this low price range.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Greenworks 9.0 amp 14" Electric Chain Saw, Green

Lightweight - cuts through wood like a woodchuck.

04/21/2012
By ,
Minden LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought another brand electric saw and chain oil leaked out almost as fast as I could add it. Got rid of it and bought this baby. Filled the chain oil tank and let it set for a week before using it. No oil leaked. Used it to trim limbs up to 4 inches off a couple of trees and was really impressed with the ease of use and speed of cut. Sat it on a sheet of paper and still no oil leak. This one is a keeper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Greenworks 9.0 amp 14" Electric Chain Saw, Green

Toolless Tensioning is misleading

09/30/2013
By ,
Atherton, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The review given on 10/14/12 by Squidgetguy of Central Florida was the most accurate and best review. The tensioning advertized is very misleading or may be even false advertized by Greenworks. Fisrt of all, it needs a screw driver for tool as a minimum and this is Not "toolless" as advertized. Secondly, the instruction manual on tensioning is so bad which took me awhile to figure that out. The diagram pointing to the Tensioning Knob was wrong because it is a blade cover knob. Beside the tensioning knob is really a Screw Nut at the front side next to the blade. There is not diagram showing or pointing to it. This is very poor on whoever at Greenworks writing this manual. With the exception of struggling with the manual on tensioning, I have to say that this is still a pretty good product I would have given this a Five stars if not for the manual problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Greenworks 9.0 amp 14" Electric Chain Saw, Green
10/02/2012
By ,
North Fort Myers, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product. Be careful when you clean not to lose the C-ring that holds the gear down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Greenworks 9.0 amp 14" Electric Chain Saw, Green

Great for small jobs

03/28/2014
By ,
Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The saw works great. Easy to adjust chain, No gasoline to deal with or awful exhaust fumes, and low noise level. I will never go back to a gasoline powered saw again.
I was able to cut down an 10 inch round oak with no trouble. More then enough for the average home owner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Greenworks 9.0 amp 14" Electric Chain Saw, Green

GREAT SAW!

09/21/2013
By ,
Wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered and received this saw in early October 2012, 55-bucks. I have used it twice since then for small tree trimming & firewood. Love the aspect of no gas/oil storage or mixing. I was more concerned about bar-oil leaking, but I have seen NONE OF THAT. Storing this little Mighty-Mike in the original box, with oil, I'm getting no leaks. The chain saw works great. Zips through small limbs without effort, lightweight, balanced, easy to use. Great back-up when you need firewood and you want it cut QUIETLY... Would buy again, and do recommend... Good product for the price... Thank you Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Greenworks 9.0 amp 14" Electric Chain Saw, Green

Great Chainsaw

02/15/2014
By ,
Elkmont, Al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used this saw one time. The saw cut great. The oil needs refilling often. I think it's a great saw for the price
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Greenworks 9.0 amp 14" Electric Chain Saw, Green
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5