Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Greenworks Greenworks 5-Blade 20" Reel Mower

Greenworks Greenworks 5-Blade 20" Reel Mower

The Greenworks 5-Blade 20" Reel Mower is specially designed to feature a zero carbon footprint, meaning it produces no emissions. You can care for your yard in an environmentally friendly way when you use the Greenworks Reel Mower. The mower provides all the power you need and makes a large 20-inch cutting path. Also, you can adjust the cutting height so you get the right cut each time you use the lawn mower. The 10-inch front wheels and 6-inch rear wheels make this mower easy to push even in highly grassy yards. Included with the lawn mower is a collection bag that attaches to the back of the mower.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation90%18 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Greenworks 5-Blade 20" Reel Mower

WORKS GREAT

05/07/2012
By ,
LOUISVILLE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good mower for a small job. I have a condo and a very small yard it works great for that purpose. Cuts smooth and even
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Greenworks 5-Blade 20" Reel Mower

excellent product, great value

04/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried several reel mowers and am comparing this one to other products of this type, not to electric/gas mowers. It is true that you have to have a perfect lawn to use a reel mower. It will be jammed if you have sticks and branches on the ground and it will take 5-10 seconds to get them out each time. This is true of any reel mower. This one is much better than others I have tried. First, it's wider. Second, you can adjust height for cutting grass. As far as cutting power - I'd say about the same as other reel mowers. This one, being wider, does the job faster, so I've noticed that 3 out of 4 times I use the reel mower on my .82 acres lot. I do have to use my gas mower sometimes though as reel mower doesn't cut taller grass stems, any of them, so occasionally you have to take out the noisy mower to bring it back to perfect shape.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
homestead, FL
test of this mower
Posted 06/01/2014
l bought a scotts 20" mower and the wheels turned out to be flimzy and weak and subject to early disintegration at an early stage. To add insult to injury, l could not get new wheels for this scotts mower. At least, the wheels were far away in miami, far from homestead. l got angry and bought this greenworks 20" mower. l see that the wheels are similar to the scotts mower, in the ad. l am desperately hoping that the greenworks mower wheels are not the same flimzy type as the disastrous scotts wheels. l am awaiting the greenworks model with baited anticipation, and foreboding.
0points
Customer Avatar
Morris chapel tn
Small areas riding mowers can't reach ????
Posted 04/24/2014
I have a very big yard which we have to use a riding mower. But I need a small mower to mow around hedges, flowers and other certain areas that riding mower can't reach and husband won't clip flowers with the weed eater, (which has happened before). So my question is, WOULD THIS BE GOOD FOR MOWING SMALL AREAS AND AROUND DELICATE PLACES ?????
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Greenworks 5-Blade 20" Reel Mower

Easy and quick

06/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to handle for this 80 yr old. The 20 inch takes less time to finish my lawn.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Greenworks 5-Blade 20" Reel Mower

Easy for single woman

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Greenworks 5-Blade 20" Reel Mower

Nice Mower

06/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At first disappointed after taking it out of the box. Right small wheel was crooked perhaps 20 degrees out of alignment. Instead of returning it I repaired it. It took five tools and 20 minutes to get the wheel off an 5 minutes to pound the bent bracket into alignment. It is lightweight, balanced, blades perfectly aligned. One of best $100 investments I have made.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Greenworks 5-Blade 20" Reel Mower

GREAT PRODUCT

06/02/2014
By ,
homestead, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
l am so happy to report that when l got this greenworks 20" reel mower, l was so delighted to see that the wheels were sturdy and very durable. l don't see how this product can fail me. lt is so well-constructed, it will out-last me, l am very sure. And l enjoy using this product very much--Thank you, greenworks developer
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Greenworks 5-Blade 20" Reel Mower

5blade 18in mower

04/23/2012
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the 18" reel mower online, it is great so far, took about 20minutes to assemble, directions were clear, and it's so great to not have to worry about gas. It's pretty cool, neighbors have come out everytime I use it to ask me about it. I love just being able to roll it out of the garage. It has trouble getting any grass or weeds over a certain height, it just goes right over them, so I think I'll still have to get a trimmer or something, but overall this is a good deal and worth it. Oh yeah, and it's a good work out!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Greenworks 5-Blade 20" Reel Mower

Save your money

05/12/2012
By ,
Texas Panhandle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've used this three times. The first time, the taller grasses had to be cut by hand after using the mower. The second time, the bag ripped--it's very cheap fabric. The third time, one of the rear wheels fell off. The handle twists with the slightest bit of pressure, because it's not sturdy enough for normal use. I have a smallish yard and thought this would be perfect, but it is a disastrous disappointment. Seriously, don't waste your time/money with this product. Thank goodness for the little 4th-grade boy who came by asking if he could mow my yard for $10.00
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Greenworks 5-Blade 20" Reel Mower

nice for small yards with no weeds

05/26/2012
By ,
Wenatchee, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My fiance actually doesn't think this mower cuts very well, but I think if we didn't let our grass get so long it would work great!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Greenworks 5-Blade 20" Reel Mower
05/09/2012
By ,
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The whole reason we purchased this mower is because we own a gas mower but it refuses to start consistantly, and when it does it has usually taken a while. We figured that this does not need to be filled with gas, does not need to be started, and should always be available to use to mow our small lawn. That being said, I think that if you have a lawn that grows really thick and tall then you may not want to use this mower until it is shorter. The grass tends to get wrapped around the axel and the attatchment meant to catch the clippings fills fast. After so long you also have to clear the grass out from between the blades and if you don't it misses a lot and you have to go over it again. It also seems to get stopped by the smallest of twigs and since the blades are turned by the wheels, if a twig stops the blades, the wheels stop as well and it won't move forward until you remove it. The smallest twig that I had stop this mower was about the thickness of between 18 gauge and 16 gauge metal wire. I would only recomend this mower if you have a small lawn and you keep it relatively short and free of any depris.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Greenworks 5-Blade 20" Reel Mower

OK as a back-up mower

05/14/2012
By ,
Cleveland, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Three years ago I spent a ton on a mower that should still be running. Needless to say--it has stopped. I don't have the funds for repairs at this point so I got this as a back-up mower.
It binds up if the grass is just a little long so I have solved that by cutting the grass twice a week. The grass in my backyard grows very fast so I have had a difficult time with the blade becoming jammed on the left side.
All in all, it is an "ok" mower for my intended purpose. I wouldn't want it as the main mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Greenworks 5-Blade 20" Reel Mower

Great for small yard

03/17/2013
By ,
North Port, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Is a lot easier to push then regular mowers, but does not like going through tall grass. Great if you have a smaller yard and keep up with cutting the grass.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Greenworks 5-Blade 20" Reel Mower
07/14/2013
By ,
Maryville,Tn
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I didn't take into consideration the other reviews and went ahead and purchased.....Also had to return it. :( It will not cut down weeds just goes right over top. If you have a small yard where you have great weed control it would probably be great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Greenworks 5-Blade 20" Reel Mower
08/29/2013
By ,
Ullin IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works well on regular grass. Don't do so well in high grass.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Greenworks 5-Blade 20" Reel Mower

Good for small areas

07/22/2013
By ,
ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wish it would cut grass shorter then the lowest setting allows it to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Greenworks 5-Blade 20" Reel Mower
04/18/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
doesn't work well with yards with weeds, good product other than that
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Greenworks 5-Blade 20" Reel Mower
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5