Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 10-Piece Non-stick Cookware Set, Black

Mainstays Mainstays 10-Piece Non-stick Cookware Set, Black

Want to improve your cooking skills or just looking to get an upgrade in kitchen equipment? The Mainstays 10-Piece Cookware Set contains all the necessary cookware vessels for a delicious meal. The set features interior Non-stick coating, which ensures easy cooking and simple cleanup. Heat and shatter resistant tempered glass lids allow easy monitoring of cooking progress. This black cookware set is a perfect starter cookware set for a college student, new apartment, recreational vehicle or lake house.
Average Customer Rating:
3.879 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
19
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation80%53 out of 66reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
19
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 10-Piece Non-stick Cookware Set, Black

College Student

03/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live on school campus and these are the perfect size to cook with. I cook every other night, so I think people who cook every day might have an issue with these cookware since they don't really feel "expensive". I've had them for almost 2 weeks now and they are still sturdy and scratch-free though. All the glass lids fit perfectly and can fit on the other cookware as well. They were a little light (weight) than what I expected, but they did the job better than I thought. I don't know why the other customer was complaining. Maybe he/she didn't take care of them well, but I know my set is ridiculously awesome. Clean them with a soft sponge, store them in a dry place, and use a wooden spoon to stir things in it and this set will last for a while.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays 10-Piece Non-stick Cookware Set, Black

Don't even bother

04/22/2014
By ,
Boston, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had bought a set of these pots and pans 2+ years ago and they were fantastic. They held up nicely even with cooking 3 meals a day. They finally needed to be replaced and so despite the reviews I decided to give them a try. Well not only did the nonstick start peeling almost immediately but the rust spots were completely unexpected.
Do not buy. Spend a little more and get a much better set.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays 10-Piece Non-stick Cookware Set, Black

Cheap yet dependable

03/28/2014
By ,
Orlando
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let me start off saying... Avoid high heat!!! Whats the rush anyways? If you treat this set appropriately it will last a lot longer and work much better for you. Don't us metal spatulas as they will scratch the teflon. If stacking for non-use, place a paper towel between them so the bottom side does not scratch the top of the other. Even though they are non-stick putting a little oil or butter in the pan at the start of cooking will make it last longer. For the price these can be a really nice set. They are thin so can bend easier than thicker ones but treat them with care and you will be fine for a while with these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays 10-Piece Non-stick Cookware Set, Black

as expected

04/30/2014
By ,
Florence AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price it is very good.Let's be real,they are not expensive so they may not last 40 years but if they hold up for a couple of years it will be a good deal
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays 10-Piece Non-stick Cookware Set, Black

Camping Quality

07/12/2014
By ,
Albuquerque
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this set JUST for camping. Very lightweight. I suggest, if you use it for camping, use it on a camp stove. NOT on the pit.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays 10-Piece Non-stick Cookware Set, Black

College Approved!

09/20/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I've had my pots for a few months now. 1 or 2 of the pots dont exactly fit the lid, but its not that big of a deal to me. The non-stick works amazing without even Having to "cure" the surface, but I'm sure it wouldn't hurt to do so. As long as you use robber/silicone cooking utensils it shouldn't ruin the nonstick. I've made everything from pasta to burgers in my cookware and its still in tip top shape! Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays 10-Piece Non-stick Cookware Set, Black

Great Starter Set

10/29/2013
By ,
Montgomery, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This cookware set has been a great starter set for me. Before purchasing this product, I was very skeptical about the quality. Most cheaper sets tend to scrub very easily, but this set did not peel as fast as others normally do. I love that I can clean these pans out very easily no matter what I cook in them and that the non stick surface works just as it should. I eventually will buy a better set in the near future, but for the time being, this has been a perfect use for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays 10-Piece Non-stick Cookware Set, Black

Good starter set

06/25/2014
By ,
Dayton, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a good set for someone that has nothing in the way of cookware. For the price of around $30 it is a decent set.
Make sure you do read because the sizes were a little smaller than I had thought they would be, but again for around $30 it is ideal for a starter set.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays 10-Piece Non-stick Cookware Set, Black

price

06/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price is great product ..moneys worth
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays 10-Piece Non-stick Cookware Set, Black

Not what I expected.

02/05/2014
By ,
St. Peters, MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
A couple of years ago I bought what I thought was the same product from Walmart, this set wasn't even close. The old set had a thicker type pan / pans. Handles are not as good as the old set. The lids are exactly the same BUT the new set has thin metal and looks cheap. Maybe for the low price I paid I guess it is what I should have expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays 10-Piece Non-stick Cookware Set, Black

good deal

06/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very satisfied with product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays 10-Piece Non-stick Cookware Set, Black

Non-Stick cookware set

06/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money. Easy to clean, non greasy. Heats up fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays 10-Piece Non-stick Cookware Set, Black

don't buy

11/30/2013
By ,
MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After a month the inside coating start peeling and would inside my food like mashed potatoes I would have pieces of the stuff inside.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays 10-Piece Non-stick Cookware Set, Black

Great Product for the Price!

03/16/2013
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this set to replace an old frying pan and sauce pot and they are amazing for the price. I noticed in the instructions that they warn against using high heat and not to use cooking sprays. If you follow these two rules, you should expect long daily wear from this cookware. It takes a little longer to boil water on medium to medium high, but a small price to pay to preserve your cookware. It is very lightweight, so you worry about durability until you use it for a few weeks and then you realize, as long as you're careful, it should last. Greater still is the incredibly easy clean-up, as after cooking wild rice or pasta alfredo, etc, the pot basically rinses clean without even touching it with a sponge or dish rag...amazing...love it! For a fraction of most sets cost, this will serve you well with a little care.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays 10-Piece Non-stick Cookware Set, Black

Nice and inexpensive!!

02/14/2014
By ,
baltimore, md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love these pots! I made a omelet that was beautiful!! No sticking and was cooked perfect!! I wish also that the biggest pot was a little bigger but other than that everything was great!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays 10-Piece Non-stick Cookware Set, Black
04/09/2012
By ,
Memphis tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although the set is good quality for the price. I wasn't satisfied with the shipping. The box wasn't damaged at all but the pot set was bent so bad the lids won't fit. This means that it was packed up damaged and shipped to me this way. I was so upset. But I didn't feel like going thru a hassle with the return. I've orderd so many things from Walmart and I've had a couple problems but never damaged merchandise that was obviously packed that way. I will continue to order in the future. Although due to this unsatisfied shipment, I love Walmart so I will continue to shop online and in the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays 10-Piece Non-stick Cookware Set, Black

Very cheap

08/25/2013
By ,
sherman
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't waste your money. The none stick layer came off the very first time we used it, took it back and got a different set, we thought the first set might have been defective, it was not, the non stick layer came off again on the very first time we used the second set. Spend more money a get a better set.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays 10-Piece Non-stick Cookware Set, Black

Starter Set

07/08/2012
By ,
Springfield OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recently moved and had to start over again......... GREAT starter set.... remember to "cure" the surface before regular use!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays 10-Piece Non-stick Cookware Set, Black

Delivery is terrible

10/22/2012
By ,
Monterey
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought a set of kitchen pans, they arrived broken. Bought a desk, it arrive broken. Returned the desk. Will not have any thing delivered anymore. Even though I like walmart for its products and price, I will next time pick up the merchandises. Staff was very helpful whn I returned the desk. I put 3 stars because of the delivery issue. Otherwise all is really good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays 10-Piece Non-stick Cookware Set, Black

Coming back for my second set (:

02/07/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this set last year when I got my tax refund, ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT! If you're like me and you don't have $80 to spend on a set, then get this one. $30 for this set was a good deal. They are durable for what you pay, and the coating doesn't come off as quick as other cheaper sets... much easier to clean than something that isn't non-stick. Back again a new set!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next