Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Tramontina Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Steamer/Double-Boiler

Tramontina Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Steamer/Double-Boiler

This Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Double Boiler provides great all-in-one functionality for your cooking needs. The 3-quart stockpot can be used for soup, stew or to cook pasta or vegetables. The steamer insert is a kitchen essential, and well-suited for easy and healthy steaming of vegetables and seafood. The Stainless Steel Double Boiler insert is excellent for melting chocolate or preparing delicate sauces. This Tramontina Steamer has a tri-ply base, impact-bonded, induction-ready bottom that facilitates even heat distribution. This Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-piece 3-Quart Double Boiler is compatible for use on all cooking surfaces, including gas, electric, ceramic glass and induction. With a clear glass lid, you can monitor the cooking progress in this Stainless Steel Double Boiler. The ergonomic, soft grip handles are riveted onto the stockpot, making it strong and durable. Both the double boiler and the clear glass lid are dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.519 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation90%47 out of 52reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 31 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Steamer/Double-Boiler

Expected something else

12/20/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I expected the middle container to also have holes in it to let the steam through, so i can steam in both the top inserts together. But the center insert is like a regular sauce pan. I am not sure I would be able to use all 3 at a time efficiently.
Also the steamer insert has a thin semicircular non removable metal strip which is supposed to serve as a handle, but i didn't find it useful as an unbalanced insert can tilt freely due to the weight of the boiled contents inside which may cause them to fall off the insert.
Also I planned to use the insert to prepare some bread like steamed items by placing the dough in a flat pan inside the insert, which is very much hindered by this handle which almost always tilts the flat pan inside while steaming making the bread come out uneven thickness. The fact that the insert itself is partially rounded inside doesn't help.
Apart from not meeting my specific expectations, the product looks durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Steamer & Double Boiler
Posted 03/12/2014
The description of this 4-pc set states that it is both a steamer & a double boiler. The pan with no holes in it is used as the top layer of a "double boiler" - that is, the lower pot is used for boiling water that heats the contents of the upper pot. This design is to prevent burning things like sauces & melting chocolate or making candy. Some recipes call for a "double-boiler" for that reason. With time & experience, you will find this comes in very handy.
+10points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Steamer/Double-Boiler

Almost Perfect

02/12/2014
By ,
Plainsboro, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This a very nice steamer/double-boiler set - really, as far as I'm concerned as good as anything you'd find in a high end kitchenwares store. The one thing that I didn't notice when I ordered it was that the steamer component - the top one there in the picture - does NOT have handles. Bummer. It does have a pivoting handle that tucks inside, but I was hoping for another set of handles. And these ones are nice - they have that rubber or silicone treatment that makes them resist heat. But after mulling it over, I decided to keep it. Again, it's very nice quality, and I'll just work around the lack of handles. At least it does have sort of a "lip" that could be grabbed with pot holders. It's not perfect but close to it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Steamer/Double-Boiler

Love this set!

11/24/2012
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had a Tramontina stainless steel set for about 8 years now and just love it. Have been wanting a steamer and was excited to find this one. Most people prefer the non-stick pans but these are so much better as you don't have to deal with the non-stick coating scraping off. The pans cook evenly, the handles stay cool so you don't get burned lifting the tops or taking a pan off the stove. Clean up is a breeze; I just put a small amount of soapy water and soak for 10-15 minutes and using a teflon sponge, the pan looks like brand new after each wash. A teflon sponge even cleans any residue on the bottoms. I love my Tramontina stainless steel set and would recommend it to anyone who loves to cook.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Steamer/Double-Boiler

I love this!!!

09/02/2014
By ,
Romeo, mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it to use on my induction cooktop. I was so surprised to see how perfect a steamer, double boiler, stockpot it is! Its size and weight is perfect. Its very durable also. I love this more than the very expensive cookware that I have. I am saving up to buy a full Tramontina set.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Steamer/Double-Boiler

Works on Induction Heat Plate

10/08/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pots are not marked with the induction symbol but they did work on my induction heat plate.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Steamer/Double-Boiler

who knew

02/14/2014
By ,
newville, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I stumbled on this double boiler by accident when shopping. Thought it would be helpful for making gravies, puddings & frozen veggies etc. I love this product it is easy to use also cooks & looks fabulous(my mother even commented how nice it looks on the stove since now it is my go vessel using it most every day). Clean up is also easy (of course med low heat is the way to go) you have no idea how much better the food taste using stainless steel. K, I know how tired we are coming home from work & want to do fast & the last thing we want 2 do is scrub pots but this goes in the dishwasher love that.... also comes out really good. Oven compatible up to 350 with lid. Appearance has a shiny and clean look because 18/10 finish.
This is real good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Steamer/Double-Boiler

LOVE IT! Highly recommend it.

02/25/2013
By ,
Huntersville
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this because I wanted a steamer that I could trust. With this being made from 18/10 stainless steel, I can trust it to be safe (that is, toxin free, corrosion resistant - my main concerns). It is well constructed, too. Not super thin or cheap in any way.
The first time I used it, I used it to steam some green beans. In 10 minutes they were done perfectly. Even my kid loved them! (He wants me to prepare him some for his school lunches. That is the first time this year that he actually stated that he wants veggies in his lunch)
I would have paid the cost of this for just a steamer of this quality. The fact it can also be used as a double boiler is a huge plus. I look forward to maximizing its use in my kitchen.
NOTE: I would have given it five stars except there is some weirdness going on with the lid. Each time I use it, some clear lettering appears as the steam begins to condensate on the inside. I have no idea what all of the message is because as soon as the condensation builds up to droplets, the words disappear again. They only show up when there is slight faint condensation. I have made out the phrase "Do not re-use." and the word "from." There is also a recycling symbol. It might be just an imprint left from the packaging material. If that is the case, one would think it would have been removed by the initial cleaning. On top of that, there was no packaging material on the INSIDE of the lid - which is where the lettering shows up. Just some shrink wrap/plastic on the outside. Makes me wonder about the glass lid. Other than that one issue, I am 100% satisfied with this steamer / double boiler.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Steamer/Double-Boiler

does a great job

10/14/2012
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this mainly for the double boiler to make custard pie filling and it is so nice to have a pan that does not burn because custard burns easily. Plus, it can be washed in the dishwasher! The steamer works great too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Steamer/Double-Boiler

Love it!

04/10/2012
By ,
Braselton,Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered it for site to store. Got it no dents or anything. Looks great and works well!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Steamer/Double-Boiler

Very pleased with product.

12/16/2012
By ,
st louis mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I make my own yogurt and the double boiler keeps the milk from scalding. Unique feature that it is a 3 quart and not the normal 2 quarts that is commonly found. Since I use it for 2 quarts of milk this is the best size. Haven't used the steamer yet, but know I will put that to good use also.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Steamer/Double-Boiler

Seems like a higher value pot, looks high end!

01/04/2013
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heavy duty. Gave it as a gift. A replacement for a glass one my son broke by mistake. When I said it was from Walmart she was in disbelief. I've used both the steamer and double boiler myself. I am going to purchase my own.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Steamer/Double-Boiler
12/30/2012
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a fairly good steamer. The 3rd vessel comes in very handy. I wish the top steamer also had side handles for lifting and pouring.Thee is metal stamp in the middle of the cool handle, which heats up while cooking. Makes lifting the vessel difficult.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Steamer/Double-Boiler

Working Great!

02/08/2014
By ,
Morriston, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love having one lid that fits all 3 kettles. The triple-layered bottom on the biggest one is a real bonus and really does distribute heat more evenly. Have used the steamer basket with the middle kettle a few times now and have enjoyed having the steamed flavor of broccoli and cauliflower. The coated handles are another bonus (except the metal decal in the middle of the lid handle - which gets hot). Stainless steel seems to be of good quality. Am totally satisfied with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Steamer/Double-Boiler

Good Quality--Great Buy!

02/04/2014
By ,
AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know about durability, as I have only had it a short time, but it looks like it should last a lifetime, with proper use. I bought it primarily to steam vegetables, but the double broiler comes in handy, too. It's made of quality 18/10 stainless steel, as are most of my pots and pans, but a little lighter in weight than some others I have. I'm glad it's a little lighter, it's easier for me to use. It's a nice size for 2 people. It was definitely worth the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Steamer/Double-Boiler

Great value

12/22/2013
By ,
Antioch TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have been wanting a double boiler for years. Grew up with the old skillit and pan method. Wished I had purchased one years ago. Extra value with the steamer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Steamer/Double-Boiler
01/21/2013
By ,
rising sun IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works great, is a perfect size, well constructed and more than met my expectations. After using it, I was truly amazed that I recieved such a high end product for such a low price. I can't say enough good things about it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Steamer/Double-Boiler

Good Value, Performs Well

07/27/2013
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to use with an induction cooktop, for travel. I was looking for one pan that would be useful in a lot of ways, something lightweight, and induction-ready. This fits the bill for all those criteria. It's just the right size to make a quick meal for one or two people. For example, the pan and snug-fitting lid can be used to make rice. Then you can rinse it, and use it to sear and then braise meat; or for stir-frying, like a little wok. With the steamer insert, it is perfect for vegetables. With the double boiler, you can do chocolate fondue. I love my little multi-purpose pan!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Steamer/Double-Boiler

Better than I expected.

07/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good construction, perfect size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Steamer/Double-Boiler

Excellent addition to induction-ready cookware

02/26/2013
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding design and quality in cookware for induction cooktops. The double-boiler and steamer combo is perfect in a 3-quart size. Two heat-resistant silicon side handles ensure firm control when carrying the pots with food in the upper level(s). Cleans easily and stows handily. Adding this component to Tramontina's 10-piece kitchen set would greatly increase the collective value of the entire set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tramontina 18/10 Stainless Steel 4-Piece 3-Quart Steamer/Double-Boiler

Very Good

07/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used the boiler set for the first time last week and it worked very well. With the help of this set I was able to make my first pie and it turned out very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1 2 3 Next