Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Tramontina Tramontina 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set

Tramontina Tramontina 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set

Tramontina's Gourmet 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set is a complete collection of high-end, versatile and durable cookware in a variety of shapes. Full-clad, tri-ply clad vessel construction (18/10 stainless steel, aluminum core, magnetic stainless steel) provides optimal heat diffusion and superior performance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.756 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(488 Reviews) 437
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
415
4 stars
51
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation96%470 out of 488reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
44 Questions | 142 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
415
4 stars
51
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Tramontina 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set

Great quality pots & pans !!!

12/03/2012
By ,
Waukesha, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought these for our daughter for Christmas. She loves to cook & Tramontina Tri-Ply is a quality product. Easy to clean with Bar Keepers Friend-She will have these for years to come.
I ordered a few pieces a couple of years ago & have no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tramontina 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set

Perfect for Couples

04/12/2010
By ,
St. Augustine, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a 'cookbook for couples' author, I am always looking for kitchen products that would enhance the cooking experience for newlyweds and empty-nesters. When I purchased this Tramontina set and put it to the test, it immediately rose to the top of my recommendations for cookware. You cannot beat it for the price and performance. I now tout it whenever I do cooking demos and I'm even offering it as a Christmas give-away in a drawing for my newsletter subscribers.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tramontina 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set

Incredible Value

01/01/2014
By ,
Somerset, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned this set approx. 3 years, so have really had time to use and reflect on this product. I bought the set based on the reviews from Cooks Magazine, and here at Walmart.com.
This is quality cookware and performs beautifully. My only complaint is that the handles seem small, or not well balanced for this rather hefty set of cookware, which makes lifting a little awkward sometimes when pans are full, because of my arthritic hands.
To those who complain about it staining and being hard to clean, all you need to do is use a little Bar Keepers Friend (best product for cleaning all sorts of things I might add) and they will clean up beautifully. I use the pink Scotch Bright delicate care sponges with a little "BKF" and they still look like new. Also, no need to use highest heat which can cause scorching in the first place, as the heat conduction on these is amazing!
I have since bought additional pieces to add to the set and am sure this will be the last set I will ever need to buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tramontina 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set

very well the poor-man's "All Clad"

07/02/2014
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Good: very well constructed, very good heat distribution, induction compatible, looks very good, comfortable handles.
The Bad: heavier than Aluminium based non-stick pans, SS cooking can get a little messy compared to non-stick, but its worth avoiding teflon.
I would recommend this set to anybody who is budget conscious, and spends a lot of time in the kitchen. First off, the product features itself make it a good buy (Tri-ply, fully clad-good heat distribution, SS construction-extremely durable, 18/10 steel-very shiny and corrosion resistant, long sturdy handles-comfort) and secondly compared to other brands that offer the same features this is at a fraction of the cost. Although I did find a few brands offering a very similar product at almost this price point, but none was as well known as tramontina on the net.
Tramontina is known to manufacture in Brazil, and like wise I was expecting it to be "Made in Brazil" but this set was "Made in China". However I must say that I do not have any complains regarding the quality of construction or materials used.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tramontina 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set

Excellent cookware for the price

12/06/2013
By ,
SE NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a big fan of good cookware. After reading about this in "Cook's illustrated" magazine I purchased a set 3 years ago for use at our summer camp. The cookware heats quickly with out hot spots. Cleans up well and still looks great. Like all tri-ply cookware this is heavy. I consider that a plus but you need to consider the weight. I consider this cookware to be on par with my All-Clad - high praise indeed. The 8 piece set meets all of my cooking needs. Except I did buy a cheap non-stick Tramontina hard anodized pan for omelets and other uses.
We purchased these pans at a Walmart store. Last year we decided to give a gift of this set to a young couple setting up their first place. Dismayed that the stores did not have it. Did a google search for the name Tramontina and pleased that Walmart had it on-line only and with free shipping.
This set is a gift for a friend. A new flat top cooking surface has rendered her existing warped pans useless.
So we like this cookware so much we actually purchased 3 sets
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tramontina 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set

OUTSTANDING BUY

07/04/2010
By ,
Stratford, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a real scrooge and did a ton of research before I purchased this set. I never saw a bad review, too good to be true?
I purchased the 12 inch saute' pan to try the line, it worked perfectly. I had never used Stainless before, and I followed the directions to use a lower heat to fry. I thought it would take forever, not so, my glass top stove and this pan fell in love.
I purchased the 8 piece set thinking that I would perhaps not use the small saute pan or the dutch oven. Turns out these are my favorite pieces.
Browning is amazing, the fond created is lucious and the food is excellent.
My only regret is that I didn't purchase the larger set in the first place, could have saved a few $$.
The only thing that could be improved on the Tri Ply (wonderful!) pans is that the pots could have rolled edges, makes pouring a bit easier.
You won't be sorry you purchased this set, just remember to use lower temps and you will have outstanding results like I did.
MJ JOhnson
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tramontina 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set

Works on induction cooktop.

01/27/2012
By ,
MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was in the market for a quality stainless set that would work with an induction cook-top as well as have a tri-clad aluminum core for even heating. I found this set and based on the reviews, ordered it site-to-store. Let me tell you, this is a real quality set and definitely worth the $$. The only downside is there are no covers for the fry pans but I guess you can't have everything. It heats evenly and that's a good thing when using a counter-top induction cook-top such as my Duxtop. The Duxtop induction cooker has a 4" area that heats up. This set does a pretty good job of dispersing that heat around the pan and that's a good thing!
I'm also still learning how to cook with Stainless Steel as it is a different beast. You need lot's of oil/butter on a hot pan before you cook anything. I love the look of the pots and the solid steel covers, very quality all around. They really look and feel like All-Clad quality. You won't be disappointed.
Site-To-Store made shipping free. Highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Not so sure about the induction compatible.
Posted 04/30/2014
I got my Tramontina cookware about 1 1/2 years ago and it's induction compatible. On the Tramontina website it shows the same triple-clad cookware and it doesn't say that it's induction compatible. In fact, the 'Use and Care" brochure linked directly through the Walmart site does not indicate it's induction compatible. I've read on other web q & a forums that some of this cookware isn't induction compatible but the company will exchange it for cookware that is induction compatible if that's an issue for the consumer. As far as how the cookware performs, it's an amazing value considering what triple-clad cookware can cost. I've never had the higher priced cookware, but this cookware seems pretty awesome. If you're wanting induction compatible "for sure", you might contact Tramontina before purchasing. If that is not a concern, you won't regret your purchase.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Tramontina 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set

Great cookware- awesome value

07/06/2014
By ,
Franklin, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for new cookware for some time and found that most stainless cookware in this price range simply had a thick disk welded to the bottom of the pans, flimsy lids that do not fit tightly and poorly designed handles. This cookware is better than most that I have found at twice the price. I would recommend this cookware for anyone looking to invest in a good set of cookware to use for a lifetime at a very reasonable price. Love how well it conducts heat and clean-up is a breeze. I have put them in the dishwasher and they came out looking as good as new.
When I first received it, I wondered how the sauté pan would handle scrambled eggs compared to my ceramic skillet. The eggs did stick somewhat but clean-up was very easy. Will continue to use my ceramic skillet for eggs but love the saucepans and sauté pans for everything else.
There are so many other pieces that are available in this same line. I have already purchased the 4 qt. saucepan (love it!) and plan to put the 3 qt. deep sauté pan on my wish list for Christmas!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tramontina 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set

Best cookware for the price

12/12/2013
By ,
Ft. Lauderdale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Normally I don't write reviews on products; but this cookware is out of this world. I cook for my wife and I, and it has revolutionized our dining experiences at home. The cookware is beautiful and heats quick, evenly, and stays heated longer.
To all the people who are having such problems cooking on these, saying they stick...if you don't know how to cook on stainless steel you're going to have a bad time. You have to season the pan after every soap n wash (I just run hot water over pans and wipe them down) and you cannot cook on high heat, it's pointless. Cooking on medium and nothing more, and you're food will come out perfect.
I also love the handles, I recently cooked quickie jerk chicken on the stove and put it in the oven in the same pan to finalize and everything like always turned out amazing!
Highly recommend!
Downside, is if you wash with tap water it will leave water staining and won't look as shiny. Gotta get Barkeeper's friend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tramontina 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set

Excellent cookware at an unbeatable price

09/06/2013
By ,
Toronto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought six sets of tramontina clad cookware for myself and family. It was my favorite gift item until my immediate family became fully equipped.
I believe these are every bit as good as All Clad for most applications. Unfortunately my favourite combination is no longer available.
This set is a particularly good value since it does not include the very small diameter 1.5 quart saucepan. The 2 qt saucepan covers the small burner entirely whereas the 1.5 qt saucepan does not, therefore the sides and handle heat up. Since all other sets include the 1.5 in lieu of the 2, one can buy this set plus the 12" frypan, 8 quart or 12 quart stock pot a la carte and end up with a very complete set still at a very reasonable price.
I would love to see a set that included the following:
8, 10, 12" pans
2,3,4 qt sauce pans
3qt saute pan
5 qt dutch oven
8 and 12qt stock pots
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tramontina 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set

Pieces Are Too Small

01/04/2008
By ,
Atlanta, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Check the pot sizes! The price looks good, but the pans are too small for everyday use and not practical for cooking more than single servings! The "saute" pans are skillets or omelette pans and loose over two inches between outer rim and cooking surface. The 10" pan appeared to have about 7 inches of cooking surface; barely enough for a single chicken breast. (My hand covered a vast majority of the cooking surface. The largest pot is a 5-qt. covered "Dutch Oven," hardly practical when four quarts of water is recommended to cook a pot of pasta. The instructions recommend oven use up to only 400 degrees which is disappointing. These pots sport a mirror like shine which appear to need some babying to maintain; Hand drying after the dishwasher is recommended. The separates remain reasonably priced compared to other "Clad" cookware from other retail vendors, so consider buying individual pieces. You'll spend more than you would for the set, but have the pieces you need.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tramontina 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set

Excellent Cookware

01/14/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This set is incorrectly described! Mine arrived with a 1.5qt saucepan instead of the 1qt, and the 6qt dutch oven instead of the 5qt. Both of these were pleasant surprises! All the pans passed the magnet test and the box stated that they were all induction cooker compatible. Also note that the lid from the dutch oven fits the 10 inch saute pan and if you buy the 4qt saucepan, the lid from that also fits the 8 inch saute pan. All the pans are made in China and NSF certified. The finish and construction is excellent. There are no hot spots in the corners like there were with my old disk bottomed pans and so far cleaning them has been a breeze. These pan are gorgeous to look at and work great. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tramontina 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set
08/20/2012
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I sent for this set of Tramontina 18/10 stainless steel triply-clad cookware set. I was getting it from Wal-Mart and if I didn't like them I could return them with no questions asked. I order them from Wal-Mart.com and shipped to my home. I had 1 sauce pan that had a crack in the handle called the company to see if they would cover it, no promblem they sent me a prepaid lable I shipped it back to them and they sent me a new one. It was that fast. As far as cooking in them they are GREAT. I made some spg. sauce and if anything is going to stick it is going to be tomato sauce. I fried eggs in the fry pan and they came out GREAT ALSO. I cooked a pot roast in the 5 qt. started it on top of the stove and finish it in the oven. So don't be afraid of Stainless Steel cook ware just go for the TriPly-Clad it heats up nicely and at this price you cann't go wrong. Happy Cooking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tramontina 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set

Love these pots

02/27/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I purchased these pots about 4 years ago, I think I have used them long enough to write an honest review. I love them. These are just as good as Caphalon or Analon (I have one pan of each) and much cheaper. I don't know why Walmart has stopped selling them in the store. They are amazing. They cook evenly and just as importantly (with the help of Bar Keepers Helper) clean up like new. The Calphalon pan I have has te anodized finish on the inside and outside and it's a pain to clean. If there's a particulary tough stain on the tramontina, I can spray a little easy off on it and the stain comes off, can't do that with the Calphalon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+220points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tramontina 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set

Good steel but...

10/29/2010
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This set of cookware is made of very good quality heavy duty stainless steel and I'm very pleased with the quality of the metal. But unfortunately there are several design flaws with this set. Most annoying is that the handles, while solid, are a bit too thin which makes it difficult to hold the pots sideways when pouring or washing. This is especially noticeable on the heavier 3 quart pot. A second problem is that the lips of the pots are straight which can cause dribbling when pouring. This seems worst on the 5 quart dutch oven. And one last inconvenience is that the lids of the pots do not fit on the frying pans. These are all simple design issues so hopefully Tramontina will pay attention and correct them in a future version.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Charlotte,NC
Handles is a good point
Posted 09/08/2013
I wondered about the shape and length of the handles, and if they are thin, then not good.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Tramontina 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set

Amazing cookware if it were twice the price!

11/12/2013
By ,
Richmond, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't say enough good about this set. The fry pans and sauce pans not only look like all clad, they perform like it too! Very very pleased. Cleans up VERY nicely. Haven't had any discoloration. I gave it a 4 on durability only because I get the impression that the highly polished/mirror like outside would be easy to scratch, but that's true of Al Clad as well.
I just find this a good set/price point. While the $299 and even the $199 is a more complete set, this covers all your basics. You can add pans if you need, except for maybe a 12" skillet/saute and a stock pot(but I don't think Clad cookware makes much of a difference on a stockpot) you can always add these later.
A couple notes to people who comment about discoloration, sticking foods and stains.
- Even though it's dishwasher safe, if you want to keep it's appearance you should wash by hand. This is very easy to do if you use the cookware right.
- That means that you heat the pans first(a couple minutes) then add a little oil and things won't stick.
- Use lower temps than your old cookware! Because of how these pans retain heat, they get a lot hotter with less heat! A 7 on this pan is like a 10 on what you may be used to, but truth be told, there is never a need to put your stove on a 9 or a 10 with ANY cookware. I've found that people in general cook at way too high of temperatures.
- Let the pan cool for cleanup and use a little barkeepers friend. It will look like new each time. I clean the bottoms too after each use, it only takes a second. It's easier to head off discoloration when it's small then to let it build up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tramontina 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set

Great product purchased 3 years ago

08/20/2013
By ,
Granville, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every year I come back to give a review. I have never wanted to tell so many people about this tri-ply clad cookware. I use my pans and pots several times a day. If I get any discoloration, I just put in a bit of white vinegar and it immediately takes it away. Keeps the heat well, so you can turn off the burner way ahead of time and save energy. My set still looks like new. And I repeat, I have to cook all of my meals everyday. I cook and clean with the pots and pans several times a day, and several times of day of cleaning. I also got the bonus knives with my set... the are wonderful and can be professionally sharpened because they are forged one piece. I tried Cuisinart first and they were much more and pitted the first sauce I made and were very cheap that it cooked the next item scorched.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tramontina 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set

So glad I switched from non-stick to tri-ply clad!

11/26/2008
By ,
North FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used non-stick pans for decades, always believing that non-coated stainless pans would make food stick--it was certainly my experience any time I tried using other stainless pans like Revereware.
But during this past year I started researching the health concerns with various non-stick coatings. My non-stick pans were very scratched up (despite my careful use of only plastic/wood utensils), and I needed a replacement set, not only because I was afraid of what was getting into our food, but because the pans were not cooking well anymore.
My research led me to triple-ply-clad pans, All-Clad being my initial first choice, but--the price! I stumbled upon this Tramontina set here on walmart.com. I couldn't believe what a great price they were--unheard of for triple-clad stainless. But, would they be good quality? The positive reviews and the comparisons to All-Clad convinced me to take the risk and try them.
The result?
I've been so very thrilled with these pans! First of all, every one of my "sticking" worries have been put to rest. So far, nothing has stuck or burned on (I follow the directions given carefully). They've been a breeze to clean, first with a dish cloth and then I follow up with a blue scotch pad, which hasn't scratched the finish but gets off that final film of food. Every time I use them to saute, I exclaim at how these pans are just as non-stick as my non-stick pans were!
Aside from that most important aspect, they are beautiful pans. So nice to look at, and very well-made. They are STURDY. They're also very heavy, which comes with being triple clad.
The only "negatives" I can see are that, with the weight of the saucepans, I find that the handles, while beautiful, are too thin and don't give good leverage when trying to pour out extra liquid, etc. And the other is that neither of the saute/fry pans have lids.
Neither of these "negatives" are enough that they outweigh how wonderful I think the pans are.
You can buy a separate 3-qt saucepan here, too, which I did. I use it a LOT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+138points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tramontina 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set

Nobody ever said that a Ferrari was a good value

02/19/2010
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Preface: I cook professionally, as a personal chef and for my family. I spend an average of 15 hours a week in my kitchen too. So ya, I’m pretty into cooking. So I received my Tramontina 4 quart casserole yesterday. The pan is very high quality, rivets in the handles inside and out compare to All Clad (AC). But that’s really where the similarities stop. After using and inspecting the pan id still say it was an excellent value, but is still not in the same league as AC. People may want this to be true, but it is not. I own two AC stainless steel pans (12” skillet and 4 quart saucepan in 5D). These two pans cost over $400! I used my micrometer to measure the thickness of both brands. The pans surface thickness of AC is exactly twice as thick the Tra. Interestingly the thickness of the two SS AC pans were the same despite coming from two different lines ( SS and D5). Despite this fact, AC is still not a very good value. My 4 quart D5 sauce pan cost almost $250 compared to the 4 quart Tra. for $45. I liken the difference to this metaphor, AC is a Ferrari and Tra is a Corvette. Nobody ever said that a Ferrari was a good value but if you want the best sports car man can build and have the $, then there you go. SO, IMO for MOST cooks, the Tra. Is all they will ever need and will likely be please, but if you ever want to drive a Ferrari pan look for the AC.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TX
Great humorous Review.
Posted 12/18/2011
This is just about everything one would want to know summed up quite wittily. Thanks for your input, it makes me want one for myself. I bought it for my daughter and now believe she will be very pleased with it. I don't know if I can justify replacing the set I just bought about 5 years ago with this one, but am really going to try. Thanks again.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Tramontina 8-Piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Ply Clad Cookware Set

Exactly what I expected

08/21/2013
By ,
Windsor, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We decided to dump all non stick and go with stainless steel, when I was shopping around for clad steel sets, we found awesome reviews at very reasonable price, so bought this set and pretty happy with it. Only issue i found until now is that handle in lid gets hot when cooking in high temperatures, so we cannot take the lid with bare hand, this is a minor issue but like to see this . However the handles do not get hotter due the hole in handle to allow air flow. I cannot comment on durability yet as we had this only for couple of weeks. This set goes on sale at walmart.com for $129-$132 so keep looking. Also the least price i have seen on this is during Thanks giving for $116.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 438 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next