Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ROYAL OAK Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal

ROYAL OAK Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal

Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal is 100 percent natural with no chemicals added, and it is quick starting and ready to be cooked on in 15 minutes. This lump charcoal burns hotter than charcoal briquettes and ensures a great wood flavor in your food.
Average Customer Rating:
4.719 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation97%31 out of 32reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal

Best there is

05/31/2014
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a BBQ pitmaster, I use to use the stuff in the blue bag. There was just too much ash and hard to control temps. So, I switched to Royal Oak Lump abt 7 yrs ago and have never looked back. It lights easier, cooks clean, hardly no ash, and consistent temps. Too bad my local WM store only had 6 bags this spring. After they sold out, thanks to me, they have not gotten anymore in... so now I have to go to an orange box hardware store next to my local WM to buy it... come on Walmart wise up and stock this stuff. Just look at all these positive reviews.... I alone will go through abt 200 lbs a year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal

Trash the briquettes

07/26/2014
By ,
Waynesboro,Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do yourself a big favor and try this natural lump charcoal.You will then see the tremendous difference in how your grilled food tastes.I wouldn't use briquettes now if someone gave them to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal

Good average Charcoal

08/27/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Charcoal is easy to start/light. Good variety of sizes and very little scrap.
Charcoal have a decent wood smoke smell. Charcoal burn for a long time with a low amount of ash.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal

Great Charcoal for Big Green Egg

03/29/2014
By ,
Durham, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This charcoal is great. Low ash, high temperature >900 degrees
Great value compared to the BGE brand charcoal
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal

Ceramic cookers require All natural

08/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product is a good value, my only complaint is that rough handling in the stores tend to break the lump into smaller pieces. Staff needs to realize that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal

Awesome

03/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this originally for my forge and its works great for heating up steel. It hardly smokes and makes some great barbecued chicken!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal

Dont Buy Any Other Charcoal

12/05/2013
By ,
Suwanee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been smoking for quite sometime and have tried a lot of different varieties. This is by far the best. It burns hot and long with a small amount of ash. It is very clean and doesn't have weird insulation looking things in it like other popular brands. This is the same charcoal that Big Green Egg uses. The only downside is it will impart some oak smoke. I say its a downside because sometimes you want to control exactly what kind of smoke hits the meat. (e.g. 2 oz of peach with 3 oz of pecan). If you want to go to a great resource for charcoal reviews: http://www.nakedwhiz.com/lump.htm
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wake Forest
Royal Oak All Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal
Posted 01/12/2014
A good product , however, they go a bit too far with the all natural part I just found a 1 1/2 pound rock in my 8.8 pound bag of charcoal very disappointed it did not burn very well. I was very surprised when a fist sized lump came out of the bag. Otherwise a good product
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal

I fully intended to buy Kingsford Briquettes...

06/24/2012
By ,
Fredericksburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
...but saw the Royal Oak Lump Charcoal and gave it a quick lookup on my phone. I liked what I saw from the reviews, and decided to feed my Weber something new. This stuff is way better than the Cowboy stuff they sell at the hardware store and performed just as well as the expensive stuff my local butcher shop carries. The pieces were well sized (big enough to scatter, but small enough to fit easily in my chimney starter). They burned clean, hot, and for a good amount of time...long enough for my Tandori wings to finish as well as a dozen hot dogs...and I could easily have cooked another 30 minutes with the fire. Overall I am very happy I made the purchase and it will probably increase the usage of my Kettle Grill over my Weber Gas Grill this summer. GOOD STUFF!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal

unlike most charcoals this natural one burns well

03/26/2012
By ,
mullins, SC.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this thing about this charcoal it burns well and has no added kerosene which a horrible taste to food
I have used this for years always works well, a little news paper gets it burning
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal

Best lump charcoal I've used!

06/17/2012
By ,
Surprise, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used other "lump charcoals" and most of the others are little bitty pieces, one HUGE piece and DUST! Royal Oak is pretty good size pieces perfect for a small backyard grill all the way to the bottom of the bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal

Works awesome

03/05/2014
By ,
Portland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I originally used cowboy charcoal for my forge but once i got a bag of this stuff,i'll never go back.
Barely smokes
Big pieces
Great value,6 bucks a bag which is super cost effective
Only downside is i got one bag and it was only half full
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal

excellent charcoal

06/06/2012
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lights easily with newspaper. Ready quickly. No chemicals like other leading charcoals. Buy a charcoal chimney and use this. You'll love the difference in taste.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal
02/27/2012
By ,
Hazlehurst, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this charcoal all the time and its good to know that I can pick it up locally in Ridgeland. Cooks quick and evenly and food has a wonderful, natural taste.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal

Great charcoal at an excellent price

11/05/2012
By ,
Fairfax VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Burns hot, slow and leaves very little ash.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal

Better than Cowboy Lump

02/21/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is pretty good lump charcoal. It burns well and doesn't have much fillers from what I can tell. Low ash and seems to actually be wood scraps, not particle board and nails like other brands.
10/10 would allow to cook meat.
Also... Charcoal briquettes... what is this armature hour? If you are a true charcoal fan hardwood lump is the only way to go!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal

A true clean hardwood charcoal

06/26/2013
By ,
Lincoln, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product, no monster hunks of charcoal. A true hardwood product. Heats up quickly and evenly. Starts easily/
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal

Excellent taste, easy to start, great value

12/17/2012
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First and foremost, this is a hardwood lump charcoal, and is not a briquette. It is additive free and imparts a light, smoky flavor on the grill. I use it with many different woods like peach, apple, hickory, cherry, and mesquite. I use it in my Big Green Egg, and it will easily reach 700+ degrees. One of the keys is to not overload your grill, and to use the bigger, solid pieces. It is a great value and there is no substitute.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal

awesome

12/20/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal

Fantastic Hardwood Lump Charcoal!!!!!!

04/24/2013
By ,
Pueblo West, Co
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this stuff every time I grill or smoke! It has a very clean burn and no additives. I use a chimney to get it started. Burns really HOT and doesn't leave very much ash behind. Best thing about Hardwood Lump Charcoal is when your done using it you can put it out with water and reuse what didn't burn next time after it dries out. Be very careful when you poor the water on it so you don't burn yourself from the steam. I have recommended this Hardwood Lump Charcoal to everyone that I know and they love it as well!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Royal Oak All-Natural Hardwood Lump Charcoal

Rocks

01/22/2014
By ,
Waveland, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great charcoal, great price, but I keep finding 1/2 pound to 1 pound rocks in every bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next