Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 38" 12.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

Murray Murray 38" 12.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

For consumers seeking reliable equipment that gets the job done, this Murray 38 Riding Mower features a 12.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Single Powerbuilt OHV engine designed with Over Head Valve technology along with a simple-to-maintain design, creating a more durable, longer lasting engine. It also features a 38 deck, perfect for small to mid-size yards; and a 6-speed shift-on-the go transmission that allows you to change speeds while youre mowing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%29 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 62 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Murray 38" 12.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 38" 11.5 HP Riding Mower.

Great lawn mower!

09/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My lawn was pretty grown up because I had to wait a couple of weeks until I could afford a new lawn mower. I moved in, in August and just cut my grass over this past weekend to give an idea of how high the grass was. The lawn mower cut through it with ease, and my yard is almost 2 acres. I got a 2 gallon gas can and filled it once, and it cut all of my grass with just 2 gallons. I love my new lawn mower, and I highly recommend it because it's a great mower at a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 2 for Murray 38" 12.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 38" 11.5 HP Riding Mower.

Great mower for our budget and lawn.

09/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this mower. It is easy too handle and steer. My husband uses it more than I do. That is a plus, too. He loves it. For the price it is wonderful. The only drawback was it has no headlights but that is ok for us because we don't mow after dark. It seems to have a quieter motor than those we have used it the past.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 3 for Murray 38" 12.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 38" 11.5 HP Riding Mower.

Great tractor

08/25/2014
By ,
Forestville n.y.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tractor for the money. I have 2 acres of lawn and trees. Cuts my mowing time in half. I put a trailer on back to pick up sticks and twigs as I do the yard. Delivery time was promised at 2pm and it was here at 159 in perfect condition. It was easy to uncreated and to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for Murray 38" 12.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 38" 11.5 HP Riding Mower.

Very good handling & shipping

08/24/2014
By ,
Harlem,Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great,very happy from start to finish
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 5 for Murray 38" 12.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 38" 11.5 HP Riding Mower.

Awesome Mower

07/07/2014
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this mower about 6 weeks now and used it about 8 times. It's cut is even and smooth, runs Great, easy to use and cuts well with plenty of power for higher area's of grass and weeds. I have paid more in the past on bigger Brand name mowers and have no complaints with this mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+2points
Review 6 for Murray 38" 12.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 38" 11.5 HP Riding Mower.

easy to operate,cuts well

05/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
would be easy to operate if it had 3,or 4 gears speed instead of forward and reverse
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lillington
murray 38 in or 42in lawnmowers
Posted 09/07/2014
Can I order a bagger to fit either of these mowers
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Murray 38" 12.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 38" 11.5 HP Riding Mower.

Simple, Compact and Powerful

04/27/2014
By ,
York, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well I bought my Murray 38", 11hp 4 speed transaxle way back when Murray was still building them. Everything here except transmission seems the same but now MTD builds the mower. Mine is 21 years old and still going strong after about 500 hours of use. Basic maintainence and batteries (Yes this must have a battery included) and a pulley is all I've done to it. I don't know if the New MTD mower has poor quality steel but it looks very close to mine.
Make sure to grease the mowing deck after a year to prevent rust.
Wish someone would comment on theirs.
Remember KISS. Keep it simple stupid Lol.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+10points
Review 8 for Murray 38" 12.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

Hope you don,t need Service...

09/23/2013
By ,
Kansas City Mo. area
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this mower because I had an Older Murray 11 HP "38 and it had been such a good mower, all things change, this mower does not even resemble the old one. I have had it 30days now, used it once, it seemed to mow O.K. however it has been in the shop for most of this 30days, it did not shift into gear properly and made a loud sweeking noise when the deck was in the #5 position, after 30 days I still don't have my mower, service & repair is lacking, wish I hadn't sold my 15 yr. old Murray
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Murray 38" 12.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

product was in a flood

08/30/2013
By ,
Rochester,NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After driving an hour to pick this up and then another 20 minutes to my cottage only to find out the engine was full of rusty water. After further investigation, it appeared that this riding mower was in a flood. After getting a neighbor to help me load this back on my truck and another 20 minutes back to Walmart and another 20 minutes to get someone to help me return this piece of junk, did I get a refund. Five hours of wasted time and money (GAS $$) for nothing. The guy at the garden center said that these come from NJ (hurricane Sandy) Needless to say, I'm not happy. No more purchases from Walmart for me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Murray 38" 12.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

13 years

07/06/2013
By ,
sedan, ks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had one of these Murray 12.5 HP riding mowers for 13 years and though there have been some minor changes it's basically the same mower. Despite the fact I have had to store it outdoors protected by a Tarp It still looks pretty good , I wax it at least once a year and use protectorant on the seat and Non metal parts. I change the oil after about 10 hours of run time and Clean or change the air cleaner Two or three times a year and lubricate all friction areas several times a year using White spray grease or 3-in-one oil. I find that 12.5HP seems to be as big as I need even for that fairly tall tough grass that grows here in KS. I got one of those little trailers that I use with this mower and it has been well worth the $88 I paid for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Murray 38" 12.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
06/16/2013
By ,
Waller, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My riding mower of 10 years, finally died. We researched several brands, and after comparing brands and prices, decided to go with the Murray. It was delivered to our home for a small fee. My husband was able to put the steering wheel and rest of parts together with no problem.
I have used the mower twice, and it easily mowed our 1/2 acre in record time, and did a great job. I would highly recommend this mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Murray 38" 12.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

Not a bad mower

05/22/2013
By ,
Bradford, Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Compared to my old (1967) Wheelhorse, this little rider is a huge improvement! Rides a little rough with the small rear tires but runs great, plenty of power and mows like a pro. Biggest prob I found is the safety feature of engine shutting off if shifting into reverse, you have to shut PTO (mower drive) off before you can back up. Otherwise, this appears to be a great mower at a decent price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Murray 38" 12.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
05/20/2013
By ,
Breezewood, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For many years I have been mowing with second hand mowers It is so good to finally have a new one
I take care of a trailer park so I do alot of mowing
I love my murray I always did say they are good mowers
When I buy my push mowers I alway buy a Murray
I love the cup holder I always had trouble keeping a drink with me
I love the safty features The tractor stopping when you get off And I thought I wouldn't like the fact you can;t mow backwards but it isn't too bad I have gotten use to it
Very pleased
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Murray 38" 12.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

outstanding riding lawn mower at a great price!

03/09/2013
By ,
Raleigh, North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The lawn mower I purchased online was just what I was lookig for. Marray 38 Inch
I purchased one eighteen years ago and it died in 2012. It was a great mover just to old.
My new more is so advance in what I wanted. Big differance in eighteen years.
It so easily to order on line. And it was delivered when they said it wouldbe.
The delivery sevice was right on time and the men did a great job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Murray 38" 12.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

Riding Mower

09/30/2012
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A simple old fashion riding lawn mower. Gets the job done. Lacking the lights; however, a great overall product. I am happy to own one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Murray 38" 12.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

Great riding mower

09/01/2012
By ,
West Palm Beach, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mower seems to be a great mower so far. It has a lot of power and mows my yard with ease and that is with my 6' 3" son on it. The only reason I gave it a 4 star overall rating is because it is not equipped to cut in reverse, but that is not a really big problem. I think this mower is great mower and has a fantastic price. If you need something easy to mow with and don't mind it not cutting in reverse, this is a great mower to buy. It is very easy to put together also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Murray 38" 12.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
07/28/2012
By ,
buckhannon,wv
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
so far very good lawn mower
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Murray 38" 12.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

LOve my mower!

07/24/2012
By ,
Washington, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looked at this riding mower about a week before I purchased it. It was $938 when I looked at it.... came back the next week and it had been reduced $100 !! Also I have no interest for 12 months...! Mower does good.... easy to run... I noticed that it is not cutting quite even... after reading other comments I am going to check the tire pressure and also will purchase wheels for the deck. I am a little old lady (85 years of age) so if I can run it anyone can !! I only weigh 130 lbs so we had to use a bungee cord to tie down the seat... works good !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Murray 38" 12.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
07/20/2012
By ,
Riverton, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Murray mower shiped & received earlier than expected with excellant delivery to home. Very minor assembly was required. Rus perfect out of the crate. Nice affordible unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Murray 38" 12.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
07/08/2012
By ,
kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mower arrived at my door a day earlier than scheduled. Yahoo! It was in a large packing crate and was well protected. Assembly was easy and with a little gas in the tank it was ready to go. This is our first rider so it was a bit tricky to use the first time. We have ordered a mulch kit and deck wheels because our yard is not totally flat and the wheels will help that and the mulch kit is so the big chute will not stick out the side and it will be easier to maneuver through our gates. Runs very well and does an excellent job of cutting the grass.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next