Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Murray Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Get the job done with a Murray 21" gas push lawn mower featuring a powerful Briggs & Stratton 140cc OHV 550e series engine to cut through thick grass. This reliable mower is easy to start and is backed by the Prime N' Pull E-Z starting promise. Quick 3-in-1 cutting mower deck lets you choose your cut finish from mulching, bagging or using the side discharge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.284 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(190 Reviews) 160
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
116
4 stars
49
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation88%166 out of 188reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 127 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
116
4 stars
49
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Great 1st time buyer lawn mower

06/03/2012
By ,
Lawton, Ok
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just purchased this mower. I must admit I'm satisfied. I've only used it once; however, so far I have no complaints. The one drawback I might include is that it only has one speed, full throttle. I'm sure its governed not to be full blast. It came with a pint of oil or so I dont remember but it was the required amount for use. I added the oil, 1 gallon of gas, and it cranked right up on first pull; i pulled rather easily just to see how tight the motor was and it fired up. I dont use the side or bag, I just let it mulch and it does great. I mowed my whole lawn on the one gallon. Took me about an hour and never needed to refill gas. It has 1 front height adjustment and 1 rear height adjustment, meaning one adjustment lever on one side adjusts both front wheels, works good. I looked at others but for the price and torque and looks, this mower was the one for me. when you assemble, remember to pull the push handle out to the correct position. It comes in transport mode pushed in and it locks the blade in place.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Nice product so far

06/13/2014
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used the mower once since getting it. It was pretty easy to assemble since most was already done for you, however, the directions didn't explain that if the handle wasn't properly pulled out far enough the blade wouldn't spin, hence to try and start it would be impossible. So after calling the customer support number that came in the manual, they referred me to another number. This number was to the "Proactive Face Cleanser". So as expected, she was unable to help with the mower issue but could give me Information on face cleanser. So, after trying to find a proper customer support for Briggs and Stratton i did manage to get in touch with their tech support gentleman. Who wasn't much help and said sorry but you have to return the item. So made a call to my local walmart and took the mower in an they started her right up after properly pulling the handle all the way out. Moral of this is that te directions could be a little bit more explainable for those of us granny's who may not be real technically inclined
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag
08/28/2013
By ,
Edmond, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great mower, I've only had it 3 weeks, but so far it has exceeded my expectations. It is VERY lightweight so maneuvering it is effortless. I have used a self propelled mower before and prefer this one. The bagger has worked just fine so far. It seats onto the back of the mower very easily and removes just the same. I haven't had any issues with clogging but I do empty the bag often while mowing, every 10 minutes or so. I only have a quarter of an acre to mow, if that, and can knock it out in 45 minutes. I have not used the chute or mulching functions yet so I can't speak on those. After priming the button on the engine a few times it has always started up with one pull. Briggs and Stratton makes fine engines. I bought this as a package deal with a gas weedeater for around $275 with free shipping to my local store which took 3 days. I am very satisfied with my purchase and would recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Fantastic Mower I Love It!

05/31/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always used self propelled lawn mowers Toro, Troy-Bilt, Lawn-Boy, and John Deere. This is the first manual push and the first Murray mower I have ever owned so I didn't know what to expect and honestly I wasn't expecting to much. I am amazed by this mower it starts on the first pull every single time cold or hot doesn't matter. The engine is very quiet and excellent on gas I can mow the entire house about 3 times on one full tank my old mowers were gas hogs I would have to fill the tank every time I mowed. The Murray is so light weight compared to my previous mowers. I have had both steel deck and cast aluminum deck mowers but they were all heavy tanks to lift or move this one I can lift off the ground with 3 fingers it weighs nothing I love it and because it is so light weight it's extremely easy to push. My self propelled mowers would take me 45 minutes to mow the entire house with this one it now only takes me 20 minutes to mow the entire house because I am not limited to the speed of the mower. I can now walk at my own personal speed which at 6' tall I walk pretty fast. To sum it all up this is an excellent machine at a great price I recommend this mower strongly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

lawn mower

10/22/2014
By ,
Midland, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We haven't use it yet it has part broken on it. The air filter cover is broke
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Good push mower for the money.

05/05/2012
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this mower for the features offered at the price. Lightweight, easy to assemble and start, handle folds easily for compact storage although i would recommend using some type of lubricant at the point the handle slides into/out of the mower. The single front/rear height adjusters are easy to use although being molded plastic not sure how well they'll hold up. Bagging system is easy to use but once again some components are molded plastic so not sure about longevity. Overall a very good mower for the price. This is the second Murray push mower i've owned, the first has lasted 7 years and still runs strong and cranks on first or second pull everytime. Purchased this one for the bagging feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Runs great-underpowered for picking up yard debris

10/21/2014
By ,
Spokane, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased online and picked up at store. Transaction was smooth - no issues at all. The mower was actually at a nearby store so it was ready to pick up just a couple hours after I placed the order. Set up out of the box was straight forward with very clear instructions. Everything went together with no problems. After adding the included oil and pouring in the gas, I pressed the primer 3 times and the mower started with ease. I noticed right away that the engine didn't seem to have the power I was hoping for. I have pine needles in the front yard and a bunch of samaras (little helicopters from neighbors tree) in my back yard which I was hoping would be sucked up by this mower. The mower did not do a very good job of sucking up the yard debris, spraying a lot of it out from the mower deck. The machine did a fair job of cutting the lawn but it just didn't seem to have enough power to suck up the grass blades and provide an even cut. The mower itself was very light and extremely easy to maneuver. My biggest complaint about this mower is the design of the rear discharge bag. There is a molded, rectangular shaped compartment built into the lid that secures the bag. When you open this lid to remove the bag, the little compartment is filled with grass and will go all over the lawn or other surface on which you're changing the bag . It's a very poor design. Plus, there was always a decent amount of grass clippings that wouldn't quite reach the bag and would end up on the lawn. The poor design of the rear discharge bag and the mower's inability to suck up yard debris was a deal breaker for me. I ran out the engine to remove all the gas, drained the oil and returned the mower back to the store. The return was hassle free and I was appreciative that Walmart took the mower back with no questions. The customer service person was ecstatic that I had all the original paperwork and that the fluids were drained. It was as easy as returning a pair of pants. I'll stick with my old Snapper and have a local small engine shop put a more powerful engine on the deck.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Great Mower

04/08/2013
By ,
Knoxville Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this yesterday, it was good putting together though it doesn't include instructions for putting the bag together. For anyone reading this the metal bar goes inside the bag. (this is our first mower and first time putting one together). Oil is included. We pushed the prime button 4 times and started up. Cuts great. We also bought a extended warranty would recommend buying the extended as if anything goes wrong it can be replaced. I find it easy to push and the yard I'm mowing is uneven. After researching the cheaper versions I found these reveiws to be the best for the mowers in this price range. Research what you are buying. This the mower with the best reveiws in this price range. thats why we bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

I've owned a Murray for 15 years

10/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
and this one is great too
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Good Light weight mower

04/20/2012
By ,
Rochester NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mower is much lighter than the last Murray I purchased many years ago from Walmart. It is very easy to set up and starts right up. If you are not into paying alot for a walking lawn mower You can't beat it for the price The test will be in its longevity so we shall see. My last one lasted 7-8 years and I would expect this to to the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+125points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Murray 21 Gas Push Mower does what it claims.

05/27/2014
By ,
Mabank , Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 70 and had major back surgery 14 months ago. Live alone.
No issues putting it together..Great picture instructions. Simple. It started with one pull, yea!! that is why I purchased it. NOTE: I mowed about 10 feet, hit a medium size rock and the blade went flying off. Never thought to check that it was tight. Assumed that was a given. Son, put it back on ..Easy, took 5 min.
Has been a dream ever since. I am a happy customer. You will be too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

My first New Lawn Mower

11/22/2013
By ,
Killeen, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First time I buy a New Lawn Mower. I had a couple old ones. I was hesitant to buy a new one. I'm no Lawn Mower expert. I did do a lot of looking around and read reviews. I came across this one, read the reviews and decided to buy it. I've had if for a month, very happy with it. I like the fact that the bag is easily attached and removed. Blade is sharp, engine is not too loud. I did however notice the engine is a little weak 140cc, but for the price it is definitely worth it. I have a huge back yard, a lot of weeds and wood debris. The lawn mower does great every time. Easy set up, received it through Fed ex..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Very good product

10/26/2013
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical of this product at first because of the low price I got with the package deal of the mower and the trimmer for $250. But the day before I picked the product up I was at my job and someone was talking about mowers and how Murray was a very decent product. Very easy to put together and very comfortable to use. It clips in place and makes for very easy use. I enjoy the multiple levels of cutting height as my yard is at an angle in several places and it makes trimming the angles easier then with a set height mower. Attaching the frame of the grass catcher is easier then expected and cleanup in nice. Also comes with oil for the first few uses and you don't have to mix gas and oil together for the product. Feels sturdy and has a pretty decent amount of power.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

excellent value and performance

06/25/2012
By ,
mass
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
for the money -- you couldn't beat this unit-- easy to start -- easy to puch -- easy to remove and replace grass catcher bag--- bag actually fills all the way up not like alot of units that fill at the front of the bag and begin dropping clipping before they are actually filled up. --- couldn't expect more without paying at least twice as much--- excellent buy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag
04/11/2012
By ,
Mansfield, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My last two push mowers were too hard to start and too heavy to push respectively. This one is perfect. Also, it is easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+148points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag
04/10/2012
By ,
Mathis TX.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Starts easy. Is light, and easy to push. The only thing I would change is the side shoot. It can come off if pumped against something.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag
05/22/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good little mower for the money.. engine lacks a throttle which was not indicated in the product specifications but it so far starts up easily. It was easy to assemble and started the first time. Really like the bag or mulch options; been using the bagger and lawn looks great. Thank You , as usual a great Walmart Value!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

ENGINE BROKE ON FIRST USE

08/07/2012
By ,
Walland, TN 37886
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was hoping this was going to be a purchase I didn't have to take back. I was really excited about trying this mower out. I brought it home and put it together. I was amazed at how easy it started. When it came time to mow I was amazed with the whole mower until the one thing I thought that wouldn't break did. The engine! A piece of plastic under the engine cover fell down into the flywheel and got chewed up. I think I would like this mower if it had the bigger engine. They are built a little better. I took this one back to the store. They need to fix this problem with this engine. It didn't even finish my yard once. That's sad! I miss the old mowers that would blow the grass out good and last a long time. All new push mowers seem to be junk. They don't make them like they used to.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

defective front-wheel/axle connector

10/08/2013
By ,
Covington, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Will be returning mower tomorrow, this after having taken it out of the box today.
After extending the handle, I stepped forward a few steps in my small shed, pushing the mower. I noticed that the mower was pulling to the right. I stepped backwards, pulling the mower, and noticed the same. Turns out that the piece of steel that connects the front axle to the front-right wheel was bent. Being that this connecting piece is such a strong, solid piece of metal, I wondered how it could possible become so bent without other parts of the mower showing damage. No way that it was damaged in the box. Whoever assembled it should have noticed the faulty piece. I'm a handy guy, but trying to straighten out this piece would be unwise because it's tough to get at and because I might break it off from the front axle.
Not only does that bent piece cause the mower to pull to the side, it also causes a height imbalance between the front wheels.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Does the job I need it to do with not much effort.

05/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have about 1/4 ac. to mow. Flat with a few tress and bushes. Works well for my needs. The gas tank is smaller than my old mower, and runs out before I finish mower. The grass catcher rubber sealers were very hard to get on. That's the only issues I have. Starts with only one pull of the rope. Very easy to ajust mower deck up or down. Also very quiet motor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 161 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next