Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Murray Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Get the job done with a Murray 21-inch gas push lawn mower featuring a powerful Briggs & Stratton 140cc OHV 550e series engine to cut through thick grass. This reliable mower is easy to start featuring the Prime N' Pull E-Z starting system. The versatile 3-in-1 cutting deck lets you choose your cut finish from mulching, bagging or using the side discharge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.278 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(194 Reviews) 164
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
118
4 stars
49
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation89%170 out of 192reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 127 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
118
4 stars
49
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Great 1st time buyer lawn mower

06/03/2012
By ,
Lawton, Ok
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just purchased this mower. I must admit I'm satisfied. I've only used it once; however, so far I have no complaints. The one drawback I might include is that it only has one speed, full throttle. I'm sure its governed not to be full blast. It came with a pint of oil or so I dont remember but it was the required amount for use. I added the oil, 1 gallon of gas, and it cranked right up on first pull; i pulled rather easily just to see how tight the motor was and it fired up. I dont use the side or bag, I just let it mulch and it does great. I mowed my whole lawn on the one gallon. Took me about an hour and never needed to refill gas. It has 1 front height adjustment and 1 rear height adjustment, meaning one adjustment lever on one side adjusts both front wheels, works good. I looked at others but for the price and torque and looks, this mower was the one for me. when you assemble, remember to pull the push handle out to the correct position. It comes in transport mode pushed in and it locks the blade in place.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag
08/28/2013
By ,
Edmond, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great mower, I've only had it 3 weeks, but so far it has exceeded my expectations. It is VERY lightweight so maneuvering it is effortless. I have used a self propelled mower before and prefer this one. The bagger has worked just fine so far. It seats onto the back of the mower very easily and removes just the same. I haven't had any issues with clogging but I do empty the bag often while mowing, every 10 minutes or so. I only have a quarter of an acre to mow, if that, and can knock it out in 45 minutes. I have not used the chute or mulching functions yet so I can't speak on those. After priming the button on the engine a few times it has always started up with one pull. Briggs and Stratton makes fine engines. I bought this as a package deal with a gas weedeater for around $275 with free shipping to my local store which took 3 days. I am very satisfied with my purchase and would recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Nice product so far

06/13/2014
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used the mower once since getting it. It was pretty easy to assemble since most was already done for you, however, the directions didn't explain that if the handle wasn't properly pulled out far enough the blade wouldn't spin, hence to try and start it would be impossible. So after calling the customer support number that came in the manual, they referred me to another number. This number was to the "Proactive Face Cleanser". So as expected, she was unable to help with the mower issue but could give me Information on face cleanser. So, after trying to find a proper customer support for Briggs and Stratton i did manage to get in touch with their tech support gentleman. Who wasn't much help and said sorry but you have to return the item. So made a call to my local walmart and took the mower in an they started her right up after properly pulling the handle all the way out. Moral of this is that te directions could be a little bit more explainable for those of us granny's who may not be real technically inclined
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Good push mower for the money.

05/05/2012
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this mower for the features offered at the price. Lightweight, easy to assemble and start, handle folds easily for compact storage although i would recommend using some type of lubricant at the point the handle slides into/out of the mower. The single front/rear height adjusters are easy to use although being molded plastic not sure how well they'll hold up. Bagging system is easy to use but once again some components are molded plastic so not sure about longevity. Overall a very good mower for the price. This is the second Murray push mower i've owned, the first has lasted 7 years and still runs strong and cranks on first or second pull everytime. Purchased this one for the bagging feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Great Mower

04/08/2013
By ,
Knoxville Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this yesterday, it was good putting together though it doesn't include instructions for putting the bag together. For anyone reading this the metal bar goes inside the bag. (this is our first mower and first time putting one together). Oil is included. We pushed the prime button 4 times and started up. Cuts great. We also bought a extended warranty would recommend buying the extended as if anything goes wrong it can be replaced. I find it easy to push and the yard I'm mowing is uneven. After researching the cheaper versions I found these reveiws to be the best for the mowers in this price range. Research what you are buying. This the mower with the best reveiws in this price range. thats why we bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Good Light weight mower

04/20/2012
By ,
Rochester NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mower is much lighter than the last Murray I purchased many years ago from Walmart. It is very easy to set up and starts right up. If you are not into paying alot for a walking lawn mower You can't beat it for the price The test will be in its longevity so we shall see. My last one lasted 7-8 years and I would expect this to to the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+124points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Very good product

10/26/2013
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical of this product at first because of the low price I got with the package deal of the mower and the trimmer for $250. But the day before I picked the product up I was at my job and someone was talking about mowers and how Murray was a very decent product. Very easy to put together and very comfortable to use. It clips in place and makes for very easy use. I enjoy the multiple levels of cutting height as my yard is at an angle in several places and it makes trimming the angles easier then with a set height mower. Attaching the frame of the grass catcher is easier then expected and cleanup in nice. Also comes with oil for the first few uses and you don't have to mix gas and oil together for the product. Feels sturdy and has a pretty decent amount of power.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag
04/11/2012
By ,
Mansfield, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My last two push mowers were too hard to start and too heavy to push respectively. This one is perfect. Also, it is easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+155points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag
05/22/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good little mower for the money.. engine lacks a throttle which was not indicated in the product specifications but it so far starts up easily. It was easy to assemble and started the first time. Really like the bag or mulch options; been using the bagger and lawn looks great. Thank You , as usual a great Walmart Value!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag
04/01/2013
By ,
De Soto, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lawn mower was pretty easy to assemble(basically just a matter of putting the handle and grass catcher together), started on FIRST pull, cuts well, and is SO LIGHT in weight and therefore so easy to push that you would never miss the fact that it's not self-propelled..I'm 55 years old and it is the BEST and EASIEST mower I have EVER used..All in all, an EXCELLENT value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag
04/10/2012
By ,
Mathis TX.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Starts easy. Is light, and easy to push. The only thing I would change is the side shoot. It can come off if pumped against something.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Fantastic Mower I Love It!

05/31/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always used self propelled lawn mowers Toro, Troy-Bilt, Lawn-Boy, and John Deere. This is the first manual push and the first Murray mower I have ever owned so I didn't know what to expect and honestly I wasn't expecting to much. I am amazed by this mower it starts on the first pull every single time cold or hot doesn't matter. The engine is very quiet and excellent on gas I can mow the entire house about 3 times on one full tank my old mowers were gas hogs I would have to fill the tank every time I mowed. The Murray is so light weight compared to my previous mowers. I have had both steel deck and cast aluminum deck mowers but they were all heavy tanks to lift or move this one I can lift off the ground with 3 fingers it weighs nothing I love it and because it is so light weight it's extremely easy to push. My self propelled mowers would take me 45 minutes to mow the entire house with this one it now only takes me 20 minutes to mow the entire house because I am not limited to the speed of the mower. I can now walk at my own personal speed which at 6' tall I walk pretty fast. To sum it all up this is an excellent machine at a great price I recommend this mower strongly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

This is the greatest lawn mower I ever purchased

04/13/2013
By ,
charlottesville,VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great hard working lawn mower. I have about 3 acres that I didn't touch for about 2 years and at some point I thought I need a riding lawn mower to get rid of the grass. But my friend told me to go ahead and get this one just to see if it works. I bought it and I was surprised that this small machine is cutting anything it sees. I ended up not needing the riding lawn mower. This is very strong and does the job great. It cuts, it mulch, it does everything. Its light weight so even if you have hills, its light to push, so you wouldn't have problem pushing this thing. Trust me this is the one.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Good mower for the money.

05/15/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered online and had the mower delivered to my walmart store. The box was all banged up but when I opened it up the mower didnt have a scratch on it. Assembly was very simple and oil was supplied with the mower. Mower started with the first pull and cut very well. The mower is light weight and exactly what I expected for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

ENGINE BROKE ON FIRST USE

08/07/2012
By ,
Walland, TN 37886
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was hoping this was going to be a purchase I didn't have to take back. I was really excited about trying this mower out. I brought it home and put it together. I was amazed at how easy it started. When it came time to mow I was amazed with the whole mower until the one thing I thought that wouldn't break did. The engine! A piece of plastic under the engine cover fell down into the flywheel and got chewed up. I think I would like this mower if it had the bigger engine. They are built a little better. I took this one back to the store. They need to fix this problem with this engine. It didn't even finish my yard once. That's sad! I miss the old mowers that would blow the grass out good and last a long time. All new push mowers seem to be junk. They don't make them like they used to.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

defective front-wheel/axle connector

10/08/2013
By ,
Covington, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Will be returning mower tomorrow, this after having taken it out of the box today.
After extending the handle, I stepped forward a few steps in my small shed, pushing the mower. I noticed that the mower was pulling to the right. I stepped backwards, pulling the mower, and noticed the same. Turns out that the piece of steel that connects the front axle to the front-right wheel was bent. Being that this connecting piece is such a strong, solid piece of metal, I wondered how it could possible become so bent without other parts of the mower showing damage. No way that it was damaged in the box. Whoever assembled it should have noticed the faulty piece. I'm a handy guy, but trying to straighten out this piece would be unwise because it's tough to get at and because I might break it off from the front axle.
Not only does that bent piece cause the mower to pull to the side, it also causes a height imbalance between the front wheels.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Great mower. Gets the job done!

04/16/2012
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this mower today. I had researched several mowers and decided on this one.'
Great price at $193.00. Easy assembly. Ran great, cuts awesome. Never had a Murray before'
but will be buying thier products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

easy to use and clean up after mowing is a breeze

08/28/2012
By ,
Cleveland, Oh
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was able to put together in less than 15 minutes. Good on gas and oil and easy to use. I just don't like the way the bag attachment works. If you don't have the rubber guard in the proper place you have clippings flying at you, but over all it is OK.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag
04/20/2013
By ,
Austin, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Am very pleased with this mower. It starts right up and bag is good. The only thing you have to be aware of is if you have many leaves to mulch, the bag gets full fast, it is easy to put on and off. I read on here that a person had problems starting it up the first time. We found on ours there was a part that had to be placed correctly to start it first.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag
08/31/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my opinion this product is amazing and easy to handle.
This product offers a smooth cut with easy moveability.
I would recommend this product to everyone who is
is looking for an in expensive lawn mower for great results.
Happy customer
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Seatac, Wa
Could not start the mower
Posted 04/25/2013
I bought this mower in August 2012 and had used only once to mow my small yard. Since then it was not used and today (04/24/13) when I wanted to mow my lawn again it did not start. I followed the manufactures manual to restart and also pumped out the stale gas filled with fresh. I spent over an hour to start but could not start. Very frustrated. Any suggestions/comments will be appreciated.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 165 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next