Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Murray Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Get the job done with a Murray 21-inch gas push lawn mower featuring a powerful Briggs & Stratton 140cc OHV 550e series engine to cut through thick grass. This reliable mower is easy to start featuring the Prime N' Pull E-Z starting system. The versatile 3-in-1 cutting deck lets you choose your cut finish from mulching, bagging or using the side discharge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(236 Reviews) 206
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
142
4 stars
61
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation88%207 out of 234reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 129 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
142
4 stars
61
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Great 1st time buyer lawn mower

06/03/2012
By ,
Lawton, Ok
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just purchased this mower. I must admit I'm satisfied. I've only used it once; however, so far I have no complaints. The one drawback I might include is that it only has one speed, full throttle. I'm sure its governed not to be full blast. It came with a pint of oil or so I dont remember but it was the required amount for use. I added the oil, 1 gallon of gas, and it cranked right up on first pull; i pulled rather easily just to see how tight the motor was and it fired up. I dont use the side or bag, I just let it mulch and it does great. I mowed my whole lawn on the one gallon. Took me about an hour and never needed to refill gas. It has 1 front height adjustment and 1 rear height adjustment, meaning one adjustment lever on one side adjusts both front wheels, works good. I looked at others but for the price and torque and looks, this mower was the one for me. when you assemble, remember to pull the push handle out to the correct position. It comes in transport mode pushed in and it locks the blade in place.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Nice product so far

06/13/2014
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used the mower once since getting it. It was pretty easy to assemble since most was already done for you, however, the directions didn't explain that if the handle wasn't properly pulled out far enough the blade wouldn't spin, hence to try and start it would be impossible. So after calling the customer support number that came in the manual, they referred me to another number. This number was to the "Proactive Face Cleanser". So as expected, she was unable to help with the mower issue but could give me Information on face cleanser. So, after trying to find a proper customer support for Briggs and Stratton i did manage to get in touch with their tech support gentleman. Who wasn't much help and said sorry but you have to return the item. So made a call to my local walmart and took the mower in an they started her right up after properly pulling the handle all the way out. Moral of this is that te directions could be a little bit more explainable for those of us granny's who may not be real technically inclined
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag
08/28/2013
By ,
Edmond, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great mower, I've only had it 3 weeks, but so far it has exceeded my expectations. It is VERY lightweight so maneuvering it is effortless. I have used a self propelled mower before and prefer this one. The bagger has worked just fine so far. It seats onto the back of the mower very easily and removes just the same. I haven't had any issues with clogging but I do empty the bag often while mowing, every 10 minutes or so. I only have a quarter of an acre to mow, if that, and can knock it out in 45 minutes. I have not used the chute or mulching functions yet so I can't speak on those. After priming the button on the engine a few times it has always started up with one pull. Briggs and Stratton makes fine engines. I bought this as a package deal with a gas weedeater for around $275 with free shipping to my local store which took 3 days. I am very satisfied with my purchase and would recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Easy to start, reliable

05/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a couple of backyard acres I mow by hand and the hot weather and rain resulted in growth I could hardly keep up with. The mower has tackled both long and short grass and weeds with no problem. Easy to start - usually first pull - runs smoothly and not bothered by the fact the ground is far from flat in places.
So far no problems at all and no regrets about selecting this particular model.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Great mower at a great price

06/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love the mower, but found the handle supplied to be uncomfortable (too low). We wound up sending for the Murray adjustable handle instead and installing it.
With the proper adjustable handle we'd rate the mower 5 stars.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Good push mower for the money.

05/05/2012
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this mower for the features offered at the price. Lightweight, easy to assemble and start, handle folds easily for compact storage although i would recommend using some type of lubricant at the point the handle slides into/out of the mower. The single front/rear height adjusters are easy to use although being molded plastic not sure how well they'll hold up. Bagging system is easy to use but once again some components are molded plastic so not sure about longevity. Overall a very good mower for the price. This is the second Murray push mower i've owned, the first has lasted 7 years and still runs strong and cranks on first or second pull everytime. Purchased this one for the bagging feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Murray 21" push mower

07/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It work good
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Peice of Junk!! Do not Buy!!

04/17/2015
By ,
Maryland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased with 3 year warranty and I used lawn mower one time then i moved so it was stored for about a month after it would not start. I thought OK this is why i purchased the warranty which supposedly covers everything but wait i was informed the warranty does not cover the engine as it has its own 2 year warranty so I had to deal with Briggs and straton. I was told to bring it to repair place were i was told the carbs got gummed up with gas after 1 month... and of course its not covered under their warranty. So about 80 bucks and two weeks later its fixed and I'm informed how to winterize the lawn mower which i do and pack it up for the winter. Low and behold I attempt to start it for spring grass cutting and nothing...then i prime it and it runs then stops. IT IS A PIECE OF JUNK AND POORLY MADE!!. It is sad because i purchased this brand after owning an older model for many years and never had any problems with the mower always worked like a champ. So the workmanship has definitely lapsed and i will never purchase another Murray anything with Briggs and straton engine ever and neither will my kids or grand kids, I will pass this knowledge down through the generations until it becomes family law.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

great buy

06/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fast shipping, easy to put together, great cost , and it works great!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Best value for the stronghearted

06/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Read lots of reviews before deciding on this mower. We didn't want to spend more than $200 and knew an attached bag to catch clippings was a must for our double lot, otherwise the kids would be dragging chopped grass through the house for a week after each cut.....and who has time to RAKE clippings AFTER mowing??? Not us. Wish the back wheels were larger to help propel the mower. You get a bit of a workout pushing it, so if you are strong and don't mind that this is a good choice. If you are older or have a cautious heart, you may want a self propelled mower. Overall, I don't think you'll get a better mower for the price we're happy with the value.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Great Mower

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light and efficient. The bag has a wide opening that makes it easy to empty. Starts with the first pull every time. If you want a great mower at a great price, this is the one for you.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

made to break

04/22/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Seems they don't make lawnmowers like they used to. This one worked one summer and now won't start. Thought it might be the carb, so I contacted B&S. They told me to take it to an authorized dealer for evaluation. I got it there and the shop asked me what it was doing. I told them I thought it might be the carb. Sorry, they told me, gas related issues are not covered. Try cleaning it yourself because the cost to fix it will be about half of what the mower is worth. I wish B&S had told me this before having to haul this piece of junk to the shop. When it did start (with the help of starting fluid), it ran for a few seconds, then started knocking really hard which makes me think it's going to drop a piston. I took the carb apart, it looked pretty clean, but I cleaned it anyway. Nothing. No more Murrays for me.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Fantastic Mower I Love It!

05/31/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always used self propelled lawn mowers Toro, Troy-Bilt, Lawn-Boy, and John Deere. This is the first manual push and the first Murray mower I have ever owned so I didn't know what to expect and honestly I wasn't expecting to much. I am amazed by this mower it starts on the first pull every single time cold or hot doesn't matter. The engine is very quiet and excellent on gas I can mow the entire house about 3 times on one full tank my old mowers were gas hogs I would have to fill the tank every time I mowed. The Murray is so light weight compared to my previous mowers. I have had both steel deck and cast aluminum deck mowers but they were all heavy tanks to lift or move this one I can lift off the ground with 3 fingers it weighs nothing I love it and because it is so light weight it's extremely easy to push. My self propelled mowers would take me 45 minutes to mow the entire house with this one it now only takes me 20 minutes to mow the entire house because I am not limited to the speed of the mower. I can now walk at my own personal speed which at 6' tall I walk pretty fast. To sum it all up this is an excellent machine at a great price I recommend this mower strongly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Fell apart

05/18/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Started up and ran great. First time I hit a bump the side discharge blower fell apart and went under the unit, getting chopped up in the blades. Now I have to tie the flap open to be able to make it work. Not happy.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Good Light weight mower

04/20/2012
By ,
Rochester NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mower is much lighter than the last Murray I purchased many years ago from Walmart. It is very easy to set up and starts right up. If you are not into paying alot for a walking lawn mower You can't beat it for the price The test will be in its longevity so we shall see. My last one lasted 7-8 years and I would expect this to to the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+143points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Murray lawnmower

05/17/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a Murray for 25 years, always starts, never had a problem with it so I gave that one to my neighbor and bought this one. So far it's just what I expected, reliable. Recommend a Murray to anyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Very good product

10/26/2013
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical of this product at first because of the low price I got with the package deal of the mower and the trimmer for $250. But the day before I picked the product up I was at my job and someone was talking about mowers and how Murray was a very decent product. Very easy to put together and very comfortable to use. It clips in place and makes for very easy use. I enjoy the multiple levels of cutting height as my yard is at an angle in several places and it makes trimming the angles easier then with a set height mower. Attaching the frame of the grass catcher is easier then expected and cleanup in nice. Also comes with oil for the first few uses and you don't have to mix gas and oil together for the product. Feels sturdy and has a pretty decent amount of power.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag
05/22/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good little mower for the money.. engine lacks a throttle which was not indicated in the product specifications but it so far starts up easily. It was easy to assemble and started the first time. Really like the bag or mulch options; been using the bagger and lawn looks great. Thank You , as usual a great Walmart Value!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

great!

06/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
not heavy and easy to maneuver
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Murray 21" Gas Push Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

so far start up quickly and run good

06/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Runs good start up fast
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 207 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next