Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player(1.7" ultra-slim) E243BD-FHD, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sceptre Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player(1.7" ultra-slim) E243BD-FHD, Black

The Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player comes with stunning picture and lifelike audio that come together for an ultimate entertainment viewing experience. With all the performance you need with an ultra fast response time of 5 ms to play all your favorite shows flicker free. A 60Hz refresh rate, 16:9 aspect ratio, 1,000:1 typical contrast ratio and 1920 x 1080 full HD resolution let you see crisper and sharper images. The built-in ATSC/NTSC/QAM helps provide you with vivid and stunning images so you can watch it all day long. Three HDMI ports let you plug and play all your favorite high definition devices. This HDTV has a 100mm x 100mm VESA Standard wall mountable hole pattern, so you can mount anywhere in your home. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 23" HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.79 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(124 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
46
3 stars
10
2 stars
16
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation78%97 out of 124reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
46
3 stars
10
2 stars
16
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player(1.7" ultra-slim) E243BD-FHD, Black

More details on connections

01/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will edit the review after I hook it up but wanted to put some stuff here so that people know what they are getting besides 3 hdmi inputs. For some reason Walmart (and every other review agency out there) didn't add this to the product description
You also get a VGA connect so you can hook it to your PC it has a mini audio jack as well to connect PC sound to the tv.
Composite A/V as well as regular A/V so you can hook up an "old fashioned" VHS to it. No S Video however.
The product ships with the stand UNINSTALLED but they give you not only screws (expected) but a phillips screwdriver (unexpected) to accomplish this.
Instructions indicate that the remote uses "Sony Standards" so assuming if you have the Sony codes for other devices you can also program your remote to operate other components, will get back to you on this.
Recommends this product? Yes
+449points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
rca
Posted 06/01/2012
does it have rca hook ups for a game system?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player(1.7" ultra-slim) E243BD-FHD, Black
03/01/2012
By ,
New Smyrna Beach
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this tv for a few weeks and am very happy with it. It's small and light enough to pick up with one hand and carry under my arm. The tv it replaced was so heavy I could barely lift it. Moving will be that much easier now. I can see the picture from across the room but normally sit five or six feet from it. I hooked it up to my computer and it worked fine. DVD player worked well. I use it now with a coax cable to an antenna for over the air reception and true HD and no cable bill. The picture quality is outstanding when the program is broadcast in HD. My only objection is that it doesn't have a signal meter so you don't know how strong the signal on each channel is. Still picks up as many channels, I just can't use a meter to adjust the antenna. The sound is ok. It's adjustable and better than my last tv and you can add speakers if you want. The test of this tv or any equipment is how long will it last before it needs repair. I paid $179 in Feb. '12. Seemed like the best deal at Walmart for a tv of about this size with a DVD player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 3 for Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player(1.7" ultra-slim) E243BD-FHD, Black

Wonderful LED TV/DVD Combo Unit

02/17/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For this price range, it's a very good 23-24" LED TV/DVD Combo unit. I bought this two weeks back from Walmart and so far works good. Wall mounted it and tried over the air TV basic channels, Roku streaming via HDMI & DVD movies and picture/sound quality was very good. Initially I was little hesitate to buy this brand, but wanted to give a shot because of the reasonable/low price LED combo unit. It did not disappoint me and Overall very good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+65points
Review 4 for Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player(1.7" ultra-slim) E243BD-FHD, Black

Great value and quality

03/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased and had delivered site to store. Totally happy to this
point it has been 3 weeks. I have heard the complaints about
the speakers being inadequate it falls on deaf ears pun intended.
If a person knows anything about reduced cabinet space and sound
reproduction it is a given. That being said a seperate set of
PC speakers are a welcome addition. I also purchased a 37 inch 1080i
LCD Sceptre back in 2004 that is still performing well. So I do have
a history with the brand. The picture on this 24' is very crisp. One noted
drawback it must be in DVD mode before a disc may be loaded
or unloaded very minor in detail multitaskers will understand
the frustration. Worth the wait, though it took over 2 weeks for delivery.
Evidently not a heavily stocked item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 5 for Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player(1.7" ultra-slim) E243BD-FHD, Black

great

02/19/2012
By ,
avalon,nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its in my sons room the whole thing is great we love the picture, the sleek look. everything about it. The dvd in the back it simple and the everything about this tv is great.. i would get another for the other room..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+46points
Review 6 for Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player(1.7" ultra-slim) E243BD-FHD, Black
02/17/2012
By ,
Utica, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
liked everything - great tv - just the stand that connects to it is a lil wobbly
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 7 for Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player(1.7" ultra-slim) E243BD-FHD, Black
06/16/2012
By ,
Manchester WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I could not wait to bring this back. I used it almost daily for 5 weeks. No matter how much I made adjustments to the picture ...in particular the color....I could not get it to look right. Just when I think it was acceptable, another show would come on or I'd change the channel and would have to start all over again. I liked the size and the build in DVD player. The sound was OK with a few adjustments, but the picture colors weren't good at all. I was very disappointed. I took it back, got a refund and bought a 26" RCA that Walmart carries. It's awesome! The colors are vivid and clear. Nice TV...after watching this one, I'm sure I made the right decision taking the Sceptre back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player(1.7" ultra-slim) E243BD-FHD, Black

Returned next day

03/05/2012
By ,
Michigan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor quality TV. Right out of the box it had a dead pixel in upper left hand color that was red. I decided to test it out anyway in case I wanted to exchange it. The HDMI didn't transfer sound from DVR or blu-ray player, you have to hook up optical cable for sound which is weird because thats what HDMI is for. Picture quality was ok but not good or great. Sound was horrible, sounded like speakers in an empty beer can. I had to force a dvd into the player, It didn't just take it like other tv's I have. I returned it following day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Review 9 for Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player(1.7" ultra-slim) E243BD-FHD, Black
07/23/2012
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The TV only gets a very limited amount of channels. I have cable but apparently it is not compatible with this tv. I get 160 channels on my other TVs and only 17 on this one. i made the mistake of throwing the box out before I tried the tv now I am stuck with it. My son is going to try it at the dorm.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+5points
Review 10 for Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player(1.7" ultra-slim) E243BD-FHD, Black

bad picture

06/16/2012
By ,
mpls,mn
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Can see the pixels and lines going through the screen thinking about returning tv
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 11 for Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player(1.7" ultra-slim) E243BD-FHD, Black
03/06/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was junk. The dvd player sounded like it was dying from the first dvd I put in..while watching the picture started getting darker and darker....the next night watching regular TV the same thing was happening after watching for awhile the picture got darker and darker. Brought back immediately. This thing wasn't worth $1.00
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Review 12 for Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player(1.7" ultra-slim) E243BD-FHD, Black

Good for the price

03/08/2012
By ,
Fontana, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Everything was good except that it has an imperfection on the screen; one of the LEDs is always red. I don't really notice anything while watching since there are so many colors randomly on the screen at any given time. Since it's such a small LED, it's only really noticable when the screen is dark(like at startup or during a show when the screen goes blank for a second between scenes or commercials, etc.). I doubt this is something that is standard and was most likely just a stroke of bad luck. I didn't bother to exchange it since it's not that big of a deal and it doesn't really effect the overall viewing of anything. The price was good for this size screen with a built in DVD player. The sound is not the best as there are just small speakers. It's good for a bedroom where you don't really need the thing blasting. There are plenty of input/output options to connect surround sound, blue-ray, gaming, computer, etc. Other than the one LED issue, the TV performs as expected. If I needed another smaller TV, I would probably end up getting the same one again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player(1.7" ultra-slim) E243BD-FHD, Black

It is as It says

07/19/2012
By ,
Henderson,Mn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hi there,
well, if you're reading these reviews (as I did before purchase) you'll see that almost all the reviews are positive but for the sound...If you are looking for a good base, and surround sound quality...forget it, but if you are looking for a TV for the kids, or spare room...it's great for that, the price is right for the picture quality and features, plus you're getting a built in DVD player....**BUT**, one thing nobody mentions, or has noticed....it can be used on the road with DC power...just need to get the adapter, the power cord supplied is an inverter for AC. so YEAH IT"S A DEAL!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player(1.7" ultra-slim) E243BD-FHD, Black

wouldn't purchase this again

03/06/2012
By ,
Kansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The sound, and color quality leave a lot to be desired. The audio sounds as if it's a radio instead of a TV. The price was great, but I now know why.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player(1.7" ultra-slim) E243BD-FHD, Black

Terrible Sound

02/19/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The sound on the TV was terrible, had to return. Also, when a DVD was in, you could hear the DVD player working in the background.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Review 16 for Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player(1.7" ultra-slim) E243BD-FHD, Black

4 year fan.. correction.. Dissappointed fan :(

02/27/2012
By ,
Borg Mothership
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Let me start by saying I am NoT a Viewsonic hax.. I've posted 6 answers on this Sceptre TV before I even got it that's how excited I was about it and watched the prices and availability for 3 weeks!!!
I've been a Sceptre fan since my first HX22-Naga 2ms LCD monitor in 2008 and I am very disappointed in this TV. I was expecting it to be awesome and it's not... It's a horrible picture (and I'm not exaggerating# compared to a Viewsonic VX2453Mh-LED with almost the same specs that I bought just last week and was going to use for the tv but decided to use the Viewsonic 2ms for my main monitor and went ahead and bought this Sceptre to use as the TV for my desk.
Here's my grips.
1. Picture is horrible.. it is blocky, grainy, ghosting on white lettering on movie intros and the colors are way to exaggerated! This truly is NOT HD quality because I have an HD quality Viewsonic only #1 week old# sitting right beside it and it's night and day. Also, It has no contrast settings other than preset settings so you can't manually adjust contrast or brightness.
2. IT HAS 2 DEAD PIXELS!! Visible on black or dark images.. they shine blue and green.
3. Sceptres' return policy on pixels is that it has to have 6-8 dead pixels!!! ARE YOU KIDDING ME ?? this thing is going back in the morning regardless!!
4. This add says that it has a DVI input .. it DOES NOT HAVE DVI!!!! Only VGA for PC.
5. The stand will not tilt forward or is so tight it's stuck.
6. Again, I can't tell you how HORRIBLE this picture is and I'm not making a mistake .... I'm 9 years IT hardware specialist and I tested both monitors on the same cable box, same recorded movie, same settings and same HDMI cable. Like I said I have a perfect picture # both in PC mode and in TV mode# from my Viewsonic VX2453Mh-LED. This Sceptre is clearly eons behind the true HD picture on the Viewsonic for the same price!! IN Fact I got the Viewsonice LED monitor for $10.00 less. And it has speakers and all and 2 HDMI.
IN closing I will say that at I am again thoroughly disappointed .. I love my current Sceptre 22" LCD HX22-Naga .. but this one falls far from the tree. :#
I thought the one guy that said the same thing was just raging and picky.. my mistake for not listening.. if you've seen truly beautiful HD picture then you see this, you'll want to throw up!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
ViewSonic 24" Widescreen LED-LCD Monitor, Black (VX2453MH-LED)
4.3 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
 
 
+4points
Review 17 for Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player(1.7" ultra-slim) E243BD-FHD, Black
09/10/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Flat screen for the money, love the built in dvd player and AC, DC capabilities, Works great in my Trailer!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player(1.7" ultra-slim) E243BD-FHD, Black
07/06/2012
By ,
Summerfield
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am thinking of returning this item, the sound is very tinny, poor quality
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Review 19 for Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player(1.7" ultra-slim) E243BD-FHD, Black

Would rather watch a TV from stone age

02/28/2012
By ,
Snyder, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The picture was aweful! The sound was worse than aweful! The only descent thing about it is that the DVD player works
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV with Built-in DVD Player(1.7" ultra-slim) E243BD-FHD, Black

23" Sceptre HDTV

02/18/2012
By ,
El Campo, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exactly what we wanted. The size is perfect for the space we had available.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next