Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sally Hansen Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Sally Hansen Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Average Customer Rating:
4.151 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(596 Reviews) 595
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
307
4 stars
180
3 stars
43
2 stars
24
1 star
42
Customer Recommendation88%508 out of 579reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
307
4 stars
180
3 stars
43
2 stars
24
1 star
42
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Lovely product applies easily

05/05/2012
By ,
chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay, at first it will seem a bit tricky, and I have to piece my nails because I have larger hands, but these nail polish strips are fun and easy to apply and look great and last about a week.
Some of the patterns are beautiful and I receive many compliments on my nails. Finish off with a quick dry 2 min top coat and you're good to go for a week. No worries with smudging or hot water within the hour afterward. Be aware that with the glitter strips, you will have an explosion of glitter when you take them off. I suggest professional pure acetone to remove the strips and when you get near the nail, CVS makes a nice gentle biodegradable nail polish remover that nourishes the nail after acetone.
I just wish these were cheaper--but they are cheaper than a manicure.
After awhile you won't waste as many strips and if your nails are shorter, cut them in half and get two manicures out of them, or hands and toes.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
05/05/2012
By ,
Suffern, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Such varieties and clours, this product is fun to use and even more fun to show off to your friends! Long lasting, even when washing dishes etc. Love this product and will definitely get it again!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

amazing..lasts and lasts, better than nail polish

07/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Put this on was easier than I thought! It's been a week still hasn't chipped! I LOVE THIS PRODUCT. You will not be disappointed!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Great Product! A++++

06/25/2012
By ,
Manchester, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a Licensed Cosmetologist and these Nail Polish Strips work wonders! I don't have a dishwasher, other than my hands, at home or work. Regular liquid nail polish only lasts a day or 2 tops (with top & base coats)! This lasts 10 days for me, soo worth it! Love most of the designs & now they even make them for toe nails, which are nice too. And they are super easy to do as long as you follow the directions, push back those cuticles, make sure your nails are clean & dry (rubbing alcohol works well, after removing old nail polish first), rub strips between fingers to warm before removing cover & backing.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
06/26/2012
By ,
Macon, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
About an hour after applying the strips began to peel off, I had trouble getting them to stick. I found cheaper ones at the dollar store and they lasted ten days!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Maine
Dollar store
Posted 06/11/2013
Was it Dollar tree or Family dollar?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Nail Artist Says Waste of Money

03/12/2014
By ,
Bardstown, Kentucky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sure, the product offers a bunch of designs you may not be able to achieve by painting your nails yourself, but it's not worth it.
For one, it's way too expensive. A box of these strips is no where close to being worth 9+ dollars.
Two, it's worthless. I applied the product to my nails and the tips absolutely would not stick to the top of my nail. I even tried to give it a chance and help by adding a top coat to help hold it down. Nope. I ended up peeling the strips back off an hour after sporting them. Peeling the paint off is a pain. The board is almost useless when trying to neatly cut off excess paint.
I am an avid nail artist, and this is way more difficult than simply painting your nails. If you want to sport cute looks, figure out how to do it with no extra costs. Look up a video or two and learn how to decorate your own nails with the only cost being time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Love this product

10/02/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the toe nail version of this product and I love it! I've had them on for a month now and there's been no peeling, no wear, nothing but beautiful toe nails, even after wearing tennis shoes and boots!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Great Looking

09/27/2012
By ,
San Angelo, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally got the zebra pattern for my daughter and it was so easy that I bought them for myself. I love them. Follow the instructions to the "T" for best results. If you have shorter nails like me and my daughter you can use one end (the rounded end) for the fingernails and the other (the box shaped one) for the toenails. Finish with you favorite clear coat and it'll last longer. My daughter plays a lot of sports (8th grade) and this lasted two weeks. She even went swimming for a whole weekend. Mine lasted about the same amount of time. If you find that your nails are "chipping" simply add some more color (that matches) and another top coat. Usually about a week later. This is much more inexpensive that a salon manicure and took me about 10 minutes to do my nails. It's great to use if you want a pattern on your NOT dominate hand. I WOULD recommend this to everyone!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips
10/22/2012
By ,
Cullman Al
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The 1st one i bought was great no problems at all. Thought i had found the best and easiest nail polish ever....boy was i wrong. Ordered 8 more online and wasted 3 of them, followed directions exactly and none of them worked. Returned what was left, so disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MO
Nail Polish Strips & Returns
Posted 03/29/2013
Wal-Mart stands behind ANY item you purchase. They will issue a full refund price with no questions asked, if your item was purchased after 30 days, a gift certificate will be given for the full price you paid to purchase anything in their stores. You had 3 items but lost money by not returning them for the reasons stated above. *READ WAL-MARTS RETURN POLICY*
Thank You.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Nice color, poor quality

05/29/2012
By ,
Peoria, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After applying these strips according to directions, I was initially impressed. The gold glitter I purchased looked nice. However, less than 2 hours later, the polish had already chipped! My application of these strips was according to all directions (I even swiped my nails with nail polish remover as recommended to get a good hold). For such an expensive product, this is simply not acceptable. I could have bought 3 nail polish bottles for the price of these one use strips. At least with cheap nail polish, it lasts more than a few hours. I plan on returning these tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Use
Posted 09/18/2012
Use only pure acetone....not the conditioning one...before applying these to your nails . You want all traces of oil gone from the nail before application .
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Instant pattern the primary plus

07/01/2013
By ,
Salem, OR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product was no easier to use than a regular nail polish. While it does provide an instant complete pattern and multiple layers are not needed, the strips were fragile and fussy to work with. Also, if your nail is not shaped/sized the same as the strips, you will have to choose between using one that is slightly too small (leaving nail uncovered) or slightly too large (that will tear easily when you try to 'tidy up' the edges). As for the "up to 10 days", I had at least as much wear off of the tips of my nails as with regular polish in the usual time span (about 8-10 hours). After 3 days the edges are starting to look tattered - all the way around. The most damaging things I've done in that time is to wash my hands, type on a keyboard, and knit.
TL:DR - not impressed, probably won't use again, wouldn't recommend. Stick with polish.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

new

08/03/2012
By ,
TupperLake, n.y.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I just put them on they are a lot of work to put on right
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Awesome cheap solution for a manicure/pedicure

08/12/2013
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried the Sweet Tart-An and I decided to use them on my toes. I was able to use just 5 strips for both feet and they look great! So many compliments already. My friend actually thought they were professionally done. They took only about 5 minutes to do and they really look good! I didn't think they would stick, they are not "sticky" but I have had them on my toes for a week already and they look just as good as when I first did them! I will definitely buy these again! Plus if you are really good, you can get multiple uses out of one box. So for $8 you can essentially get three pedicures/manicures. Compare that to the $25 at the salon just for cute painted toes!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Horribe

05/11/2012
By ,
Milwaukee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dont waste your money one these. They do Not stick and tear very easy. I followed all the directions and one came off entirely within the first day! Terrible!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Not bad

06/24/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think Sally has the best brand, I have bought a few more brands that are terrible. It is not easy to apply and it does not last for two weeks...but it does look good if you can get it right and I do like it--this snake color is one of my favorites, some of the other ones are really loud and for work they can be a bit obnoxious. They are hard to remove with finger nail polish and unfortunately they do chip. I am on day 8 right now and the ends are all chipped up-BUT, as long as you stay 5 feet from my nails, they look great, and that is good enough for me.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Not worth the money

05/22/2012
By ,
Bristol Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In a nut shell this product pretty much looks like you stuck a child band aid on your nails.. not worth the $8.50 you pay for it, and honestly shouldn't be marketed. if you want a nail design save the money and pay the $40 to get it done by a pro.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

I've gotten better at the dollar store!

06/23/2012
By ,
Hubert, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I saw the commercial I was excited, I couldn't believe they had come out with a product like this & I wasn't going to have to go to the salon. What I got was GARBAGE overpriced GARBAGE! Thank god Walmart was able to at least give me store credit. This product didn't even stick to my nail at all & the side that was sticky was the wrong side! I am disappointed in Sally Hansen!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

not as good as i hoped

10/26/2012
By ,
Panama City ,Fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the product was fun and after a couple of failed attempts i got it right. however. it was sent in a rather large box and the only item in it. a terrible waste and i had several items ordered at the same time and ran into it with all. i would have preferred to have them combined . box disposal in a retirement building is an inconvenience . please give this some thought as i order online from Walmart frequently. i won't comment on the rest of the order ,simply because I would be repeating myself.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Not worth your time oreffort

06/14/2013
By ,
san antonio, texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried this and was very disappointed. It was very hard to apply and didn't look neat.
Do NOT buy this product!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips

Beatiful designs...poor quality!

12/16/2012
By ,
Clayton, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Designs are pretty, but the product didn't adhere to the nails for the time stated on the package. I followed the directions as written and the design stayed on my nails for 1-2 days before they started peeling/chipping off! For the price I expected better results.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next