Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brute Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Brute Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

This Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Lawn Mower offers great versatility with its 3-in-1 capability and nine different cutting heights. The Briggs & Stratton 675ex Series Engine powers this front wheel drive mower and the variable speed option allows you to choose how fast or slow you mow. The high rear wheels provide better traction and maneuverability on various terrains. The Briggs & Stratton 675ex Series engine (190cc) was chosen for this mower to ensure outstanding performance. The no prime, no choke ReadyStart feature makes for quick starts every time. The Fresh Start fuel cap keeps fuel fresh for up to six months.
Average Customer Rating:
3.197 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation58%39 out of 67reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 60 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

CHEAP REAR WHEELS!!!! WARNING! DO NOT PURCHASE!

04/23/2013
By ,
Eastern Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So, first let me explain why I gave it an "Excellent Value" rating and nothing more. It's a 3 in 1 mower with a big, torque-y motor. It actually IS an excellent value. However, the build quality and self propelled power is well below poor. If there is a class lower than poor, that's what the rear wheels should be classified as.
Please see pics and video that I took.
If you are cutting on any type of a hill, while going side to side on said hill, the rear wheels will break, plain and simple. I would NOT recommend this mower for use on anything but a flat yard with no holes, no hills, and no turns. You heard right. Even when making a turn at the end of a pass, and you put the weight on the rear wheels, you can see them struggle. It's amazing how this even passed through quality control. I bought this and there were only a few reviews at the time, figured I'd try it. Bad mistake. Looking now, it seems most of the reviews are the same. Broke the rear wheel.
Mind you, this happened during the middle of it's second use. Each use is only 20 mins worth of cutting. What a disaster. I will be returning and going to either Lowes, Sears, or another large chain lawn center.
In this case, you really do get what you pay for.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rock Falls, IL
Had the broken wheel promblem to!
Posted 05/10/2013
Within the second year of owning this lawn mower the back wheel cracked. Just like the pictures in other low rated reviews. The first thing I did because it is past its warranty is contact the website WWW.BRUTEPOWER.com. No help at all there other than where you can buy a new lawnmower and some part schematics. Contacted Brute threw there 1800# had to wait 35 minutes until someone answered. Then was told I could order new wheel but they wouldn't be in stock until June 2013. The cost $40 and some change including shipping. Was told to contact one of there certified repair people to see if they had any wheels in stock. I already had contacted local lawn mower repair shop in my town. So I called my local Brute repair shop with new part # given buy Brute representative. Then was told they couldn't get part either. Also they DO NOT want to be listed as one of Brutes repair shops because of the low quality that is coming from the BRUTEPOWER company. Luckily I found a website called RepairClinic.com they had the wheel better version that is, I ordered for the same price that Brute wanted and had it 2 days later not a month later. Also it looks like the other original wheel I have is starting to crack I guess I will have to order another wheel, glad I found RepairClinic.com.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
04/17/2012
By ,
Gastonia, N.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lawnmower does it all and does it very well. The motor has the power to cut through seriously high grass and pulls itself up hills with little strain. It always starts on the first pull and all adjustments are very easy to use. The ability to change from bagger to mulcher to side discharge is accomplished easily and quickly, all without the need for tools. Since it's set up as a rear bagger and the side discharge deflector is removable, it's very easy to do edge work on either side. The only things I can caution anyone about are the weight of the mower and possible weakness of the rear wheels. This is not the mower to buy if you are going to be picking it up to load over and over unless you have help. The four spoke design of the rear wheels, when cutting side to side, doesn't seem to be sturdy enough for repeated use on banks or hills of any noticeable slope. I have had to replace mine due to the wheel spokes cracking and breaking near the hub. I went with a set of heavier design to avoid a repeated result. Still, I love this mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+96points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Overall it's good

06/25/2012
By ,
Mukwonago
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you want a mower that you don't have to mess with at all,.. DO NOT buy this one!
That being said,...
The engine is plenty strong and horsed though stuff that would kill the mower it is replacing. The variable speed drive works nicely.
Wal-Mart.com took so long to get it to me that I was going to cancel my order and go buy the roughly same machine from a Sears scratch-n-dent outlet. (same base mower, just different accoutrements and marketed under Craftsman name) Came in the day I was about to say "Keep it!"
The rear wheels are junk. Mine had cracks in all the support stringers near the axle. I contacted both Wal-mart AND Briggs and Stratton and received 2 new wheels within a few days.
I have filled the recesses on the rear of the wheels near the axle mount with Bondo-glass short string fiberglass. Hopefully this will take care of the issue of using a bearingless wheel and putting all the load and flex to be supported on the end of the axle.
For the price it's a good mower. If you are not mechanically inclined or don't wish to fix design flaws though,. I would suggest you keep looking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

This is mower is not worth buying

05/09/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was given the mower as a gift and one month went buy and I decided to open the box and start cutting. I added oil and then added the gas. It started easy and I started to mow my law. In one hour the back wheel cracked. I called the manufacture and they sent me a new wheel for free, good service. Then the following week and the mower engine shut off and would not restart and since it was over 30 days I had to take it to a repair dealer and they said it would be 3 weeks before they can even look at it, what a pain. This lawn mower is not cheap at almost $300 and all wheels and many parts are cheap plastic. This is mower is not worth buying.
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Could have just been this one....

09/03/2012
By ,
Aurora, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ordered this mower online and had it sent site to store. The first time we used it the belt slipped off 4 times. We kept putting it back on just to get the yard finished. It was still under store warranty so the only thing I could do was return it and order a new one online. I took it back and was refunded the amount for the mower, I had purchased a 3 year extended warranty and had to call to get that refunded, but it was as well, no questions asked. It was easier to return than I expected, I give walmart Kudos for that and it could have just been this one mower; I'll probably purchase another one just like it, giving it the benifit of doubt. We'll see. If you have one please leave a review!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

runs great, the rest is disappointing

05/15/2012
By ,
Oregon
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought it last summer. 4th time cutting the grass (and I don't have a big yard) this season and the cheap plastic wheels are already broken!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bentonville
Plastic Wheels Broke After One Year of Light Use
Posted 07/10/2012
Engine is ok, wheels cheap.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Poor wheel design

06/30/2012
By ,
Cumming, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The rear wheel broke at the hub after 14 months part of which it sat in the basement for winter. They do not cover wheels under the warranty even though it is a weak / poor design. DO NOT BUY!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
05/01/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
NICE LOOKING MOWER BUT ONLY USED 3 TIMES AND THE BACK WHEEL BROKE OFF
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Problem with cheap wheels

09/21/2012
By ,
Cocoa, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Briggs & Stratton engine is fine... no problem and plenty of power. It's the plastic wheels that are the weak link. I should have checked reviews before buying this. Two days after the 90-day return policy was up, the rear left wheel came off while mowing. I could not put it back on as it was damaged. I had used the mower about six times. I turned it in to a repair shop for warranty repairs and it was three weeks before they could get to it. Six weeks after I brought it in, I am still waiting for the wheel, which is on backorder. My shoulders ache from bursitis, and tendonitis, brought on by mowing my entire lawn with a grass trimmer, one section at a time. By the time I get to the last section, it's time to start over. Never again!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Almost 5 stars

10/09/2012
By ,
Sunrise,FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would have rated this mower a five star but the only thing keeping me from that was the yellow plastic covers on the front wheels that fell off almost immediately on its first run. I have owned this mower just over two years and have not had one single issue except that Walmart sells a product and then doesn't carry any replacement blades for it but can't blame the mower for that. My yard is pretty big and takes me two hours none stop to cut the front and back so the mower gets a work out and living in Florida I cut the grass every two weeks. The mower is pretty good on gas and oil and is powerful enough for its duties. The self propelled feature works without a hitch. I read many reviews complaining about broken rear wheel issues but i have not had that happen yet. I don't know if this issue is do to the fact that my mower has the large rear tires and the problems are on the small rear wheel models? I also use the mower as a mulcher and never have had the bag attached so there is no extra weight to drag around possibly causing the rear wheels to crack for some users? I'm pretty rough with it to getting it in and out of my shed that's about 18" off the ground. The mower has always started as well usually on the first pull no problem so all in all it's been great to me and I would recommend to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Junk!!

05/16/2012
By ,
WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't even last a year, and now we have to buy a new one. Not worth the money we paid, that's for sure. The part to fix it costs just about as much as a new mower does, and the MFG is ZERO help and will not stand behind the warranty and fix it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
05/22/2012
By ,
Colorado
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I order this mower on line and had it shipped to me, I live 80 miles from nearest Walmart I thought I could save some gas money. When it arrivided and I inspected it a front wheel and axle were bent, so much for saving gas took it to the nearest store and returned it. when I picked up the next one it look fine brought it home removed it from the box, and a rear wheel was broken around the hub, and while using it for the frist time the fan belt broke. The good news is brigs and stranton are sending me replacement parts.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Excellent (so far!)

04/14/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mower lives up to the name, "Brute." This machine is a beast that tore through my yard for the first mowing of the year, with grass that was thick and slightly damp. It's big, bulky and not very easy to maneuver...but then again, you probably aren't looking for a self-propelled mower if those are major concerns.
Pros:
Cheaper than any other self-propelled mower that I could find in stores or online.
Having worked at a Briggs and Stratton assembly plant in the past, I can speak to the quality of their engines.
Starts with one pull of the string--so long as the deck isn't clogged with wet grass #but that applies to all mowers.#
Raw power, though the length of the handlebar from the actual mower means that you end up putting weight on the back end, which weakens the impact of the front drive. By slightly pushing up and forward on the bar you'll get better traction from the drive #plus you'll be mowing at a near-jogging pace if you crank up the speed!#
22 inch blade is a minor but noticeable improvement over smaller sizes that you'll see in this price range for self-propelled mowers.
Cons:
Immediately noticed that the wheels look and feel cheap...and then I read some of the other reviews posted on here. Hoping that the wheel issues of 2012 have been addressed for 2013.
Side-discharge attachment is flimsy. It simply slides over two prongs and is held in place by the mulcher attachment via a spring. Had to stop mowing and reattach it after about five minutes of usage but didn't have any further troubles I used a little bit of caution.
The side-discharge is quite powerful--be VERY careful of mowing near fences, especially if you wear contacts.
Overall:
Based solely on my own experience with this mower, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others. However, if the complaints about the wheels and belts are too much of a concern for you, I'd recommend looking at other, pricier options from well-established brands.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

No problem!

08/06/2012
By ,
Middleburg, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this mower close to three years and have never had a problem with it. Runs great and works great. Never had a problem with starting it. The front plastic yellow covers on the front wheels came off, but that was just decoration, didn't affect the mower at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE

08/21/2012
By ,
North Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Had this for two years but due to drought have only used it MAYBE 5 times. Self-propel quite working after the first use and I don't have a large yard. Today after the 5th, maybe 6th time it's ever been used the back wheel just snaps off.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
08/16/2012
By ,
Jenison,MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Brute 22" Self propelled mower I bought has a problem with the front wheel drive. I've mowed 4 times with it and the belt has come off 3 times. Took it to a repair center where they said it needed a slight adjustment. Brought it home mowed lawn and belt came off again. Planning on taking it back and either getting my money back or exchange it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Dri

05/28/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It wouldn't start. I'm not sure I like the mowers without a primer bulb but they all seem to come that way now. It went back. Customer service was awesome though.
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

great mower

12/17/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mower is powerful and does a great job on our fairly large lawn. It is also extremely easy to push for each of us. We are in our 60s and needed a self-propelled mower. This really handles the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Nice mower, does very well

06/27/2012
By ,
Salem
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this mower a few years ago for the back lots and have had great success with it. The mower has run great until this year, 5 years later.
Under no fault of the mower, it finally needs some attention. I believe the ethanol in the gas has finally got to it and then when I went to mow the lot today my new dog has decided to chew up every knob, button, cable, etc on the mower and rendered it currently useless.
So my only real issue is finding parts. I never could locate the fresh fuel cap at the local Walmart and now I am looking online for the cable. I will visit the local Walmart store to see if they can order one.
Overall, without dogs present this mower did fantastic.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Drive Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Heads above all other mowers I have ever owned

10/26/2012
By ,
Tucson AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic start up, no prime, one maybe two easy pulls on the starter rope and I am in busimess.
Exceeds any other mower that I have owned.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next