Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 42" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV, (2.0" ultra-slim) LED42A45RQ

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA 42" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV, (2.0" ultra-slim) LED42A45RQ

Enjoy watching movies and your favorite shows in high-definition with the RCA 42" LED HDTV. This widescreen LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV uses LED backlit technology to produce images with extremely vivid colors. The brilliant 1080p full HD resolution gives you a sharp picture. A wide 42-inch screen and broad 168-degree vertical and horizontal angles allow you to view the pictures from anywhere in the room with absolute clarity. This 2.0" Ultra-Slim HDTV LED42A45RQ is wall mountable and comes with three HDMI inputs. The RCA 42" LED HDTV also comes with an Energy Star certification that marks its energy saving capacity and eco-friendliness.
Average Customer Rating:
3.769 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation81%21 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 42" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV, (2.0" ultra-slim) LED42A45RQ
02/23/2012
By ,
Wilburton, Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has good picture with great surround sound, Purchased on sale for $449.00. I believe I got a really good deal, I am very happy with the purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 2 for RCA 42" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV, (2.0" ultra-slim) LED42A45RQ

Overall Happy

02/09/2012
By ,
Kansas City, Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a die hard Samsung Fan and still one today - I bought this TV because it was on sale and you could not beat the price. Other reviews I saw made the TV Seem wonderful and they were correct. The picture quality is amazing and when playing my PS3 or watching Blue-Ray is brilliant! I had a little skepticism when purchasing this TV because I don't know to much about the RCA name but they have not let me down at all. The features are all there - the picture is there - the only downfall....Sound! This was not a huge concern because I have surround sound and come on if you are going to buy a nice LED why not have the sound to follow. But yes, without the sound it's a old school radio. If you don't have and not going to purchase at least a sound bar do not buy this TV because the sound is embarrassing. Ultra-Thin! I love this about the LED TV's because they are so thin and light. They look good on the stand and pretty much flush when on the wall.
If you are looking for a cheap alternative to a higher brand this would be it. Hope this helps with your decisions of buying your next TV
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 3 for RCA 42" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV, (2.0" ultra-slim) LED42A45RQ

Great value; fair sound

02/06/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I saw the price ($430 on sale from $700) I figured it was worth a try. There were no reviews posted so I dug around. Most said sound quality is poor so I bought a $80 Visio soundbar and it sounds very good now!! Slow to change channels (60 vs 120 Hz). Don't pay full price and get a soundbar if you don't already have a sound system.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Review 4 for RCA 42" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV, (2.0" ultra-slim) LED42A45RQ

Excellent buy!

03/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is the first flat panel that I have ever bought.... and I must say I am very pleased with my purchase. The picture is amazing, clear and crisp, colors are wonderful! The sound quality is poor, which is to be expected. You don't see a subwoofer and 3 way speakers inside a laptop either right? So it really does sound like my laptop. I already have an RCA home theatre system, and through that it's just plain perfect. The surround system is almost a must have for this TV or any other flat panel. As I said, picture perfect, easy to use setup, and the price is just right for an LED. I have had this TV for 2 months, I use it A LOT! And have had absolutely no issues whatsoever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 5 for RCA 42" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV, (2.0" ultra-slim) LED42A45RQ

not 3-d as stated on website

02/21/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the tv is just like any other tv. the video is good. you may want to look at the energy consumption though.
also it is NOT a 3-D tv as stated on wallmart website.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Review 6 for RCA 42" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV, (2.0" ultra-slim) LED42A45RQ

Decent deal, if the set worked

02/27/2012
By ,
northeast Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ordered this site to store and it took a week and a half to arrive. Took it home on a Wed. evening, hooked it up on Thursday, seemed okay, then on Friday, it wouldn't turn on. Followed the extremely brief troubleshooting instructions in the manual to no avail, and online help was similarly non-existent at the RCA site. For the one day that it worked, I thought the picture was only just okay, though to be fair, we don't have an HD setup in the room we put the set. When we returned it to the store, the employee who helped cart it in from our car said they'd sold 11 of those sets, and 10 of them had been returned. Re-hooked up my ancient but faithful Sony WEGA, and the picture looked fabulous.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+13points
Review 7 for RCA 42" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV, (2.0" ultra-slim) LED42A45RQ

Great Buy

02/24/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product a week ago & I've been pleased with it every since. I've been shopping around for a few months prior to this puchase. I"m happy that I held out for this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for RCA 42" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV, (2.0" ultra-slim) LED42A45RQ

Great TV for the price

02/13/2012
By ,
Auburn, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product has great HD picture but the sound isn't the greatest. It comes out of the back of the TV rather than the front, so it sounds different than what I am used to. I know that these TV's have poor sound quality because they assume that consumers will put in an aftermarket sound system, but they shouldn't make TVs with poor sound quality because of this. Other than the sound quality, this is a great TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 9 for RCA 42" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV, (2.0" ultra-slim) LED42A45RQ
02/29/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent TV and great features for the price. The LCD screen is not perfect but for the price it is great. This is taking the place of a 42" LG because the bulbs in the unit are starting to fail. The RCA has more that enough inputs and it works great with a home theater PC. The sound from the speakers is very tiny but I use a receiver so that is not an issue for me. What is nice about the led system is that there is virtually no heat emanating from the unit. I purchased this because I cannot see spending 2 or 3 times the amount on a 42" television and I am satisfied with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 10 for RCA 42" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV, (2.0" ultra-slim) LED42A45RQ
02/16/2012
By ,
Marysville, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This television is everything plus more than I was looking for and much less expensive than I expected. Yes, the sound could be better and lacks the depth I would prefer (and I'm not picky about sound) but I found that all of the reviews I read for any television like this were bad so it's fine for me and eventually I'll probably add some sort of sound system to it. I do not regret the purchase at all, I love it, and the shipping was fast too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for RCA 42" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV, (2.0" ultra-slim) LED42A45RQ

Not the best

03/08/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Well i have to say it is a good tv but not very reliable had it shipped to my house open up the box to see that some of the Styrofoam was broken set the tv up and all and worked fine after 1 day passed i noticed the picture was looking like trash double lettering bad contrast and had to take the tv to get returned. I would say they need to take extra care for product like this.
Look around at the store could find nothing of my needs went to best buy found a even better tv at the same price Plasma 43" 3d compatible the whole nine yards. so my best advice i can give when buying a new tv well for 1 dont have it delivered but do some searching around you may find one that is better and at a better price.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for RCA 42" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV, (2.0" ultra-slim) LED42A45RQ

Great value

02/23/2012
By ,
Jonesboro, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read some of the reviews before purchasing this tv and I was skeptical. The sound and picture are adjustable so I didn't find either to be as negative as some the the reviews stated. I'm happy with my purchase and would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for RCA 42" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV, (2.0" ultra-slim) LED42A45RQ
02/21/2012
By ,
Keller, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
so far so good. picture is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for RCA 42" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV, (2.0" ultra-slim) LED42A45RQ
02/17/2012
By ,
Lewisburg, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I gave the tv higher rating because of what it could be. All of my tv's in my house are RCA, never had a problem with any until now. Turned tv on and it has white spot on screen. Not upset with RCA, it happens. Tried to exchange it and no more in stock, but tv is still on line with higher price. Customer service (walmart.com) has given me 90 days to wait to see if Walmart gets anymore in. So far Walmart is trying to make it right.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for RCA 42" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV, (2.0" ultra-slim) LED42A45RQ

Horrible

02/21/2012
By ,
Massachusetts
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We've had this TV for less than a week and it shut off twice in one day all on it's own. The second time, the TV would not turn back on at all! I will be returning it tomorrow. We've never had a problem with RCA products in the past so we thought it would be a decent TV. The troubleshooting guide states that it's an issue with our electrical outlet, but we didn't have any problems with the TV that was plugged into the outlet before this TV was and it was a HD TV as well. I would not recommend this TV to anyone! The sound is awful, as it comes out of the back of the TV instead of having front facing speakers.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for RCA 42" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV, (2.0" ultra-slim) LED42A45RQ
03/08/2013
By ,
vineyard haven ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this tv a few weeks ago and been loving it picture is great sound is good love the surround sound system but to use the surround you have to use the red/white audio cords from the tv to the dvd player very easy to do the port on the tv are on the left hand side that say audio out and on the dvd player its audio in
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for RCA 42" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV, (2.0" ultra-slim) LED42A45RQ

TV was a dissappointment

02/11/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound and picture was poor. Not sure if I just had a bad egg or what. Had to return it and picked up another brand which works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 18 for RCA 42" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV, (2.0" ultra-slim) LED42A45RQ

Sound is awful!!!!!!!

05/06/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I just brought this home, set it up, and the sound is terrible. The speakers on my computer are better than this tv. The picture is good, but the sound is so distracting and I keep trying to fix it but I think it's just low quality speakers. I got this "on sale" and I guess you get what you pay for.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Review 19 for RCA 42" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV, (2.0" ultra-slim) LED42A45RQ

I knew this TV was the one!

02/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for the TV and went to Walmart. I got the idea that 42 inch TV was the good size for my apartment. I liked this TV the best because of the beautiful picture and clarity and I knew if I buy the TV, this would be the one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for RCA 42" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV, (2.0" ultra-slim) LED42A45RQ
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Picture Quality
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Sound Quality
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Features
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5