Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crane Crane Ultrasonic Cool Mist Drop Shape Humidifier, Green

Crane Crane Ultrasonic Cool Mist Drop Shape Humidifier, Green

The Crane Cool Mist Drop Shape Humidifier helps to provide relief cough and congestion symptoms for both children and adults. With an approximately 1-gallon water tank, the Crane Drop Shape Humidifier can run for a minimum of 11 hours before needing to be refilled. This Crane Cool Humidifier runs quietly, so you can sleep peacefully as it humidifies your room. The auto-off function activates when the water tank is empty and will turn off the Crane Drop Shape Humidifier. The variable mist output control and variable humidity control feature of the Crane Cool Mist Drop Shape Humidifier allow you to choose just how much humidity you want in your home. The Crane Cool Mist Drop Shape Humidifier is best suited for humidifying rooms of up to 250 square feet in size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation88%14 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Crane Ultrasonic Cool Mist Drop Shape Humidifier, Green

Quiet but Indicator Light is Just Too darn Bright

04/06/2013
By ,
Chicago, Illinois, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The color is great because green is my favorite color. It is suitable for my small room and has helped me wake up with a scratchy throat and overly thirsty. I am also quite sure I am not snoring as much (no one next to me to tell me that), I just can feel it in my throat. It easily runs two complete nights before running out of water, I am glad it auto shuts so I don't have to worry while sleeping. I also like the variable humidity control features, I just love how the mist feels on my face. It is really easy to fill with water and easy to put in, there is always some water sprinkles during the change but nothing major. What I ABSOLUTELY HATE is the Power on light indicator, it is so bright in my room that I have to put a dark cloth around it so my room is not illuminated. I like to sleep in utter darkness. If you don't like light while you sleep this is not for you. For some reason I thought I could turn off the indicator light :(
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Crane Ultrasonic Cool Mist Drop Shape Humidifier, Green

Very low quality construction

02/12/2013
By ,
somewhere, usa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have an Orange and a Blue/white Crane Tear drop humidifier that are great. I thought I would try the green one as well, and expected similar construction. From the get go, I could see evidence of low quality materials and construction in the green one. The worst being the water fill cap threads. They are cheaply made on this model, and difficult to engage. As a result, you end up trying to cross-thread the cap multiple times before getting it on. Also, the on/off float is screwed on, instead of the removable clip style cap the other two I have used. Finally, this thing is noisy! It drips internally, even when perfectly level, and the fan is also a lot louder than the other models I have. Took this one back to Walmart for a refund.
Stay away from the green ones. The orange and white/blue ones are great.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Crane Ultrasonic Cool Mist Drop Shape Humidifier, Green

Great Buy!!

12/30/2012
By ,
Greensboro, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because my kids both tend to get some sort of respiratory illness during the winter weather. My kids LOVE it! It's EASY to use and even my 5-year-old can turn it on and off. Plus, it is SILENT so it doesn't wake the baby up while he sleeps. It is very LIGHT WEIGHT and I can easily fill it, screw the cap on, and place it back in it's holder.
I found that you will need to place a towel under it so it doesn't dampen the furniture that it is sitting on. After my son's nap I discovered his dresser was a bit damp, though my 5-year-old did come up behind me and crank the nob up to high. Ever since I have put it in their room, I no longer hear my daughter coughing in the middle of the night. I have even bought one for my room for my nose-bleeds during the winter weather and have yet to have another one since.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tucson
do not place on a towel
Posted 09/13/2013
i recommend putting the unit on a stable, sturdy plastic stool...fibers of the towels can ruin the motor/fan. Put a towel on the floor underneath and do not put it on furniture that can be ruined by the water.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Crane Ultrasonic Cool Mist Drop Shape Humidifier, Green

Great value for money

08/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered two of the Crane Ultrasonic Cool Mist Drop Shape Humidifier's[Green].
They are very quiet and can put out a lot of moisture when turned all the way up.
Good looking, hard working humidifiers.
One thing that needs attention is that they have to be on a flat surface, else the water leaks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Crane Ultrasonic Cool Mist Drop Shape Humidifier, Green

Happy with product!

07/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks nice, works well, and affordable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Crane Ultrasonic Cool Mist Drop Shape Humidifier, Green

BEST EVER

03/12/2014
By ,
EUDORA KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have major lung issues. I have searched high and low for a humidifier/vaporizer that will produce a large volume of moisture for the day. This is it! 2+ gallons in a day! Plus this unit is silent while running. Out performs all others! Highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Crane Ultrasonic Cool Mist Drop Shape Humidifier, Green

Small rooms only, and not that great

01/08/2014
By ,
Nashville, TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've been using this humidifier for about 2 weeks now and I have just a few comments:
1) It uses quite a lot of water. At full output, it will go through a gallon of water in about 7 hours. Trying to run it through only a portion of the day as well as during sleeping hours requires a minimum of 2 gallons of water. Considering that it is suggested to only use distilled water (approximately $.75 - $1 a gallon), this becomes an additional cost that I hadn't really considered of anywhere between $24 and $62 per month, depending on usage. Additionally, lugging home gallon jugs of distilled water every few days is a chore.
2) The actual humidity that it adds to a room is negligible. I am using this in a bedroom that is approximately 200 square feet. I am able to track the humidity in my house via several hygrometers placed in various rooms, and the average humidity in that bedroom hovered around 30-35% before the humidifier. Running this humidifier at full output, 24-hours-day, for 3 days consecutively only raised the humidity in the room (doors closed) by about 7-8% (yet the machine consumed nearly 10 gallons of water). I have cut its usage back to only running it during sleeping hours and in that 6-8 hour period it will generally raise the humidity by only 2-3%.
3) Because this is an ultrasonic humidifier, the mist comes out cool/cold. This causes the vapor to immediately drop to the floor, and especially in the winter when warm air rises and pushes cold air down. The bedroom where I have placed the humidifier is carpeted, and the vapor immediately falls to the carpet and is absorbed there, providing minimal moisture to the actual air in the room.
Overall this is a very minimally functional humidifier that produces negligible effects. I would only recommend this in small rooms (less than 200 sq ft), and in situations that do not require a dramatic increase in humidity. Additionally I would recommend utilizing a ceiling fan or perhaps small table fan to distribute the vapor in a more uniform way.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Crane Ultrasonic Cool Mist Drop Shape Humidifier, Green

Great until it stopped working

03/22/2013
By ,
PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought one of these a year ago. It worked well for about 6 months then completely quit. The unit still turned on but no mist was made. We followed manufacturers cleaning instructions. My husband even took it apart to see if there was a loose wire to no avail. A pretty expensive unit for something that works for six months. We used this daily so our thought was it wasn't made for that type of output.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Crane Ultrasonic Cool Mist Drop Shape Humidifier, Green

cool shape w/ automatic shut off

12/16/2013
By ,
NYC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i love the green pear shape design with the moveable spout. and like that it has an automatic shut off as a safety feature.
Overall, it's pretty good except there's no handle so it's awkward to remove it from the base.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Crane Ultrasonic Cool Mist Drop Shape Humidifier, Green

love it!!

02/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fast shipping by walmart, Crane mist drop shape humidifier easy start up, love color, quiet, clean, no mess fill up. Going to buy another for bedroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Crane Ultrasonic Cool Mist Drop Shape Humidifier, Green

I like it but would change a few things.

02/15/2014
By ,
Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using this for a few weeks nonstop. I add a FEW DROPS of eucalyptus oil extract to the base and it has a strong medical smell (like vicks) that helps me breath in the dry winter months. You can add other oils too but that is what I buy. I only put the drops in the base because I don't wish to clean it from the reservoir. I only use a humidifier during the winter months. Summers here are plenty humid. I suggest watching a video review online at that video site we all know.
The good:
1. It will last almost a full day between refills.
2. very quiet
3. seems solid and well made.
4. works exactly as expected. That alone make me like it and I would buy another although it is a bit high priced for what it does. $35 would be a good (high) price point.
Nighter good or bad:
1. Can be turned up/down but I only leave on high and run 24/7. Might be helpful in a small office or on a desk.
2. Has a very dim light which is useless and bothers some people. I don't notice
3. smaller that I would like. Guess for some that is a good thing.
4. the vapor falls soon after leaving the tip so be careful where you place this item or it could damage some surfaces, such as wood by making it swell.
5. I wish the cap on top was part of the reservoir. It is bothersome to remove during refills due to condensation dripping.
6. the look is stylish and people seem to like the design.
The bad or dislikes:
1. Has a bad smell of plastic but I hope it will go away soon. 2nd day I had it, I went to the store and came back; now I had left my son home alone; I thought some plastic was burning and thought he burnt something in the kitchen. I soon started searching the house for signs of an electrical fire. My guess is this will go away after a few more treatments with vinegar/water.
2. Very bad design with the refill cap. First the cap feels like it is going on cross threaded and takes a few times to get on. then you must consider it is under the reservoir so the reservoir must be taken off, flipped and refiled. All while a huge amount of condensation drips one everything. I would like the refill on the top. This is my main issue with it. It is a big hassle to refill the water. This also requires you to carry the base to the faucet rather than bringing water to it; moreover, the transporting is cumbersome due to the large amount of condensation dripping everywhere on the floor from the machine to the nearest faucet. Due to the shape and size, it is just big enough to only fit under my kitchen sink for a refill. Imagine dripping water from the machine to the kitchen. Bad design!
3. Since you only refill it about once a day, you can already guess it doesn't put much water into the air. That is bad. I wish it was twice as big and output was twice as much if not more. I have a vicks hot steam that puts out 1 gallon per 4 hours. Downside is it holds a gallon so it requires more refills where this one is only once a day, which is very nice.
Overall, it does what I expected and has the look i wanted so I am happy. I would buy another and suggest a few due to the limited amount of water it dissipates. I would suggest it to a friend or family member and have considered getting another. However, I feel the Vicks hot steam is a much better value at about $15 but just doesn't have the cool look, so we use the vicks brands in the bedrooms at night and this one runs in the living room 24/7.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Crane Ultrasonic Cool Mist Drop Shape Humidifier, Green

Great Humidifier for Toddlers

12/11/2013
By ,
San Diego, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used to have the Vicks Humidifier it was hard to clean and got mold fast. This one is great, quiet and super easy to clean. It is a bit pricier but worth it plus you can direct the air in a certain direction. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Crane Ultrasonic Cool Mist Drop Shape Humidifier, Green
10/30/2012
By ,
Concord, california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this humidifier!! Got it for my 6 month old and he loved looking at it! The color and shape are great and it looks awesome in the dark!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Crane Ultrasonic Cool Mist Drop Shape Humidifier, Green
04/14/2013
By ,
Saginaw, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is just as described work great and you can controll mist output. I am very happy with this product and looks great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Crane Ultrasonic Cool Mist Drop Shape Humidifier, Green
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5