Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Color Place Color Place Interior Semi-Gloss Paint, White

Color Place Color Place Interior Semi-Gloss Paint, White

This quality product is available in thousands of decorator colors and is guaranteed for 15 years. The decorative semi-gloss finish is durable, scrubbable, and stain resistant.
Average Customer Rating:
2.5 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation42%5 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 15 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Color Place Interior Semi-Gloss Paint, White

Good Paint & a great value

10/16/2012
By ,
Pueblo West, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My main reason for writing this review was after seeing the one star review. Bottom line is - I think the paint is great. I'm not a professional painter, but I am a landlord. Currently own 5 rental properties, use Walmart Color Place paint in them all & have never had any issues like the one star review stated. It's washable, never had chipping problems, lasts through more than one tenant. I've used Sherwin Williams Promar line interior paint before after a friend telling me how great it was, spent a ton & was not that impressed (but hey - I'm no pro paint seems like paint). Color Place paint is probably the only paint I'll ever use again! And best of all, it's MADE IN THE USA!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Color Place Interior Semi-Gloss Paint, White

Color Place Not the Same Quality

09/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used Color Place for the last 20 years because of the high quality of the paint and the low price. In the last two years I have noticed the quality has diminished and the price has increased dramatically. After spending hours and three coats of paint on three walls, I noticed the finish was not even. The walls I painted had two coats of primer already. I complained at the store and I was told that Sherwin Williams does not make Color Place anymore. It's now made by Glidden. So that's the reason for the change in quality. I will never buy Color Place again and I do not recommend anyone to use this inferior quality paint.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Color Place Interior Semi-Gloss Paint, White

Quality has gone WAY down

08/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used this paint quite a few times in the past, but the last couple of times I used it (to paint a bedroom, door, and living room), the quality is so bad that I will never buy it again. It took three-four coats to cover a WHITE wall, that I used this brand of paint for to begin with. My husband and son were ready to toss me to the wolves after working so hard doing so many coats- and this morning when I passed by the front interior door, I noticed that it NEEDS ANOTHER COAT OF PAINT.....I painted it myself (again, over this brand of white paint), and gave it FOUR COATS. I will be heading over to Sherwin-Williams the next time I paint- it will cost me more, no doubt- but this stuff looks like the type of paint they use in cheap motel rooms, just awful.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Color Place Interior Semi-Gloss Paint, White

Horrible do NOT use this paint!!!!!!!!!

08/06/2012
By ,
Cedar City, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can't tll people how aweful this paint is and to stay away from it enough. This was our second time using it. What a HORRIBLE mistake. 3 months after painting it is still tacky. You absolutely can not wash the wall or you will wash the paint off. It peels and chips. It was the WORST paint we have EVER used. It ran and sprayed everywhere when rolling and cutting in. It practically ran off the wall. I talked my hubby into using this paint to save a few bucks. He is very angry at me for it. As a professional painter he is totally disgusted with how this paint worked and turned out. If there was some way to demand our money back we woud do it. People!!!! I cant stress this enough, save yourself money in the long run and buy a good quaity paint. After all this we now have to repaint. Believe you me, we WILL be going somewhere else and getting some quality paint! Say far away from this product!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rio Rancho NM
You shouldn't let it freeze!!!
Posted 03/06/2013
Not the paint !!!! It was frozen at one time!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Color Place Interior Semi-Gloss Paint, White

Have never had any issues with CP Paint.....

10/26/2013
By ,
West Lawn, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have been using CP paint for quite awhile now. I'm in due process of repainting my home. It's been a hard journey. And I'm still not finished, due to my details, and being very particular. I've read on these reviews on occasions, of one particular reason for a fair or low rating....That is, paint not staying on the wall, peeling, bubbling, etc. There are some definite items you have to pay close attention to. ..1# Make sure the wall #or surface# is ready to be painted. Makes sure your drywall is smooth, no residue #dirt, dust, wetness, etc.# on the wall. And before I get too far ahead. The drywall is ready for any type of paint #finished drywall and a few coats of primer paint anyway#. And as an added measure, just so your not doubting yourself. Put an additional coat #or 2# of drywall primer just to be sure. 2# PAINT MIXING IS AN ABSOLUTE MUST......Paint cannot be stirred/mixed for 30 seconds with the wooden stick provided. Then expect magic. First of all, forget the stick. Walmart seems to always have short length stirrers/mixers in the paint section of the store. These mixers are made to be used with a home drill #electric or cordless#, whatever type you have. The short length stirrers are good for the following size cans > 1 Quart and 1 Gallon cans. They can be used easily with 2 & 3 gallon size buckets #these would be bought separately#. Anything larger, 4 gallon & 5 gallon buckets, you have to use a longer extension. Otherwise, it's nearly impossible to reach effectively into the bucket. This longer extension will also have a larger size stirrer on the end. Remember, paint has a certain thickness and weight increase as more quantity is added to a bucket. Long extension mixers can be purchased at any of the home fix-it stores. With all of the above quantities, THOROUGH mixing is Priority # 1...Obviously, the smaller the can, the quicker the stirring goes. Your 4 & 5 gallon buckets, you'll feel it in your arms and shoulders a bit. Be glad your using a power drill #and not a wooden stirrer#. In closing, make MIXING/STIRRING Priority # 1. I rated this exact paint, because I use it. But also have used the other bases and finishes #although I only have a liking for brighter finishes like satin or semi-gloss). Not that the others are not of good quality. But, brighter finishes add durability and mild wash ability. ColorPlace series paint is an above average product, with a more than fair price. Good Luck..Best Wishes
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Color Place Interior Semi-Gloss Paint, White

this is a very good paint.

11/04/2012
By ,
bronston,ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ive used this paint and other styles of this brand i havent had a problem yet. it covers as good as some of those high priced paints but cost a lot less. if you like gilleden paint then you should like color place ,their made by the same company.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Color Place Interior Semi-Gloss Paint, White
08/12/2013
By ,
Mt. Jackson, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Prefer it to Valspar. Covers great. No issues. Great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Color Place Interior Semi-Gloss Paint, White

Great value

03/21/2012
By ,
Roswell, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wal Mart Color Place is a great value. Sometime tough to find standard stock in stock, and getting custom is sometimes an issue, but for the price it rocks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Cedar City, UT
Horrible experience
Posted 08/06/2012
I can't tll people how aweful this paint is and to stay away from it enough. This was our second time using it. What a HORRIBLE mistake. 3 months after painting it is still tacky. You absolutely can not wash the wall or you will wash the paint off. It peels and chips. It was the WORST paint we have EVER used. It ran and sprayed everywhere when rolling and cutting in. It practically ran off the wall. I talked my hubby into using this paint to save a few bucks. He is very angry at me for it. As a professional painter he is totally disgusted with how this paint worked and turned out. If there was some way to demand our money back we woud do it. People!!!! I cant stress this enough, save yourself money in the long run and buy a good quaity paint. After all this we now have to repaint. Believe you me, we WILL be going somewhere else and getting some quality paint! Say far away from this product!!!
0points
Customer Avatar
antioch
Love it
Posted 07/09/2012
Painted my whole house inside and out with color place and the apprasial came in...I made 70 grand... I have painted several homes with it and they have all turned out execellent.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Color Place Interior Semi-Gloss Paint, White

Thick Paint

10/25/2012
By ,
Richmond Hill, Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried this paint because I was on a budget and I regret it. The paint is to thick and is of poor quality. Will not go on smooth. Does not last on your walls. DONT USE this brand. Spend the extra dollars and use Gliden.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Color Place Interior Semi-Gloss Paint, White

Waste of money and time!!!!

01/02/2014
By ,
Saratoga, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used this paint (2 different colors) to paint my daughters room and completely regret buying it! The paint is very watery, had to use 3 coats to paint over a lighter shade and some places you can still see the lighter shade through the darker paint. Peels easily. Horrible product!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Color Place Interior Semi-Gloss Paint, White

very disappointed this time

12/18/2013
By ,
75147
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been using this brand & color for over 20 years. Always been very pleased and kept it on hand for touch ups. Installed new cabinets & bought new gallon & its horrible. Very thick, won't spread and looks awful. So bought a different brand but may wait & try this again in few months to see if this was just a temporary manufacturing goof-up.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Color Place Interior Semi-Gloss Paint, White

bad very

01/23/2014
By ,
troy mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I brought color place white semi-gloss paint and it is bad you think it is white put it on your walls it turns gray and stays that way to I never had this happen to me ever
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.