Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator, Black

Black & Decker Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator, Black

The Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator features a dispense-a-can storage bin, two-liter bottle storage, three full-width glass shelves and much more. This Black & Decker refrigerator comes with a one-year parts and labor warranty and a five-year sealed system warranty. ENERGY STAR &reg Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities.
Average Customer Rating:
3.586 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation69%20 out of 29reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 33 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator, Black

bought for my office at work and it fits perfectly

11/30/2012
By ,
washington state
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great and is great to have in my office at work. has a lot of room in it and am sharing this refrigerator with other co workers and have lots of extra space.
good price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator, Black

Lasted 4 months - out of warranty!

07/08/2012
By ,
Prescott, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this piece of junk in March 2012. By July, all the Freon had leaked out. The unit would still run all day but NO cooling whatsoever. Assuming that any reputable manufacturer puts a one year warranty on their products, I was shocked to find that the warranty is only 90 days. Now I'm out $160 and Wal Mart is blessed with a beautiful, sleek, NON WORKING refrigerator. I figured the least they could do is junk it for me - I wasn't about to load it back into the car. I never was much of a Black and Decker fan, and this refrigerator sealed the deal. Total JUNK.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator, Black

Great refrigerator overall

07/10/2012
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This refrigerator works extremely well! Keeps drinks really nice and cold, temp control works perfectly. So does the freezer! Runs very quietly, and easy to move around.
Very satisfied!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator, Black

A Real Piece of Junk

04/20/2012
By ,
Elverta, CA (Sacramento County)
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I originally bought the Black & Decker two door model of this refrigerator from Walmart for use in my home office mainly to hold canned soda but had to return it because the compressor was bad causing the internal circuit breaker to constantly trip and reset. I had it for four days and nothing got cold so I exchanged it for this model. When I unpacked this model the first thing I noticed was the finish was terrible. The paint on the sides is rough and has bubbles in it.
I leveled it according to the instructions but found the leveling legs were very short. One would have to place it on a nearly level surface or else one or both adjusting legs will come completely out trying to adjust them. I have owned many compact refrigerators including the one I returned and all had much longer adjusting legs. Fortunately I was able to move it around until I found a surface that was level enough.
After leveling it I plugged it in and it was very noisy. like I said I use it in my home office but I could hear it running all the way in my living room. My Daughter just came into my office and commented on how it was so loud that it was bothering her in her bedroom. After it had run for about an hour the sides of the refrigerator were very hot. But after it had run for about four hours it quieted down to an acceptable level and the sides were no longer hot.
Then I tried to load the can dispenser up with cola cans and the cans bound up at the bar at the bottom that holds the guide arm in place rendering that feature useless. This is a manufacturing defect and others may not have this problem but everything else considered I am very dissatisfied with Blank & Decker's quality control.
The instructions say to use the freezer for ice and short term food storage only. This renders the freezer next to useless.
In the past I have always had good luck with Black & Decker products but for these last few years they have acquired other companies and in 2009 Stanley acquired Black & Decker. Since then I have never bought anything from Black & Decker that I did not eventfully return. The bottom line is I will never buy a refrigerator, or for that matter any other product with Black & Decker's name on it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator, Black

Nice looking, but not quite what I expected.

06/01/2012
By ,
stevens point, wi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I bought this I was expecting it to not have a freezer because it is a waste of space...it had a freezer (it was advertised as a fridge). I removed the drip tray under the freezer because it took up so much space, and on the second day 2 cans of soda exploded because it was too cold under the freezer! The temperature dial can only be set at 2 now without freezing things under the freezer. That leaves the rest of my beverages just cool (not really cold). The owners manual was no help at all figuring anything out with this freezer, drip tray and temp setting.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gastonia, NC
Did you look at the box?
Posted 07/14/2012
I am looking at the box mine came in and there is a picture on the front of the box of the open fridge pointing out the freezer and drip tray. There is a picture on the side pointing out the Half width freezer. Every side of the box as well as the top says "Refridgerator/Freezer" in both English and Spanish.
I left the drip pan in mine and it's doing great. I store cans directly under the freezer and haven't frozen one yet.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator, Black

Too noisy!

07/14/2012
By ,
Berea, Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Way too noisy. And the can beverage dispenser doesn't dispense standard 12 oz cans. Bad design. Can't figure out if it can be fixed. Other than that it serves the purpose. If I thought I could get a quieter unit for the same price I'd take this back. I would not recommend this item to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator, Black

Louder than any full-sized refrigerator

04/15/2013
By ,
Savannah, Ga.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This thing is far louder than my Whirlpool double-door refrigerator. If you need a refrigerator for any place other than your garage (or an area where noise isn't an issue), then pass on this one. I haven't had any problems with it cooling or anything else, but the noise is stupid-loud.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
THE ONE i GOT IS NOT LOUD
Posted 02/09/2014
You might have got a bad one or you might be overly picky. This on is way quiter than my older one it replaced. I have mine in a spare bedroom (my San Diego Charger mancave and have no problems watching TV or having friends over and it cost less to run
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator, Black

Too loud.

06/18/2012
By ,
NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had this for two days before I returned it. I bought this to replace my old mini fridge and this is several times louder than my old GE one. Since I keep it in my bedroom I need a quiet fridge, not one that gives me headaches every time it turns on.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator, Black

Nice and economical, VERY LOUD when it runs!!!

08/21/2012
By ,
Anna, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked at this product at the store and did further review on line, felt it was the biggest bang for my buck. When I realzed they would deliver for free I decided it was the best option, because then we wouldn't have to hassle with loading and unloading at the store. I was impressed by the speedy turn around from order to delivery. However when we opened the box, it had obviously been dropped. A top front corner mashed and a ding in the front of the door. Very disappointing, so we had to repackage and load (Heavy too) into a truck and exchange at the store. So much for not having that hassle. Works great no complaints, other than even when sitting between two cupboards it runs VERY Loudly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator, Black
03/13/2012
By ,
29 Palms, California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This refrigerator serves my purpose very well, it keeps drinks and food products very cold.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator, Black

Does what I bought it for.

07/14/2012
By ,
Gastonia, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it, plugged it up, and it's keeping things cold. Value is excellent, meets expectations (keeps things cold). Durability is a year away from review. Appearance is black and not ugly. I bought it to go beside my computer desk in my home office. It keeps my beer cold. If it lasts a year I'm ahead of the game. A year's worth of ice is much more than the cost of this fridge. I didn't expect a JenAir for $128.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator, Black

Excellect Compact Fridge

09/24/2013
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I needed a small refrigerator and this one is excellent. We store food in ours and it works very well and looks very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator, Black

Not as good as I expected

05/28/2012
By ,
De Graff, Ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this to keep drinks in and keep main fridge cooler in the summer. I found out that the can dispenser does not hold cans, as you can not get them to fall to the bottom of the dispenser. But does have enough space to keep plenty of beverages cold.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator, Black

Black & Decker....can't go wrong

04/04/2013
By ,
Arroyo Grande, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I checked Home Depot, Sears and a few others and finally landed at Wal-Mart. I may have actually paid about ten bucks more than I needed to but, I'm a busy small business owner and GUARANTEE that if it fails Wal-Mart will make it right for me.....no questions asked. That's the value I expect and receive when I go there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator, Black

Absolutely Garbage

08/16/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It works ok if you're looking for a refrigerator to last less than 1 year. This one died out at 11 months. The company won't fix it like promised under their 1 year warranty plan. I went to go see if they still sell these and of course, they do at Walmart. The catch is, the cashier has to enter the serial # into the cpu before you buy it. That says it all. People are returning these pieces of junk like crazy! Save your money!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator, Black

Lots of room

01/07/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 18.5 cu refridgerator died on Christmas Eve, and I needed a fast replacement. Liked the energy star rating on this model. Received it in good condition - just the small freezer area was slanted slightly but I did not need the freezer. The refridgerator holds much more than I thought.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator, Black

Let there be LIGHT

04/17/2013
By ,
Hixson, Tn.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So far so good. mine is not noisey as everyone says but its only been couple days. I have read all the reviews and for some reason no one says anything about not having a LIGHT. is it mine or does that not matter to anyone. I would like to see what I`m getting without turning on a light switch. hopefully mine is just blown?. any comments?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator, Black

wonderful and perfecto

08/13/2012
By ,
Windsor, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Frig is great. Just what I wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator, Black

Wroking Fine.

01/27/2013
By ,
Southaven, Ms.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had to get this refrigerator for my Mother who is now in a nursing home, As we needed to have something for her to have her snacks in. Seems to working just fine. I must say that all of the folks at the Walmart in Southaven Ms. were awesome with all the help they gave me with a store purchase that was to be picked up in Florida. Thank You Wamart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator, Black

Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator,

09/24/2012
By ,
Ozark Al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seems to work well and do exactly what i wanted it for !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next