Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator

Black & Decker Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator

The Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator features a freezer compartment that comes with an ice cube tray, a slide-out wire shelf, two-liter bottle storage in the door and much more. The space-saving flat back design is perfect for dorms and offices. This fridge comes with a one-year parts and labor warranty and a five-year sealed system warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
3.835 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(261 Reviews) 202
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
138
4 stars
52
3 stars
10
2 stars
12
1 star
49
Customer Recommendation76%198 out of 260reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions | 90 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
138
4 stars
52
3 stars
10
2 stars
12
1 star
49
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator

Great product nice to have the extra space

12/23/2012
By ,
Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very handy...........size is perfect
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator

So far, so good!

03/12/2014
By ,
Memphis, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The refrigerator arrived a week sooner than expected! The box was in perfect shape and so was the refrigerator. So far it is working great, but it's only been a few days since I got it. It's very quiet. I only wish that it had reversible doors (the hinge is on the right) and the handle was on the side instead of at the top since I'm putting it under a shelf - don't worry, there's plenty of air space around it - more than the recommended 4". I wonder why it says that it needs that much since it barely even gets warm on the outside. I'm planning on getting a container for the ice, (fill it up from my other freezer) therefore, I won't have to fool with the tiny ice tray. The freezer can hold a 9" X 9" X 4" container.
So far, so good!
P.S. Sorry about my nickname. This site refused about 50 other nicknames that I came up with, and was about to quit so I wrote "stuffthisreview" and guess what? It was the only name not already chosen by other reviewers. LOL!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator

Small, convenient. Works well.

09/19/2013
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only thing I don't like about this unit is that the cross bar on the door that is supposed to hold items in place, always moves when I open the door and dumps out my water bottles. PIA
Also, I purchased this and paid for it online, Site To Store. When I got to the store, the box was torn open exposing the compressor and such. I told the clerk I didn't want an open box, so she said to go out in to the store to pick up another one. No problem. When I got there the fridge was marked down almost $18 dollars less. When I got up to the clerk again, she was nice enough to adjust the price. However, if the box had not been damaged, I would have paid $18 more than I should have for the fridge. I feel this should have been caught at the register beforehand. Walmart should match their own prices!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator

Not worth the money

01/14/2014
By ,
North Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the mini fridge without the freezer three years ago for my office. It was great for about a year and then I moved offices. It stopped getting cold and I thought I did something to it in the move. Therefore, I waited until it was on sale again and purchased another unit. Same brand, same size. Again, it seems to have been good for one year and now it will not keep anything colder than just above room temperature. I researched to see if there was a part that culd be replaced and found that this happens a lot to this brand of fridge. I would never buy it again and I would not encourage anyone else to do so. Iwill try another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator

Great small fridge

10/15/2013
By ,
Pomona, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to keep meal worms in for my leopard gecko, because I didn't think my roommates would appreciate containers of worms in the communal fridge with their food. It also works as a makeshift bedside table because it is the perfect size for the spot right next to my bed, and comes up just high enough for me to put my phone on at night when it charges. This is random information but it may help someone! :) The fridge seems to be working fine, and doesn't make too much noise that is noticeable when I am trying to sleep at night! I wish I could have gotten a slightly smaller one, because I don't need that much room, but all of the smaller ones that I found online had bad reviews and seemed cheap, so I went with this. I'll probably hide my stash of girl scout cookies in here too during that season. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator

Good product

11/11/2013
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thinking it would be cool very much, I put a bunch of water bottles inside and set the fridge at highest setting, came back Monday and they were all frozen solid! Now the fridge is set to 3 of 7 and the stuff inside is still very, very cold. I just wish I would have bought one that's a little bit bigger. It will hold about 3 days worth of lunch and snacks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator

Good Mini Fridge

12/01/2013
By ,
Cumberland, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this mini fridge over three years ago at Walmart. I took it home and set it on the lowest temperature. It stayed room temperature over night. The next day, I returned it for another white fridge. This one works great. It keeps food and drink items cold enough. It is very small though. Nice removable shelves, very durable, and it's very quiet. Still in mint condition after three years of use. Very reliable and easy to clean. I would buy another one if I needed it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator

For the price and quality, this is excellent!

09/17/2013
By ,
Hollywood, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Despite some of the negative reviews, I purchased this compact fridge for the guest bedroom. At first, I refused to accept the package from the delivery guy because the box is marked "Haier". To my surprise, this was carefully packed and no dents whatsoever. We carefully removed the tape and the little manual and plugged it in right away. This is not noisy at all, pretty quiet and sometimes I have to check because I don't hear anything. It is cold and made the first ice after a few hours. I did not even adjust the thermostat despite the hot summer weather. It fits perfectly on the shelf below the microwave (see photo). I am happy for this purchase from Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator

Great fridge - some details to know before buying

09/09/2012
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just like everyone else here I really went back and forth before deciding to purchase this fridge. I too was concerned about all the bad reviews. But after doing some research I found out why the huge difference in opinions of either 5 star or 1 star. Black & Decker must have recently replaced the model that did not have a compressor and received such negative reviews (the $69 one). I found pics on the net that shows the non-compressor model having vents on the sides and what appears to be a fan inside the back wall. The new model ($78) has a compressor, no vents, and is far better as it works like a regular fridge.
The product seems to be of good quality and well made. Note that the box it comes in is literally all the protection it has from dents so look for an unscathed box. Mine was perfect. The packaging was a clever design had they mentioned how to open it on the box. Instead I cut the plastic band then opened the top only to lay it onto its side to remove. But! After cutting the strap all you need to do is lift straight up on the box - out comes your fridge as the bottom is only held by that strap. Pretty cool had there been instructions (I've never purchase a fridge before so maybe this is normal).
After plugging it in it sprang to life in about 2-3 minutes. Super quiet - I was the only one in the building at my office with nothing else running. It also began to cool quickly. I noticed that the sides and top became a bit warm so I ran to the store and came back to check on it for safety sakes. It was already getting cool inside 20 min after starting and the metal on the outside had begun to cool back down as well.
I can't really comment on durability as I just plugged it in this afternoon so that's why the 3 star in that that category! But if all goes well it will last some time. And if it doesn't I sprang a whopping $7 for the refund warranty option from WalMart. Even then it's probably still is a chance but we'll see.
I found it has even more room than I was imagining so that was a welcome sight! I think it's cleveryly designed to take up as little space as possible while giving me all the features and room inside I wanted.
After a bit more research on who really makes these as I knew Black & Decker certainly didn't, I found they are actually the exact same Haier model that runs $5 - 10 more at other stores. Now, that being said of course it's made in China but my opinion about that is even changing lately after purchasing an iPhone also made in China. It had a little "Certified and Passed Quality Inspection paper inside with someone's stamp which added a bit of peace in mind knowing that someone actually looked at the thing before it left the plant.
Time will tell but so far I am very impressed and satisfied with my purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+176points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Informative and sensible
Posted 05/06/2013
Your statement that your search showed that the bad reviews were about another similar fridge, which did not have a compressor makes them understandable. What does not make sense is how they did not know that the one they bought did not have a compressor, for then no freezing can take place without gas compression. And how could it be called a fridge if it has no compressor. After reading your review I will look at all small fridges to see if they have compressors. Good work.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator

Brrrr doesn't come to mind....

03/13/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a waste of money. On high, it only keeps things cool. I've thrown out a number of dairy products before their time because the fridge doesn't keep it cold. It is about three months old and now looking for a mini fridge that actually keeps things cold. Too bad, it looked real nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Indianapolis IN
Worked like a champ for 3 months...
Posted 04/10/2012
...then it quit, stone cold dead. I need a small refrigerator to keep my insulin cold, so this is unacceptable. I bought this thinking the solid-state nature of the cooling system would be more reliable than a compressor, but this isn't so. I haven't investigated to see if it's simply that the fan quit or if the actual electronics are fried, but I'll be looking for something far more reliable.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator

Black and Decker vs Igloo

12/24/2013
By ,
Montgomery, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent several days researching dorm refrigerators for my daughter. We decided to go with the Igloo 1.7 cu ft. Had it delivered to the home. It arrived in a shabby box and the refrigerator was slightly damaged from the delivery. We returned it mainly due to the noise it made while running. Decided to order the Black and Decker 1.7 cu ft. site to store. Very impressed from the moment we picked it up. The box was intact and the unit was in perfect condition. This refrigerator is so quiet and began cooling instantly. Very satisfied with our purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator

Great!

09/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was sort of apprehensive about buying because I did see quite a few negative reviews. I needed a fridge for my college dorm and this one worked out great. Its a nice size does not take up too much space and I am able to fit a good amount of food and drinks inside. The fridge got cool within a matter of minutes of set up. The mini freezer comes with an ice tray and actually created ice. My last mini fridge would not even freeze the water I put inside and this one performed the task in no time. And the price was great especially for a college student on a budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator

Don't know why it hasn't worked out for others.

07/04/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading all of the reviews it made me discouraged to buy the item but after weeks and weeks of use i've never had a single problem with this refrigerator. Some people are saying that it's not getting cold enough but make sure you turn the temperature dial up a few notches, mine is at 5 and is beyond cold.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator

Doesn't last...

02/06/2012
By ,
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fridge worked beautifully for about a year and a half, but suddenly it stopped cooling. Although it's a useful item to keep in your office, it doesn't last long enough to make it worth the money spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+100points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator
04/24/2013
By ,
Mt. Carmel, Illinois.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was upset when this order arrived. This Black & Decker refrigerator was packed in a box that had the word "HAIER" imprinted on it, so I thought that Walmart had made a mistake and sent me the wrong refrigerator. I did not open the box, but wrote Walmart about the mistake. A few days later I decided to open the box, and lo and behold, it did contain a Black & Decker refrigerator, the one that I had ordered. The refrigerator replaces a white Black & Decker refrigerator that had quit cooling, and I prefered another white one, but settled for the black on, because white was not available. Walmart is very customer oriented, and responded to my original complaint, with a offer to replace this refrigerator with the correct one. However, that did not become necessary since the box actually did contain a Black & Decker refrigerator to begin with. I have the new one installed nd it is working just fine. I have even found use for the unwanted Freezer compartment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator

Do Not Buy

01/30/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not waste your money. It does not work-it does not get cold.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tucson, AZ.
JUNK!
Posted 04/22/2013
Worked for a couple of months then started registereing 60 degrees at max cold setting. Don't waste your money!
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator

not a good fridge

01/17/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
its not good for many reasons one is it doesnt have aa compressor to actually make it cold it sucks air from your room and blows it inside. so if your heat is up the fridge want even get cold. unless your house is like 50 degress i dont recomend this fridge. for something that actuall gets cold look for a fridge/freezer
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+121points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Valdosta Ga
Posted 05/10/2013
only certain models have the compressor. mine does and it gets icy. if there is no compressor then it wont work.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator

Stopped working in less than a year

05/06/2012
By ,
Richmond
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this refrigerator in Sept of 2011 and it stopped working in March of 2012. I am grateful it worked until the time I really needed it, but unhappy that it didn't last a full year.
I am in the process of trying to contact the Black&Decker service number provided in the book it came with. I do not plan or recommend purchasing this product unless it's purpose is for short term use and will be discarded afterwards.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator

Microwave Anyone?

05/07/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm going to do my best to sell my Black and Decker online as a microwave. It does not keep food cold at all. It worked for the first month or two and then quit cooling altogether. I wished I would have kept my receipt and box. Very disappointed.
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 1.7-cu ft Refrigerator

Short Lifespan

06/20/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this model of mini-fridge for a little over a year past the warranty, but as soon as the year past, it started to decrease with the way it cooled itself. By about 4 months after the year warranty, even on the highest setting, it didn't cool down. I tried to unplug it for 30 seconds after removing everything from the compact fridge to the house fridge and waited 24 hours for it to re-cool, but it never did. In fact, it began to leak water on the inside. I tried calling the manufacturers to see if anything could be done by myself, but since the product is past its warranty, there was nothing to do but to get it repaired or replace it. $150 isn't worth replacing it. Find a better product, but NOT this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 203 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next