Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Safety 1st Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Average Customer Rating:
4.36 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(186 Reviews) 168
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
54
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation90%165 out of 183reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
54
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Good Purchase

12/22/2012
By ,
Vine Grove Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't really say personally how good the product is as it was sent as a gift to someone else. The ones who received it were quite pleased with it though. I was real impressed on how quickly the order shipped and how quickly it arrived at the persons house we sent it to. I would definitely recommend ordering online from Walmart and I would do so again.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 2 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Best carseat ever!

06/03/2012
By ,
Winchester, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter, husband and I LOVE this carseat... She is 13 mo and still rear facing and this seat gives her plenty of leg room... it's compact enough that 2 other carseats fit perfectly beside it making enough room for my other 2 kids. It's got great head support and is very easy to adjust the straps. Took us less then 5 minutes to get it fitting snuggly in the car. It reclines for an easy transition to a convertable seat for your little one. The colors are a perfect fit for our little diva girl... and you really cat beat the quality for that low of a price.. i looked at others and none compared... Especially if you live in VA the law is now rear-facing until the child is 2 years old... and this seat is perfect for that. Also the fabric is sturdy and easy to wipe clean!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 3 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Color/fabric

06/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was surprise by how different the color of the carseat was online. The pink is a much darker shade in person and the fabric material is not what i thought either. Other than that, its easy to install and my daughter seems to be comfortable in it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 4 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great car seat for small compact cars.

08/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This car seat is perfect for my small car. It was easy to adjust the straps and hook in place. I like it because it's rear/front, so my baby can grow with it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 5 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great seat for our cars!

04/24/2012
By ,
Des Moines, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my husband and I realized it was time to move our 7 month old daughter into her next car seat due to her dangling legs we were nervous about finding the best seat for the money. I read a lot of reviews that said the seat they bought didn't fit into there cars.
We have 2 mid sized sedans a Oldsmobile Alero and a Dodge Stratus. The seat fits in the cars but you can't have a seat positioned very far back with them in. The bigger seats wouldn't have fit at all I'm afraid. The straps are easy to use. I'm struggling to add a toy bar due to the fatness of the sides but I am working on a plan to solve that problem for my bored baby! I highly recommend this seat.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Made for Compact Car

02/29/2012
By ,
Pooler,ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this car seat!! Super cute and very comfortable padding for my 7mth old who is still very petite. This car seat is made for a compact car. I own a cobalt and it is very small. I bought a regular convertible car seat that would go all the way to a seat belt booster but was way to big for my car so I took it back and bought this one. This reclines enough that my infant's head still lays back with out falling over all at the same time my front seat is still usable by passengers. I have two more kids that sit in the back with one in a booster. As soon as my kids got in the back with the new seat they noticed the extra room. The latch system is very easy to use and install. I have had no trouble adjusting the padding or the straps. The seat doesn't tip and I feel very safe with her in it. Not to mention she seems to love it. Very stylish, practical and a great price. Looked at cheaper car seats but padding on them wasn't even half of what this one has. Would defiantly recommend to anyone who needs a great car seat at a great price and who owns a small car.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+176points
Review 7 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia
06/19/2013
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this seat both to replace a seat that was expiring as well as find a seat that was easy to travel with on a plane. Because the price was reasonable and would be able to rf to 40lbs and ff harnessed to 65 lbs, I chose to get this same seat for both of my children to keep them rf for the youngest (almost 3) and ff harnessed (4) longer. We have been using the seats for a couple of weeks and have been impressed with the ease of install (helpful when using on a plane as well as installing and uninstalling several times in different vehicles during travel. There is also more room in the car with these seats being used vs the seats they were using. The one issue we have seen with this seat is the crotch buckle even on the farthest out setting seems to be tight on our youngest. However this doesn't seem to be a problem with the oldest one so it may be the difference in bullk of a diaper vs no diaper. Overall impressed with the seat so far in our use of it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 8 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Very comphy, Fits well in small car, Great price

08/27/2013
By ,
Montana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the pink version for my 21/2 year old daughter and the grey for my 1 year old son. I liked that the seat went from infant to 65lbs. I knew my children could use these for quite a while. The seats are much more cushioned than the previous low end car seats we had. I noticed the child sits deeper in these seats, which is ok for when rear facing and reclined, but for my forward facing 2 year old I had issues with her head flopping down when she fell asleep. Having her butt deeper in the seat of course pushes her torso more forward and the head rest also contributes to this. I was able to adjust her seat to recline more with a pool noodle (it was still within the tilt specifications of the manufacturer) and may raise the comfort head rest more if I need to. The seat cover seems to slip easily off the top, it just rolls over frame, no catch loops, but it hasn't been a real problem. Were it not for the head flop issue and the cushion popping off the frame, I would have given the seat 5 stars.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 9 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Excellent Car Seat

05/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This car seat is fantastic! At 6 mo. old my daughter was over 21lbs. and therefore needed a convertible seat. She still needs to face backwards. Now a mo. later she's loved it since the beginning and seems very comfortable in it. This seat will be with us for a LONG time. The weight limit seem to exceed lots of others. The price is perfect. It seems a little rediculous to me to spend hundreds of dollars.
We have a place in town at Rescue that installs car seats. We brought this one to them when we bought a different car. They said "OH you have one of these! They are great. We had one fly out of a van..."(don't ask me how...I think maybe testing?!?!) but anywho, they said " and @ 55 mph it only had a few tears in the fabric! And a few little scrathes in the plastic!"
If the professionals say it's great then I feel confident in the seat!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+29points
Review 10 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Perfect seat for smaller cars at economical price

07/01/2012
By ,
Toledo, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 2004 Honda CR-V. I measured my backseat and was looking for seats that fit 3 across. This was the best price and most functional. We purchased two (one of each color, both look great). We have an infant seat now and will have these two seats with a booster in several months. Works out perfectly so we don't have to buy a larger car or compromise on the position of the front seats. We have two of the high-end $300 seats and while they are smooth, they are bulky, the shell blocks the view of the blind spot, and just don't work in my size car now that we have a third child. If I knew about this seat years ago I'd have been using it! The cushioning is not compromised by the price. The fabric feels like a polyester toy, but my kids will sweat no matter what. Car seats are just hot. Installation was a breeze (biggest surprise, as I've had terrible experiences with cheaper seats). I'd pass on more expensive models and go with this as your only seat. You won't be disappointed. Learn from my money wasted! Any seat on the market has to be safe, so paying more doesn't mean a thing. Plus, my 3 and 2 year olds can climb in unassisted because the seat is not too high.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+13points
Review 11 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Economical seat for rear facing!

06/14/2012
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this seat for my husbands car in order to continue rearfacing both our 2.5 year old and 13 month old. We want to keep them rear facing for as long as possible, but didn't have the extra 300 dollars to spend on one of the very nice secondary seats for his car. The small design of this seat allows us to have them both in the rear facing position while still allowing my 6'4" husband some leg room while driving. I love the high rear facing weight limit on this seat (40lbs# as well as the higher harness weight #65lbs). We previously had a Cosco Scenera as the secondary seat, but it only goes to 35lbs both forward and rear facing. My 33lb 37" 2 year old can easily fit rear facing in this seat. Finally an economical option for parents who want to keep their kids safe in the car!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 12 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great seat for the price!

05/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this car seat. I drive a Cobalt and was struggling to find one that fit in my car. Mine is not used as much as our CR-V, but I still wanted a nice, safe car seat. I am very impressed with this one. It is definitely basic, but is surprisingly cushy. We got this when my daughter was 6 months and have had it almost 2 months now. To the previous reviewer who said that material gets hot -- most black material will. They make carseat sun shade covers, and it works great on that. Also to the reviewer who complained about having to put a towel underneath to recline -- that is actually pretty normal. Most basic carseats will tell you to put a towel or a pool noodle. They do make seats that recline or have a base so you do not have to do this, but then you pay more money. There is nothing wrong safety-wise with having to use a towel. It does take a little longer to install this way, but it's still not bad. Overall, for the price, this is a great seat. If it happens to not work in a couple of years like another reviewer said, that is fine. For the price, we could definitely buy a new one that is more accommodating to a toddler. I have been recommending this carseat to many people I know who are in the market for one. I have known a few others who have gotten it and loved it, so don't let the negative reviews disuade you!
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+41points
Review 13 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Excellent for a compact car!

04/20/2012
By ,
Mesa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We researched car seats to death before deciding on this one. We needed one that wouldn't take up too much space in our small saturn aura. This one is perfect! The cover is nice and cushion-y, baby girl is very comfortable in it! The colors are awesome and vibrant! Excellent value. I love that it goes up to 65 pounds. This carseat should last us quite some time! I would totally recommend to anyone looking for a great carseat!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+43points
Review 14 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

This seat does not compare to Oceanside color

09/17/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this color (Lydia) and the Oceanside color. I installed them both in the same vehicle, my Town and Country van in the captains chairs. I had to use pool noodles to get a tight fit(rear facing) because they are bucket seats.
I did not think the color of the seat would make a difference but these seem to be two totally different seats with the same model name. This seat (Lydia) does not have the Safety First emblem on the head rest, and the top portion of fabric that goes over the top of the seat is not attached so it is constantly slipping off. The Oceanside color has the emblem and the top of the cover is attached to the plastic at the back of the seat.
I have re installed this color seat more than five times and the harness adjustment is still not working correctly. I can not see where it could be getting hung up.
I have not had one single problem with anything on the Oceanside color seat. I wish I had known that the difference in the seats were more than just color. I would not have chosen this seat for my daughter. She gets very upset every time she has to get in or out because it takes so to get the straps adjusted.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 15 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Excellent Car seat!!!

07/23/2012
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just received this seat on Friday and when I first took it out of the box I was in love with the color!! I mean its HOT PINK...Anyways this seat is not bulky or heavy and very EASY to install,I installed this using the latch system and fit the straps according to my child all in under 20 minutes!!! I am certified car seat installation technician so beleive me when I say that I have worked with every possible car seat out there and this one is by far is my favorite. This is my 2nd car seat being that I have a 2 year old and a 8 month old, with the 1st child I didn't know much about car seats in general until I became certified and I went with a bulkier over priced one because that is what first time moms do, :-). But I love the fact that the child can be in the 5 point harnest until 65 pounds because most car seats (under $150) will only go to 40 pounds with the harnestt and then you have to remove the harnest to be in the booster seat, and honestly my 2 year old is not ready for just the seatbelt yet. Its very comfortable (in regards to car seats) my daughter was in it for 2 hour car ride and fell asleep and since it sits a little low her head was not going forward as much as her other car seat. I would definitely recommend this car seat to everyone!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
LATCH equipped?
Posted 08/23/2013
Is this seat equipped with the LATCH clips?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great car seat for 2 year old

10/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this car seat. My daughter is very comfortable and it looks great. Based on the size, she should be able to use it for the next couple of years. It was easy to install as well. The ONLY thing I wasn't thrilled with was the cup holder (but I've never had luck with them on car seats!). It doesn't stay on and it doesn't fit her sippy cup anyway. I just took it off and she puts her cup next to her in the seat. I am ordering another now for my mother's car because I love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great buy at a great price!

05/04/2012
By ,
Fort Riley, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the safety 1st complete air convertible carseat first. But sadly had to return it because it was too big for my car, and i have a kia sorento. I really thought it wouldve fit. Im so glad it didnt because my daughter loves this seat. It fits perfectly into our vehical, and im not eating the dash anymore. Its padding is actually more comfortable than the one that costs 200.00. Also my daugther loves the fact that she can look around and see out the windows. It is just an all around great carseat. My daughter never used to like car rides and it was very difficult to get her to take a nap on long drives. Now she just passes out in this one and seems to be very comfortable while sleeping. Totally recommend this to everyone, its awesome!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 18 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Super Cute, Good Price, Compact, but....

07/02/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this seat for my daughter when she outgrew her infant seat. I like the amount of padding in the seat and the design is great for my small SUV. However, the cup holder does not stay attached, and the fabric/cover will NOT stay on, it constantly slips off of the top. It appears that there were supposed to be elastic "hooks" to hook onto the underside. I am getting some velcro to fix the problem, it drives me nuts! Overall not bad for the money though.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MA
we have the same problem!
Posted 07/28/2014
The seat is decent for the price but the fabric rolls down. It drives me crazy!!!! The blue and gray Guide 65 has elastics on top to prevent this issue. I have 2 guide 65 seats and the blue and gray one is way better quality in regards to fabric.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

great seat

04/13/2012
By ,
kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this seat for my mom to have when my daughter goes places with her. It was easy to install and very easy to buckle my daughter into. I have been through quite a few car seats by using them with my kids and also when babysitting for friends and family. This is one of the best I have seen.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Review 20 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great Seat!

11/11/2012
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When we first started the transition from an infant to a convertible seat we went with the basic cosco seat, but then a few months later I found this one online loved it. I really love that you get some great features without the huge price tag. I feel like my daughter is very safe in this seat and she looks comfortable and can fall asleep easy in it as well. What I really wanted was a seat with a head rest for her, because with the cosco if she fell asleep her head always went forward I didn't like that at all. The material is nice quality and has great padding, which is another thing the cosco was lacking on. As far as fitting in a small car we have a 2 door convertible it may be a little smaller then the cosco, but not by much but this didn't bother me as long as my child is safe and protected. In all it is exactly what I was looking for the only downside to the whole process was I had to wait for it to be shipped to our local walmart they didn't carry it in store, but it was worth the wait. 100% recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 169 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next