Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Safety 1st Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Average Customer Rating:
4.367 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(166 Reviews) 148
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
98
4 stars
47
3 stars
8
2 stars
10
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation91%148 out of 163reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 160 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
98
4 stars
47
3 stars
8
2 stars
10
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great Buy

05/07/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cute, well cushioned, fits in a compact car and I love the pink/dark brown combo.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Best carseat ever!

06/03/2012
By ,
Winchester, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter, husband and I LOVE this carseat... She is 13 mo and still rear facing and this seat gives her plenty of leg room... it's compact enough that 2 other carseats fit perfectly beside it making enough room for my other 2 kids. It's got great head support and is very easy to adjust the straps. Took us less then 5 minutes to get it fitting snuggly in the car. It reclines for an easy transition to a convertable seat for your little one. The colors are a perfect fit for our little diva girl... and you really cat beat the quality for that low of a price.. i looked at others and none compared... Especially if you live in VA the law is now rear-facing until the child is 2 years old... and this seat is perfect for that. Also the fabric is sturdy and easy to wipe clean!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Color/fabric

06/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was surprise by how different the color of the carseat was online. The pink is a much darker shade in person and the fabric material is not what i thought either. Other than that, its easy to install and my daughter seems to be comfortable in it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great seat for our cars!

04/24/2012
By ,
Des Moines, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my husband and I realized it was time to move our 7 month old daughter into her next car seat due to her dangling legs we were nervous about finding the best seat for the money. I read a lot of reviews that said the seat they bought didn't fit into there cars.
We have 2 mid sized sedans a Oldsmobile Alero and a Dodge Stratus. The seat fits in the cars but you can't have a seat positioned very far back with them in. The bigger seats wouldn't have fit at all I'm afraid. The straps are easy to use. I'm struggling to add a toy bar due to the fatness of the sides but I am working on a plan to solve that problem for my bored baby! I highly recommend this seat.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Made for Compact Car

02/29/2012
By ,
Pooler,ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this car seat!! Super cute and very comfortable padding for my 7mth old who is still very petite. This car seat is made for a compact car. I own a cobalt and it is very small. I bought a regular convertible car seat that would go all the way to a seat belt booster but was way to big for my car so I took it back and bought this one. This reclines enough that my infant's head still lays back with out falling over all at the same time my front seat is still usable by passengers. I have two more kids that sit in the back with one in a booster. As soon as my kids got in the back with the new seat they noticed the extra room. The latch system is very easy to use and install. I have had no trouble adjusting the padding or the straps. The seat doesn't tip and I feel very safe with her in it. Not to mention she seems to love it. Very stylish, practical and a great price. Looked at cheaper car seats but padding on them wasn't even half of what this one has. Would defiantly recommend to anyone who needs a great car seat at a great price and who owns a small car.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+171points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia
06/19/2013
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this seat both to replace a seat that was expiring as well as find a seat that was easy to travel with on a plane. Because the price was reasonable and would be able to rf to 40lbs and ff harnessed to 65 lbs, I chose to get this same seat for both of my children to keep them rf for the youngest (almost 3) and ff harnessed (4) longer. We have been using the seats for a couple of weeks and have been impressed with the ease of install (helpful when using on a plane as well as installing and uninstalling several times in different vehicles during travel. There is also more room in the car with these seats being used vs the seats they were using. The one issue we have seen with this seat is the crotch buckle even on the farthest out setting seems to be tight on our youngest. However this doesn't seem to be a problem with the oldest one so it may be the difference in bullk of a diaper vs no diaper. Overall impressed with the seat so far in our use of it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Very comphy, Fits well in small car, Great price

08/27/2013
By ,
Montana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the pink version for my 21/2 year old daughter and the grey for my 1 year old son. I liked that the seat went from infant to 65lbs. I knew my children could use these for quite a while. The seats are much more cushioned than the previous low end car seats we had. I noticed the child sits deeper in these seats, which is ok for when rear facing and reclined, but for my forward facing 2 year old I had issues with her head flopping down when she fell asleep. Having her butt deeper in the seat of course pushes her torso more forward and the head rest also contributes to this. I was able to adjust her seat to recline more with a pool noodle (it was still within the tilt specifications of the manufacturer) and may raise the comfort head rest more if I need to. The seat cover seems to slip easily off the top, it just rolls over frame, no catch loops, but it hasn't been a real problem. Were it not for the head flop issue and the cushion popping off the frame, I would have given the seat 5 stars.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Excellent Car Seat

05/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This car seat is fantastic! At 6 mo. old my daughter was over 21lbs. and therefore needed a convertible seat. She still needs to face backwards. Now a mo. later she's loved it since the beginning and seems very comfortable in it. This seat will be with us for a LONG time. The weight limit seem to exceed lots of others. The price is perfect. It seems a little rediculous to me to spend hundreds of dollars.
We have a place in town at Rescue that installs car seats. We brought this one to them when we bought a different car. They said "OH you have one of these! They are great. We had one fly out of a van..."(don't ask me how...I think maybe testing?!?!) but anywho, they said " and @ 55 mph it only had a few tears in the fabric! And a few little scrathes in the plastic!"
If the professionals say it's great then I feel confident in the seat!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Perfect seat for smaller cars at economical price

07/01/2012
By ,
Toledo, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 2004 Honda CR-V. I measured my backseat and was looking for seats that fit 3 across. This was the best price and most functional. We purchased two (one of each color, both look great). We have an infant seat now and will have these two seats with a booster in several months. Works out perfectly so we don't have to buy a larger car or compromise on the position of the front seats. We have two of the high-end $300 seats and while they are smooth, they are bulky, the shell blocks the view of the blind spot, and just don't work in my size car now that we have a third child. If I knew about this seat years ago I'd have been using it! The cushioning is not compromised by the price. The fabric feels like a polyester toy, but my kids will sweat no matter what. Car seats are just hot. Installation was a breeze (biggest surprise, as I've had terrible experiences with cheaper seats). I'd pass on more expensive models and go with this as your only seat. You won't be disappointed. Learn from my money wasted! Any seat on the market has to be safe, so paying more doesn't mean a thing. Plus, my 3 and 2 year olds can climb in unassisted because the seat is not too high.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Perfect!

07/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's hot pink just like the picture looks and it has more cushion than what it appears to. Overall I am very satisfied with the seat. So satisfied, in fact, that we bought another one for our other daughter.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Economical seat for rear facing!

06/14/2012
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this seat for my husbands car in order to continue rearfacing both our 2.5 year old and 13 month old. We want to keep them rear facing for as long as possible, but didn't have the extra 300 dollars to spend on one of the very nice secondary seats for his car. The small design of this seat allows us to have them both in the rear facing position while still allowing my 6'4" husband some leg room while driving. I love the high rear facing weight limit on this seat (40lbs# as well as the higher harness weight #65lbs). We previously had a Cosco Scenera as the secondary seat, but it only goes to 35lbs both forward and rear facing. My 33lb 37" 2 year old can easily fit rear facing in this seat. Finally an economical option for parents who want to keep their kids safe in the car!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Fits my car and my needs

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This chair is great for my Honda Oddessy. Is cushioned and easy to install, my 20 month old seems to love it. I think we scored ..!!!! :)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great car seat for my compact car!

07/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these car seats for my granddaughters. This replaced the previous car seats I had for them when they weighed under 30 lbs. I have a Honda Civic and it's perfect.. have already had to wash the padding once and it laundered beautifully. Very happy!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

It's nice

07/21/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It slides down when rear facing, and it's definitely complicated. I like the plush and colors, it also seems very safe.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

car seat

07/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the car seat.. It was for my granddaughter an I was very proud of it. I received it faster than I thought I would..I will order from Walmart again..
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Good for the price

07/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good carseat. Material is soft and she has more room than she did in carrier. Only bad thing is it doesnt recline hardly any. So my daughter is sitting straight up.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Very good car seat

07/17/2014
By ,
Cuyahoga falls, ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very nice car seat. It is small and doesn't take up a lot of space. It is very soft and comfortable for my daughter there is no hard plastic pieces. The only complaint I have is I thought it was a little pricey.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Perfect car seat for my Lola!

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love it! Great price, great material , easy to install, reclines but most important my 1yr old Lola is comfortable & safe. The best for my princess!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great seat for the price!

05/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this car seat. I drive a Cobalt and was struggling to find one that fit in my car. Mine is not used as much as our CR-V, but I still wanted a nice, safe car seat. I am very impressed with this one. It is definitely basic, but is surprisingly cushy. We got this when my daughter was 6 months and have had it almost 2 months now. To the previous reviewer who said that material gets hot -- most black material will. They make carseat sun shade covers, and it works great on that. Also to the reviewer who complained about having to put a towel underneath to recline -- that is actually pretty normal. Most basic carseats will tell you to put a towel or a pool noodle. They do make seats that recline or have a base so you do not have to do this, but then you pay more money. There is nothing wrong safety-wise with having to use a towel. It does take a little longer to install this way, but it's still not bad. Overall, for the price, this is a great seat. If it happens to not work in a couple of years like another reviewer said, that is fine. For the price, we could definitely buy a new one that is more accommodating to a toddler. I have been recommending this carseat to many people I know who are in the market for one. I have known a few others who have gotten it and loved it, so don't let the negative reviews disuade you!
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Excellent for a compact car!

04/20/2012
By ,
Mesa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We researched car seats to death before deciding on this one. We needed one that wouldn't take up too much space in our small saturn aura. This one is perfect! The cover is nice and cushion-y, baby girl is very comfortable in it! The colors are awesome and vibrant! Excellent value. I love that it goes up to 65 pounds. This carseat should last us quite some time! I would totally recommend to anyone looking for a great carseat!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 149 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next