Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Safety 1st Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Average Customer Rating:
4.36 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(164 Reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
96
4 stars
47
3 stars
8
2 stars
10
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation91%146 out of 161reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 160 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
96
4 stars
47
3 stars
8
2 stars
10
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Excellent Car seat!!!

07/23/2012
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just received this seat on Friday and when I first took it out of the box I was in love with the color!! I mean its HOT PINK...Anyways this seat is not bulky or heavy and very EASY to install,I installed this using the latch system and fit the straps according to my child all in under 20 minutes!!! I am certified car seat installation technician so beleive me when I say that I have worked with every possible car seat out there and this one is by far is my favorite. This is my 2nd car seat being that I have a 2 year old and a 8 month old, with the 1st child I didn't know much about car seats in general until I became certified and I went with a bulkier over priced one because that is what first time moms do, :-). But I love the fact that the child can be in the 5 point harnest until 65 pounds because most car seats (under $150) will only go to 40 pounds with the harnestt and then you have to remove the harnest to be in the booster seat, and honestly my 2 year old is not ready for just the seatbelt yet. Its very comfortable (in regards to car seats) my daughter was in it for 2 hour car ride and fell asleep and since it sits a little low her head was not going forward as much as her other car seat. I would definitely recommend this car seat to everyone!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
LATCH equipped?
Posted 08/23/2013
Is this seat equipped with the LATCH clips?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 22 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great buy at a great price!

05/04/2012
By ,
Fort Riley, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the safety 1st complete air convertible carseat first. But sadly had to return it because it was too big for my car, and i have a kia sorento. I really thought it wouldve fit. Im so glad it didnt because my daughter loves this seat. It fits perfectly into our vehical, and im not eating the dash anymore. Its padding is actually more comfortable than the one that costs 200.00. Also my daugther loves the fact that she can look around and see out the windows. It is just an all around great carseat. My daughter never used to like car rides and it was very difficult to get her to take a nap on long drives. Now she just passes out in this one and seems to be very comfortable while sleeping. Totally recommend this to everyone, its awesome!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Easy & compact

06/15/2014
By ,
Dillon, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This seat was very easy to install & seems to work great!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

great seat

04/13/2012
By ,
kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this seat for my mom to have when my daughter goes places with her. It was easy to install and very easy to buckle my daughter into. I have been through quite a few car seats by using them with my kids and also when babysitting for friends and family. This is one of the best I have seen.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great car seat for the $

02/22/2014
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This seat is great if you are looking for a nice seat for a reasonable price. It has a pretty decent top slot height, and with the 65lb weight limit, your child will get years out of it, most likely until they are ready for a booster.
My 8 month old uses this seat. It installed very easily rear-facing in my Pontiac (had to use a rolled blanket to get the recline correct). The adjustable headrest is nice, as other seats in this price range do not have this feature. Also came with a cup holder which I was not expecting.
This seat DOES come with the latch system and top anchor. Other reviewers have stated it does not, but this is incorrect. It is stored inside the holes in the back/side of the seat, so these reviewers clearly did not look for them.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great Seat!

11/11/2012
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When we first started the transition from an infant to a convertible seat we went with the basic cosco seat, but then a few months later I found this one online loved it. I really love that you get some great features without the huge price tag. I feel like my daughter is very safe in this seat and she looks comfortable and can fall asleep easy in it as well. What I really wanted was a seat with a head rest for her, because with the cosco if she fell asleep her head always went forward I didn't like that at all. The material is nice quality and has great padding, which is another thing the cosco was lacking on. As far as fitting in a small car we have a 2 door convertible it may be a little smaller then the cosco, but not by much but this didn't bother me as long as my child is safe and protected. In all it is exactly what I was looking for the only downside to the whole process was I had to wait for it to be shipped to our local walmart they didn't carry it in store, but it was worth the wait. 100% recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Perfect seat

06/09/2012
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first began my convertible car seat search I was looking at the most expensive car seat because like most first time parents we look at the expensive thinking that it must mean more realiable and safer. But then I came across this car seat and fell in love I thought it was the cutest one I have seen. After reading the other reviews I decide to go look at it. And loved it even more in person. Online it looked like it was brown and pink but it is actually black and pink!!! Love it. It fits in my car perfectly I have 03 volvo with this seat my daughter and anyone else can now sit comfortable in the back seat unlike how it was when her infant car seat in the back. Very happy with my purchase probably will buy again for the other car.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

love it!

02/28/2013
By ,
Woonsocket, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this car seat. We use the LATCH system in all of our cars and this seat has been the best and easiest to install, it weighs less, and isn't as bulky as other seats. I had an Alpha Elite Omega in my Elantra, and it was way too big, after researching the best compact car seat, this was it! I have two other Alpha Elite Omega's for my boyfriend's car and my mom's car and they do not compare to this at all! I recently had gotten into an accident in my new car when my daughter wasn't in it (thank god!) however, Rhode Island law states if any car seat has been in an accident it needs to be replaced and I plan on buying this same exact one as replacement.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Gap in back where belt goes through

02/21/2013
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for our granddaughter who was outgrowing the infant only seat. It looks great and does hold her in with a good harness system. Sounds good so far. Parents of baby have an old car with big chunky seat-belts. Trying to put this in the back seat center is when we discovered that the buckle chunk would rest in the baby's back. The plastic shell of the car seat is not all the way down the back! Where the seat belt goes through to anchor it they simply bubbled out the plastic and anything placed through that directly impacts the baby's back. (All directions were followed.)
This car seat looks nicely padded and is around the sides of the head but parents discovered on long trips a blanket or towel needs to be added to the seat back as there is very little padding there so it becomes very uncomfortable for baby very quickly. I think this seat would be good for quick trips (newer cars) for people who only have a small child temporarily and need one that installs easily and quickly. Long term, no. I would not buy this if I had to do it over.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

woks in a small space

08/13/2012
By ,
Springfield, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall, it is more padded than the cheapest carseats and has a higher weight limit. It's not as padded as more expensive ones but fits well if you have trouble with seats fitting. I bought and this and the Evenflo titan to compare padding and comfort. The Evenflo seemed more comfortable but wouldn't fit in my car so I kept the Guide 65. The bottom padding is squishy but I wish the back padding was a little thicker, however, my daughter seems much more comfortable and cries less than she did in her infant seat. I was very concerned that the head rest which is padded and not removable would force her head at an uncomfortable angle but so far it's not bothering her. I'm not sure that this seat will actually fit my daughter all the way to 65 pounds since the headrest touches the shoulders and may bother and older child (she's 11 months.) Installation is fairly straight-forward, but the seat does move more than I'd like and there is no way to fix that. As another reviewer said, the pad on one side doesn't cover at the top and when I pulled at it the seams look like they might rip if I pulled harder. I am going to try to exchange or at least contact the company about this.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Tullahoma, TN
Posted 12/24/2013
The headrest raises up in the back. Most seats are outgrown by torso height well before the stated weight limit, though.
0points
Customer Avatar
Your seat moving....
Posted 10/03/2012
I have a petite 13 month old who has a different seat than yours but hers moved quite a bit as well. What worked for us is when you are using LATCH, literally kneel in the seat and pull as hard as you can on the strap. What we did in addition to this is place a pool noodle under the seat first to make it level and then use the above mentioned pulling. I hope this helps!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 31 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great seat for older child at a great price.

02/27/2013
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a seat that would fit my 5 year old, 45+ lb, 45+ inches tall daughter still in the harness. She was too big for the harness on other seats, but I wasn't comfortable with her just in a booster and seat belt. Money is really tight like a lot of people, but I still wanted her to be safe. This seat was the perfect option. Is does not feel cheap or unsafe. I have two other Safety 1st seats (the Alpha Omega and Complete Air 35) and this is the same great quality even with the lower price. I highly recommend this seat to everyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Philadephia, PA
It fits your daughter good with her being 45+inch?
Posted 04/23/2013
I ordered this same carseat in grey for my son. He is 4 1/2 and weighs 50lbs and is 43 inches tall and when it got it it seemed to fit him just right without a whole lot of room for growth. Im not sure if that's just because they made the carseat to fit a smaller car or not. How much room does your daughter have for growth in your carseat? I would like to keep my son harnessed as along as possible too. I have the Britax Froniter in my car, so this carseat would just be for a backup for my husbands car.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 32 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Not good for rear facing

08/07/2012
By ,
South East, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I researched this car seat and then viewed in person before purchasing. I was very impressed by overall quality for such an affordable price. I was very excited to try the seat out as my almost 9 month old was getting too heavy for me to carry in her infant car seat. Even after re-reading the manual and trying for a 2nd time to install the seat rear facing in our Dodge Caravan SXT in one of the captains chairs, I could NOT get the seat tightened securely. I tried rolling a small blanket, but the gap between the foot end of the carseat and the van seat was too much to provide a tight fit. The seat is VERY lightweight, but durable. The padding is pretty adequate and of course a fabulous color! I am pretty sure that if I onlly needed it only for forward facing, I wouldn't have to return it. :(
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great product

11/26/2012
By ,
Bowie, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a 2008 Nissan Altima and my daughter is still rear-facing. We attempted to install a Britax Boulevard CS in my car, rear-facing, and that was a "no go." So, I started researching smaller car seats. My little one is pretty sizeable - 6.5 months old, 18 lbs. and 27 in. long and she fits quite comfortably in this car seat and it fits perfectly into the seat behind my passenger. I would definitely recommend this car seat though it's somewhat hard to find in stores.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great Seat!

03/29/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This seat is very soft and of great quality. The Car Seat actually looked better then the picture. I thoroughly checked it and it looks as though its easy to clean. Cute and soft car seat!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

great car seat

05/21/2012
By ,
north carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 4 month old daughter since she outgrew the 22 pound weight limit on the infant sear and i love it! The colors are perfect and its very soft and comfortable.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Comfortable for an older child

05/28/2013
By ,
OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this particular carseat because of its higher weight limit (up to 65 lb when most carseats go to 40), its compact size, and the ratings (all over the web, not just here). I like the color well, it arrived quickly, it is compact and sturdy. Fits snugly, the LATCH system works well. My daughter enjoys it, use is easy enough. Only con is that the cup holder comes off too easily and part of it broke. I bought this for my 4yo who is small for her age, and needed a seat that would suit her through most of her booster seat years; it is more upright than many, and that was a motivating factor for me. I would not put an infant in it for this reason. Though the base does have a tilt feature which would allow for a little bit more of a slant.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Excellent product for the price

03/21/2014
By ,
Trussville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This car seat fits great in small vehicles and it still allows plenty of room for the child to sit. My 10 month old daughter loves his seat. It is very roomy and she seems very comfortable in it. We are currently using it in the rear-facing postition and it seems to work just fine. We bought two of these to use in one of our extra vehicles as well as one for my parents vehicle since my mom keeps my daughter full-time during the week while we are at work. This is an excellent extra car seat, however, we like it and would use it as the main carseat as well. We were surprised how affordable this seat was when we received it and saw it was higher quality and appeared more comfortable than we were expecting. This is a great buy!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia
05/20/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this car seat as an extra to keep in my husband's truck and it has worked out really well.
It's a great size for the backseat of his truck and it's really comfy.
Our daughter seems to like it! Great seat for the money!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

love this car seat!

11/12/2012
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great price for a quality product! I needed a new seat for my almost 4 year old who has outgrown her other seat. She is 41lbs and not ready to be out of a 5 pt harness. This seat harnesses to 65lbs and 52 inches! Walmart's free shipping to store is perfect!Highly recommend!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia
04/04/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fits nicely in small car. Using as rear facing with a 28 month old. Comfortable padding.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 147 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next