Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Safety 1st Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Average Customer Rating:
4.36 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(186 Reviews) 168
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
54
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation90%165 out of 183reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
54
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Not good for rear facing

08/07/2012
By ,
South East, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I researched this car seat and then viewed in person before purchasing. I was very impressed by overall quality for such an affordable price. I was very excited to try the seat out as my almost 9 month old was getting too heavy for me to carry in her infant car seat. Even after re-reading the manual and trying for a 2nd time to install the seat rear facing in our Dodge Caravan SXT in one of the captains chairs, I could NOT get the seat tightened securely. I tried rolling a small blanket, but the gap between the foot end of the carseat and the van seat was too much to provide a tight fit. The seat is VERY lightweight, but durable. The padding is pretty adequate and of course a fabulous color! I am pretty sure that if I onlly needed it only for forward facing, I wouldn't have to return it. :(
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 22 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

woks in a small space

08/13/2012
By ,
Springfield, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall, it is more padded than the cheapest carseats and has a higher weight limit. It's not as padded as more expensive ones but fits well if you have trouble with seats fitting. I bought and this and the Evenflo titan to compare padding and comfort. The Evenflo seemed more comfortable but wouldn't fit in my car so I kept the Guide 65. The bottom padding is squishy but I wish the back padding was a little thicker, however, my daughter seems much more comfortable and cries less than she did in her infant seat. I was very concerned that the head rest which is padded and not removable would force her head at an uncomfortable angle but so far it's not bothering her. I'm not sure that this seat will actually fit my daughter all the way to 65 pounds since the headrest touches the shoulders and may bother and older child (she's 11 months.) Installation is fairly straight-forward, but the seat does move more than I'd like and there is no way to fix that. As another reviewer said, the pad on one side doesn't cover at the top and when I pulled at it the seams look like they might rip if I pulled harder. I am going to try to exchange or at least contact the company about this.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Tullahoma, TN
Posted 12/24/2013
The headrest raises up in the back. Most seats are outgrown by torso height well before the stated weight limit, though.
0points
Customer Avatar
Your seat moving....
Posted 10/03/2012
I have a petite 13 month old who has a different seat than yours but hers moved quite a bit as well. What worked for us is when you are using LATCH, literally kneel in the seat and pull as hard as you can on the strap. What we did in addition to this is place a pool noodle under the seat first to make it level and then use the above mentioned pulling. I hope this helps!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 23 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Gap in back where belt goes through

02/21/2013
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for our granddaughter who was outgrowing the infant only seat. It looks great and does hold her in with a good harness system. Sounds good so far. Parents of baby have an old car with big chunky seat-belts. Trying to put this in the back seat center is when we discovered that the buckle chunk would rest in the baby's back. The plastic shell of the car seat is not all the way down the back! Where the seat belt goes through to anchor it they simply bubbled out the plastic and anything placed through that directly impacts the baby's back. (All directions were followed.)
This car seat looks nicely padded and is around the sides of the head but parents discovered on long trips a blanket or towel needs to be added to the seat back as there is very little padding there so it becomes very uncomfortable for baby very quickly. I think this seat would be good for quick trips (newer cars) for people who only have a small child temporarily and need one that installs easily and quickly. Long term, no. I would not buy this if I had to do it over.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 24 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

great car seat

05/21/2012
By ,
north carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 4 month old daughter since she outgrew the 22 pound weight limit on the infant sear and i love it! The colors are perfect and its very soft and comfortable.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Review 25 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Super Cute, Good Price, Compact, but....

07/02/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this seat for my daughter when she outgrew her infant seat. I like the amount of padding in the seat and the design is great for my small SUV. However, the cup holder does not stay attached, and the fabric/cover will NOT stay on, it constantly slips off of the top. It appears that there were supposed to be elastic "hooks" to hook onto the underside. I am getting some velcro to fix the problem, it drives me nuts! Overall not bad for the money though.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MA
we have the same problem!
Posted 07/28/2014
The seat is decent for the price but the fabric rolls down. It drives me crazy!!!! The blue and gray Guide 65 has elastics on top to prevent this issue. I have 2 guide 65 seats and the blue and gray one is way better quality in regards to fabric.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 26 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great Seat!

03/29/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This seat is very soft and of great quality. The Car Seat actually looked better then the picture. I thoroughly checked it and it looks as though its easy to clean. Cute and soft car seat!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 27 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great product

11/26/2012
By ,
Bowie, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a 2008 Nissan Altima and my daughter is still rear-facing. We attempted to install a Britax Boulevard CS in my car, rear-facing, and that was a "no go." So, I started researching smaller car seats. My little one is pretty sizeable - 6.5 months old, 18 lbs. and 27 in. long and she fits quite comfortably in this car seat and it fits perfectly into the seat behind my passenger. I would definitely recommend this car seat though it's somewhat hard to find in stores.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 28 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Comfortable for an older child

05/28/2013
By ,
OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this particular carseat because of its higher weight limit (up to 65 lb when most carseats go to 40), its compact size, and the ratings (all over the web, not just here). I like the color well, it arrived quickly, it is compact and sturdy. Fits snugly, the LATCH system works well. My daughter enjoys it, use is easy enough. Only con is that the cup holder comes off too easily and part of it broke. I bought this for my 4yo who is small for her age, and needed a seat that would suit her through most of her booster seat years; it is more upright than many, and that was a motivating factor for me. I would not put an infant in it for this reason. Though the base does have a tilt feature which would allow for a little bit more of a slant.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 29 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great car seat for 2 year old

10/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this car seat. My daughter is very comfortable and it looks great. Based on the size, she should be able to use it for the next couple of years. It was easy to install as well. The ONLY thing I wasn't thrilled with was the cup holder (but I've never had luck with them on car seats!). It doesn't stay on and it doesn't fit her sippy cup anyway. I just took it off and she puts her cup next to her in the seat. I am ordering another now for my mother's car because I love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 30 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia
05/20/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this car seat as an extra to keep in my husband's truck and it has worked out really well.
It's a great size for the backseat of his truck and it's really comfy.
Our daughter seems to like it! Great seat for the money!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 31 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great car seat for the $

02/22/2014
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This seat is great if you are looking for a nice seat for a reasonable price. It has a pretty decent top slot height, and with the 65lb weight limit, your child will get years out of it, most likely until they are ready for a booster.
My 8 month old uses this seat. It installed very easily rear-facing in my Pontiac (had to use a rolled blanket to get the recline correct). The adjustable headrest is nice, as other seats in this price range do not have this feature. Also came with a cup holder which I was not expecting.
This seat DOES come with the latch system and top anchor. Other reviewers have stated it does not, but this is incorrect. It is stored inside the holes in the back/side of the seat, so these reviewers clearly did not look for them.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 32 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

love this car seat!

11/12/2012
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great price for a quality product! I needed a new seat for my almost 4 year old who has outgrown her other seat. She is 41lbs and not ready to be out of a 5 pt harness. This seat harnesses to 65lbs and 52 inches! Walmart's free shipping to store is perfect!Highly recommend!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 33 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia
04/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This car seat fits great behind the driver's seat when in the rear facing position. It is easy to install. It does what a car seat needs to do for the lowest price I could find.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 34 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia
04/04/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fits nicely in small car. Using as rear facing with a 28 month old. Comfortable padding.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 35 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

LOVE this car seat!!!

07/15/2012
By ,
griswold, ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This car seat is comfortable, safe and a great product!!! My daughter is 2 1/2 weighs 30 lbs and loves this seat!! Since we purchased this seat there has not been a day she has not fallen asleep in it!! She was in a booster which she learner how to unbuckle and had no where to put her head when age fell asleep...this seat is a 5 point harness that she cant unbuckle and get out of by herself and has cushions that cradle her head so its not flopping around... I love this seat and do does she!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 36 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Does not have 3 point latch system!

02/15/2014
By ,
Rockwell, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most importantly I want to point out that this does not have the latch system other carseats have with 3 different hooks (1 for the top and 2 for the sides wear the seatbelt would go. This one only has the top hook. You still have to use the seat belt to install this carseat.
Overall, it is still and easy carseat to figure out as well as how easy it is to change strap position and install. I had a Cosco Convertible I replaced and very glad I did!
My daughter is 34 inches tall 25 lbs and forward facing.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 37 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Love this!!!

09/27/2012
By ,
Lousiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
after reading many bad and good reviews on this carseat i went ahead and bout this for my 2yr old Shes about 30lbs. I was needing a new carseat but wasnt quite ready to put her in a regular booster seat. even though some say 30lbs and up. the only reason i gave it 4 stars and not 5 is the cup holder isnt super stable almost like it tilts a little bit. but other then that I LOVE it it is very well worth the money! I would def buy again and def recommend this. also the head rest goes up alot so it grows with your child so she has plenty of room to grow still.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 38 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

highly recommend!

02/19/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this car seat because of the great reviews! I have a 2010 Toyota Corolla and it fits wonderfully! The padding is excellent! It's cushy and seems to be comfortable for my 9 month old. The car seat says it can fit a baby 5 lbs to 60 lbs. The instruction manual is clear and easy to read and the seat even has stickers on the side telling you what goes where. You just have to be able to read and you can install this properly! I would HIGHLY recommend this seat!
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 39 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

my great grand daughter loves her new car seat

09/08/2014
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In researching for a new car seat, I decided to purchase the Safety 1st-Guide 65, due to the price and saftey gude lines. It was a great by, great size and I love the color. THe Car seat had a cup holder which I was looking for, 5 point harness, the extra pillow for extra comfort and weight guidelines we needed.
I would recommend this for anyone, it is a GREAT BUY!!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Excellent

09/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product is excellent and great comfort
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
21-40 of 169 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next