Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Safety 1st Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Average Customer Rating:
4.372 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(153 Reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
44
3 stars
5
2 stars
10
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation91%137 out of 150reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 159 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
44
3 stars
5
2 stars
10
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Perfect for our Dodge Dakota.

03/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for our Dodge Dakota. We have three kids under the age of 4 so we needed to find something that fit with the other two kids high back boosters. We did have to buy seat belt extenders for easier access to the other two belts but I thinks this is more of the trucks problem then then the car seats.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

If you don't have to don't buy

03/17/2014
By ,
WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was the only seat I could find that would fit in my budget and fit in my car but my daughter HATES it she cries all the time when she is in it and I cant get the cover to stay on the top of the seat "annoyed "
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Does not have 3 point latch system!

02/15/2014
By ,
Rockwell, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most importantly I want to point out that this does not have the latch system other carseats have with 3 different hooks (1 for the top and 2 for the sides wear the seatbelt would go. This one only has the top hook. You still have to use the seat belt to install this carseat.
Overall, it is still and easy carseat to figure out as well as how easy it is to change strap position and install. I had a Cosco Convertible I replaced and very glad I did!
My daughter is 34 inches tall 25 lbs and forward facing.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

I enjoy it

03/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shipping was so fast! The product is just what is says. It is a little tough buckling in facing rear. And a bit loose fitting in my car but still a nice carseat so far
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

awful

03/15/2014
By ,
abilene, tx
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Seat lays back too far, straps are so difficult to loosen and tighten, its a nightmare. The straps are always twisting. Just terrible.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great buy at a great price!

05/04/2012
By ,
Fort Riley, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the safety 1st complete air convertible carseat first. But sadly had to return it because it was too big for my car, and i have a kia sorento. I really thought it wouldve fit. Im so glad it didnt because my daughter loves this seat. It fits perfectly into our vehical, and im not eating the dash anymore. Its padding is actually more comfortable than the one that costs 200.00. Also my daugther loves the fact that she can look around and see out the windows. It is just an all around great carseat. My daughter never used to like car rides and it was very difficult to get her to take a nap on long drives. Now she just passes out in this one and seems to be very comfortable while sleeping. Totally recommend this to everyone, its awesome!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

A great value.

03/16/2014
By ,
Mobile,Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my granddaughter and we are very pleased with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great Product and at a reasonable price

03/05/2014
By ,
Augusta, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased Safety 1st car seats in the past and have been very pleased with this product. It is sturdy and easily installed in the car. I especially like that it accommodates the smaller cars. Easy to adjust the straps and head rest. I did a lot of research before purchasing and found that Walmart had by far the best pricing. Would purchase again in the future.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

great seat

04/13/2012
By ,
kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this seat for my mom to have when my daughter goes places with her. It was easy to install and very easy to buckle my daughter into. I have been through quite a few car seats by using them with my kids and also when babysitting for friends and family. This is one of the best I have seen.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

A great product

03/08/2014
By ,
Atlanta, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great product. I purchased it as a gift to be picked up in another state. It was shipped from the warehouse to the intended state in less than a week.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great Seat!

11/11/2012
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When we first started the transition from an infant to a convertible seat we went with the basic cosco seat, but then a few months later I found this one online loved it. I really love that you get some great features without the huge price tag. I feel like my daughter is very safe in this seat and she looks comfortable and can fall asleep easy in it as well. What I really wanted was a seat with a head rest for her, because with the cosco if she fell asleep her head always went forward I didn't like that at all. The material is nice quality and has great padding, which is another thing the cosco was lacking on. As far as fitting in a small car we have a 2 door convertible it may be a little smaller then the cosco, but not by much but this didn't bother me as long as my child is safe and protected. In all it is exactly what I was looking for the only downside to the whole process was I had to wait for it to be shipped to our local walmart they didn't carry it in store, but it was worth the wait. 100% recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Waste of $ Not to 52 Inches

01/11/2014
By ,
denver, co
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If there is a solution for long term harnessing this is not it. My daughter is barely 44 inches tall and the straps are right where her shoulders are, if she grows a millimeter she cannot be harnessed in this seat and they are at the highest position. Unfortunately all the reviews were about babies and toddlers so I wasn't able to see if they were really accurate about going up to 52 inches.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Car seat

03/07/2014
By ,
San Jose, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this car seat for my baby girl...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

love it!

02/28/2013
By ,
Woonsocket, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this car seat. We use the LATCH system in all of our cars and this seat has been the best and easiest to install, it weighs less, and isn't as bulky as other seats. I had an Alpha Elite Omega in my Elantra, and it was way too big, after researching the best compact car seat, this was it! I have two other Alpha Elite Omega's for my boyfriend's car and my mom's car and they do not compare to this at all! I recently had gotten into an accident in my new car when my daughter wasn't in it (thank god!) however, Rhode Island law states if any car seat has been in an accident it needs to be replaced and I plan on buying this same exact one as replacement.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Perfect seat

06/09/2012
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first began my convertible car seat search I was looking at the most expensive car seat because like most first time parents we look at the expensive thinking that it must mean more realiable and safer. But then I came across this car seat and fell in love I thought it was the cutest one I have seen. After reading the other reviews I decide to go look at it. And loved it even more in person. Online it looked like it was brown and pink but it is actually black and pink!!! Love it. It fits in my car perfectly I have 03 volvo with this seat my daughter and anyone else can now sit comfortable in the back seat unlike how it was when her infant car seat in the back. Very happy with my purchase probably will buy again for the other car.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

its alright

02/03/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Looks great but im having a hard time figuring out how to make it stay tight and still in the rear facing postion. It wobbles all over the place...
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
IL
Posted 02/11/2014
We had the same problem so I took it to my Sheriff's dept where they took it out and re-installed it properly. They had to put a cut up pool noodle under it to keep it stable.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 37 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Gap in back where belt goes through

02/21/2013
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for our granddaughter who was outgrowing the infant only seat. It looks great and does hold her in with a good harness system. Sounds good so far. Parents of baby have an old car with big chunky seat-belts. Trying to put this in the back seat center is when we discovered that the buckle chunk would rest in the baby's back. The plastic shell of the car seat is not all the way down the back! Where the seat belt goes through to anchor it they simply bubbled out the plastic and anything placed through that directly impacts the baby's back. (All directions were followed.)
This car seat looks nicely padded and is around the sides of the head but parents discovered on long trips a blanket or towel needs to be added to the seat back as there is very little padding there so it becomes very uncomfortable for baby very quickly. I think this seat would be good for quick trips (newer cars) for people who only have a small child temporarily and need one that installs easily and quickly. Long term, no. I would not buy this if I had to do it over.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great seat for older child at a great price.

02/27/2013
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a seat that would fit my 5 year old, 45+ lb, 45+ inches tall daughter still in the harness. She was too big for the harness on other seats, but I wasn't comfortable with her just in a booster and seat belt. Money is really tight like a lot of people, but I still wanted her to be safe. This seat was the perfect option. Is does not feel cheap or unsafe. I have two other Safety 1st seats (the Alpha Omega and Complete Air 35) and this is the same great quality even with the lower price. I highly recommend this seat to everyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Philadephia, PA
It fits your daughter good with her being 45+inch?
Posted 04/23/2013
I ordered this same carseat in grey for my son. He is 4 1/2 and weighs 50lbs and is 43 inches tall and when it got it it seemed to fit him just right without a whole lot of room for growth. Im not sure if that's just because they made the carseat to fit a smaller car or not. How much room does your daughter have for growth in your carseat? I would like to keep my son harnessed as along as possible too. I have the Britax Froniter in my car, so this carseat would just be for a backup for my husbands car.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 39 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

woks in a small space

08/13/2012
By ,
Springfield, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall, it is more padded than the cheapest carseats and has a higher weight limit. It's not as padded as more expensive ones but fits well if you have trouble with seats fitting. I bought and this and the Evenflo titan to compare padding and comfort. The Evenflo seemed more comfortable but wouldn't fit in my car so I kept the Guide 65. The bottom padding is squishy but I wish the back padding was a little thicker, however, my daughter seems much more comfortable and cries less than she did in her infant seat. I was very concerned that the head rest which is padded and not removable would force her head at an uncomfortable angle but so far it's not bothering her. I'm not sure that this seat will actually fit my daughter all the way to 65 pounds since the headrest touches the shoulders and may bother and older child (she's 11 months.) Installation is fairly straight-forward, but the seat does move more than I'd like and there is no way to fix that. As another reviewer said, the pad on one side doesn't cover at the top and when I pulled at it the seams look like they might rip if I pulled harder. I am going to try to exchange or at least contact the company about this.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Tullahoma, TN
Posted 12/24/2013
The headrest raises up in the back. Most seats are outgrown by torso height well before the stated weight limit, though.
0points
Customer Avatar
Your seat moving....
Posted 10/03/2012
I have a petite 13 month old who has a different seat than yours but hers moved quite a bit as well. What worked for us is when you are using LATCH, literally kneel in the seat and pull as hard as you can on the strap. What we did in addition to this is place a pool noodle under the seat first to make it level and then use the above mentioned pulling. I hope this helps!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 40 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Love it!

02/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter hated her infant seat, she loves this one! Great for small cars
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 136 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next