Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Safety 1st Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Average Customer Rating:
4.371 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(175 Reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
102
4 stars
52
3 stars
8
2 stars
10
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation91%156 out of 172reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 160 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
102
4 stars
52
3 stars
8
2 stars
10
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great car seat for small compact cars.

08/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This car seat is perfect for my small car. It was easy to adjust the straps and hook in place. I like it because it's rear/front, so my baby can grow with it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Best carseat ever!

06/03/2012
By ,
Winchester, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter, husband and I LOVE this carseat... She is 13 mo and still rear facing and this seat gives her plenty of leg room... it's compact enough that 2 other carseats fit perfectly beside it making enough room for my other 2 kids. It's got great head support and is very easy to adjust the straps. Took us less then 5 minutes to get it fitting snuggly in the car. It reclines for an easy transition to a convertable seat for your little one. The colors are a perfect fit for our little diva girl... and you really cat beat the quality for that low of a price.. i looked at others and none compared... Especially if you live in VA the law is now rear-facing until the child is 2 years old... and this seat is perfect for that. Also the fabric is sturdy and easy to wipe clean!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Color/fabric

06/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was surprise by how different the color of the carseat was online. The pink is a much darker shade in person and the fabric material is not what i thought either. Other than that, its easy to install and my daughter seems to be comfortable in it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great seat for our cars!

04/24/2012
By ,
Des Moines, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my husband and I realized it was time to move our 7 month old daughter into her next car seat due to her dangling legs we were nervous about finding the best seat for the money. I read a lot of reviews that said the seat they bought didn't fit into there cars.
We have 2 mid sized sedans a Oldsmobile Alero and a Dodge Stratus. The seat fits in the cars but you can't have a seat positioned very far back with them in. The bigger seats wouldn't have fit at all I'm afraid. The straps are easy to use. I'm struggling to add a toy bar due to the fatness of the sides but I am working on a plan to solve that problem for my bored baby! I highly recommend this seat.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Made for Compact Car

02/29/2012
By ,
Pooler,ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this car seat!! Super cute and very comfortable padding for my 7mth old who is still very petite. This car seat is made for a compact car. I own a cobalt and it is very small. I bought a regular convertible car seat that would go all the way to a seat belt booster but was way to big for my car so I took it back and bought this one. This reclines enough that my infant's head still lays back with out falling over all at the same time my front seat is still usable by passengers. I have two more kids that sit in the back with one in a booster. As soon as my kids got in the back with the new seat they noticed the extra room. The latch system is very easy to use and install. I have had no trouble adjusting the padding or the straps. The seat doesn't tip and I feel very safe with her in it. Not to mention she seems to love it. Very stylish, practical and a great price. Looked at cheaper car seats but padding on them wasn't even half of what this one has. Would defiantly recommend to anyone who needs a great car seat at a great price and who owns a small car.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+175points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Very comphy, Fits well in small car, Great price

08/27/2013
By ,
Montana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the pink version for my 21/2 year old daughter and the grey for my 1 year old son. I liked that the seat went from infant to 65lbs. I knew my children could use these for quite a while. The seats are much more cushioned than the previous low end car seats we had. I noticed the child sits deeper in these seats, which is ok for when rear facing and reclined, but for my forward facing 2 year old I had issues with her head flopping down when she fell asleep. Having her butt deeper in the seat of course pushes her torso more forward and the head rest also contributes to this. I was able to adjust her seat to recline more with a pool noodle (it was still within the tilt specifications of the manufacturer) and may raise the comfort head rest more if I need to. The seat cover seems to slip easily off the top, it just rolls over frame, no catch loops, but it hasn't been a real problem. Were it not for the head flop issue and the cushion popping off the frame, I would have given the seat 5 stars.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia
06/19/2013
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this seat both to replace a seat that was expiring as well as find a seat that was easy to travel with on a plane. Because the price was reasonable and would be able to rf to 40lbs and ff harnessed to 65 lbs, I chose to get this same seat for both of my children to keep them rf for the youngest (almost 3) and ff harnessed (4) longer. We have been using the seats for a couple of weeks and have been impressed with the ease of install (helpful when using on a plane as well as installing and uninstalling several times in different vehicles during travel. There is also more room in the car with these seats being used vs the seats they were using. The one issue we have seen with this seat is the crotch buckle even on the farthest out setting seems to be tight on our youngest. However this doesn't seem to be a problem with the oldest one so it may be the difference in bullk of a diaper vs no diaper. Overall impressed with the seat so far in our use of it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Excellent Car Seat

05/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This car seat is fantastic! At 6 mo. old my daughter was over 21lbs. and therefore needed a convertible seat. She still needs to face backwards. Now a mo. later she's loved it since the beginning and seems very comfortable in it. This seat will be with us for a LONG time. The weight limit seem to exceed lots of others. The price is perfect. It seems a little rediculous to me to spend hundreds of dollars.
We have a place in town at Rescue that installs car seats. We brought this one to them when we bought a different car. They said "OH you have one of these! They are great. We had one fly out of a van..."(don't ask me how...I think maybe testing?!?!) but anywho, they said " and @ 55 mph it only had a few tears in the fabric! And a few little scrathes in the plastic!"
If the professionals say it's great then I feel confident in the seat!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Super Cute, Good Price, Compact, but....

07/02/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this seat for my daughter when she outgrew her infant seat. I like the amount of padding in the seat and the design is great for my small SUV. However, the cup holder does not stay attached, and the fabric/cover will NOT stay on, it constantly slips off of the top. It appears that there were supposed to be elastic "hooks" to hook onto the underside. I am getting some velcro to fix the problem, it drives me nuts! Overall not bad for the money though.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MA
we have the same problem!
Posted 07/28/2014
The seat is decent for the price but the fabric rolls down. It drives me crazy!!!! The blue and gray Guide 65 has elastics on top to prevent this issue. I have 2 guide 65 seats and the blue and gray one is way better quality in regards to fabric.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Perfect seat for smaller cars at economical price

07/01/2012
By ,
Toledo, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 2004 Honda CR-V. I measured my backseat and was looking for seats that fit 3 across. This was the best price and most functional. We purchased two (one of each color, both look great). We have an infant seat now and will have these two seats with a booster in several months. Works out perfectly so we don't have to buy a larger car or compromise on the position of the front seats. We have two of the high-end $300 seats and while they are smooth, they are bulky, the shell blocks the view of the blind spot, and just don't work in my size car now that we have a third child. If I knew about this seat years ago I'd have been using it! The cushioning is not compromised by the price. The fabric feels like a polyester toy, but my kids will sweat no matter what. Car seats are just hot. Installation was a breeze (biggest surprise, as I've had terrible experiences with cheaper seats). I'd pass on more expensive models and go with this as your only seat. You won't be disappointed. Learn from my money wasted! Any seat on the market has to be safe, so paying more doesn't mean a thing. Plus, my 3 and 2 year olds can climb in unassisted because the seat is not too high.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Economical seat for rear facing!

06/14/2012
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this seat for my husbands car in order to continue rearfacing both our 2.5 year old and 13 month old. We want to keep them rear facing for as long as possible, but didn't have the extra 300 dollars to spend on one of the very nice secondary seats for his car. The small design of this seat allows us to have them both in the rear facing position while still allowing my 6'4" husband some leg room while driving. I love the high rear facing weight limit on this seat (40lbs# as well as the higher harness weight #65lbs). We previously had a Cosco Scenera as the secondary seat, but it only goes to 35lbs both forward and rear facing. My 33lb 37" 2 year old can easily fit rear facing in this seat. Finally an economical option for parents who want to keep their kids safe in the car!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

love it

08/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the carseat though I only gave it a four star because of the fabric it comes off from one side of the carseat and the cup holder is a flimsy.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great seat for the price!

05/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this car seat. I drive a Cobalt and was struggling to find one that fit in my car. Mine is not used as much as our CR-V, but I still wanted a nice, safe car seat. I am very impressed with this one. It is definitely basic, but is surprisingly cushy. We got this when my daughter was 6 months and have had it almost 2 months now. To the previous reviewer who said that material gets hot -- most black material will. They make carseat sun shade covers, and it works great on that. Also to the reviewer who complained about having to put a towel underneath to recline -- that is actually pretty normal. Most basic carseats will tell you to put a towel or a pool noodle. They do make seats that recline or have a base so you do not have to do this, but then you pay more money. There is nothing wrong safety-wise with having to use a towel. It does take a little longer to install this way, but it's still not bad. Overall, for the price, this is a great seat. If it happens to not work in a couple of years like another reviewer said, that is fine. For the price, we could definitely buy a new one that is more accommodating to a toddler. I have been recommending this carseat to many people I know who are in the market for one. I have known a few others who have gotten it and loved it, so don't let the negative reviews disuade you!
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

very helpful product

08/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love that it's small enough to have another car seat and booster seat in the car, just wish the seat had one of those moveable stands on the bottom to make it easier to recline properly.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Fit in small cars rearfacing

08/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second one of these car seats I have purchased. It works great rear facing for my tall toddler. My kid also loves the colors.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Excellent for a compact car!

04/20/2012
By ,
Mesa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We researched car seats to death before deciding on this one. We needed one that wouldn't take up too much space in our small saturn aura. This one is perfect! The cover is nice and cushion-y, baby girl is very comfortable in it! The colors are awesome and vibrant! Excellent value. I love that it goes up to 65 pounds. This carseat should last us quite some time! I would totally recommend to anyone looking for a great carseat!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Excellent Car seat!!!

07/23/2012
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just received this seat on Friday and when I first took it out of the box I was in love with the color!! I mean its HOT PINK...Anyways this seat is not bulky or heavy and very EASY to install,I installed this using the latch system and fit the straps according to my child all in under 20 minutes!!! I am certified car seat installation technician so beleive me when I say that I have worked with every possible car seat out there and this one is by far is my favorite. This is my 2nd car seat being that I have a 2 year old and a 8 month old, with the 1st child I didn't know much about car seats in general until I became certified and I went with a bulkier over priced one because that is what first time moms do, :-). But I love the fact that the child can be in the 5 point harnest until 65 pounds because most car seats (under $150) will only go to 40 pounds with the harnestt and then you have to remove the harnest to be in the booster seat, and honestly my 2 year old is not ready for just the seatbelt yet. Its very comfortable (in regards to car seats) my daughter was in it for 2 hour car ride and fell asleep and since it sits a little low her head was not going forward as much as her other car seat. I would definitely recommend this car seat to everyone!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
LATCH equipped?
Posted 08/23/2013
Is this seat equipped with the LATCH clips?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

good for the price

08/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This car seat arrived promptly, and in good condition. It is just as stated, not the top of the line but for the cost indeed effective. After reading the instructions, installed easy...Comfort and safety was my main concern and this seat so far satisfies both.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Good seat for the price

08/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this because it fit in our price range. We didn't want to spend a lot of money on something my daughter would grow out of quickly. We liked the weight limits being higher than other seats, and the price was fantastic. My daughter is still facing the rear of the car, and without a towel or something underneath it is REALLY hard to adjust because I can't easily access the pull strap.
It says it's great for small compact cars, this isn't not entirely true. When I first bought this I had a small Ford Contour, and Fords have very little room in the back seat. This seat was harder to put in but it worked. In my new car it is simpler to install, but my new car has a larger back seat.
My daughter is only 15 months, but she seems to enjoy this car seat. I've had to wash the cover once, and it came out nice and clean. My only dislike is how well it is still holding in the scent of the detergent, works better than most fresheners that I have had.
I don't use the cup holder, as my daughter wouldn't utilize it anyways, her cups go where she wants them to.
Adjusting this is a breeze, it takes only about 5 minutes to adjust it to her growing height. For me that is fantastic as I don't want to spend 20+ minutes getting it right for her.
I have no complaints about the padding on this car seat, the cover itself is padded quite well. My daughter loves to go on car rides, and we have frequently gone on car trips that require her to sit for hours on end (we do frequently stop) and she never complains unless she has spent the day driving with me. I'm sure her issue at that point is more she's tired of just sitting rather than the padding of the car seat.
I would have rated this 5 stars, but it does have it's downsides. It's not perfect, but it is a good car seat for it's price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Lydia

Great seat

08/02/2014
By ,
Elk Grove ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hat a great car seat!!! I am very pleased with the quality of this seat! Great price too!! I bought one for each vehicle and it was well worth it
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 158 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next