Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Safety 1st Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

The Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat is the perfect fit for smaller cars, and helps protect your child longer in both rear and forward facing positions. In the rear-facing position, the Safety 1st Car Seat keeps children comfortable up to 40 pounds. Change the Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat to a forward-facing position when it's time, and your child will be snug in the 5-point harness all the way up to 65 pounds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.276 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(239 Reviews) 221
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
74
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation89%213 out of 239reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 121 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
74
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Very pleasantly surprised

03/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I suddenly found myself needing to buy a new convertible carseat for my toddler, as our Evenflo Triumph LX only rear faces to 35 lbs and my daughter (2 1/2) is 35 lbs, and I am not ready to turn her forward facing for safety reasons. But I could not afford $170-$300 for a carseat that would fit her rear facing. I bought this one and am just amazed. First, according to the manual, they are safe to ride in it rear facing until the top of their head reaches the top of the head rest (which moves up), not with an inch in between as many carseats are...which means my 36" two year old has a lot more room to grow before turning forward facing. It RF to 40 lbs, and even though it isn't rated for this height (only to 40 inches), my 39 lb, 42 inch almost-five-year old fit in it rear facing with his head just even with the top of the headrest. I was also surprised at how comfortable the carseat seemed...side impact head protection and EPS foam...Not hard as a brick like the Scenera. And lastly, they really are not lying when they say it is a compact carseat. Though my daughter had plenty of room in it, it looked tiny compared to our Evenflo Triumph. Sitting in one of the captains' chairs of our Grand Caravan minivan, i could put both arm rests down on either side without it touching them, and with the front seat in a normal position I could easily get between the back of her carseat and the front seat...they weren't even close to touching as with many other rear facing seats. The box shows pictures of these seats three-across in the back of a standard sized car, and I believe it.This carseat didn't take up much more room than our son's Evenflo Big Kid Sport High back booster. I am very impressed.
Recommends this product? Yes
+144points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Great value!

07/29/2014
By ,
az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We researched convertible car seats for months before deciding on this one. I didn't want to spend hundreds on one seat especially having multiple cars. I did order Diono strap covers for this seat and was very pleased! The seat is very soft, we went with it for the comfort, price and ease of use. I love the black and grey, gender neutral is great! She seems to enjoy her seat so far. Excited for the longevity of this seat being such a high rated rear facing car seat and having such a petite little. This seat really is the best for your buck!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Wonderful safe seat for the price

07/05/2014
By ,
Niagara Falls NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love how well made and simple this seat is to use. If you read the entire manual and use pool noodles for recline angle, it's a fantastic affordable seat for many children. I cannot give it 5 stars though; the starting harness slots are too high for an infant. Although it is crash tested to begin at 5 lbs, that does not mean a 5 lb newborn will have a high enough shoulder/torso height to fit the harness slots at or below for rear facing. My 2.5 year old is only on the second slot. The capacity to fit tall children is superb, but not infants.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
Question
Posted 07/17/2014
Are there protectors on the straps so they don't scratch the neck area?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Held up in horrible crash!

09/02/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just wanted to share our story. We were on a very tight budget when we purchased this seat for our daughter. Originally we had bought a cheaper-larger seat, but it wouldnt fit in our car. We were pleased to find this one as is was compact enough to fit in our small KIA. About a week ago we were T-boned dead on. My 8 month old daughter was behind the passenger seat. Not only did she survive the crash, but she didnt have a single scratch!!! This seat absolutely saved my daughters life. I was going to purchase it again, but decided to upgrade to the Safety 1st - Complete Air 65 Convertible Car Seat. If you are on a tight budget this is the seat to buy!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+179points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Purcell, OK
wow
Posted 01/20/2014
I am so happy that you and your child are safe! Thank you for recommendation on the car seat!
0points
Customer Avatar
Chicago, IL
<3
Posted 11/05/2013
Thank god you are all ok. Way to go mama for keeping your baby safe in her seat. Thanks for this review it helped me make my mind up.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Great Seat and Great price

05/23/2013
By ,
Citrus Heights, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After doing research and reasing lots of great reviews I decided to purchase this car seat for my 7 month old son. Although he had not yet outgrown his infant carrier (he's only 15 lbs), I had to purchase a new car seat due to a car accident and it didn't make sense to purchase another carrier if he would be outgrowing it soon. Installing this seat was a breeze. The seat is well padded and seems super comfy. The padded headrest can be adjusted to your child height. He loves it. The only complaint I have is loosening the harness is a little tough sometimes. The seat fits in a smaller car wonderfully and still leaves room for other passangers in the back seat. I love that I can use this seat rear facing to 40 lbs and forward facing to 65 lbs. Overall I and extremely satisfied with this car seat and would definitely reccommed it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

GREAT Car seat for Small Cars!

02/14/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This car seat is comfy for my little fella, gives him room to grow, and best of all fits comfortably in our small car.
Our two kiddos each sit behind the front seats (as opposed to when there was just one and he was in the middle of the back seat). Because of this our new car seat had to be small enough to sit rear-facing behind the front seat extended all the way back (giving the most leg room to the front passenger.) The Safety 1st Guide 65 Convertible Car Seat was just what we needed! It's small, comfortable, will sit forward facing when kiddo is big/old enough, and goes all the way up to 65 lbs. This is the only seat we'll need until it's time to swap into a booster seat.
(If you've got a little more room in the back seat, I highly recommend big brother's car seat: Safety 1st Alpha and Omega. Big brother Loves it and it even converts into a booster seat.)
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Fantastic Car Seat!! Unbeatable price!

07/04/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I seriously evaluated a lot of convertible car seats, I read online reviews, and followed parent blogs. When it was time to buy a convertible car seat, I also went to the Consumer Reports site to check for safety ratings. I drive a Kia Sportage which is on the small side, and needed something that would easily fit in the back seat and still let the front passenger sit comfortably without being forced up against the dash. I am soooo happy with this seat. Even in the rear facing position, this seat is so comfortable for my 11 month old grandaughter and the sides still allow her to look out which is great. It's cushy, well made, highly safety rated by consumer reports, and compact enough to easily fit two in the back of my small car. In fact the company says 3 of these seats can easily fit in the rear seat of a car. And all this for far under $80!! My daughter is wishing she would have bought this seat instead of the $225 one she bought. One of the best buys ever. You will not regret getting this car seat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Wish I had tried it first

11/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After ordering the Safety 1st - Guide 65 based on the reviews, I learned that it's better for car seats to try them out and see for yourself. It is not very highly rated for ease of use, which I also found out after I purchased it. It was not hard to figure out the install but you have to shove the seat belt or latch strap through hard plastic and your hands will get scratched up. I had to put a towel underneath it to get the proper recline angle. Not a big deal except you can't really tell you're going to need this until it's installed and then you have uninstall it to put the towel under it. Feels very secure though installed with the lap/shoulder belt. After the initial struggle, it is relatively easy to get my son in and out of it. Biggest complaint is that it is very hard to tighten the harness while rear-facing, since the strap you pull to tighten it sits flush against the seat back. I would not reccomend this seat because of that. Having a tight harness is kind of the point...
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Great carseat, would buy again

10/26/2012
By ,
Lake Butler, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this carseat is great! :) We bought it for the extended weight limit of up to 65lbs still being able to sit in a five point harness. It has replaced our Alpha Omega carseat that was in the main car we travel in with our son, and the Alpha was moved to our other vehicle. It's comfortable, gender neutral so when he outgrows it our baby girl can use it, and it fits perfectly in our Honda Accord EXL, as well as in our Nissan Frontier extended cab truck (I tried it out in there too just to see).
The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the cup holder it came with is kind of flimsy. My sons sippy cups often lean to the side causing his milk to drip out a bit. I took it off and ended up buying one of those seatbelt held in place seat organizers with two built in insulated cup holder pockets in the front (made by Eddie Bauer). It keeps his drink cold and he can easily reach it and put it back on his own from the seat.
I would definitely buy again and would definitely recommend to a friend :)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Great Car Seat!

05/14/2012
By ,
Bellingham, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this car seat! It's great for smaller cars or as a second seat for your 'other car' or grandma's car! It doesn't have some of the bells and whistles as some other expensive models, but who care's it's only $80. All car seats have to be crash tested the same way, it's just as safe as a $200 in my option. I was in search of a second car seat to fit my 19 month old son #34in & 28lbs# and was looking for something that would rear face up to 40lbs because I want to rear face him up until he's at least 2yr or 2.5yrs. # I should note I have another car seat that I bought a year ago that rear faces only to 35lbs and I paid $199.99 for it, so we'll switch him full time to this Safety 1st seat for rear facing until he's 40lbs.# He fits great in it! He's only on the the second shoulder harness slot, he has 3 more slots till he's grown out of it, so there is tons of room for growth! He seems to really like it and is comfortable, the fabric is soft and seem to be enough padding. And I love the added safety of the adjustable headrest. I highly reccomend this seat!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Oh, that LATCH!

02/15/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This car seat is lightweight and grows with the child, but the latch system is difficult to hook in a two-door; although none are too easy. This seems as good as the higher priced seats, and they don't carry a taller child that needs to be rear facing.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Safe plus economical

06/04/2012
By ,
Union City, TN.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for my 6 mo. old son who had outgrown his infant seat. I was looking for a seat that would not take up a great deal of space in the back seat but without compromising on safety. This is a perfect seat. I am continuing to use it as a rear facing seat and it takes no more space than his infant seat. I have a Honda Accord with this seat in the rear middle, I am still able to accommodate two basic travel booster seats when my niece and nephew are running about with me.
I had intended to purchase a comparable seat in the Eddie Bauer line; however, this seat is primarily identical to it. The only exception is a small pad in the other brand. The price on this one however is substantially less so I could not see paying a higher price for the same style seat.
Pros:
*The additional head support.
*Comfort- it is very well padded/cushioned under baby's bottom and back.
*Doesn't take up a lot of room...can still accommodate 2 passengers in the back seat with the seat
*Adjustable harness, buckle, and head support to grow with child
Cons:
*Some difficulty bracing the seat in the reclined position for babies under 20 lbs. (This could be unique to my make of car...the seat has to be in the middle due to side impact air bags).
The biggest plus is my son loves it!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

comfortable for my kid

02/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this seat has a lot more cushion than my older boy's convertible car seat. This one fits great in our car. My 1 yr old never whines when we put him in it. The only thing I don't like about it is the rear facing never feels super secure because of the cars fabric seat. We tightened the car seat as tight as it can go but it can still move up and down a bit with the car's upholstered seat. But I know all rear facing are like that. The straps are not the easiest and the chest buckle isn't my favorite but it's fine. I'm not picky as long as my kids are safe and secure. I gave this a 4 because of the give it has, along with the buckle. But in all it seems to be a good seat.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Great carseat for the price!

02/01/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have a Camry, and even though it's considered a mid-size sedan, fitting convertible car seats in the rear-facing position is a challenge! We have twins so I need two and we're on a really tight budget. I tried a couple of different used seats, but one didn't fit at ALL (the front seat would have be be all the way forward - my husbands really tall and I'm no shorty so this seat had to go [sorry, I don't even remember what that seat was]) and the other one was an Evenflo Triumph XL. That one is a great seat but in the rear-facing position, the knobs are REALLY hard to turn to tighten the straps.
This Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat fits much better but it was really difficult to get into a level position. I don't have extra towels, so we piled up old jeans under the seat to level it. I guess the back seats of Camrys are angled back further than most cars because we really had to pile up the jeans to make the seat level! and then the top of it was hitting the front seat, so I did have to move it up a little bit. The straps are much easier to tighten than the Evenflo. It works like our Graco infant seats where you pull the single strap in the middle and push a button above it to loosen the straps.
Seems comfy and supportive. Overall, I think it's a great seat for the price and I'd definitely recommend it to others.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Easy and afforable

02/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found it easy to assemble and install. I loved the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

For my 10 month old daughter

03/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While my almost 11 month old daughter is quite petite and can still fit in her Safety 1st infant carrier, she hates it! She has pretty much always hated it. She does not like being confined in any way. I had put her in a friends convertible, rear facing, car seat while running a few errands in her Van, and for the first time ever, she was happy. She did not cry at all. So I decided it was time to switch her over. She is not very tall and is a little over 18 lbs. I wanted something that would enable me to keep her rear facing for quite a while longer, was comfortable and not too bulky. It also had to be girly! This is my first girl after 2 boys so I go all out on the girly stuff lol. When I saw te price on this seat and that they had one pink one left, I just had to have it.
I love that this seat is soft and plush, without being overly plush. I love the color. It was fairly easy to install with the anchors. Once I adjusted the straps to meet her needs and safety requirement, I then installed it into one if he captains chairs in my van. You have to stand behind the seat, pushing it into the chair, while pulling the straps to tighten. This ensures that the seat gets tight enough to not slide around at all. We took our first ride with her in it...and for the first time in MONTHS, my beautiful daughter was happy. She didn't scream the entire ride, not even a tiny whimper was made. She absolutely loves it! It feels good to know that she is now riding in style, safely and comfortably and all for an affordable price. I would definitely recommend this car seat to my friends and family, and I think I actually will. Thank you Safety 1st for providing my family with, yet another, safe and affordable car seat for one of my kids!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Not the greatest for rear facing kids

02/22/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This seat is well made but it is very hard to tighten to the proper two finger tightness. My daughter is 7 months old and weighs 19 pounds. The straps are so loose even after tightening it as far as i could (Which was not tight enough.) Needless to say it is going back to the store. Not safe at all if it doesn't tighten properly. Also the strap that you pull to tighten the harness is extremely hard to pull. the only way this seat works is if its forward facing. In order for it to tighten properly you have to pull the strap down and away from the front of the seat. Save your self the 20 minute struggle of getting your child secured in the seat and buy one that is a little more expensive but easier to use. Would work well for a larger child.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

great

02/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

excellent car seat!

02/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect seat. Just the right size. Easy to install.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Comfy little seat

11/27/2012
By ,
NW, Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had this seat a couple of weeks now and love it! The deep head rest and plush sides doubles as a nice pillow for napping, which is VERY important for our long trek to town. Rear facing does require several towels underneath to recline properly, other than that, it installed easily in my Murano. The buckle strap does get twisted easily, but is just as easy to untwist it. The only complaint would be the manual re-threading of the straps, but that is minor.
**A NOTE IF YOUR BUYING FOR AN INFANT-- Amazon has this seat, which costs a little more, but is pictured with the padding inserts around the torso area for a snug, comfy ride for your tiny infant, my daughter is 11 months and past that, but, if i was buying for a newborn, that info would interest me....
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 222 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next