Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Safety 1st Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

The Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat is the perfect fit for smaller cars, and helps protect your child longer in both rear and forward facing positions. In the rear-facing position, the Safety 1st Car Seat keeps children comfortable up to 40 pounds. Change the Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat to a forward-facing position when it's time, and your child will be snug in the 5-point harness all the way up to 65 pounds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.279 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(208 Reviews) 190
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
114
4 stars
66
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation89%185 out of 208reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 115 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
114
4 stars
66
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Very pleasantly surprised

03/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I suddenly found myself needing to buy a new convertible carseat for my toddler, as our Evenflo Triumph LX only rear faces to 35 lbs and my daughter (2 1/2) is 35 lbs, and I am not ready to turn her forward facing for safety reasons. But I could not afford $170-$300 for a carseat that would fit her rear facing. I bought this one and am just amazed. First, according to the manual, they are safe to ride in it rear facing until the top of their head reaches the top of the head rest (which moves up), not with an inch in between as many carseats are...which means my 36" two year old has a lot more room to grow before turning forward facing. It RF to 40 lbs, and even though it isn't rated for this height (only to 40 inches), my 39 lb, 42 inch almost-five-year old fit in it rear facing with his head just even with the top of the headrest. I was also surprised at how comfortable the carseat seemed...side impact head protection and EPS foam...Not hard as a brick like the Scenera. And lastly, they really are not lying when they say it is a compact carseat. Though my daughter had plenty of room in it, it looked tiny compared to our Evenflo Triumph. Sitting in one of the captains' chairs of our Grand Caravan minivan, i could put both arm rests down on either side without it touching them, and with the front seat in a normal position I could easily get between the back of her carseat and the front seat...they weren't even close to touching as with many other rear facing seats. The box shows pictures of these seats three-across in the back of a standard sized car, and I believe it.This carseat didn't take up much more room than our son's Evenflo Big Kid Sport High back booster. I am very impressed.
Recommends this product? Yes
+130points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Great value!

07/29/2014
By ,
az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We researched convertible car seats for months before deciding on this one. I didn't want to spend hundreds on one seat especially having multiple cars. I did order Diono strap covers for this seat and was very pleased! The seat is very soft, we went with it for the comfort, price and ease of use. I love the black and grey, gender neutral is great! She seems to enjoy her seat so far. Excited for the longevity of this seat being such a high rated rear facing car seat and having such a petite little. This seat really is the best for your buck!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Wonderful safe seat for the price

07/05/2014
By ,
Niagara Falls NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love how well made and simple this seat is to use. If you read the entire manual and use pool noodles for recline angle, it's a fantastic affordable seat for many children. I cannot give it 5 stars though; the starting harness slots are too high for an infant. Although it is crash tested to begin at 5 lbs, that does not mean a 5 lb newborn will have a high enough shoulder/torso height to fit the harness slots at or below for rear facing. My 2.5 year old is only on the second slot. The capacity to fit tall children is superb, but not infants.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
Question
Posted 07/17/2014
Are there protectors on the straps so they don't scratch the neck area?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Held up in horrible crash!

09/02/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just wanted to share our story. We were on a very tight budget when we purchased this seat for our daughter. Originally we had bought a cheaper-larger seat, but it wouldnt fit in our car. We were pleased to find this one as is was compact enough to fit in our small KIA. About a week ago we were T-boned dead on. My 8 month old daughter was behind the passenger seat. Not only did she survive the crash, but she didnt have a single scratch!!! This seat absolutely saved my daughters life. I was going to purchase it again, but decided to upgrade to the Safety 1st - Complete Air 65 Convertible Car Seat. If you are on a tight budget this is the seat to buy!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Safety 1st - Complete Air Convertible Car Seat, Raspberry Rose
4.8 out of 5(36)
 
 
 
 
 
+113points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Purcell, OK
wow
Posted 01/20/2014
I am so happy that you and your child are safe! Thank you for recommendation on the car seat!
0points
Customer Avatar
Chicago, IL
<3
Posted 11/05/2013
Thank god you are all ok. Way to go mama for keeping your baby safe in her seat. Thanks for this review it helped me make my mind up.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Great Seat and Great price

05/23/2013
By ,
Citrus Heights, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After doing research and reasing lots of great reviews I decided to purchase this car seat for my 7 month old son. Although he had not yet outgrown his infant carrier (he's only 15 lbs), I had to purchase a new car seat due to a car accident and it didn't make sense to purchase another carrier if he would be outgrowing it soon. Installing this seat was a breeze. The seat is well padded and seems super comfy. The padded headrest can be adjusted to your child height. He loves it. The only complaint I have is loosening the harness is a little tough sometimes. The seat fits in a smaller car wonderfully and still leaves room for other passangers in the back seat. I love that I can use this seat rear facing to 40 lbs and forward facing to 65 lbs. Overall I and extremely satisfied with this car seat and would definitely reccommed it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Fantastic Car Seat!! Unbeatable price!

07/04/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I seriously evaluated a lot of convertible car seats, I read online reviews, and followed parent blogs. When it was time to buy a convertible car seat, I also went to the Consumer Reports site to check for safety ratings. I drive a Kia Sportage which is on the small side, and needed something that would easily fit in the back seat and still let the front passenger sit comfortably without being forced up against the dash. I am soooo happy with this seat. Even in the rear facing position, this seat is so comfortable for my 11 month old grandaughter and the sides still allow her to look out which is great. It's cushy, well made, highly safety rated by consumer reports, and compact enough to easily fit two in the back of my small car. In fact the company says 3 of these seats can easily fit in the rear seat of a car. And all this for far under $80!! My daughter is wishing she would have bought this seat instead of the $225 one she bought. One of the best buys ever. You will not regret getting this car seat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Wish I had tried it first

11/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After ordering the Safety 1st - Guide 65 based on the reviews, I learned that it's better for car seats to try them out and see for yourself. It is not very highly rated for ease of use, which I also found out after I purchased it. It was not hard to figure out the install but you have to shove the seat belt or latch strap through hard plastic and your hands will get scratched up. I had to put a towel underneath it to get the proper recline angle. Not a big deal except you can't really tell you're going to need this until it's installed and then you have uninstall it to put the towel under it. Feels very secure though installed with the lap/shoulder belt. After the initial struggle, it is relatively easy to get my son in and out of it. Biggest complaint is that it is very hard to tighten the harness while rear-facing, since the strap you pull to tighten it sits flush against the seat back. I would not reccomend this seat because of that. Having a tight harness is kind of the point...
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

You get what you pay for

01/17/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought this as a secondary seat and to bring on planes when we travel. Definitely fits great in the and seat (we had our son rear facing). And he seemed comfortable ... Except for the shoulder straps! There is no padding on them so they dig into the babies neck. We bought some strap pads at the store and it was fine. Other downside, very DIFFICULT to install in the car. Took us about 20+ minutes to install it at the airport. Tried middle and side seat and both LATCH and seatbelt methods. All were difficult and none got tight enough in my opinion. Finally, the seatbelt itself doesn't tighten enough for my liking. Overall, this seat will do in a pinch, especially as a backup seat. Great for taking on a plane (lightweight to carry in airport too). But I would NOT recommend this as your go-to car seat.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Great Car Seat!

05/14/2012
By ,
Bellingham, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this car seat! It's great for smaller cars or as a second seat for your 'other car' or grandma's car! It doesn't have some of the bells and whistles as some other expensive models, but who care's it's only $80. All car seats have to be crash tested the same way, it's just as safe as a $200 in my option. I was in search of a second car seat to fit my 19 month old son #34in & 28lbs# and was looking for something that would rear face up to 40lbs because I want to rear face him up until he's at least 2yr or 2.5yrs. # I should note I have another car seat that I bought a year ago that rear faces only to 35lbs and I paid $199.99 for it, so we'll switch him full time to this Safety 1st seat for rear facing until he's 40lbs.# He fits great in it! He's only on the the second shoulder harness slot, he has 3 more slots till he's grown out of it, so there is tons of room for growth! He seems to really like it and is comfortable, the fabric is soft and seem to be enough padding. And I love the added safety of the adjustable headrest. I highly reccomend this seat!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Great carseat, would buy again

10/26/2012
By ,
Lake Butler, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this carseat is great! :) We bought it for the extended weight limit of up to 65lbs still being able to sit in a five point harness. It has replaced our Alpha Omega carseat that was in the main car we travel in with our son, and the Alpha was moved to our other vehicle. It's comfortable, gender neutral so when he outgrows it our baby girl can use it, and it fits perfectly in our Honda Accord EXL, as well as in our Nissan Frontier extended cab truck (I tried it out in there too just to see).
The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the cup holder it came with is kind of flimsy. My sons sippy cups often lean to the side causing his milk to drip out a bit. I took it off and ended up buying one of those seatbelt held in place seat organizers with two built in insulated cup holder pockets in the front (made by Eddie Bauer). It keeps his drink cold and he can easily reach it and put it back on his own from the seat.
I would definitely buy again and would definitely recommend to a friend :)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

best bang for your buck

01/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I feel this car seat is the best convertible car seat for the money. Its also a compact size and is the only rear facing convertible car seat to fit in our jeep compass and extended cab chevy silverado and still allow me to fit in the front seat without pushing the front seat completely into the dashboard. I thought about the cosco car seat but it has no cushioning and it doesn't have as high of weight limits especially for rear facing. Wish the straps were just a little easier to pull tight. Other then that I feel good knowing my daughters safe in her safety 1st car seat!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Got as travel seat

01/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are a military family and have to travel across the country a few time a year for my son to have surgery. We have a Britax boulevard clicktight in splash that I absolutely LOVE but it's too heavy and I don't want it getting damaged during travel. We bought this seat and think it will be perfect. It has enough padding for him to be comfortable after surgery and should work great! It's small and more compact and should better in a plane seat.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

great car seat great price

01/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very happy with this carseat. We actually have two . Bought one a few months ago and liked it so much (especially for the price) we bought one for our other vehicle. Seems comfy, nice head rest for babies, can be front or rear facing. My only complaint would be the harness buckles are a little tight and sort of hard to unbuckle until you "break them in" and use the seat for a while. Overall great seat and great price
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Does the job!

01/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter seems to like it and it fits fine in our vehicle. We purchased the pink color and looks well made and feels sturdy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Good seat. Difficult Install.

01/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seat is compact. Fits well in small 2 door car. Was difficult to install but with some help from certified car seat tech, got it positioned correctly. Son seems to like the seat.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Daughter Loves Her New Seat

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This car seat was affordable and the display seemed comfortable enough. We bought it and weren't disappointed. Our little one loves being in the car now - quite a pleasant change from her usual reaction to riding in a vehicle
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

not big enough

01/18/2015
By ,
ny
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
spent the extra money to have a good seat for my 3yr old grandaughter-in a regular booster she falls asleep and topples over so got this because she could be strapped in.she weighs over 40# so this seat will work with the straps-unfortunately the height of the seat barely fits her-it doesn't adjust much at all for the torso height.she won't be able to use this long-disappointed in the fit!other than that it would be a great seat.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Great carseatfor the price!

01/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We brought this as a 2nd seat - mostly for my parents car. Lightweight & compact - my only issue was installation. I could get the latch tight enough so we used the seat belt instead.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

nice seat

01/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice comfortable seat. You really have to pull the latch straps tight in order for it not to move. I have leather seats in my minivan and had to use a towel under the seat, plus a few towels rolled up under the front of the seat as I am using it rear facing.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

#happy

01/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Impressed with quality. Easy to clean. Light weight. My son is a joy to be with in the car again!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 191 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next