Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Safety 1st Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

The Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat is the perfect fit for smaller cars, and helps protect your child longer in both rear and forward facing positions. In the rear-facing position, the Safety 1st Car Seat keeps children comfortable up to 40 pounds. Change the Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat to a forward-facing position when it's time, and your child will be snug in the 5-point harness all the way up to 65 pounds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.367 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(539 Reviews) 521
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
313
4 stars
162
3 stars
31
2 stars
15
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation91%490 out of 539reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 132 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
313
4 stars
162
3 stars
31
2 stars
15
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Very pleasantly surprised

03/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I suddenly found myself needing to buy a new convertible carseat for my toddler, as our Evenflo Triumph LX only rear faces to 35 lbs and my daughter (2 1/2) is 35 lbs, and I am not ready to turn her forward facing for safety reasons. But I could not afford $170-$300 for a carseat that would fit her rear facing. I bought this one and am just amazed. First, according to the manual, they are safe to ride in it rear facing until the top of their head reaches the top of the head rest (which moves up), not with an inch in between as many carseats are...which means my 36" two year old has a lot more room to grow before turning forward facing. It RF to 40 lbs, and even though it isn't rated for this height (only to 40 inches), my 39 lb, 42 inch almost-five-year old fit in it rear facing with his head just even with the top of the headrest. I was also surprised at how comfortable the carseat seemed...side impact head protection and EPS foam...Not hard as a brick like the Scenera. And lastly, they really are not lying when they say it is a compact carseat. Though my daughter had plenty of room in it, it looked tiny compared to our Evenflo Triumph. Sitting in one of the captains' chairs of our Grand Caravan minivan, i could put both arm rests down on either side without it touching them, and with the front seat in a normal position I could easily get between the back of her carseat and the front seat...they weren't even close to touching as with many other rear facing seats. The box shows pictures of these seats three-across in the back of a standard sized car, and I believe it.This carseat didn't take up much more room than our son's Evenflo Big Kid Sport High back booster. I am very impressed.
Recommends this product? Yes
+151points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Great value!

07/29/2014
By ,
az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We researched convertible car seats for months before deciding on this one. I didn't want to spend hundreds on one seat especially having multiple cars. I did order Diono strap covers for this seat and was very pleased! The seat is very soft, we went with it for the comfort, price and ease of use. I love the black and grey, gender neutral is great! She seems to enjoy her seat so far. Excited for the longevity of this seat being such a high rated rear facing car seat and having such a petite little. This seat really is the best for your buck!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Wonderful safe seat for the price

07/05/2014
By ,
Niagara Falls NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love how well made and simple this seat is to use. If you read the entire manual and use pool noodles for recline angle, it's a fantastic affordable seat for many children. I cannot give it 5 stars though; the starting harness slots are too high for an infant. Although it is crash tested to begin at 5 lbs, that does not mean a 5 lb newborn will have a high enough shoulder/torso height to fit the harness slots at or below for rear facing. My 2.5 year old is only on the second slot. The capacity to fit tall children is superb, but not infants.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
Question
Posted 07/17/2014
Are there protectors on the straps so they don't scratch the neck area?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Held up in horrible crash!

09/02/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just wanted to share our story. We were on a very tight budget when we purchased this seat for our daughter. Originally we had bought a cheaper-larger seat, but it wouldnt fit in our car. We were pleased to find this one as is was compact enough to fit in our small KIA. About a week ago we were T-boned dead on. My 8 month old daughter was behind the passenger seat. Not only did she survive the crash, but she didnt have a single scratch!!! This seat absolutely saved my daughters life. I was going to purchase it again, but decided to upgrade to the Safety 1st - Complete Air 65 Convertible Car Seat. If you are on a tight budget this is the seat to buy!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+213points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Purcell, OK
wow
Posted 01/20/2014
I am so happy that you and your child are safe! Thank you for recommendation on the car seat!
0points
Customer Avatar
Chicago, IL
<3
Posted 11/05/2013
Thank god you are all ok. Way to go mama for keeping your baby safe in her seat. Thanks for this review it helped me make my mind up.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Great Seat and Great price

05/23/2013
By ,
Citrus Heights, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After doing research and reasing lots of great reviews I decided to purchase this car seat for my 7 month old son. Although he had not yet outgrown his infant carrier (he's only 15 lbs), I had to purchase a new car seat due to a car accident and it didn't make sense to purchase another carrier if he would be outgrowing it soon. Installing this seat was a breeze. The seat is well padded and seems super comfy. The padded headrest can be adjusted to your child height. He loves it. The only complaint I have is loosening the harness is a little tough sometimes. The seat fits in a smaller car wonderfully and still leaves room for other passangers in the back seat. I love that I can use this seat rear facing to 40 lbs and forward facing to 65 lbs. Overall I and extremely satisfied with this car seat and would definitely reccommed it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Fantastic Car Seat!! Unbeatable price!

07/04/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I seriously evaluated a lot of convertible car seats, I read online reviews, and followed parent blogs. When it was time to buy a convertible car seat, I also went to the Consumer Reports site to check for safety ratings. I drive a Kia Sportage which is on the small side, and needed something that would easily fit in the back seat and still let the front passenger sit comfortably without being forced up against the dash. I am soooo happy with this seat. Even in the rear facing position, this seat is so comfortable for my 11 month old grandaughter and the sides still allow her to look out which is great. It's cushy, well made, highly safety rated by consumer reports, and compact enough to easily fit two in the back of my small car. In fact the company says 3 of these seats can easily fit in the rear seat of a car. And all this for far under $80!! My daughter is wishing she would have bought this seat instead of the $225 one she bought. One of the best buys ever. You will not regret getting this car seat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Wish I had tried it first

11/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After ordering the Safety 1st - Guide 65 based on the reviews, I learned that it's better for car seats to try them out and see for yourself. It is not very highly rated for ease of use, which I also found out after I purchased it. It was not hard to figure out the install but you have to shove the seat belt or latch strap through hard plastic and your hands will get scratched up. I had to put a towel underneath it to get the proper recline angle. Not a big deal except you can't really tell you're going to need this until it's installed and then you have uninstall it to put the towel under it. Feels very secure though installed with the lap/shoulder belt. After the initial struggle, it is relatively easy to get my son in and out of it. Biggest complaint is that it is very hard to tighten the harness while rear-facing, since the strap you pull to tighten it sits flush against the seat back. I would not reccomend this seat because of that. Having a tight harness is kind of the point...
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Great carseat, would buy again

10/26/2012
By ,
Lake Butler, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this carseat is great! :) We bought it for the extended weight limit of up to 65lbs still being able to sit in a five point harness. It has replaced our Alpha Omega carseat that was in the main car we travel in with our son, and the Alpha was moved to our other vehicle. It's comfortable, gender neutral so when he outgrows it our baby girl can use it, and it fits perfectly in our Honda Accord EXL, as well as in our Nissan Frontier extended cab truck (I tried it out in there too just to see).
The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the cup holder it came with is kind of flimsy. My sons sippy cups often lean to the side causing his milk to drip out a bit. I took it off and ended up buying one of those seatbelt held in place seat organizers with two built in insulated cup holder pockets in the front (made by Eddie Bauer). It keeps his drink cold and he can easily reach it and put it back on his own from the seat.
I would definitely buy again and would definitely recommend to a friend :)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Pleasantly surprised

06/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We decided to go with a less expensive seat for my car, which is mainly used for day care drop off and local errands, and bought a much more expensive Chicco for my husband's car. I was surprised how sturdy/secure seeming the seat was. It is well padded and the frame seems heavy duty. It even has a cup holder! It is easy to install (my car has center latch fortunately). My only complaint - until baby is 22 lb, the seat needs to be leveled by something extra (pool noodle or towel is suggested by the book). There are lines on the seat for rear facing below 22 vs above 22 as a guide but I find it hard to ensure it is installed tightly and at the correct level with such an Inexact method. We have it cinched as tight as it goes but there is still movement. Looking forward to being over the weight minimum for my own sanity!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Great Car Seat!

05/14/2012
By ,
Bellingham, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this car seat! It's great for smaller cars or as a second seat for your 'other car' or grandma's car! It doesn't have some of the bells and whistles as some other expensive models, but who care's it's only $80. All car seats have to be crash tested the same way, it's just as safe as a $200 in my option. I was in search of a second car seat to fit my 19 month old son #34in & 28lbs# and was looking for something that would rear face up to 40lbs because I want to rear face him up until he's at least 2yr or 2.5yrs. # I should note I have another car seat that I bought a year ago that rear faces only to 35lbs and I paid $199.99 for it, so we'll switch him full time to this Safety 1st seat for rear facing until he's 40lbs.# He fits great in it! He's only on the the second shoulder harness slot, he has 3 more slots till he's grown out of it, so there is tons of room for growth! He seems to really like it and is comfortable, the fabric is soft and seem to be enough padding. And I love the added safety of the adjustable headrest. I highly reccomend this seat!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Love it.

07/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great car seat. Reasonable price!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Good carseat, very compact and lightweight

06/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this as a second, backup seat for my 2 yr old. We used it on vacation, its very lightweight compared to her other seat and way less bulky. It is also VERY easy to install and take out which is nice because her regular seat is a pain to take out. The only negative I find is that when she naps in it there isn't as much support and it sits really upright so for her its probably not as comfortable as a larger seat when she's sleeping. I would recommend this, its also a really pretty color ( we got the grey and pink).
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

GREAT Car seat for Small Cars!

02/14/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This car seat is comfy for my little fella, gives him room to grow, and best of all fits comfortably in our small car.
Our two kiddos each sit behind the front seats (as opposed to when there was just one and he was in the middle of the back seat). Because of this our new car seat had to be small enough to sit rear-facing behind the front seat extended all the way back (giving the most leg room to the front passenger.) The Safety 1st Guide 65 Convertible Car Seat was just what we needed! It's small, comfortable, will sit forward facing when kiddo is big/old enough, and goes all the way up to 65 lbs. This is the only seat we'll need until it's time to swap into a booster seat.
(If you've got a little more room in the back seat, I highly recommend big brother's car seat: Safety 1st Alpha and Omega. Big brother Loves it and it even converts into a booster seat.)
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Good second car seat

06/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is for grandma's car and it works well. It is smaller than most so it fits better in my Lexus ES300, which is about the size of a Camry. I had another seat that I returned because it was humongous. The only thing is, it seems to slip a little as far as how it tilts. It could be that I do not have latch capability (car is a 2000) but overall it does the trick.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

GREAT FOR SLEEPING

05/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter (almost 2 yrs old) often falls asleep in the car and the seat we tried prior to this had me a nervous wreck as her chin would drop to her chest and wobble side to side with turns.
This 65 sport seat though it doesn't have multiple recline positions which I thought I needed, has the most reclined and comfortable position without the bulk! It is compact and narrow and the harness system is so easy to get her in and out that she now stays asleep when I transfer her. I still keep her rear facing, so this seat is perfectly accommodating for her weight. I haven't tried to clean it yet, but looks like it's easy to take off and wash if needed. I like wipe easy surfaces, which this is not, but my daughter used to complain of her prior seat being hot...this seat repels heat well and is still easy enough to spot clean as needed.
I was ready to spent money on a good seat that would meet our needs, but you can't beat the price and value of this seat. All that time spent searching, researching and this whole time it was right there at walmart!
Another plus about this carseat that we didn't have with the last seat is that this seat is approved for airplanes. Haven't used it on a plane, but glad we have that option!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Great car seat except....

06/18/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a GREAT car seat and I would highly recommend it! The ONLY thing I don't like is, in order for it to sit level, rear facing, I have to place towel or pool foam noodle under leg area of seat and check to make sure they are secure every time before buckling child, (per installation instructions). Since I will be having my grandchild rear facing for 3 to 4 years, that's a long time to doublecheck to make sure towel or pool noodle doesn't move and seat is stable. Other then that, LOVE the car seat!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Cute!

06/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's cute!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

good product

06/20/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product needs more head and neck support if child falls asleep.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Great Car Seat

06/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great purchase, I would recommend.m
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

love!

06/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent a lot of time searching for the right seat in all price ranges. After much research I picked this seat and could not be happier with this decision. It looks great and feels comfy. It fits really well in the backseat of my Corolla and we have much more leg room for the passenger seat now. The straps and buckles are easy to use and the price is right. We will be buying a second for my husband's car.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 522 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  27 Next