Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Safety 1st Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Average Customer Rating:
4.236 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(161 Reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
55
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation89%144 out of 161reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 105 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
55
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Very pleasantly surprised

03/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I suddenly found myself needing to buy a new convertible carseat for my toddler, as our Evenflo Triumph LX only rear faces to 35 lbs and my daughter (2 1/2) is 35 lbs, and I am not ready to turn her forward facing for safety reasons. But I could not afford $170-$300 for a carseat that would fit her rear facing. I bought this one and am just amazed. First, according to the manual, they are safe to ride in it rear facing until the top of their head reaches the top of the head rest (which moves up), not with an inch in between as many carseats are...which means my 36" two year old has a lot more room to grow before turning forward facing. It RF to 40 lbs, and even though it isn't rated for this height (only to 40 inches), my 39 lb, 42 inch almost-five-year old fit in it rear facing with his head just even with the top of the headrest. I was also surprised at how comfortable the carseat seemed...side impact head protection and EPS foam...Not hard as a brick like the Scenera. And lastly, they really are not lying when they say it is a compact carseat. Though my daughter had plenty of room in it, it looked tiny compared to our Evenflo Triumph. Sitting in one of the captains' chairs of our Grand Caravan minivan, i could put both arm rests down on either side without it touching them, and with the front seat in a normal position I could easily get between the back of her carseat and the front seat...they weren't even close to touching as with many other rear facing seats. The box shows pictures of these seats three-across in the back of a standard sized car, and I believe it.This carseat didn't take up much more room than our son's Evenflo Big Kid Sport High back booster. I am very impressed.
Recommends this product? Yes
+115points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Wonderful safe seat for the price

07/05/2014
By ,
Niagara Falls NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love how well made and simple this seat is to use. If you read the entire manual and use pool noodles for recline angle, it's a fantastic affordable seat for many children. I cannot give it 5 stars though; the starting harness slots are too high for an infant. Although it is crash tested to begin at 5 lbs, that does not mean a 5 lb newborn will have a high enough shoulder/torso height to fit the harness slots at or below for rear facing. My 2.5 year old is only on the second slot. The capacity to fit tall children is superb, but not infants.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
Question
Posted 07/17/2014
Are there protectors on the straps so they don't scratch the neck area?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Great value!

07/29/2014
By ,
az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We researched convertible car seats for months before deciding on this one. I didn't want to spend hundreds on one seat especially having multiple cars. I did order Diono strap covers for this seat and was very pleased! The seat is very soft, we went with it for the comfort, price and ease of use. I love the black and grey, gender neutral is great! She seems to enjoy her seat so far. Excited for the longevity of this seat being such a high rated rear facing car seat and having such a petite little. This seat really is the best for your buck!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Held up in horrible crash!

09/02/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just wanted to share our story. We were on a very tight budget when we purchased this seat for our daughter. Originally we had bought a cheaper-larger seat, but it wouldnt fit in our car. We were pleased to find this one as is was compact enough to fit in our small KIA. About a week ago we were T-boned dead on. My 8 month old daughter was behind the passenger seat. Not only did she survive the crash, but she didnt have a single scratch!!! This seat absolutely saved my daughters life. I was going to purchase it again, but decided to upgrade to the Safety 1st - Complete Air 65 Convertible Car Seat. If you are on a tight budget this is the seat to buy!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Purcell, OK
wow
Posted 01/20/2014
I am so happy that you and your child are safe! Thank you for recommendation on the car seat!
0points
Customer Avatar
Chicago, IL
<3
Posted 11/05/2013
Thank god you are all ok. Way to go mama for keeping your baby safe in her seat. Thanks for this review it helped me make my mind up.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Great Seat and Great price

05/23/2013
By ,
Citrus Heights, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After doing research and reasing lots of great reviews I decided to purchase this car seat for my 7 month old son. Although he had not yet outgrown his infant carrier (he's only 15 lbs), I had to purchase a new car seat due to a car accident and it didn't make sense to purchase another carrier if he would be outgrowing it soon. Installing this seat was a breeze. The seat is well padded and seems super comfy. The padded headrest can be adjusted to your child height. He loves it. The only complaint I have is loosening the harness is a little tough sometimes. The seat fits in a smaller car wonderfully and still leaves room for other passangers in the back seat. I love that I can use this seat rear facing to 40 lbs and forward facing to 65 lbs. Overall I and extremely satisfied with this car seat and would definitely reccommed it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Fantastic Car Seat!! Unbeatable price!

07/04/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I seriously evaluated a lot of convertible car seats, I read online reviews, and followed parent blogs. When it was time to buy a convertible car seat, I also went to the Consumer Reports site to check for safety ratings. I drive a Kia Sportage which is on the small side, and needed something that would easily fit in the back seat and still let the front passenger sit comfortably without being forced up against the dash. I am soooo happy with this seat. Even in the rear facing position, this seat is so comfortable for my 11 month old grandaughter and the sides still allow her to look out which is great. It's cushy, well made, highly safety rated by consumer reports, and compact enough to easily fit two in the back of my small car. In fact the company says 3 of these seats can easily fit in the rear seat of a car. And all this for far under $80!! My daughter is wishing she would have bought this seat instead of the $225 one she bought. One of the best buys ever. You will not regret getting this car seat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Great Car Seat!

05/14/2012
By ,
Bellingham, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this car seat! It's great for smaller cars or as a second seat for your 'other car' or grandma's car! It doesn't have some of the bells and whistles as some other expensive models, but who care's it's only $80. All car seats have to be crash tested the same way, it's just as safe as a $200 in my option. I was in search of a second car seat to fit my 19 month old son #34in & 28lbs# and was looking for something that would rear face up to 40lbs because I want to rear face him up until he's at least 2yr or 2.5yrs. # I should note I have another car seat that I bought a year ago that rear faces only to 35lbs and I paid $199.99 for it, so we'll switch him full time to this Safety 1st seat for rear facing until he's 40lbs.# He fits great in it! He's only on the the second shoulder harness slot, he has 3 more slots till he's grown out of it, so there is tons of room for growth! He seems to really like it and is comfortable, the fabric is soft and seem to be enough padding. And I love the added safety of the adjustable headrest. I highly reccomend this seat!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Great product - great deal!

08/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching many car seats, this is the best in terms of price and height/weight allowed.
It seems sturdy but comfy, was easy to install and will last a long time (up to 65lb front-facing). Then the price... can't beat that.
The only reason I did not buy this before (when my son was first born) is because I wanted an infant car seat I could carry him around - this seat stays in the car instead. Now that he's 9 months, it's perfect for him. Did I mention it can be used REAR-FACING??
This product would work just fine with a newborn as well - SEAT CAN RECLINE!
I have been using the seat for 3 weeks and I would recommend this product to anyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

I'm on the fence with this one!

06/17/2014
By ,
WV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the 3rd car seat that I've purchased. My first one was your typical infant car seat with a base (loved it). I also purchased a Graco convertible version (I think it is much better) and I purchased 2 of these for two vehicles that we don't use as much. I had a hard time getting this car seat in my car (and it wasn't the first one I've ever put in). The lines on the side to make it "level" are deceiving and there are so many reasons why or why you shouldn't have it at this level or that level, etc. When all is said and done...the seat still slides a bit. My husband even tried tightening it down (my other car seats don't budge at all!!). I even tried taking take the car seat protector out from under it thinking that that may be why it was sliding. Nope. Although this car seat's manual does not specify how much slack is acceptable...my Graco manual says that the car seat should not move more than 1 inch. I simply can't make this happen with this seat.
I do want to mention that the padding is much softer than any other car seat we've had and the price was right! It does feel cheap compared to the ones that I paid more for. I guess you get what you pay for. Not to mention that I'm constantly wondering if it's secure enough in my car.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Excellent

07/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a car seat for my 4 month old Granddaughter, and didn't want to spend a fortune for one that had to be replaced every four years. This one had a great price and looked comfy online. Our Granddaughter Loves it and so do we. I did take it in to the fire department to have them help me install it in the car because I am a little rusty at this baby stuff. The Captain was impressed on how tight he was able to get the seat (and it was easy for him to do it) that is important for it not to wiggle. It fits nicely in our 2013 Nissan Altima. For the baby I wish the chest clip was a little more heavy duty feeling in the seat and that the metal locks on the bottom between baby's legs went in together instead of individually.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Great carseat, would buy again

10/26/2012
By ,
Lake Butler, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this carseat is great! :) We bought it for the extended weight limit of up to 65lbs still being able to sit in a five point harness. It has replaced our Alpha Omega carseat that was in the main car we travel in with our son, and the Alpha was moved to our other vehicle. It's comfortable, gender neutral so when he outgrows it our baby girl can use it, and it fits perfectly in our Honda Accord EXL, as well as in our Nissan Frontier extended cab truck (I tried it out in there too just to see).
The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the cup holder it came with is kind of flimsy. My sons sippy cups often lean to the side causing his milk to drip out a bit. I took it off and ended up buying one of those seatbelt held in place seat organizers with two built in insulated cup holder pockets in the front (made by Eddie Bauer). It keeps his drink cold and he can easily reach it and put it back on his own from the seat.
I would definitely buy again and would definitely recommend to a friend :)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Great affordable car seat

08/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this about 5 months ago and installed it in my husband's vehicle. Overall we are satisfied with it. We are still using it rear facing since my son is only 15 months old. It is smaller in size than our Graco My Ride 65 so it would be perfect for compact cars. I like that it has lots of cushion so my son is comfortable on long road trips. It does not get as much use as our Graco My Ride 65 which I like slightly more. But as a secondary car seat, this one does the job.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Safe plus economical

06/04/2012
By ,
Union City, TN.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for my 6 mo. old son who had outgrown his infant seat. I was looking for a seat that would not take up a great deal of space in the back seat but without compromising on safety. This is a perfect seat. I am continuing to use it as a rear facing seat and it takes no more space than his infant seat. I have a Honda Accord with this seat in the rear middle, I am still able to accommodate two basic travel booster seats when my niece and nephew are running about with me.
I had intended to purchase a comparable seat in the Eddie Bauer line; however, this seat is primarily identical to it. The only exception is a small pad in the other brand. The price on this one however is substantially less so I could not see paying a higher price for the same style seat.
Pros:
*The additional head support.
*Comfort- it is very well padded/cushioned under baby's bottom and back.
*Doesn't take up a lot of room...can still accommodate 2 passengers in the back seat with the seat
*Adjustable harness, buckle, and head support to grow with child
Cons:
*Some difficulty bracing the seat in the reclined position for babies under 20 lbs. (This could be unique to my make of car...the seat has to be in the middle due to side impact air bags).
The biggest plus is my son loves it!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Affordable, especially for made in USA

08/14/2014
By ,
Peoria, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves things made in the USA and we really try to buy those products. This car seat is very affordable and fits my 7 month old perfectly. I love that it has the side head guards and is very easy to install. One of the best car seats I've used.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Great for mid size cars and larger

08/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the ability of this car seat to go between rear facing and forward facing. The only problem is that for a smaller car (Corolla), rear facing mode is a little tight for the seat to fit properly.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Mama of 3

02/28/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding! I just bought this for my 9 month old. He is very comfortable in it and I love how the sides are really substantial as opposed to every other one I've seen that has the side impact air protect head pillows. This one really sort of hugs them from every angle and I think i will also be upgrading my two yr old's alpha and omega to this one as well...that is if I can find another one in store as I bought the last one :)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Easy to install

08/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This carseat is small and lightweight. It can be installed in just minutes. My son seemed to enjoy riding in it:)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Great Travel Car Seat

08/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car seat fits perfectly in airplane seat and is lightweight to carry through the airport. Seat also fits well in almost all cars except maybe a two seater sports car. For a travel car seat, it offers great side impact protection.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Cute

07/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son is not quite ready to sit straight up(he's not 22 pounds yet) but his infant car seat was becoming obnoxious for him and me both. It matches our car perfectly and he seems to enjoy the space it gives him and most importantly, it's well crafted and keeps him safe. The reclining position we will have to maintain for the next little bit does take up a lot of space. My husband put the seat behind my seat so he could have his seat back enough(I'll have to maintain perfect upright posture...so much for naps). We have an avenger so it's a mid size sedan if that helps anyone. Overall I think it's great, and I think it will be fabulous once we can change it to upright rear facing. That way my son can see where he's been and I can slouch just a tiny bit
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Bang for your buck!

08/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Car seats don't have to be outrageously priced to be great quality. Easy to install and a good fit for my son. The only thing I was a little unsure of was the fit inside my vehicle, but I have a jeep and the middle seat isn't set as well as the ends, so I had to put the seat on the outside rather than middle.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 144 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next