Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Safety 1st Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Average Customer Rating:
4.266 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(173 Reviews) 155
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
92
4 stars
59
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation90%156 out of 173reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 106 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
92
4 stars
59
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Very pleasantly surprised

03/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I suddenly found myself needing to buy a new convertible carseat for my toddler, as our Evenflo Triumph LX only rear faces to 35 lbs and my daughter (2 1/2) is 35 lbs, and I am not ready to turn her forward facing for safety reasons. But I could not afford $170-$300 for a carseat that would fit her rear facing. I bought this one and am just amazed. First, according to the manual, they are safe to ride in it rear facing until the top of their head reaches the top of the head rest (which moves up), not with an inch in between as many carseats are...which means my 36" two year old has a lot more room to grow before turning forward facing. It RF to 40 lbs, and even though it isn't rated for this height (only to 40 inches), my 39 lb, 42 inch almost-five-year old fit in it rear facing with his head just even with the top of the headrest. I was also surprised at how comfortable the carseat seemed...side impact head protection and EPS foam...Not hard as a brick like the Scenera. And lastly, they really are not lying when they say it is a compact carseat. Though my daughter had plenty of room in it, it looked tiny compared to our Evenflo Triumph. Sitting in one of the captains' chairs of our Grand Caravan minivan, i could put both arm rests down on either side without it touching them, and with the front seat in a normal position I could easily get between the back of her carseat and the front seat...they weren't even close to touching as with many other rear facing seats. The box shows pictures of these seats three-across in the back of a standard sized car, and I believe it.This carseat didn't take up much more room than our son's Evenflo Big Kid Sport High back booster. I am very impressed.
Recommends this product? Yes
+117points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Great value!

07/29/2014
By ,
az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We researched convertible car seats for months before deciding on this one. I didn't want to spend hundreds on one seat especially having multiple cars. I did order Diono strap covers for this seat and was very pleased! The seat is very soft, we went with it for the comfort, price and ease of use. I love the black and grey, gender neutral is great! She seems to enjoy her seat so far. Excited for the longevity of this seat being such a high rated rear facing car seat and having such a petite little. This seat really is the best for your buck!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Wonderful safe seat for the price

07/05/2014
By ,
Niagara Falls NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love how well made and simple this seat is to use. If you read the entire manual and use pool noodles for recline angle, it's a fantastic affordable seat for many children. I cannot give it 5 stars though; the starting harness slots are too high for an infant. Although it is crash tested to begin at 5 lbs, that does not mean a 5 lb newborn will have a high enough shoulder/torso height to fit the harness slots at or below for rear facing. My 2.5 year old is only on the second slot. The capacity to fit tall children is superb, but not infants.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
Question
Posted 07/17/2014
Are there protectors on the straps so they don't scratch the neck area?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Held up in horrible crash!

09/02/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just wanted to share our story. We were on a very tight budget when we purchased this seat for our daughter. Originally we had bought a cheaper-larger seat, but it wouldnt fit in our car. We were pleased to find this one as is was compact enough to fit in our small KIA. About a week ago we were T-boned dead on. My 8 month old daughter was behind the passenger seat. Not only did she survive the crash, but she didnt have a single scratch!!! This seat absolutely saved my daughters life. I was going to purchase it again, but decided to upgrade to the Safety 1st - Complete Air 65 Convertible Car Seat. If you are on a tight budget this is the seat to buy!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Purcell, OK
wow
Posted 01/20/2014
I am so happy that you and your child are safe! Thank you for recommendation on the car seat!
0points
Customer Avatar
Chicago, IL
<3
Posted 11/05/2013
Thank god you are all ok. Way to go mama for keeping your baby safe in her seat. Thanks for this review it helped me make my mind up.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Great Seat and Great price

05/23/2013
By ,
Citrus Heights, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After doing research and reasing lots of great reviews I decided to purchase this car seat for my 7 month old son. Although he had not yet outgrown his infant carrier (he's only 15 lbs), I had to purchase a new car seat due to a car accident and it didn't make sense to purchase another carrier if he would be outgrowing it soon. Installing this seat was a breeze. The seat is well padded and seems super comfy. The padded headrest can be adjusted to your child height. He loves it. The only complaint I have is loosening the harness is a little tough sometimes. The seat fits in a smaller car wonderfully and still leaves room for other passangers in the back seat. I love that I can use this seat rear facing to 40 lbs and forward facing to 65 lbs. Overall I and extremely satisfied with this car seat and would definitely reccommed it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Fantastic Car Seat!! Unbeatable price!

07/04/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I seriously evaluated a lot of convertible car seats, I read online reviews, and followed parent blogs. When it was time to buy a convertible car seat, I also went to the Consumer Reports site to check for safety ratings. I drive a Kia Sportage which is on the small side, and needed something that would easily fit in the back seat and still let the front passenger sit comfortably without being forced up against the dash. I am soooo happy with this seat. Even in the rear facing position, this seat is so comfortable for my 11 month old grandaughter and the sides still allow her to look out which is great. It's cushy, well made, highly safety rated by consumer reports, and compact enough to easily fit two in the back of my small car. In fact the company says 3 of these seats can easily fit in the rear seat of a car. And all this for far under $80!! My daughter is wishing she would have bought this seat instead of the $225 one she bought. One of the best buys ever. You will not regret getting this car seat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Great Car Seat!

05/14/2012
By ,
Bellingham, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this car seat! It's great for smaller cars or as a second seat for your 'other car' or grandma's car! It doesn't have some of the bells and whistles as some other expensive models, but who care's it's only $80. All car seats have to be crash tested the same way, it's just as safe as a $200 in my option. I was in search of a second car seat to fit my 19 month old son #34in & 28lbs# and was looking for something that would rear face up to 40lbs because I want to rear face him up until he's at least 2yr or 2.5yrs. # I should note I have another car seat that I bought a year ago that rear faces only to 35lbs and I paid $199.99 for it, so we'll switch him full time to this Safety 1st seat for rear facing until he's 40lbs.# He fits great in it! He's only on the the second shoulder harness slot, he has 3 more slots till he's grown out of it, so there is tons of room for growth! He seems to really like it and is comfortable, the fabric is soft and seem to be enough padding. And I love the added safety of the adjustable headrest. I highly reccomend this seat!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

great seat

10/09/2014
By ,
Minot ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This seat has good features at a reasonable price. Up to 40 lbs rear facing and 65 forward facing. It was super easy to install with the latch and is secure.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

I'm on the fence with this one!

06/17/2014
By ,
WV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the 3rd car seat that I've purchased. My first one was your typical infant car seat with a base (loved it). I also purchased a Graco convertible version (I think it is much better) and I purchased 2 of these for two vehicles that we don't use as much. I had a hard time getting this car seat in my car (and it wasn't the first one I've ever put in). The lines on the side to make it "level" are deceiving and there are so many reasons why or why you shouldn't have it at this level or that level, etc. When all is said and done...the seat still slides a bit. My husband even tried tightening it down (my other car seats don't budge at all!!). I even tried taking take the car seat protector out from under it thinking that that may be why it was sliding. Nope. Although this car seat's manual does not specify how much slack is acceptable...my Graco manual says that the car seat should not move more than 1 inch. I simply can't make this happen with this seat.
I do want to mention that the padding is much softer than any other car seat we've had and the price was right! It does feel cheap compared to the ones that I paid more for. I guess you get what you pay for. Not to mention that I'm constantly wondering if it's secure enough in my car.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Great carseat, would buy again

10/26/2012
By ,
Lake Butler, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this carseat is great! :) We bought it for the extended weight limit of up to 65lbs still being able to sit in a five point harness. It has replaced our Alpha Omega carseat that was in the main car we travel in with our son, and the Alpha was moved to our other vehicle. It's comfortable, gender neutral so when he outgrows it our baby girl can use it, and it fits perfectly in our Honda Accord EXL, as well as in our Nissan Frontier extended cab truck (I tried it out in there too just to see).
The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the cup holder it came with is kind of flimsy. My sons sippy cups often lean to the side causing his milk to drip out a bit. I took it off and ended up buying one of those seatbelt held in place seat organizers with two built in insulated cup holder pockets in the front (made by Eddie Bauer). It keeps his drink cold and he can easily reach it and put it back on his own from the seat.
I would definitely buy again and would definitely recommend to a friend :)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Pretty much what I expected

10/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Install was easy. Other reviews complained of excessive wobbling, but I used a rolled towel under the front of the car seat for the rear faced position and it did tighten down enough to where it didn't move more than an inch from side to side. Not a lot of leg room when rear facing, but does not take up a lot of space in the car. We have a larger safety first seat as our primary seat and this is our secondary one. It's a good buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Excellent Car Seat

10/18/2014
By ,
Pembroke Pines, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Small enough footprint to fit in a Kia Forte. I bought these 2 seats to put in the grandparents car and glad I did. Feels safe and has a detachable cup holder. The only thing I truly do not like is that whoever put the safety label on one of the head cushions wasn't thinking straight. Some pics show it other don't. I think the video does. Not sure if it will really bother the kids, but time will tell. Hopefully not. Overall, great for the price as well.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Works great for us!

10/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seems comfortable for my 7month old. My husband didn't complain about it being hard to install in my Kia Sorento :) so far I really like it, still have room for 2 more passengers but we did have to move the front passenger seat up a bit to recline at the correct angle
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

The seat is comfy

10/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 14 month old likes it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Great product

10/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves this car seat ! Very comfortable and very safe . ! I reccommend this car seat
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Great product

10/19/2014
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy and easy to install, for a reasonable price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Safe plus economical

06/04/2012
By ,
Union City, TN.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for my 6 mo. old son who had outgrown his infant seat. I was looking for a seat that would not take up a great deal of space in the back seat but without compromising on safety. This is a perfect seat. I am continuing to use it as a rear facing seat and it takes no more space than his infant seat. I have a Honda Accord with this seat in the rear middle, I am still able to accommodate two basic travel booster seats when my niece and nephew are running about with me.
I had intended to purchase a comparable seat in the Eddie Bauer line; however, this seat is primarily identical to it. The only exception is a small pad in the other brand. The price on this one however is substantially less so I could not see paying a higher price for the same style seat.
Pros:
*The additional head support.
*Comfort- it is very well padded/cushioned under baby's bottom and back.
*Doesn't take up a lot of room...can still accommodate 2 passengers in the back seat with the seat
*Adjustable harness, buckle, and head support to grow with child
Cons:
*Some difficulty bracing the seat in the reclined position for babies under 20 lbs. (This could be unique to my make of car...the seat has to be in the middle due to side impact air bags).
The biggest plus is my son loves it!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Very pleased

10/05/2014
By ,
Madison, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these for my twins. The moment I placed each child into the seats they smiled. Easy set up & easy install for front facing. Rear facing requires tiny hands to get the belt thru, but a bent wire hanger did the trick to feed the seat belt thru. These seats also don't take up a lot of room for the backseat of my van. So glad I came across these seats.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Great Buy at Great Price

10/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this car seat specifically for traveling by airplane because of the size and price. The car seat looks good and is a good fit for my 34lb, 3 year old who is 38 inches tall. I took the car seat on a Delta flight and it fit perfectly on the airplane. I used it in a rental car and it installs relatively easy as long as you use a towel on the seat. It's a great spare car seat and very light weight.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Compact, comfortable and easy to use

10/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommend this.
Reasons:
- very compact
- comfortable padding
- easy to install and remove/wash seat cover
For the price, this is really value for money. It still feels like high end car seat with a simple and intuitive design, without paying hundreds of dollars.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 156 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next