Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cosco Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Broadway Dots

Cosco Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Broadway Dots

Average Customer Rating:
4.465 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(198 Reviews) 161
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
126
4 stars
53
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation93%183 out of 197reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 81 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
126
4 stars
53
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Broadway Dots

Affordable spare seat, but baby hates it

12/25/2012
By ,
MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this as a second seat to have on hand for our second car or when someone else is taking care of our baby. It functions and it's safe, and those are about all the positive comments I have for it.
Obviously, because of the price range it does not have any of the features that make car seats more convenient. It takes a lot more finagling to adjust the strap height. The pull to tighten the straps does not work easily. There is very little cushioning in the seat. You may need to mess with rolled towels or pool noodles to get the recline correct. The straps twist easily in the buckle pieces.
All of those are annoyances that I could put up when keeping in mind the price of the seat. But the real problem is that my 9 month baby just plain hates riding in it. Our baby fights being put into the seat and often complains or cries while riding in it. It's just plain not comfortable. The straps have a tendency to dig into the legs and the neck, even when being careful not to make them too snug. Also, there is so very little cushioning, I could imagine that it's not fun to spend much time in it.
Bottom line: it's inexpensive and functional, but I would not personally depend on it to be used more than very infrequently.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Broadway Dots

Good for the price

06/09/2013
By ,
Carrollton, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my car for my granddaughter to make transporting her easier. Looks just like the picture. I am disappointed that it doesn't have much padding for her little behind, but she only rides in it once every couple of weeks and not for long trips. I will probably look at putting some cushion under the liner where she sits. I do suggest becoming familiar with it before installing it in your car and get a seat protector to put underneath it if you have leather seats in your vehicle. I also suggest putting the child in the seat to adjust the restraints BEFORE you install it in your car as well. Once you get the hang of it, it is not that difficult to use. Installs front and rear facing so is a good bargain .someone on a budget and wants to make it last as long as possible. If you it rear facing, the seat MUST be in the "reclined" position. Another plus, you can machine wash and dry the seat cover!! Great deal for the cost. I would recommend this for a grandparents car anytime. I have this installed in my 2010 Toyota Camry. Would have given it 5 stars if it has more padding for the comfort of the baby.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chesapeake, VA
be careful!
Posted 01/21/2014
Just a note to be careful about "aftermarket" stuff! Anything you add to the car seat, like cushions or seat protectors, may effect the integrity of the seat. I would call Cosco to see what they recommend; you wouldn't want to put your granddaughter in harm's way!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Broadway Dots

Even Better In Person

02/25/2012
By ,
Vilonia, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am really amazed at how much I love this seat. I was saving to buy a $300 + Britax, and actually ordered this to work until we could afford one. I ordered it 3 days ago and got it this morning. Of course I tore right into it. I thought it would look and feel cheap unsafe but I couldn't have been more wrong. The fabric is nice and plush, and not cheap looking or feeling at all. I love the colors. It's way cuter in person. It feels very solid, and it took a couple tries for rear facing installing but only because I am new to the rear facing thing. It has a good tight install, I feel like my child is extremely safe here.
We installed it as soon as we got it and spent all day running and my lil guy had no issues with this seat. I think he was happier in this than his Snugride. He seems very happy, and I feel very safe having him in this seat. We got some strap covers and a pillow for carseats. He seemed to do great running and getting in and out all day. He never got cranky, and a few minutes after getting in the seat, he was out like a light which has never been a common occurence in the car before.
I am so happy and in love with this seat I have changed my mind about the Britax and I just ordered 2 more of these.....granny and daddy :).
My only complaint is there is no epp foam. In this day and age, and as much as Cosco profits, I strongly believe it is more than in their budget and is more than possible in a $39 seat. Example, the Evenflo Tribute for $39 at Walmart also.
If it had the epp foam I would give 5 stars all the way. I love this seat either way, and I will recommend to family and friends for sure.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Kiddopotamus - Elite DuoMat Premium 2-in-1 Car Seat Protector
4.8 out of 5(61)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NY
Aftermarket items are not safe
Posted 05/29/2013
Just a heads up, aftermarket stuff like strap covers and a pillow are very dangerous to use and are not crash tested. Also, seat protectors can cause the seat to move way too much in an accident. Not trying to be pushy, just want you to be aware!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Broadway Dots

GREAT deal!

06/02/2012
By ,
VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this car seat after reading other happy reviews on walmart.com ...pattern is perfect for boys and girls alike, seat installs easily, cup holder is removeable, and all belts/buckles are easy to adjust! Material isn't very plush, makes for easy cleaning. You won't find a better price ANYWHERE!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Broadway Dots
06/25/2012
By ,
GEORGIA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this car seat on a Thursday and it was delivered to my home by Saturday morning. I was definately impressed with not only the fast shipping, but the bright colors! It is very easy to assemble. My 11mth old little man is truly enjoying his new "Big Boy" car seat! :-)
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Broadway Dots

Absolutely thrilled!

07/12/2012
By ,
Denton, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so happy to see this back in stock I ordered right away. The positive reviews and customer photos had me. It took me 2 days to get and I received it today. All I did was open the box and slide it out. There was literally no assembling other than adjusting the straps for my 7 month old. It feels sturdy and easy to install. The material of the cover is very soft though the seat felt a little hard. My son seemed to no have a problem with it however. So I won't complain. Colours are gorgeous. Very bright but gender neutral. Which is a plus. Very happy with my purchase!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Broadway Dots

Great seat for air travel

05/24/2012
By ,
Chesapeake, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this seat because I was looking for a lightweight convertible car seat to take on the plane for my two year old. I went to the store first to check the seat out in a different pattern to check the weight and dimensions then ordered this print online. This seat was very easy to carry onto the plane and installs easily. Although it does not have much padding my two year didn't have any issues sitting in it on the plane or in the rental car. I bought this pattern because I thought it was cute and it's gender neutral for future use. FYI you have to put the recline stand down to fit through the airport scanner and this easily attaches to the GOGO Babyz Kidz travelmate (which I love #. My two year old has never been a lap child and this will be our travel car seat for as long as it's needed. It's so much lighter and easier to install than my Britax Roundabout and Evenflo Symphony 65 , fits down the airplane aisle without any problems #Southwest) and you can't beat the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
encinitas, ca
Car Seat for the plane
Posted 03/19/2013
Thank you this was the info I was looking for. I am traveling with my 2 year old and my reg. car seat is heavy and too wide. I just need something for the plane and rental car. This helped me pick the right one for my needs!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Broadway Dots

Good deal here!

04/08/2014
By ,
Syracuse, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this car seat for my 8 month old daughter. Like most car seats, it was a tad challenging getting it installed in my car (specifically this one isn't able to be installed in the middle seat of my RAV4 because of the way the seats fold). I installed it according to the directions, but because I was having trouble getting the fit just right I ended up going to one of those places that help with car seat installation (check out your local DMV if you need help with installing the car seat - it's free and worth the time).
Once the tech helped me with the installation, I realized that this is a very functional car seat. The straps that strap the baby in are interconnected which I find easier to adjust. The LATCH system works great in my car, but it's also easy to use the seatbelts if you don't have the anchors in your car. I also love the color that can be used for a boy or a girl. Overall, I'm really glad I chose this one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Broadway Dots

Great value - no reason not to get it

03/24/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've only had this for a few weeks, so I feel like I can't give this 5 stars yet, but there's no problems yet! It's clearly one of the best deals out there - which is pretty exceptional considering most baby items are so expensive! Some earlier reviews I read said that the only negatives were that it didn't have a lot of padding, it was complicated to install, and the straps keep getting twisted. I'll agree that it doesn't have as much padding as some, but so far our baby doesn't seem to mind that one bit. As far as installation goes, I think the instruction manual makes it seem like it's going to be more complicated than it is. But if you installed your first baby car seat, it's VERY similar (at least it is in our car). We did need to put a rolled up towel under the seat to keep it level for rear-facing, but it's definitely snug and tight now. And yes - the straps do get twisted, but I'm not sure if that's the fault of the car seat or of me and the baby. Regardless, those things are minimal compared to the value and the usability. And - it is SO lightweight. We bought it so we can also more easily take it with us on a plane or traveling. Now that we know how this works, we're ready to buy a second one for our other car.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Broadway Dots

bought for airplane use only

02/28/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We traveled to Disney with these. I wanted them for the plane. I have twins and thought these would be better than just the seatbelt. They are lightweight and easier to carry than other seats. The straps are a pain to adjust and there are few height options. The whole thing is plastic and the black part of the material picks up all kinds of lint. Installing them in my mini van was a nightmare. So dificult to install a good tight fit. We will never be using these in a car other than to/from the airport. They are good for the plane though.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Broadway Dots

Awesome

07/02/2012
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a 250$ carseat a couple months ago.. It had all the padding.. Even side padding.. I thought.. This will definately keep him safe.. Well he hated it.. The side padding kept him from seeing out the window.. It was too hot.. The material it came in just absorbed heat.. And it was just huge in my backseat! I found this one online while looking for one for my husbands car and wound up buying 4.. One for me and my husband and our 2 sitters! I love this because it allows my son to see his surroundings.. Also the material is awesome.. Keeps him cool and wipes clean with a cloth.. Ya some people will claim there's not much padding in it so they think it wont be comfy for their baby.. I completely disagree.. My son literally preferred this less padded seat over the other one.. I love the design on this one too.. My son turns his face to try to grab the circles on it.. Soo cute! For 40$ you can't go wrong.. Every carseat is safe.. They have to pass a certain code.. This one is just as safe as a 300$ carseat.. Don't feel like you have to spend the crazy $$ to get safety.. They wouldn't sell this if it wasn't safe! Btw.. I love that it's LATCH capable.. Alot of cheaper carseats aren't LATCH ready.. It's nice to have that extra safety measure :)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Broadway Dots

We love it!!

02/23/2014
By ,
Woodland ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We needed a second car seat for my moms car and we ended up keeping this one and gave my mom ours. It's sturdy and stable. Our sons safety is the most important. Plus it has a cup holder and we love the colors. Our son seems to like the feel of it too! So far so good and very cheap!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Broadway Dots

Car seat for my granddaughter

03/31/2014
By ,
Caddo Mills, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased a this car seat for my 13 month old granddaughter. When I get to keep her, I wanted to have a car seat and not exchange seats in and out of her parents vehicle. This seat works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Broadway Dots

Affordable, safe and such a good deal!

05/30/2012
By ,
Lubbock TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter loves her new car seat and so do I! It was affordable and is comfortable as well. We ordered it online and it came within a week. One note of caution: it's a little large to fit in the back of a 2 door chevy cavalier (but doable...just tight!) so if you're thinking of purchasing this - make sure you have enough room in the back seat before buying!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Broadway Dots

Love it!

03/31/2014
By ,
Columbus,oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter sinks into a deep sleep in this car seat. She is comfortable and falls asleep quick when we're out. I like that it has a cup holder and the color is fun poka dots.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Broadway Dots

Just as pictured

03/31/2014
By ,
Hendersonville TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for ex to carry our granddaughter around. She and her sister love that I bought two different kinds that match.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Broadway Dots
09/22/2012
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this carseat for my 10 month old. I have had alot of experience with lots of carseats with 8 children. Adjusting the straps are very easy. My daughter rides comfortably in it rear facing. I really like the easy installation. It has the LOCK system on it, so i just hooked them on to the seat and adjusted the strap. Even though it is for infants through toddlers, i reccommend that you begin using it after your infant has outgrown the infant carseat. I am not sure I would use it for a newborn baby because it does not recline enough for the newborn. It works great for the infant who is to long for the infant carseat and needs a bigger carseat and still needs to be rearfacing.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Broadway Dots

Dotted Car Seat

03/24/2014
By ,
Green Mountain State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandson loves his new car seat. It was one of his birthday presents when he turned one and graduated from his rear-facing seat. He loves facing forward and seeing where he is going.
It was very easy to install and I am so thankful that I no longer have to carry that clunky infant seat in and out of the car. Now I just put Jeffy into his seat, buckle him in and away we go.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Broadway Dots

Love it!

05/25/2012
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this car seat. Ended up buying a second one for my husband's car. Super cute, very sturdy, great price. Meets or exceeds all safety standards, why pay more?
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cosco - Scenera Convertible Car Seat, Broadway Dots

Good seat, GREAT value!

03/17/2014
By ,
Hospers, Ia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a child care provider and recently decided to invest in new car seats. I needed to purchase 6 convertible seats and 2 booster seats. After looking online at many stores' websites and comparing prices, Wal-Mart had the best prices. What a relief to find such great prices when I needed to make a large purchase! Another bonus? I placed my order on a Monday and by Wednesday the seats were delivered!! I didn't even request speedy delivery!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 162 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next