Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Munchkin Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System

Munchkin Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System

The Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System helps soothe your baby to sleep. Featuring a voice-activation mechanism, this Munchkin Projector comes with three images that can be projected on the wall or ceiling to provide a soothing sleep environment. The night light on this Munchkin Sound System provides enough light for nighttime check-ins, feedings and changings. This Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System has heartbeat, ocean, white noise and rain sounds as well as three lullabies: Rock-a-Bye, Hush Little Baby and Brahm's Lullaby. These soft noises and lullabies combine with images of a soothing sea, calming rainforest and a sleepy sky to greatly enhance the sleeping environment for babies. There are also three sleep-timer settings for power saving after the baby goes to sleep.
Average Customer Rating:
3.573 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(234 Reviews) 227
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
102
4 stars
31
3 stars
34
2 stars
33
1 star
34
Customer Recommendation71%156 out of 221reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 66 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
102
4 stars
31
3 stars
34
2 stars
33
1 star
34
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System

Love this. Although it broke company is replacing

08/14/2013
By ,
Muskegon, Mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I absolutely love this sounds machine. It has so many great features, especially the projector which was my daughters favorite. Unfortunately after only 2 months of use the projector would no longer spin around leaving it only on one animal rather than rotating through the scenery of each different disc. I was extremely disappointed so i contacted Munchkin via email and they responded within 2 days. I had to provide the receipt (which luckily I had ordered online so it was still in my order history), a photo on the machine, and a number on bottom of machine and now the new one is on its way in the mail. I still gave it 4 stars although it broke because even though it broke I still would recommend to a friend and suggest they hold on to receipt incase it happened to them they can have it replaced for free! Hopefully the new one will hold up, i will update. Great product and pleasant to deal with company
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System

Good projector with a couple complaints

12/10/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Projector has a night light (not too bright- it will allow you to see what you're doing near it but not really in the room), sounds (several different-A+), and 3 different "scenes" that project onto the ceiling. The scenes project into a perfect circle on the ceiling and scrolls through different animals/scenes. The scrolling is kinda fast and would be better if it went a bit slower, especially if you're using this for night night time. It's also a little noisy, but that can be drowned out with the sounds. Also, the scenes are cartoonish, which could be good or bad. We have a star and moon projector tap light we got off of another site that both our kiddos like more than this one. The tap light spreads the stars and moon across the ceiling as opposed to a small circle. It also doesn't scroll or move and is just white light as opposed to the colored animals, stars, flowers of the Munchkin projector. So we combine the sounds from this projector and the sites of the tap light for night night time.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System

Best in its class!

03/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had this projector for 18 months now and we use it EVERY night plus naptimes during the day.
Unlike other brands, the white noise/lullaby feature can be left on all night without shutting off or burning out. I LOVE that the white noise stays on all night because it filters out the noise of traffic outside. The one time it shut off, during a blackout of the whole neighborhood, the silence woke the baby up, so I have no desire to use any timers.
We also love the projector. My son loves the jungle animals best, and it's great light to have on for a few minutes before sleep at bedtime to help him wind down. The projector works well on all three discs and has never stopped working.
We even travel with it! The small size makes it super easy to take with us anytime we're away from home so baby can nap peacefully in a hotel or guestroom.
We love it so much I'm buying a second one for MY room to use as a white noise machine. It's fantastic deal!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System

cute little gadget

05/10/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought this after looking at a few others. it's a nice, small little unit and doesn't take up much space. at first i didn't realize the projection rotates (should have read the directions!) you have to lock the little cartridge in place in order for it to work. the pictures that come with it are very cute and i like the fact that you can move it to project in different places (it does make a little sound when the projector is on) the night light isn't very bright; depending on how you look at it, this could be a good or bad thing (good so you don't trip over anything if you have to get out of bed for a potty run or something, bad if you have to see to change a baby) love the timer feature and the sounds are nice too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System

Projector stops working after a few months.

04/06/2013
By ,
Philadephia, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this because of the great reviews and liked it in the beginning. I've had it for almost 3 months and now the projector has just stopped spinning. I changed the cartridges and nothing. Also the projector was quite noisy when running. I am glad I kept the box I will be returning tomorrow. I'm just glad it stopped working before the 90 return policy ended.
The nightlight on the bottom isn't very much of a night light its a very dim glow. And the sound is ok but not the best I've heard. The projector was the best part until it started being loud and all around stopped working.
I would only get this if you interested in something short term.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System

Great Little Buy

08/28/2012
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really do like this sound machine. I looked into buying a small cd player and a vacuum sound cd, but this is much more convienient. It is much smaller than the picture makes it look, but that is not a bad thing, it takes up less space which is good. I like the the three diffrent scences it will project onto the walls or ceiling. And the other sounds included are nice as well. The projecor also makes a nice night light for nighttime feedings and checks as well. Sound level is very good, it can be almost as loud as a blow dryer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System

so glad i bought this!

05/17/2012
By ,
kutztown, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect! This has everything you need. Nightlight, which is optional, white noise with or without timer option ( i leave mine on all night) and the projector is adorable...baby can lay there and watch it on the ceiling...so cute and keeps them entertained while falling asleep. The noise has volume that can be turned up pretty loud. Buy this one! Great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System

Projector does not last

10/07/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The music still works great, even with a young toddler who has discovered how to turn it off and on again (and off, and on, and off, and on...!), but the projector on this stopped functioning after only 3 or so months. I registered for this because of the projector and it stopped functioning before my girls were even old enough to really appreciate it (maybe I should be thankful for that since they weren't old enough to have a tantrum over it?#. Without the projector, it's no different than a simple #read:cheaper!) white noise machine, or even an app on your phone or iPod device. I have read other reviews on other sites indicating I am not the first person to have this issue.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System

Great sound machine for little ones

12/13/2013
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this sound machine for my baby. There are so many wonderful features! The volume is controlled by a dial, which I like because if I have forgotten to turn it on before I put him down, I can turn the volume down before turning it on and then turn it up slowly as not to startle him awake. He does really well with the white noise sound, but also likes the melodies. I love that there are two options for the projector, which works really well and I like to use it as an ambient light, so I leave it on for the entire night. This machine also has a timer as well as a voice on/off so that it will cut back on if the baby wakes up crying. Super great feature. There is also a built in night light that is blue, which I find to be so much nicer than orange or yellow. I really can't say enough good things about this sound machine. The only thing I will say slightly negative about it, which really isn't, is that I don't particularly care for the noise portion of it for myself....I am one of those types of people that can easily pick up on repetitive patterns, and this one has a relatively obvious and short pattern. That being said, I use it for the baby and not for myself, so this isn't an issue at all! If you have this same problem, and for that I'm sorry, Graco makes a sound machine that I haven't been able to detect any patterns on. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles of this one by any means. Truth be told, I have both ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System

Great for all ages

12/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my infant but my 3 year old loves it as well. The voice activation is very handy for my 3 month old who cries at night out of boredom. The minute the projector and music turns on she lays quietly and stares at it. The projector images are very clear even across the room and on the ceiling, bright enough to be a night light even without the nightlight function on. The only issues were with the rotating mechanism and the sound. The mechanism stopped working temporarily but has since begun to work again. At any rate, the projector still worked. The sound is very poor quality though and there is not a variety within each category (Mozart setting plays what sounds to be the same tune over and over) it's hard to tell what is playing since the speakers are crackling and garbled as if they were blown out. On a low volume it's not as noticeable and since the kids don't care either way, neither do I. Altogether a very good product for the price and a life saver for my girls who share a room. I would recommend this product to parents of infants as well as toddlers/young children.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System

This is my saving grace to crib training!!

04/07/2013
By ,
Fort Lewis, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical as to which mobile or noise machine to buy for my daughter. I researched it quite a bit before I made my ultimate purchase for the upcoming "crib training long nights." Turns out this is better than any mobile or regular noise machine! The first night I used this in conjunction with my baby monitors. I was afraid the sound system would be too loud for me to hear her when she woke up during the night. With the volume controls it turned out to be perfect! I have to say my favorite feature is the noise activator. Sometimes that's all it took just for her to see the slide show and hear the white noise. It comes with 3 projector slides, my daughter likes to watch the night time one with owls, sheep, and stars. I think its because its the brightest colored slide. She also seems to sleep better and longer when the white noise is on versus lullabies. Have to say this has made crib training a breeze and I would highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System

Works well...Sound quality may not be best

04/16/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works OK, but sound quality is good on the lullaby but not the others (ocean, rain). Project is super cool so considered keeping it for use when baby is older. very
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System

Broke after a few months, expensive to ship back

06/15/2013
By ,
ann arbor, mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was great for the few months that we were able to use it. Then all of a sudden the night light and projector just stopped working. I called Munchkin to see if maybe there was a bulb I could replace but they told me that it would need to be fixed by them under the warranty. But that I'd have to ship it back to them myself. I went to the post office and found out it was going to cost me over $10 to ship it back. So I didn't find it worth it as it was only $22 when I bought it. Companies like Fisher Price have given me return shipping labels or just sent me replacement items immediately for broken items under warranty. Munchkin could learn a lot from them.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System

Good buy

05/22/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did a lot of research on what sound machine would be best and came up with this model. Walmart had the best price so I snagged it online. When the package arrived I was horrified however! The box was almost completely smashed in. But, good news, the product box inside was unharmed. So far this machine does what it is intended to do. I don't know how it will be over the long run, thus the 4 stars, but so far so good!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System

Awesome!!!

10/26/2012
By ,
Glen Burnie, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this thing! The homemedics projector we had broke within 3 weeks of using it. I read the reviews for this one and decided to purchase it. So happy I did! We use it up to 3x a day, it keeps my daughter sleeping all night with the voice activation feature, and even though I have dropped it quite a few times now, it has never broken or stopped working. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System

Works Great So Far

05/25/2012
By ,
Kansas City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to replace a similar Homedics product that I loved, but I'd bought 3 in the last 1 - 1 1/2 years. This product is working great so far and has even better features than the one I replaced. I love the voice activation and the timer. I do wish it had more choices of songs, but other than that it's great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System

Wonderful all around item for little ones!

02/14/2014
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The projector comes with the cards that are so easy to switch that my 3 1/2 year old can do it and not break them. It comes with 4 different projector scenes to choose from, that move. You can adjust where the scenes are projected. My daughter likes to have it on the corner of her ceiling and wall (looks like it is raining down her wall). It comes with a nice variety of sounds and music. The quality of the sounds and music are pleasant with decent quality. The only semi-negative is the heartbeat sound. I am comparing to the sound machine my infant son has. His machine has a very clear and lifelike heartbeat sound. Otherwise, it is a wonderful machine and that comes with a timer. I am pleased with my purchase, especially for the price. I would definitely recommend for infants/young children!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System

Don't buy!

02/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the WORST item! If your thinking about buying it don't! I really wish I read the negative reviews before my purchase because they are all true. Loved this item at first. It worked for 4 months perfectly then the speaker blew up. I exchanged it for a new one and in two months the projector stopped working. If you even push the projector button is just turns itself off. Only the sound option works at this point. Too bad because my baby loved it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System

Cheap

03/11/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had this item for a few months for my daughter. She loves it and it helps her sleep but unfortenantly it stopped working after a few months.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Munchkin Nursery Projector and Sound System

Baby and Mommy love this

05/17/2012
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves to watch the ceiling....be it the fan, lights, or just shadows. With that in mind, I figured that he may like a projector that had moving images. I noticed with my LO's bassinet, he slept the best with rain sound, so after searching the various projectors and identifying the images and sounds offered, I choose this one based on having the rain and am so glad I did. Not only does he love the rain, but loves the ocean. I love to hear the sound come from his room to mine as well. We both get a nice sound to fall asleep to at night. The images are very cute too. His room is a jungle theme as is his mobile (which lights up and has a rainforest sound as well, just not as nice as the projector), so my husband loves to put the matching image in the projector and play the rainforest (which my LO falls asleep to also).
Only downside I have come across is that the voice activation is more of something that my LO has to actually let out a louder cry to set off. I've sat and talked with him at his changing table and it doesn't turn on, nor when he makes his fussy noises before starting to cry. BUT, my son isn't a loud baby, so maybe that's also a factor as well.
Other than that, I think this is a great purchase. It has really also helped in transitioning him from his bassinet by my bed to his crib in his room. If my LO grows out of it and doesn't want it in his room any longer, I may move to my room as I just love the rain and ocean sounds. LOL!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next