Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner

Brother Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner

The compact, easy to use Brother Printer /Copier /Scanner/ Fax Machine allows you to print, copy, scan and fax and is ideal for the small or home office. The stylish design of the Brother Multifunction Printer with patterned lid will complete your modern office. Share with multiple computers on a network using the wireless network connection. The Brother Printer MFC-j425w is compatible with Brother iPrint&Scan free app download that allows you to print images from and scan to your Apple Android or Windows Phone 7 mobile device. Only change the ink cartridge that needs replacing with the convenient 4-cartridge ink system.
Average Customer Rating:
4.43 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(156 Reviews) 144
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
102
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation90%140 out of 156reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 20 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
102
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner

Great Value

11/26/2012
By ,
Muncy, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner works great. The set-up was simple and the Wi-Fi is a great feature. Both the printer itself and the ink is reasonably priced. It is unlikely that there is a better printer out there for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner

good economy multifunction printer

01/23/2013
By ,
gaffney, sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set it up and got it going on linux mint. Took a good bit of time but following thru the procedures spelled out on brother website it did work. Imagine windows users would have it much easier. Android OS app is nice also.
Best part ever is no completely dumb expiring ink like with HP printers. Ink cartridges are simply a tank for the ink. No expiring, no reading whether its off brand ink, no printer saying its out of ink when it really isn't (that is just your printer guessing and screwing you, there is no way for it to know its really out)
Only cons I can find with the printer is Google cloud print doesn't seem to have all the issues worked out but I think thats more of a google problem than printer problem, and it doesn't actually have a wired network port, its wifi network access only.
Beware tho walmart does have the description wrong, this printer does NOT have media card slots of any kind. I already knew before I ordered because I researched it before I placed the order.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner
03/19/2012
By ,
columbus ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This printer works great with my apple. I had brother printers in the past and always liked
them. And you cant beat the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner

Great product.

05/29/2012
By ,
Cape Coral, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am pleased with Brother brand. I used to have an HP. I like the Brother better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner
08/25/2012
By ,
florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an excellent product, except the description is incorrect at this time. The item does not have the card reader that it states it has.This option gives you the opportunity to take your card out of your camera an print directly from the printer. That is one of the main reasons I purchased the item. Wal-mart is attempting to fix the description.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner

Easy setup

08/03/2012
By ,
Maryville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first all in one machine. I have had printers and decided this would be a better option, because many times I have had a need for both a scanner and fax.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner
05/18/2012
By ,
Parsonsburg,MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great printer. It is an excellent one that does it all. Love the design of it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner
01/01/2013
By ,
houston, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nothing more can be expected at this price, it meets all the requirements for home office use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner

Perfect for our home

09/21/2012
By ,
El Cajon Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was so easy to set up and has a fax and scanner. Great machine, glad we bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner
01/26/2013
By ,
Long Beach,Ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Had the same problems as my last 2-Brothers MFC-410W Placed the inks Cart/in the machine and it would not work?? Had to call Brothers to find out problems.Had to play with Inks cart/ removing them in and out before it worked Correctly? Per there Instructions it said not to do this? So this Brothers MFC-J425W is working ok now
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner

GREAT PRINTER - HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

04/18/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a previous Brother All-In-One (printer, scanner, fax, copier) machine 5 years ago, it was great, and I had no major issues, but it recently stopped working, so I called the Brother customer service line and I was told that the printer needed servicing, it was beyond the warranty and I would have to pay around $100 to fix the old printer. I figured it was more cost effective to purchase a new printer, plus it’s an opportunity to upgrade features which my previous 5 year old printer did not have (ie. wireless printing, printing from phone, etc.). So, I researched the printers at various retailers (Best Buy, Staples, Amazon, etc.) and I was in between the HP Officejet series and Cannon Pixma series (the sales associates promoted the HP printer). However, I reviewed the customer ratings for both printers on various websites and found a few issues with both printers, so I was not satisfied with either option. Then I remembered Walmart.com and I visited the website to check the pricing of both printers plus research any additional printer options.
I'm so glad that I checked Walmart.com because I found the Brother All-In-One MFC-J425W Multifunction printer which had everything that I was looking for:
- GREAT FEATURES: Printer, Copier, Fax, Scanner, Wireless Printing, Printing from phone, etc.
- AWSOME PRICE: The Brother printer cost 50% less than the HP Officejet and/or the Cannon Pixma printers.
- GREAT CUSTOMER REVIEWS: The Brother printer had higher customer satisfaction ratings than the competing products.
- GREAT BRAND: Brother is a good brand - my previous printer was a Brother printer and it worked very well for 5 years.
- NICE STYLE: I like the shape of the printer (it's smaller, neater, and more stylish than my previous printer). It fits perfectly into the workspace and leaves extra room for other things.
- QUALITY: The quality of the print is excellent.
- INK CARTRIDGES: The color ink cartridges were my only issue with my previous Brother printer (I mainly use black ink however each time that one color ink cartridge ran out in my previous printer I had to replace all four of the ink cartridges, which was costly). It seems that Brother fixed the cartridge issue because the description for the new printer says that ink cartridges work independently, so there is no need to replace all cartridges when one runs out of ink (and there were no customer complaints about the ink cartridge replacement issue under the Brother customer reviews – but I did notice ink cartridge complaints for the two competing products that I researched). Also, the ink cartridges for my new Brother printer seem less expensive than the cartridges for my old Brother printer.
- WIRELESS: I LOVE the wireless printing option (I previously had to lift my laptop into another room to connect wires every time that I wanted to print). With the new printer, customers have the option of printing wirelessly or with a cable (the minor downside to using the cable is that you have to lift open the top of the printer to stick in the cable versus sticking the cable into an exterior slot). Also the interior printer space is only designed to fit the exact size cable outlet plug – I had a cable with a small adapter on top which fits various shaped plugs and it fit perfectly into my previous printer but there is not enough space designated in the new printer for the adapter (only enough space for a basic cable plug).
- SHIPPING: The shipping was super fast (within a few days). The shipping was much quicker, smoother, and cheaper than the same purchase would have been from another online competitor.
Overall, I've had the printer for a few weeks and so far it's been GREAT!!! The product exceeded my expectations in every area and I am 100% sure that I made a good choice!!! I would HIGHLY recommend the printer to others. Just note that there is a minor learning curve when setting up the printer for the first time (ie. setting up wireless printing) but I was able to figure it out in a relatively short period of time (about 10 minutes) and without contacting customer service but the set-up is not intuitive and I did have to reference the guidebook once.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner

Stopped working after three months

08/20/2012
By ,
Charlotte, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This brother printer stopped working after three months. It will not print! The paper comes through the printer, but there is nothing on the printer. I bought new ink, but still no printing. Only white paper comes out. I will never buy another brother. My other brother printer stopped working after two years. This one only lsted three months. I only use about once a week, like 30 copies per week. I was loyal to Brother, but this is the end!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Review continued from above
Posted 08/22/2012
Well, that was my Brother printer that stopped working after three months. The black would not print. So, I then spent a good deal of time on the phone with Brother technical support, and they took me through some very technical functions that are not in the owner's manual. Eventually, at the end of the phone call, my new Brother printer was working again. There is a regular way to clean the printer buy pushing a button, and a different high tech cleaning which is what they walked me through. Now, it is working again. I just wonder if the one that I used for two years, and then stopped printing black had this same problem. I am so happy that this new one it is working again. If your Brother stops working, try calling Brother technical support. They are helpful at solving problems.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner

Great Printer at an even better price.

03/06/2013
By ,
WPB Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't be more pleased! This little printer does everything I need and then some, it was also a terrific price plus arrived sooner than I expected. This Brother MFC-J425W easy set-up guide 'was' easy and a breeze to get up and running. It took me about 20 minutes, following the guide, to have everything ready and sending my first fax. I love the fact the I can replace one ink cartrige at a time and the replacement cartriges don't break the bank! It runs quietly and efficiently and is nicely compact! I highly recommend this model to anyone who needs a little workhorse in their home office.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner

Exceptional wireless all in one printer/cost.

01/05/2013
By ,
Columbus, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tech support.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner

Best for the Money

02/15/2013
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent well built printer that does what you want when you want. I feel good about this printer lasting a long time and doing the work. I could not connect with WI-FI so I picked up a USB cable and it runs perfectly. A great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner

great printer for daily use.

03/05/2013
By ,
ks.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great printer for the money. shipping was fast. got a great deal because it is now 99.95 only paid 59.00. would recommend.thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner
08/20/2012
By ,
Oakland Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this printer to replace my HP, at first I wondered if I did the right thing, but after having the printer for a few days, and getting it all set up for WiFi. I like it very much it has more features then I had realized... Thank's Brother for making such a great printer for the low price that I paid..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner

Great machine

03/12/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My other Brother Machine, after many, many years of loyal service, quit on me. I was looking at other brands to purchase but decided, the Brother brand had done so well, I would stick with it. This machine was very easy to set up & produces quality printing, etc. I needed a fax machine too & it's great. Highly recommend this product for small home business.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner
03/05/2013
By ,
Charleston, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product was easy to install and has great printing quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner

Excellent value for the money.

01/27/2013
By ,
Fort Worth TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inexpensive. Easy wireless setup. Had fo a month now with no problems.
Ink is inexpensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1 2 3 Next