Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Zebco Zebco Dock Demon Combo

Zebco Zebco Dock Demon Combo

The Zebco Dock Demon Combo is pre-spooled with 6-lb test line and matched with a 30-inch rod. Available in Spincast or Spinning
Average Customer Rating:
4.354 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation85%41 out of 48reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 40 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Zebco Dock Demon Combo

Great Fun and LIVE Action!

07/12/2013
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this combo because I wanted a rod that I could take anywhere even on my bike (see pics). I was please to find that it works great. I have caught a lot of nice bass with this combo and the action on this ultra-lite is awesome. It may take a little getting used to such a small rod when casting but it was not to difficult.
The quality of the combo depends on how you treat it. The rod is pretty strong. The reel is mostly plastic and a few metal parts so don't thrash it around too much. I haven't restrung the reel and have only had minimal tangles.
Price and fun make this a great value.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Zebco Dock Demon Combo

A Blast To Catch Fish On - Especially Reds

04/29/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For $10, you can't beat this thing. I got it just to test it out since it was only $10. I took it with me the other day on my kayak, and caught a 22" redfish and an 18" trout on this little thing. It's one of my favorite rods now. You can't help smiling and laughing as you reel in a good sized fish on this thing.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Zebco Dock Demon Combo

This thing is a beast!

04/29/2012
By ,
Clarkesville, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For under $10.00 this cannot be beat. The rod is a solid piece of fiberglass, you can touch the tip to the handle. I took the reel that came on this, and tossed it on the shelf, replaced it with a Daiwa D-Turbo DT-B trigger spin reel. Caught 6 decent size trout on this setup this past weekend, was very responsive, had a great time fishing this rig.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Zebco Dock Demon Combo

The Handy Combo

04/07/2014
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this little combo thinking it would be great for fishing from A raft My fishing buddy thought it was nonstop funny that was in tell I was able to use the small size to cast into tight little coves and was catching endless good size crappie perch and bass. This is A great Combo for shoreline or boat fishing to get in the tight areas the fish like to hide in I bring it with me on every fishing trip do to it being so handy and never had any issues with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Zebco Dock Demon Combo

Perfect for back packing

04/12/2012
By ,
Mesa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I plan on using this when I go fishing with my 3 y/o daughter. It states that the rod is solid glass and it seems very durable. No hollow core here. I have the the spin cast model and look forward to using it on my up coming back packing trip. I plan on strapping it to my external frame pack, to protect the 3 eyelets I think I'll make a simple rod holder out of PVC or other cheap tubing.
The reel it self is partially made of translucent red plastic and states it has a 'bearing system' which gives it a smooth retrieval. It comes preloaded with 6lbs test line and I think I'll switch it to 4lbs Stran or Berkley. Zebco is known for their entry level rods, poles and combo packs but I have had nothing but fun with them. They're not going to last as long as the rods that are 10x their price but they will serve their purpose. At a little over $10 when the tax is figured out you can't go wrong with this rod and reel combo.
Perfect for kids, ice fishing, tight areas and just as a back up rod to have in your trunk. You never know when you need to catch a fish.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Zebco Dock Demon Combo

Great rod to begin with

12/16/2013
By ,
Curacao, Willemstad
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually said that the shakespear durango is my first fishing rod but I've got this 1 and the shakespear at the same time. This rod is a beast. You cannot beat the price and I've caught some really nice fish with it. I would definitively buy one more if this stays good and break or damage after a while. I would recommend for everyone especially for beginners.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Zebco Dock Demon Combo

reel

02/12/2014
By ,
alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best crappie jig reel. take off rod put on my own cant believe it will out cast a 100 dollar reel. try it only 8 dollars
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Zebco Dock Demon Combo

Perfect for Father Son/Daughter fishing trips.

04/17/2012
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little combo is a great piece of equipment for everyone. Young, old, advanced or novice. Durable and reliable as all Zebcos are.
I picked this up thinking it would be nice to keep in the trunk of the car with my son's Spiderman combo. I keep it rigged up with a Rooster Tail and when we go to the local park we both wet a line. It is super dependable.
Worth double what Wal-Mart is selling them for (Shhh....).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Zebco Dock Demon Combo
05/21/2012
By ,
buffalo,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
caught a 14inch 4 lb catfish with this, this morning. one of the best poles I have used. no kidding either. great portable great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Zebco Dock Demon Combo

Great Pole for my Toddlers

05/19/2013
By ,
warrensburg,mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great pole for toddlers learning how to fish. My 2 and 4 year olds love using this pole. My only issue was casting it out, I have long arms so the size made it hard to cast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Zebco Dock Demon Combo

Great pack along combo

08/04/2012
By ,
Knox county Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been looking for a good pack pole and this is the one and with a $10.00 price tag i couldn't go wrong. The pole is HIGHLY flexible and tough as nails with a nicely padded handle. The reel, mine is a spinner, casts and retrieves smoothly. It's a plastic reel and looks weak, it's anything but, the weekend i bought it i caught an 18 inch catfish and the whole combo preformed beautifully. I had it bent tip to tip and the little rod that could just kept asking for more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Zebco Dock Demon Combo

great first fishing pole for child

06/25/2013
By ,
crawfordsville, indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great starter pole and reel combination for dock or boat fishing. If used for casting with bobber pole is to short to set hook when fish bites. my grandson caught his first fish with it and seems to enjoy it. good bonding experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Zebco Dock Demon Combo

Great little Rod & Reel

12/10/2013
By ,
Ormond Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I go out to a Fish Camp nearly every weekend where I stay in my 5th Wheel. I'll spend several hours a day just sitting at the dock and fishing. I like to fish close to the pilings, and this fishing setup is perfect, or if I want to cast out several yards, no problem. Only had a minor problem with the reel when I first tried to use it. The line was stuck inside the reel case, so I had to unscrew the reel case and free the line. I've caught several good sized catfish and brim since buying this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Zebco Dock Demon Combo

Insane price for a great rod

07/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rod is amazing! It is small and flexible enough for me to fit into my backpack, making it an excellent traveling rod that requires no setup. I took it pan fishing and I've gotta say, it worked wonders. The spinning reel worked flawlessly and I was catching dozens of panfish. I quickly bought a second one for my sis and even though she was new to fishing, she picked up fishing using the rod fairly easily. My bro saw how successful I was with the rod and how cheap it was that he went and bought himself one as well. Overall, an insane value for a quality rod. Its compact size, quality, durability, flexibility, and performance is more than worth the 10 bucks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Zebco Dock Demon Combo

Not for KIds (especially boys)

05/30/2012
By ,
NM
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The reel made of plastic, is not very durable. The rod is very very durable. With standing a 4 year old boy's curisoty and inventiveness. The Reel on the other hand, did not withstand the constant flipping of the wire spool winder. the wire's automatic flipping when the reel handle is turned was the first thing that broke after a week and a half. the plastic ridge that held the spring broke. I returned the Dock Demon and took the 4 yr old once again fishing. he caught two good size Catfish, before the reel's spool of line looked like it bunched up. I got my rod and reel out thinking I would untangle the mess later, because the fish were biting. the next day, i was unhappy to see the spool had broken
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Zebco Dock Demon Combo

Great combo for the price

02/15/2013
By ,
arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter had a Barbie pole -- the rod and reel are molded together, so we couldn't replace the reel. She spots the dock demon in normal adult colors at Walmart,and the reel can be replaced, restrung, etc.
She loves it! She's used it for dock and bank fishing, and she's pulled in a few nice sunfish and small bass by herself. Bonus - I don't get hit in the face because she's swinging a longer rod!
The price and size are perfect for fishing from docks, kids, backpacking, and I bet it would be great for fishing from a kayak.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Zebco Dock Demon Combo

DO NOT BUY!!

04/28/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't go fishing a lot, so I thought this would be fine for the few times I do go...wrong. I bought 3, one for me and one each for the kids, we went on a camping trip, took the poles so we could fish, and for me with the first cast, the line itself would not even reel back in. I finally got it back in and cast again, yet again, it didn't work, eventually it would not even cast at all. My son, who has done quite a bit of fishing, bass, trout, even fly fishing, cast, and with his first cast the pole itself broke in half...didn't come apart, broke!! The only one still working out of all 3 is my daughters, but it is very temperamental. Save yourself some money and buy something else. Zebco used to be a good name 20 years ago, but now it's just not.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Zebco Dock Demon Combo

a 3-year-old can cast, reel & catch!

09/02/2012
By ,
Rockville, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This $10 rod and reel is a dream for a youngster and sure to instill a lifelong love of fishing.
"It's just my size!" easy to cast and reel in for the youngest fisherman, this little baby is short enough to allow a good cast with a minimum of tangling. My little grandson could focus on the easy cast, the bobber and reeling in the fish without needing or asking for help from the adults. I bought 3 of these; one for each location he may be fishing in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Zebco Dock Demon Combo
04/10/2013
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought two of these to take hiking. They fit right down the sides of our backpacks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Zebco Dock Demon Combo

Bought it to play with the cats, but...

03/21/2013
By ,
Onalaska, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this inexpensive combo to mess with the cats by tying a catnip fish to the line. But, I discovered it is a nice little unit to keep in the Jeep or to take backpacking. It's only flaw in my opinion is the cheap mono line (good line cost as much as the whole combo). The line is stiff, filled with memory and easily causes birdsnests. I will be replacing the line with quality poly line and getting it wet soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1 2 3 Next