Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sangean AM/FM Digital Compact Portable Radio

Sangean AM/FM Digital Compact Portable Radio

Stay tuned with weather reports or listen to your favorite shows with this ultra-compact AM/FM portable radio. It is constructed of sturdy and durable materials and features an LCD display that lets you clearly see the frequency and time. This rechargeable portable radio has excellent sensitivity and selectivity, enabling you to listen to distant stations. It has five preset options on each band. Additionally, its auto-seek function automatically searches for active stations for added convenience. This portable alarm clock radio is equipped with a sleep timer that can be set to turn off by itself after 120, 90, 60, 45, 30 or 15 minutes, allowing you to drift off while listening to music, talk or news. Its alarm, with the Humane Wake-up system, will rouse you gently with music or a beeper. A snooze function allows you to continue napping or sleeping for extended periods of time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation89%25 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 31 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for AM/FM Digital Compact Portable Radio

"Not So Hot"

02/01/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I thought the display window's backlight could be left on indefinitely if so desired so the time, and other buttons, could be seen at night. My old clock did that (and also had an alarm) so I never had the need for an actual clock. As it is, if I wake at night, I have to hit one of the buttons to make the light go on. This can be a pain since I often wake up at night and want to check the time.
Also, my favorite station, all-news 780AM, has constant interference (a buzzing noise) no matter what room in which I place it in my (single-family) home - right in the City @ 800 North. Even though I use them much less, other AM stations are also similarly problematic.
The radio this replaced was 20 years old and had no such problems. I replaced it because it you always had to plug it into an outlet. This limited portability but it worked fine.
I'm seriously thinking of returning it.
J. H. NOONAN
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for AM/FM Digital Compact Portable Radio
11/04/2012
By ,
montreal quebec
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great buy. very surprise of the sound quality. easy to use. very please with the built in recharger
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for AM/FM Digital Compact Portable Radio

Wonderful Present!

12/20/2012
By ,
Paducah, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little radio exceeded expectations. Light, sturdy, small, easy to pick up and carry to wherever you want to use it. Digital tuning is so much better than analog! Rechargeble is a plus! Bought Lithium Ion batteries so we wouldn't have to frequently swap batteries. So easy to use; go for it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for AM/FM Digital Compact Portable Radio

Radio Sensitivity

04/11/2013
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
From the product description I read, I thought this radio would be great at bringing in distant stations. The bottom line is that it is better than average but not great. I kept it because I could not find any other radio that was better at bringing in distant stations.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for AM/FM Digital Compact Portable Radio

Really nice box

11/10/2013
By ,
Bellville, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was tired of juggling boomboxes. This radio is handy, has very good reception and very good sound. Plug it in or run it on batteries, it is ready for wherever I am.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for AM/FM Digital Compact Portable Radio

Great radio

02/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great radio, excellent sound & reception. I can even get stations from Canada and NYC inside a metal building without an exterior antenna.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for AM/FM Digital Compact Portable Radio

A very good radio

01/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I order this radio with another Sangean radio, the Sangean AM/FM Analog Table Top Hi-Fi Radio and that is a extraordinary radio. If I order this by itself or before I received the other radio then this radio might have receive an evening higher rating, for this is a very good radio with excellent sound due to the better than average amp with a nice power output for a radio of this size and low distortion. The tuner has high sensitivity, which means it pull in the radio stations for a very good sounding radio and their is a useful alarm clock & this radio runs on batteries [including rechargeable batteries] for portability. One more thing this radio also recharges the rechargeable batteries in 5 to 7.5 hours.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for AM/FM Digital Compact Portable Radio

Good quality

04/13/2014
By ,
Madera, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It seems like a quality product with excellent sound quality especially for a radio it's size. The controls are very well thought out. The only shortcoming is that it does not have a carrying handle.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for AM/FM Digital Compact Portable Radio

Great old styoe radio

02/07/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Radio has good sound for AM & FM bands, quick select of 5 stations; set time easly & probably alarm OK, but I haven't tried that yet. Perhaps a bit pricy for portable radio, but worth it for good battery life, alkaline or rechargeable (pricy also).
Only bad thing is it is slick, smooth plastic & hard to hold; should have a rougher surface. It would be a shame to put duck tape on it, but might prevent dropping it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for AM/FM Digital Compact Portable Radio
12/18/2012
By ,
SWAMPSCOTT MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT SOUND AND CLARITY
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for AM/FM Digital Compact Portable Radio

Quality Product

06/29/2014
By ,
midwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for football season. I needed a radio when I camp but I also want to listen to College and NFL football. The digital sound is excellent for sports radio. If you are looking for a quality music radio I would consider this average. It seems to be very well made with a built in battery charger for rechargeable battery's. It is a little bit on the heavy side, but that is probably due to the good quality. If you are using this for sports or talk radio I highly recommend the Sangean.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for AM/FM Digital Compact Portable Radio

Nice digital tuning

03/29/2013
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its better than other portable radios but not as strong as a car radio.
Real nice lighted digital tuning, Nice auto scan feature just like a car radio.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for AM/FM Digital Compact Portable Radio

Better than expected

02/09/2014
By ,
Huntsville, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to use in my home gym and did not expect a great sound but this little radio puts out clear news and very pleasant music. I am more than pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for AM/FM Digital Compact Portable Radio

no title

01/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good. Good sound. Station selector works great. All features as advertized.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for AM/FM Digital Compact Portable Radio

Happy days when the lights go out

01/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice radio needed for when the power goes off
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for AM/FM Digital Compact Portable Radio

Just the right size

12/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This radio fits perfectly in my work truck. Sound quality is good. Button tink g is a plus.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for AM/FM Digital Compact Portable Radio

Very satisfied

12/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Happy with my purchase. This radio packs a powerful clear sound. I used to own a $159 - CC Radio made by Sangean but the digital read out totally faded away. I had
no choice but to buy a new radio. This has many of the same features of the more
expensive model but for a lot less money.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for AM/FM Digital Compact Portable Radio

Excellent, small,portable radio.

10/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice sound and very easy to operate. Haven't tried the battery as yet. I like the size, very portable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for AM/FM Digital Compact Portable Radio

HIP LOOKING

11/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ATRACTIVE LOOK AND VERY GOOD RECEPTION AND SOUND
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for AM/FM Digital Compact Portable Radio

Love It

08/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted an AM/FM radio for my home office that would play in the background without a lot of wires or antenna attachments. Bought a couple, sent them back due to annoying hum on the AM band. The Sangean PR-D7 Portable Radio addresses my needs perfectly. Both AM and FM sound is adequate, takes only a small space, has antenna built in, and has a great added benefit, it uses rechargeable batteries which it continuously recharges while plugged into an AC outlet. For my kind of usage it serves my needs perfectly. I strongly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1 2 Next