Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Soleus Soleus 45-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier with Adjustable Humidistat DP2-45-03

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Soleus Soleus 45-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier with Adjustable Humidistat DP2-45-03

The Soleus 45 Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier features a two- or four-hour timer and is Energy Star compliant. Use this dehumidifier with adjustable humidistat to reduce moisture in critical areas of your home. Additional features of this white dehumidifier include auto restart/defrost, bucket full indicator and alarm and 115V 60Hz current, 580W and draws 5.4 amps. Your Soleus 45 Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier has an air flow of 190/170/150CFM, a noise level of 49/47/45dB(A) and an operating temperature of 41-95 degrees F. Keep your environment dry with this dehumidifier with adjustable humidistat.
Average Customer Rating:
3.737 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation79%15 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Soleus 45-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier with Adjustable Humidistat DP2-45-03

Great Price and features

06/27/2012
By ,
Cromwell, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After extensively researching various price points and options I decided on this Soleus 45 pint dehumidifier and have been using it for a few weeks. It is easy to set up; just cut the straps and lift up the box (no opening required) to reveal your dehumidifier. Lift it off the base, open the bucket to remove the casters and pop them into the holes on the bottom which is easy. Important Note: This units fan does cycle on and off which is not mentioned anywhere that I have seen. When the compressor stops the fan remains on for a few minutes and shuts off until compressor comes on again. Bucket is small, but once humidity level is reached you may have to empty it every other day or in a high humidity environment opt to use the hose and bypass the bucket. At first it says to run in continuous mode for 24 hrs, but some reviews that I read mentioned unit freezing up or going into defrost mode -- I recommend gradually reducing the setting 70%-65%-60% so the unit continues to cycle on and off. I find a 60% final setting comfortable for my basement use - otherwise the unit stays on too long and heats up the basement. This unit is much quieter than my Maytag model it is replacing and 3 fan speeds is a plus too. I also purchased the 3 years additional Walmart warranty since I read dehumidifiers don't tend to last that long these days.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 2 for Soleus 45-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier with Adjustable Humidistat DP2-45-03
06/25/2012
By ,
Milwaukee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The instructions should have explained humidity levels - after researching this on the internet and asking people, I set mine on 45. Also, a few tips could have been given regarding using a hose to drain the water instead of using the bucket. The unit needs to be on a level spot and may have to be moved around until one is found. The unit itself works great and was quite easy to set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 3 for Soleus 45-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier with Adjustable Humidistat DP2-45-03

Small and quiet dehumidifier

01/07/2013
By ,
Sunnyvale, CA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this dehumidifier for about 1 month and so far am satisfied with it. I originally purchased a Frigidaire model which was top rated by a consumer magazine. It was well made and worked well, but even thought it got 4 out of 5 for noise level, it was just to noisy for use to have in our living space. This Soleus unit was rated 5/5 for noise. Although it makes some noise it is much more tolerable. It is also much more compact that the 50 liter Frigidaire. It removes a significant amount of water from the air, I have to empty it every few days.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 4 for Soleus 45-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier with Adjustable Humidistat DP2-45-03

Good Product.....BUT

06/30/2012
By ,
Athens, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product performs very well, but has, from my point of view, a very irritating fault. The fault is the capacity of the condensate receptacle. This requires emptying 3 to 4 times a day. My feeling is that the capacity should equal at least one-half the capacity of the dehumidifier, thereby requiring to be emptied only twice a day. The controls are very adequate, and it appears to function at the rated capacity of 45 pints per day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 5 for Soleus 45-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier with Adjustable Humidistat DP2-45-03
07/04/2013
By ,
St. Louis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the unit about 10 days ago. It does an excellent job of pulling humidity from our finished basement rec room. I set the humidistat at 55% and it keeps the humidity at that level. We don't have a floor drain in the finished room; so I need to change the pan every two days. I think it is a good value and does the job. This is my 1st dehumidifier so I had a bit of a learning curve. First, this unit is reputed to be quieter than most. However it does have a very noticeable noise level. It doesn't seem to bother my wife or daughter; but we have it near a TV and I will shut the unit off when I have the TV on. Second, the compressor does throw off heat, so expect the area around the unit to be warmer. It is summer time and I don't really want or need more heat in the house. My comments about noise and heat is true of all dehumidifiers; this unit is probably quieter than most and the heat issue should be about the same as other units. I have had the unit for only a short time; so I can't comment how trouble free it will be over the long haul.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Soleus 45-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier with Adjustable Humidistat DP2-45-03

Great dehumidifier.

07/27/2012
By ,
Kensington, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordering, tracking, and pick-up at a local FedEx store was simple. I've wanted to have a dehumidifier in the basement for years and finally got around to ordering the Soleus unit DP2-45-03 through Walmart - because it was easy to do so. Been operating for about 1 month - the unit works like a champ, is quiet, and keeps the basement dry. Set-up takes about 5 minutes; the controls are easy to read and adjust. You don't have to read the instruction manual. I would order this product again.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 7 for Soleus 45-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier with Adjustable Humidistat DP2-45-03

This thing is working well so far

08/24/2012
By ,
Bradenton, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No complaints - it is working as expected. Easy to use. Don't know about the hose drain because I dont' have a drain available for that. We empty the bucket about twice a day, which is easy to do. This has helped remove the musty smell from our room. We've also been able to raise the AC one degree so hopefully will save on power bill. We live in South FL.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for Soleus 45-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier with Adjustable Humidistat DP2-45-03
05/12/2013
By ,
charlotte,nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned 4 dehumidifiers over the last 20 years. When compared to prior units this is a fine product based upon its out of box experience. This dehumifier will be running many hours a day and based upon my initial experience I expect it to be running for many years to come.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Soleus 45-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier with Adjustable Humidistat DP2-45-03
08/25/2012
By ,
Hilton Head
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well designed product is exactly what I need to deal with a bad humidity problem in my home
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for Soleus 45-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier with Adjustable Humidistat DP2-45-03

Sucks water well

08/15/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
not much noise
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Soleus 45-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier with Adjustable Humidistat DP2-45-03
05/08/2013
By ,
Marietta, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Just only one week experience. Overall this unit works OK.
Fan is constantly ON even the humidity is reached. Then the unit starts to blow warm air --maybe it switches to defrost mode!? Only good to keep it in a basement unless you can withstand a fan sound at night.
Requires 2 O-rings for a garden hose connection; otherwise, a condensed water leaks and fills up the bucket within a day.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jackson MS
correct operation
Posted 06/08/2013
your dehumidifier is doing what it is supposed to.
It blows out warm air when it is dehumidifying the area.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Soleus 45-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier with Adjustable Humidistat DP2-45-03

What a piece of junk

06/11/2013
By ,
West Grove, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased in Dec 2011. Only used it in warm months, probably 9 months total use. Compressor burnt out and company will not cover it. Only a one year warranty on everything. A lot of other companies warrant compressors for 5 yrs. Buy at your own risk, I'll never buy another one of their products.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 13 for Soleus 45-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier with Adjustable Humidistat DP2-45-03

Easy operation and efficient

01/05/2013
By ,
Southern Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being used in a one bedroom apartment and works like a champ! Reduces hunidity so that both heat and airconditioning appliances are operating efficiently. Drain line is perfect and in use to reduce the work load of servicing the water collection bucket daily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Soleus 45-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier with Adjustable Humidistat DP2-45-03

I couldn't believe it!

07/18/2013
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got it out of the box and plugged in by 6 pm it was coming up with 85% humidity in my very moist and musty basement. So I set it for 50% and at 10 pm went to check on it and it was full already! I then got a hose and hooked it up because who has time to check a bucket every 4 hrs?!? By the next morning it was down to 70% and within 48hrs of plugging it in was at 60%. My basement is no longer moist and the musty smell is almost gone...worth every penny!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Soleus 45-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier with Adjustable Humidistat DP2-45-03

Best thing since sliced bread

07/18/2013
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hubby is a carpenter...long story short, we have one of the yucky basements with the stone walls and we are on a bottom...(creek in the back yard) after 23 years i talked him into getting this. best money spend. basement is now dry ♥♥♥ got 2 sump pumps down there too but they don't actually dry everything... YES, I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Soleus 45-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier with Adjustable Humidistat DP2-45-03

The unit failed to meet our expectations,

08/28/2012
By ,
Jeannette, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The unit's water reservoir is too small for it's dehumidifying capacity and requires constant
attention to meet even a modest fill cycle. Further, when the humidity level is reached, the
unit doesn't shut off (on Constant) and then acts as a small furnace, heating the room to
very uncomfortable levels.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 17 for Soleus 45-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier with Adjustable Humidistat DP2-45-03

Did Not Work

07/22/2013
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The dehumidifier would not work. The "Bucket Full" light stayed on and would not allow the unit to work at all. I never got it to work no matter what I did to the bucket. Returned it immediately.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Soleus 45-Pint Energy Star Dehumidifier with Adjustable Humidistat DP2-45-03
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5