Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright, UH71003

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Hoover Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright, UH71003

The Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright is perfect for pet lovers everywhere. Featuring hair-grabbing rubberized pet tools, the Elite Rewind Pet delivers exceptional pet hair cleaning power at a practical price. Multi-Stage Cyclonic technology captures dirt and dust before reaching the filter made with odor-controlling activated carbon HEPA media, with no loss of suction. The Performance Check Indicator lets you know when to clean the filters so you always clean at optimal performance. A rinsable filter means there's no need to purchase a replacement filter and the 10 foot stretch hose makes hard-to-reach cleaning a snap. With a bottom release dirt cup, dirt disposal at the end of cleaning is easy, and the cord rewind lets you store the cord neatly inside with a simple tap of your foot, for convenient cleaning from start to finish.
Average Customer Rating:
2.556 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(90 Reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
17
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 star
37
Customer Recommendation38%32 out of 84reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
17
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 star
37
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright, UH71003

Wow....Amazing power for compact vacuum!

04/21/2012
By ,
Rochester, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This, so far, is the best vacuum I have ever owned. Amazing power and suction. I have two cats and one dog, and it picks up pet hair that I didn't even know existed. Easy to assemble and attachments are easy to use. I am hoping this vacuum stands up to the test of time, which seems to be a difficult thing for most vacuums. It seems fairly well built, though.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 2 for Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright, UH71003

Fabulous!!

06/02/2012
By ,
Plaistow, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been avoiding vacuuming my carpets for weeks because it took an hour to get through two bedrooms with my old vacuum. Horrible, I know. I've owned this machine all of two hours, just finished vacuuming my two bedrooms in about ten minutes! Awesome!
Here's the deal. We have 2cats and 2 dogs so there is a ton of fur. Everywhere. This machine had incredible suction and never lost an ounce of it even when the canister was full to the brim with dirt and fur. My carpets haven't looked this clean since we moved in! Even used the attachment to reach behind a kennel and the suction did not lower. In fact it sucked itself to the wall, a drawer and my pants on the way out from behind the kennel.
The retractable cord was a little awkward to get used to but if you pull out a good length of it it's no different than the non-retractable kind. And I like just stepping on a pedal and the cord puts itself away!
I realize the whole thing could fall apart tomorrow but right now I love this thing! Super happy I bought it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+22points
Review 3 for Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright, UH71003

Good for carpet.

04/20/2012
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The height adjustment may not be high enough for twist carpet. The low setting would work better for tile, pergo etc if the brush could be deactivated. The handle is ackward for stairs. The retractable cord is ok but you have to attach the cord to the handle to keep cord out of the way. The simple design is why I purchased I believe it will be reliable despite the other short comings. It is quieter than most other brands. The hand attachment is clever but doesn't really have enough power to keep rotating, but the most attachments don't rotate anyway. The design would be better with a traditional cord that you have to wind up and if they had a handle closer to the base for using on stairs. If you use the hose it does have a impressive reach but the vacuum doesn't weigh enough so at far reaches it will pull the vacuum. This would be a problem on stairs.
Overall it is oustanding for picking up dirt and pet hair!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Review 4 for Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright, UH71003

Light weight

08/28/2012
By ,
Loveland, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this vaccum because we have pets who shed and I wanted a light weight vaccum. So many of the uprights these days have so much weight in the handle. I don't know what the vaccum designers are thinking. This one is one of the lightest and the retractable cord is nice too. Very happy so far with this vaccum.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 5 for Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright, UH71003

don't waste your money!

11/13/2012
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This vacuum was a replacement for our hoover pet rewind, which we LOVED, but has turned out to be the worst vacuum ever. The belt constantly falls off, I can't vacuum for 5 minutes without the belt coming off, you put it back on and bump the couch and there it goes again. Worst design flaw ever! The only good thing about this vacuum is the attachments, i like how they click and lock in place. I will be replacing this vacuum, and it won't be with another hoover. Just save yourself the hassle, and look at something else!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gas City, IN
Hoover has a fix for this problem with the belt
Posted 09/24/2013
All you have to do is email them and they will send you the details.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright, UH71003

Give it a chance

10/26/2012
By ,
Raleigh, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great vacuum, but it took a little time to get there. We also had the problem of the belt slipping off. I called Hoover, and they said that the belt installed at the factory was too loose. They sent me a free replacement and it has been fine ever since. Does a great job of picking up pet hair. I have a dog and two cats, so it is a constant battle in our house. Love the cord rewind but wish that the cord was a little longer. Otherwise it is a great vacuum for the money!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 7 for Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright, UH71003

Sucks up way more then my old vacuum!

03/03/2013
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just purchased this yesterday and used it right away when I got home. You could hear it picking up everything! My old vacuum barely picked up anything, even after we took it completely apart, cleaned it and put it back together. The Hoover Elite Rewind picked up so much in less then 5 minutes, I was amazed! It just zips right along too! It was not tough to push and it maneuvers very easily. It can even vacuum under tables, without moving them! You can move the handle down very low to the floor with out the base even lifting up. I always read the reviews on everything I buy. Except I did not read these until after buying it, and I am very glad I purchased it anyway. I read other bad reviews on here about the belt falling off and I have not had that problem at all, even after vacuuming the living room, the hallway, and two bedrooms. I love it :D
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 8 for Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright, UH71003

belt

10/20/2012
By ,
Lewisville, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First time we used the machine the belt came off, put it back on and it came off, did this several times. Went to the Hoover web site and asked about it they said put a new belt on my new machine (do they send it out with old belts?) and check carpet level settings. wow would have never thought of that. Walmart does not even carry the belts for this machine, thank you.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 9 for Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright, UH71003

Great job

01/15/2014
By ,
florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in Florida with a dog and cat, plus the sand; this vacuum sucks up each easily. Each time I used this vacuum I had to empty because of the sand.
Love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright, UH71003

Belt Keeps Falling Off!

01/03/2013
By ,
Killeen, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this vacuum for 2 weeks and used it only 3 times. The first time, it worked great and I was impressed at how well it worked. Especially having 3 dogs (one being a puppy), it picked up quite a lot of dirt and animal hair. The last two times.. not so much. The belt fell off after the 2nd use, which was then tightened and worked as normal. The third time, the belt fell off 5 times in a row after it was tightened each time. Immediately took it back to Walmart. I actually liked this vacuum, but it was not worth the headache and money due to the belt. Looking at all the other poor reviews, it may be a design flaw since I'm not the only one with this problem. I usually own Hoover products, but I exchanged it for a Eureka. Crossing my fingers that it's a keeper...
PROS: Excellent suction, extremely long hose, power cord rewind, easy to maneuver
CONS: That dang belt... GRR!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright, UH71003

Belts slips off!

01/07/2013
By ,
Akron, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first time I used it the belt slipped off within minutes! Tried many times with the same result. Called Hoover and they said they have been having this issue with this vacuum and the whole Elite line, but there is no recall YET on this product! DO NOT BUY!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 12 for Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright, UH71003
01/08/2013
By ,
framingham, ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the vacuum cleaner worked great, but unfortunately, the belt came off after 2 minutes of using the vacuum EVERY time.. I have since returned it for a different model, and hopefully this one will work much better.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 13 for Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright, UH71003

Belt comes off over and over

11/13/2012
By ,
NW Ark
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Can not keep the belt on, so very little use so far.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright, UH71003

Amazing!!!

02/11/2013
By ,
San Francisco, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two chihuahuas that shed like crazy. It is great to have a product with great attachments to help with every need -- I am in love with the tool with the rubber wipers. They work wonders with my couch. We recently had some gunk in our back sliding door as well in the cracks which kept us from sliding the door easily. The extension sucked that gunk right out!
I know this item had to be returned due to its deffective belt -- however, the belting issue has been fixed and this item is an amazing household essential.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 15 for Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright, UH71003

Disappointed

10/30/2013
By ,
NE OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm disappointed in this product. While it does a good job at picking up dirt and cat hair, it does not pick up anything larger. Small leaves, grass, cat litter, all have to be picked up before using the vacuum. Not what I expect from a Hoover! And the base is so cheaply made, that it's too light to stand up when using the hose. I've been buying Hoovers for over 25 years, but seriously considering trying a different brand.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright, UH71003
09/29/2012
By ,
VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
got this vac b/c we have 2 dogs. love the attachments & the way it picks up things i didn't know existed. the only issue we had is that within 30min of using it the belt came off! it didn't suck up anything hard so we don't know why it popped off. we were very disappointed that after just buying it we have to do a repair. we're thankful we bought the 2 yr warranty for $15 extra. we're gone give it a few more runs before deciding if we're gonna trade in for a better model.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright, UH71003
09/29/2013
By ,
Mounds view mn
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this vacuum last year in December. It worked wonders with picking up dog hair!! Two days later the belt came off. Put it back on and came right back off. I wouldn't have a huge problem purchasing a new one. But no one carries this belt in store so I haven't used it since last year. I'm really disappointed in this. Sure I can order one or more from hoover if I pay 5.00 shipping. Just really not what I wanted to deal with for having a new vacuum!!!
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
0points
Review 18 for Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright, UH71003

Belt has Issues

01/07/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this vacuum as a Christmas gift and I was so excited the first time I used it! The suction was awesome and the turbo pet brush rocks. However, the 2nd time I used the vacuum, the belt came off. The next 5 times of use the belt came off 3 of the times, so we had to return the vacuum.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright, UH71003

Belt is a pain

10/25/2012
By ,
Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This upright is great for pet hair and hardwood floors. But the belt came off the very minute I turned it on for the first time. I took it apart, all six screws and put the belt back on. It then did it again and I then turned the dial for the carpet length to high and it did not do it. I have just regular floor throw down rugs that are not plush at all but I think the upright is a little cranky to the heights of carpets. So when I use the upright for hardwood floors it needs to be on floor and when I do my living room throw down rug it needs to be on 4 and the hall throw down rug needs to be on 3 even though its the same rug in living room. Wish the upright would adjust automatically without having to bend down every time to change the settings.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Hoover Elite Rewind Pet Bagless Upright, UH71003

BELT WILL BREAK IMMEDIATELY

07/05/2013
By ,
Gainesville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had an older model of this vacuum for 7 years and LOVED it, so naturally I just bought this one when my older model finally was laid to rest. During the FIRST USE, the belt snapped. It seems the only way to reorder a replacement belt is through Hoover or elsewhere online. I really wish I had read the other reviews prior to purchasing this!! DON'T BUY THIS VACUUM. It's got great suction, but you can get that in another vacuum that won't need a new belt every time you use it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1 2 3 Next