Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Total Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum, UD40350

Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Total Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum, UD40350

The Dirt Devil Total Pet Vacuum is a compact upright that makes picking up pet hair a breeze. Perfect for pet lovers, it comes with electrostatic tools that pick up pet hair better than a brush, a HEPA filter and a carbon filter to absorb those musty pet odors. A premium stretch hose and extension wand enable cleaners to tackle those hard-to-reach and high places, while a bottom empty dirt cup provides a quick release for easy disposal. The Total Pet Vacuum also comes fully assembled, so you don't have to hassle with tightening screws.
Average Customer Rating:
3.361 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(119 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
30
3 stars
9
2 stars
13
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation62%71 out of 115reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 48 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
30
3 stars
9
2 stars
13
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dirt Devil Total Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum, UD40350

Good product!

12/14/2012
By ,
las vegas, nv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item for my mom for the holidays! She says that it works good. She has a pet and the vacuum works great for picking up the hair. She loves that the vacuum has the option that the handle moves for easy storage.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dirt Devil Total Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum, UD40350

Dirt Devil great -for a few weeks :(

12/16/2013
By ,
SLC, Utah
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We were so excited to purchase this new Dirt Devil total pet upright vacuum -but so disappointed after a little while. Maybe we got one that was flawed, because it looks like others really like this product, but we have not been happy with it. We bought it and were thrilled with how well it sucked everything up in our carpet at first... but after a few weeks, it didn't suck as well (I know this happens a lot with vacuums that are brand new). After 6 months we quit trying to make it work -it would go back and forth over the same area and suck nothing up -even when we could clearly see the dirt and crumbs. We even tried the attachments to the hose -but that seemed to suck things up even less than the floor rollers. Recently our brother in law took apart the vacuum and found so much dirt and lint clogging it up. He pulled everything out and cleaned it up, and it did actually vacuum for a few minutes- until it clogged right back up again. Either we bought a faulty vacuum or it was not made to truly do its job.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dirt Devil Total Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum, UD40350

Holy suction

03/28/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So my cheapy day-after-thxgiving vacuum broke (like they do every year) and I now have a baby and two dogs (short haired black terrier and long haired wire white terrier). I also used to have a cat and I shed like one too! I didn't want to worry about my lil boy crawling around a hair-infested floor.
WOW! This vacuum is amazing. I went through the dining and living room, and did the stairs; I had to empty the vacuum 5 times. Not only did it pick up tons of hair, but it also made my carpet feel fluffy again...the feeling of having new carpet squish between your toes...and my carpet is over 10 years old.
The only downfall is the to empty it is small so you have to stick your fingers up to loosen it. Also don't get to close to something movable, because of the enormous suction on this it will pull it right in (like it did my hoodie).
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+121points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dirt Devil Total Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum, UD40350

dirt devil is an angel

11/04/2013
By ,
pensacola,fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Kirby I paid 1600.00 for when we got our 3 Pomeranian babies,7 years ago. I would clean the carpets, only to see my husband down on his hands and knees rolling up dog hair with a wet rag off the rugs and carpet . i called in a cleaning service and in they came with the dirt devil vacuum total pet machine.I thought what will this machine do that mine want do? you would not believe how much dog hair they got off our main rooms the dogs stay in .which was our bedroom and living room , i was so embarrassed. We have had ours now for 2 1/2 years still running strong but my husband leaned in to hard and broke the handle ,so now we are getting another one.The old on want get thrown away no , we are going to rig a handle on it and use it in the garage. something that still works like it does should not be discarded. I thought about getting a 500.00 Dyson, but for 70.00 dollars i have a great dog hair remover, why spend all that money right now.To all of you wondering what to get . I promise you will be so astounded at what it picks up. It has truly made our home breathable again.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dirt Devil Total Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum, UD40350

I LOVE this vacuum!

06/01/2012
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased an older model of this vacuum two years ago. The first time I used it I was in HEAVEN! I had no idea how much my old vacuum did NOT pick up until using this vacuum just once. The carpet looks brand new after using this! We have two cats and a beagle that sheds like crazy and this vacuum has been a lifesaver. We use this vacuum 2-3 times a week on our hardwood floors, furniture and carpet. It is very sturdy and as I said, has lasted two years. The only downside is the cord started to fray in several areas to the point that we now have to get the cord replaced. I've been without this vacuum for just a few days and I miss it so much that I'm not sure I can wait for it to be repaired...I may just buy a new one! You won't find another vacuum this great for this price! I would highly recommend this, especially for people with pets.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dirt Devil Total Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum, UD40350

Its an ok Vacuum

01/02/2014
By ,
Mitchell,SD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had the Dirt Devil Total Pet Upright for about a year. I purchased this vacuum because out old one died. And because the replacement filters didn't cost and arm and a leg. At the time i only had one dog later we added another to our home. I have one room with carpet and the rest of the house is hard flooring. It worked well for the first few months but then the hose started getting plugged with pet hair. So in order to get suction i have to remove the cover on the bottom of the vacuum to remove the hair. The pet attachment works well but also clogs. I think this vacuum would work well if you have a short hair breed but it doesn't have the ability suction the long hair.On a good note it is simple to take apart and clean. All in all it has done well for the price. But if you have a lot of pet hair in your home it probably wont stand up to it for a long time.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dirt Devil Total Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum, UD40350

You get what you pay for I guess...

01/15/2014
By ,
Northern Virginia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
So I bought this vacuum because after 9 years, my Dyson has worn out. I have a large dog who sheds a lot, so I need to stick with pet vacuums. The suction on this vacuum is pretty good, but it has 3 major flaws. The first is that the power cord is very short. I have to stop and change outlets several times to get the whole room. The second, is the hose is also very short. I can only reach halfway up a standard staircase. I have to move the vacuum to the top of the stairs to do the top half, and worry that if I pull too hard, the vacuum will come flying down. The third problem is the turbo attachment. It has great suction and does a good job, if you hold it tight with both hands while using it. If you pull towards you while vacuuming, it pops off the hose.
I just bought it yesterday, but I would like to return it. The instruction manual clearly says Do Not Return This Product To The Store. Guess I'm stuck... just don't be overly optimistic about this product...
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dirt Devil Total Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum, UD40350

Great Vacuum!!

02/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this vacuum about 4 months ago and it is still running strong. We have yet to run into any problems. All the filters are easy to get to a clean, The canister goes in and out easy, and pops open at the bottom easy too. The only sort of con I have to say about it is that the top half that folds up to locked position is a little wobbly. It works great but can be moved side to side a little bit. Its not a heavy plastic so it gives a little.
I would definitely recommend this vacuum to anyone with pets. We have a long hair cat and a big black cat and we never see any hair left over on the carpet. We also have a 3 year old and the messes and crumbs he leaves behind him are no match for this vacuum. :)
Overall a great vacuum!!!
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dirt Devil Total Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum, UD40350

For Pets! Wow!

08/20/2012
By ,
Anchorage, AK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the $70+ something I paid for it in Alaska, this has beaten all vacuums I have bought, including higher priced vacuums I have paid for ($100+). Now granted I empty the canister/filter after every use (which is super easy) it prolongs the life and keeps it running at top notch condition for every use. I have a Beagle which sheds, but you never really see it because its such fine short hair - I vacuum once a week and it pulls stuff up I thought wasnt even there! I also often track mud in with my boots regularly and it picks it up like a charm. The hand tool, although I was very skeptical of it, works like a charm on our furniture. While you have to move considerably slow over furniture with the hand tool, it does the job it describes and works wonders. It turned our furniture basically back into new condition. I cant say enough about this vacuum and how well it works, although I have had it only for a few uses I believe it will last quite a while because it seems to be made quite sturdily and with routine maintenance and routine filter cleaning I see no reason to buy another vacuum in the next 5-10 years. If you have pets, I highly suggest this vacuum at a budget. It is definitely worth every penny and is the few products that have seemed to be worth it and then some.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dirt Devil Total Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum, UD40350

Good but not great suction.

04/15/2012
By ,
Tulsa, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this vacuum about a week ago and I love it. It does have good suction and will get the job done. If you are wanting the suction to nearly pull your carpet up this isn't the vacuum for you. Keep in mind it is only $70. I think for the price it is a great value. I like the pet hair attachment since I have two cats. I vacuum at least twice a day having a 1 year old on the floor and it does a good job.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
El Paso TX
Good but not great suction
Posted 07/20/2013
I understand from carpet manufacturers in articles I've read over the years that too much suction is not good because it pulls fibres of carpet out and wears carpet out sooner. So-- good suction is great; great suction may not be so good for longevity of carpet. Your review was helpful. Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Dirt Devil Total Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum, UD40350

It's ok

12/10/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this vacuum about 8 months ago. Has good suction and i love how it flips down for easier storage but dog hair gets trapped and you have to stick your hand in there to get it out which makes for a mess ( i have 2 dogs with long hair). Also the canister where it holds the dirt, one of the 2 "ears" broke off so every time i go to let out the dirt it falls with it. Last but not least the cord isn't that long i find myself looking for another outlet. Be in mind, other than whats stated above it is a good vacuum just needs a few fixes!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dirt Devil Total Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum, UD40350

Especially Great for Pets!

07/24/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vacuum has a few exceptional features for pet owners. As I share my place with a dog and three birds, the dog hair and bird dander could become an issue if I didn't have good tools to do the cleaning.
Despite its rather plastic feel, this vacuum has a few feature I found exceptionally useful:
1. The suction is outstanding! It doesn't brag that it will never lose suction, but for $70, if I get a few year's great service from it, I still consider that a good deal.
2. This is my favorite part, the furniture brush has a beater bar in it! So you don't have to scrub your furniture, just drag the attachment across the fabric and it is not only clean, but there are attractive little tracks left behind which, I think, look really nice!
3. The head of the vacuum is on the narrower side. This lets me get into tighter places and between things far more easily than my old cleaner which means a clean place faster!
4. The handle folding down helps me a lot as, in my one bedroom apartment, I usually park it in my walk-in closet and now its well tucked out of the way. What Dirt Devil doesn't make much of a point of is that once you lower the handle, there's a handle in its place to lift the entire unit and move it anywhere. Its amazingly light for something that does such a great job!
5. SUCTION, SUCTION, SUCTION! This is one strong vacuum! And what's more important in a cleaner than suction? This has it in spades!
Overall, I'm exceptionally pleased with this purchase and I know it will give me years of great service! Last night I used it for the first time and walking on the carpet felt like I had just shampooed it! Now THAT is clean!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dirt Devil Total Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum, UD40350

Picked up good, but doesn't dump easy.

06/29/2012
By ,
Chgo, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just purchased this vacuum and used it for the first time today. In the beginning, I was impressed with the way it picked up all the dirt. The extension tool works well and is thin enough to use in baseboard vents. It went downhill when I went to dump the container so I could complete the job. A clump of dirt got stuck around the circle filter and wouldn't come out. I tried hitting it with my hand. DIDN'T work! Tried it again. Hitting it for the clump to come down out of the bottom empty container and the entire thing came apart. The top where the top filter goes, came undone, not broken, just had to turn it back to tighten it. But who wants to dig in the garbage (with the fine dust and dirt particles) to fish out their dirt container. I went and completed the job and said I'll give it another shot. I went and dumped the dirt again and the same happened. I wil be returning this and trying the Bissell PowerForce Turbo Helix. We'll see!!!!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
L.A. (Lower Alabama)
So far it's great!
Posted 09/19/2014
Only had it a couple of weeks so I can't comment on it's durability but it seems pretty well constructed. As far as performance goes, don't see how it could be better really. So far I've found it to live up to all it's claims! The turbo-claw pet tool works like a champ. Considering this tool uses the vacuums suction to spin the brush I had my doubts but no longer! This brush spins faster than the main motor driven brush! It is a very well engineered tool in my opinion.
I know that to keep this vac performing like this however requires regular cleaning of the filters. Dirt Devil suggests cleaning them after every use. That is a bit of a hassle compared to a bag-type vac but from my past experience it sure pays off. With it's low price and big performance I am very happy with my purchase.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Dirt Devil Total Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum, UD40350

At time of purchase, not enough info on website

04/13/2012
By ,
Ridgeland, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife & I have owned Dirt Devil Vacs for the last 15-20 years total of 3. We have gotten fantastic service from them. We will shop gfor no others. BUT this particular vac was TERRIBLE!! This vac is ONLY a 10 amp, not good suction, my Breeze bagless is a MUCH better vac & it is 7-9 years old!!!! I did take this model back & exchanged for the U70010 Dirt Devil. Now this is a vac!!!
12 amp motor, it literally pulls itself along, and a great replacement for my Breeze--this is what I expect from Dirt Devil
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
 
My Product Recommendations
Dirt Devil Ultra Vision Cyclonic Upright Vacuum Cleaner, UD70010
1.8 out of 5(36)
 
 
 
 
 
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dirt Devil Total Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum, UD40350

Got Clogged Alot

03/27/2013
By ,
Columbia, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this vacuum for a great price. I loved everything about this vacuum, it though-rally cleaned all the carpet in my house, both the high and low carpet. I used this vacuum every day to clean my carpet and hard wood floors. Then one day it got clogged from the hose that connects the base to the actual hose, this was extremely hard to unclog, as I had to take the entire base of the vacuum apart to get to the clog and where it was clogged there is a almost 90 degree angle that was near impossible to clean out. Finally with it being unclogged I am able to use the vacuum again. Keep in mind that this took a over a half hour to take apart clean out and put back together. Vacuuming again after it got clogged the 1st time was horrible. Every time I used this vacuum after it got clogged I had to keep taking it apart to keep getting out clogs. I also cleaned all the filters out after each use to see if this would eliminate the clogging issue, and this did not help. Basically evrytime I used it it got clogged and finally after 2 weeks of spending over a half hour a day on the clogs it kept getting I had to take it back. This vacuum worked excellent in the beginning, but by the time I took it back it was not worth all the up-keep.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dirt Devil Total Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum, UD40350

great for a disabled customer with a service dog!!

06/07/2013
By ,
LAYTON UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being disabled with a very large Bloodhound service dog, I needed a vacuum that was easy to maneuver as well as handle the volume of 'coat-blowing'. Was totally blown away--pun intended--by the suction for both the carpet and upholstery. Even though the vacuum is lightweight, it is stable for each floor type and with the tools aboard, I do not have to struggle making my apartment our home! I was expecting 'cheap' with the low price but surprised at the quality: motor, overall construction, etc. I hope to enjoy this vacuum for a long time.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dirt Devil Total Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum, UD40350

Very cheap noisey and nt much power

02/18/2014
By ,
cheshire,ct
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
will be going back
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dirt Devil Total Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum, UD40350

I love it!

06/09/2013
By ,
Columbia, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
compact and powerful suction, much better than my old Bissell. I've had Dirt Devils in the past and they were great vacuums. I love the ON/OFF button near the handle.
Why I gave only 4 stars.... My only con so far is with the canister, which is designed to be practically hands-free or one touch, but the opening on the bottom is narrow and even less room with the filter in the center of it, hanging down the middle all the way to the bottom opening, so the pet hair and dirt gets stuck and I have to use my hand to dig it out clump by clump. It tends to be a bit messy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dirt Devil Total Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum, UD40350
10/13/2012
By ,
Dover
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This vaccume glides effortlessly across my capet, and is so easy to switch to bare foor. Has powerfull suction. I like the tools with the ribbs, picked up the pet hair on the couch and stairway with ease. I like the canister, no bags to buy and very easy to keep it clean. I'm very happy with this model.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dirt Devil Total Pet Bagless Upright Vacuum, UD40350

Great Value...

11/03/2013
By ,
Jupiter,Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Extremely Happy with my purchase of this Vacuum....works great, light-weight, amazing amount of suction! So glad I went with this new Pet addition. I was happy with my previous Dirt Devil upright that I still have after 15 yrs. It's nice not to worry about changing bags...& cleaning the removable bin is easy...& leaves No oder. I highly recommend this if you're in the market for a new Vacuum purchase & you're debating between prices.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next