Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright, UH71209

Hoover Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright, UH71209

The UH71209 Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright vacuum has everything you need to thoroughly and easily clean your house from top to bottom, room by room. With an intuitive cord rewind pedal that retracts the cord with a gentle tap, and versatile on-board cleaning tools, this Hoover bagless upright vacuum is easy to move from room to room, upstairs or downstairs, to clean even the hardest-to-reach areas of the home.
Average Customer Rating:
3.297 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation62%45 out of 72reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright, UH71209

I can sit on the floor now - no pet hair!

05/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never written a review for a product, but I want to share my appreciation for this vacuum. I bought this Hoover for the sole purpose to clean up pet hair. I have a Shiba Inu that has a thick coat of soft fluffy hair and wiry hair that is very tough to pick up (or so I thought). We had a Bissel (bag) that didn't pick up the dog hair worth a darn and just ground it into the carpet. The Shop Vac we had before that smelled after a while and didn't do a good job either.I would have to go over all the carpet with my hand and pick up the dog hair myself. Not fun!
I went on the hunt for another vacuum and bought this on a whim, after seeing it in Walmart. It has exceeded my expectations in every way. The first day I vacuumed the whole house and emptied the canister at least 20x, filling up a garbage bag full of hair that must have been embedded into the carpet - disgusting I know. The retractable cord is a good feature and its ability to pick up lint, dust and hair from the carpet amazes me. I've had it for only a week, but so far it hasn't disappointed. Great value and worth the purchase!
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
new york
shiba inus.....
Posted 06/24/2013
i have shibas too :))) so this must be a good vacuum.....im sold on that point alone :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright, UH71209

Doesn't work on hardwood floors

03/10/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It states right on the box that this vacuum will work on all floors. It will not. It works on carpeting OK. Nothing spectacular, just OK. With the attachments, it gets up some dust, again OK, nothing great. But then when I tried using on my hardwood floor which had a fine sandy substance all over it from a rug pad, it just would not suck it hardly at all. I ran it back and forth to no avail. I pulled out my old Electrolux canister vacuum and it sucked it right up in seconds flat.
The description on this vacuum is therefore misleading. If my dust/dirt on my hard wood floor had not been a cream color, I may not have noticed how poorly this vacuum performed. Bottom line is if you need to do hard floors, choose something else. This vacuum does NOT work on hardwood/tile floors. Description should say that. It got two stars only because it does work ok on carpet but again, nothing out of ordinary. I was suckered into buying this because it states it gets rid of 99% of dust, pollen allergens, etc. If it won't pick up the dirt and dust then how is that possible!?
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MI
DO NOT BUY!
Posted 08/07/2013
This vacuum looks amazing,is affordable, and works great for the first 10 uses. After that, it will shut itself off randomly due to overheating. With that being said, you can vacuum for 5 minutes but then you have to wait literally a half an hour for it to cool down and reset itself internally. I would not recommend this vacuum to my worst enemy. I thought I was doing my wife a big favor by buying her a nice, flashy Hoover vacuum. Boy, was I wrong. Sorry babe!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright, UH71209

Read the manual for best performance

04/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got out a ton of stuff that I didn't want to know about. Was full after use on area rug. Worked on laminate, vinyl tile and carpet throughout home and was easy to transition to any floor. Not loud but powerful enough (lights dimmed a tad when using!) but overall great so far. Others found it didn't work well on hardwood with sandy substance... States in manual that fine particles will seal the filter and cause a reduction in performance. So you must empty cup and clean filters often.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright, UH71209

Works great, so what your problem?

03/31/2012
By ,
Medford, Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this Hoover unit to replace a Bissell that didn't work worth a darn. The Hoover does an excellent job on all three carpet styles in our house. I use another sweeper on our tile so I can't rate it there as it is too bulky to run around numerous area rugs. The Brushroll On/Off pedal is a great idea as is the cord rewind function. The only complaint I have would be the upholstery tool as it slows down to a stop while vacuuming the Microfiber couch. I gave it 5 stars because I haven't used it on the tile/hardwood.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright, UH71209

Keep looking

08/29/2012
By ,
Winter park FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We had this vac for about 18 months and it worked well the first 3. I really liked the extras that it came with but I will not be fooled by flashy again. After the first three months it started making a high pitch noise and the suction just got worse from there. We cleaned everything, bought a filter, did what the troubleshooting suggested. Nothing worked. Then about 6 moths ago it started getting clogs in the piping. I would have to clean the pipes two or three times before finishing vacuuming my house. That's when I'd had enough. I bought a Bissell powerforce ($36) and it cleans so much better than this one did even when it was new. In reading the reviews I've noticed the newer issue model does not seem to have the same quality as the older one. I only wrote this to save others from making the same mistake we did.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright, UH71209

I love this vacuum!

10/26/2012
By ,
Blacksburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a vacuum for about 5 years and I loved it. I was frustrated when it broke, and I had to buy another one. I went with this one, the Hoover whole house, and I love it. I have two cats and two dogs. I also have a seven year old and this thing keeps up with me. It is so light and the suction power is great! I love the way it lifts the carpet, and it makes the carpet look new when I use it! When I bought it I went home and read reviews and I was a lil nervous because it has some not so good reviews, so it really surprised me when it worked so well. I thought maybe after time it would lose suction, but it has not. (I have had it for five months and use it every other day.) Another great thing about this vacuum is that it keeps the smells inside. My cats spilled litter and I sucked it up thinking, great this is going to stink up the house, but it didn't. I was trying to smell it and could not! If you are looking for a great vacuum at a great price then choose this one! :) The only bad thin I can say is that sometimes the dirt gets stuck inside the canister, and I have to pull it out. If I emptied it out inbetween rooms more that probably would not happen!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright, UH71209

Awesome vacuum!

11/29/2012
By ,
arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this vacuum after taking back another like-price vacuum that was supposed to replace my old faithful Bissell PowerForce that died, and wow am I impressed! This thing has amazing suction and does not leave tracks in the carpet like the Eureka did. It has a feature where you can turn the brushroll on and off which is awesome because it doesn't scatter cat litter all over the floor. With having a longhaired cat that sheds alot, I was looking for a vacuum that could pick it up like it was nothing. I had to empty this thing twice while vacuuming because it was picking up so much! The wand is a neat feature because you can extend it plus you've got the hose that stretches out for even better reach! My only, and ONLY, gripe about this vacuum is the fact that I have to empty it so often but that just shows how well this vacuum works. Definitely recommend this vacuum, instead of spending $200+ on a lower quality vacuum!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright, UH71209

Best vacuum I've ever owned

03/31/2013
By ,
Fredonia, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own 8 different vacuum cleaners. After Vacuuming my carpets with my old Hoover, I used the Whole House Bagless over the same carpets. I could hardly believe my eyes as the transparent tube filled with debris! I now look forward to helping my wife with the cleaning. :). As a guy I appreciate a great working tool.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright, UH71209
03/19/2013
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light & Easy to move and picks up excellent.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright, UH71209

Great vacuum but..

01/05/2013
By ,
Chico, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this vacuum it truly does work around the whole house. But the shipping was terrible. They didn't take good care of it. The box was terrorized when it arrived. It was busted at every seam. Then when I pulled the vacuum out a couple pieces had broken off. It won't effect the way it works but it also took over two weeks to arrive so I don't even want to deal with the whole returning it back for one that is complete and unbroken, only to have to wait another 2 weeks and sacrificing the cleanliness of my home. I hope this vacuum is built to last other than the fact that it already came broken.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright, UH71209

Hoover Whole House Bagless

03/09/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT vacuum! Has clip on handle to clip cord so it won't get in the way, some people complain that cord gets in way. Good suction, don't turn off rollers even on tile as they sweep debris into vacuum, windtunnel action. Doesn't scratch my hardwood, don't know how yours hard wood is manufactured if it scratches, as some people say. Empties easily, not like older Hoovers did. Light, easy to maneuver. I'm 68 and handicapped. Great price, $39 cheaper on-line than in store, arrived quickly, so it's worth ordering on-line. Nothing negative to say.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright, UH71209

good on floors but not carpet

02/21/2014
By ,
Columbus, Oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not pick up have to keep going over and over the carpet to get it clean.
The suction is very poor.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
From HooverUSA02/21/2014
Hi LisaDon12, turn your Whole House on and take a look at the performance indicator on top of the dirt cup. If it goes from green to red, you likely have a clog. Check your filter first by removing the dirt cup and twisting the lid off. Be sure to check the underside of the filter. If it's dirty, just rinse it out with warm water and allow 24 hours for it to dry.

Next, remove the hose from both ends and run a broom handle through it to knock out any debris that may be stuck in there. Let me know if you need any more help afterward. You can email me directly at Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com. Thanks!

-Ian
Hoover Customer CareHoover
From HooverUSA02/21/2014
Hi LisaDon12, turn your Whole House on and take a look at the performance indicator on top of the dirt cup. If it goes from green to red, you likely have a clog. Check your filter first by removing the dirt cup and twisting the lid off. Be sure to check the underside of the filter. If it's dirty, just rinse it out with warm water and allow 24 hours for it to dry.

Next, remove the hose from both ends and run a broom handle through it to knock out any debris that may be stuck in there. Let me know if you need any more help afterward. You can email me directly at Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com. Thanks!

-Ian
Hoover Customer CareHoover
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright, UH71209

great ptlroduct

02/05/2013
By ,
Odenville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great vacuum! Didn't loose suction! Count believe how dirty my carpet was!
We had tried the Hoover elite first, that did pretty good. We had to empty the bucket 3 times for each room...how embarrassing. The elite didn't have good suction on the hand tool
, so we got the whole house to compare it. Oh there was no comparison. The whole house was more powerful and we got 3 more bucket full from just one room....that was after the elite...so guess what went back.
The whole house is so powerful it pulls itself across the floor when turned on.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright, UH71209

check box out before opening it up

02/01/2014
By ,
walla walla wa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the box was a mess and it was taped up when i opened it and put it to gether i found out that one of the wheels was broken took it back to store didn't buy another one
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright, UH71209

Good entry level vacuum

01/18/2013
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This vacuum has great suction. The canister is smallish and you need to empty it after each use. Cord retraction works good. Works well for me on both carpeted and hardwood floors. The beater bar control is a nice feature. I would have liked a longer hose, but for the price it's about what you would expect. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a vacuum on a budget.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright, UH71209

Great Upright

04/26/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth the money, it picked up dirt that was probably embedded in the carpet for awhile. Once I ran the upright for a second time there was hardly any dirt. Which tells me that the suction goes deep in to carpet bedding....
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright, UH71209

great easy operational vacuum

03/03/2013
By ,
Edison, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The vacuum was delivered to my door well before the anticipated delivery date. Three screws for one of the simplest assemblies possible and away we go! Adjustable heights for any kind of carpet (or for hardwood floors). Simple to clean after use - a home run!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright, UH71209

Heavy

11/06/2012
By ,
Winslow, ME
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The vacuum does a good job with suction but is heavy and cumbersome. It's a workout to keep the vacuum and hose separate. The hose is connected near the base and therefore lessens the amount of reach. Also the tool for getting the edge of the floor is so tiny and the item is quite loud.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright, UH71209

Does NOT work on hard floors (wood, tile, etc).

01/30/2013
By ,
Tampa, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This vacuum is marketed as a WHOLE house vacuum for both hard floors and rugs, unfortunately this is a lie. I have tile and area rugs and this is what I have found so far:
Rugs: If you don't turn on the brushes, it will not pick up ANYTHING from the rug. I don't understand what "power of suction" the other reviewers are talking about, perhaps they are referring to the attachments (I will clarify later). If you do turn on the brushes, it will do a nice job vacuuming your carpet.
Hard floors: You can't (well, shouldn't) use the brushes on hard floors so this leaves only the "pure" suction option available for this type of floors. The suction power of this vacuum is almost non-existent when used in this way. It will only pick up hair and a little bit of dust from the floor but it leaves mostly everything in its place. It does not pick up larger pieces, just hair and dust. I had to step on a single chip that was on the floor and break it to smaller pieces for this vacuum to pick them up, that's how bad it is. If you put your hand directly where the suction takes place, you will see that it barely pulls any air at all. For me this is an utter failure.
Attachments: When you use the attachments the suction finally appears. Unfortunately, you can't vacuum your whole house with the attachments.
I gave this product one star because it was bought under the pretense that it was a whole house all-floors vacuum and it is not. If this was marketed as a RUG ONLY vacuum I would be giving it three stars as it does an ok job while being used with the brushes. If you turn the brushes off then it will not pick up anything again.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoover Whole House Bagless Upright, UH71209
02/24/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's the only vacuum cleaner that would clean my new carpeting (Smartstrand by Mohawk.)
I had two older vacuums but I couldn't even push them over the carpet. At least, now, I can
clean!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next