Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Hoover Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

The UH30600 Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright is a complete vacuum system. It has beater brushes to thoroughly clean your carpets and a hose with tools to clean stairs, window sills and other hard-to-reach areas. This bagged upright vacuum cleaner has WindTunnel MAX technology that provides three channels of suction. It has seven different floor settings and a wide nozzle to clean large areas in fewer passes. Its cord is 30 feet long, reducing the need to re-plug. The Hoover WindTunnel upright vacuum features an excellent filtration system to help reduce allergens. This floor cleaner uses a clean drop-bag system so you can deposit used bags into the trash without touching them.
Average Customer Rating:
3.697 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(369 Reviews) 349
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
147
4 stars
106
3 stars
28
2 stars
33
1 star
55
Customer Recommendation72%264 out of 366reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 289 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
147
4 stars
106
3 stars
28
2 stars
33
1 star
55
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600 My

04/29/2014
By ,
Derry, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600
My Review
A little heavier than I thought, wish it was self propelled, outside of that I like the Hoover WindTunnel , Would buy the self propelled if I did it again.
Thanks
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Very nice vacuum

01/22/2014
By ,
Northeast, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this after reading Consumer Reports for best vacuums for pet owners. It works very well, it picks up pet hair with no issues. The attachments work very well for furniture, dusting and general use. Bags hold much more than I expected I have used this 4 or 5 times for the whole house (small house) and still have not had to change the bag. I read a lot of reviews and saw an overwhelming amount of people that thought this was physically hard to use, I would agree to that somewhat but I think that the clean that I am getting from this is well worth the effort.This was very easy to put together. The only thing I have found that might be a long term issue is the handle. It is a somewhat flimsy plastic handle for a vacuum that is a little heavy and somewhat hard to manuever. I will just use it carefully and hopefully it will last for quite some time. Over all I like this product, I think it works very well, and like many of the attachments and have found uses for all of them.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

poor design, returned product

03/02/2013
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't buy it. Read this entire review. I've never written a review before, but I was so dissatisfied I didn't want anyone else to haul it home and have to haul it back. Does NOT run smoothly on bare floor (doesn't matter if the brushes are on or off#. Cord and attachment hose GET TANGLED. Extender wand is not easy to extend, DIFFICULT to lock in place, then DIFFICULT to unattach. DIFFICULT to turn the height adjuster #it's a push and turn, push to hard and it doesn't work, my husband actually had to turn it for me - and I don't let anybody touch my vacuum!# Very disappointed. It's going back. Also, if you do need a long cord, check out the product with the retractable cord. This has a long cord, put it kind of gets in the way. Also, be sure to start vacuuming on the left side of the room, if you begin on the right, the air movement from the filter #on the left of the machine) blows everything all over! Bigger mess than when I started.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Great carpet cleaning/terrible brush shut-off

09/23/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We purchased this vacuum based on the Consumer Reports review and it really did do a great job cleaning the carpet and has great suction. BUT, we also have hardwood floors and needed a vacuum with a brush turn-off feature so it doesn't scatter dirt all over. 15 minutes into the very first use the lever that turns off the spinning brush stopped working. The brush should also stop spinning when the vacuum is upright but it just kept on spinning making it no good for hard floors. The mechanism to stop the brush just pinches the rubber belt until it stops moving but there wasn't enough pressure to to stop it. Other users ran into the same problem and it also causes the belt to wear out and break. We used the vacuum once and then returned it for a different brand.
Recommends this product? No
From HooverUSA10/07/2014
Hi Ben,
That shouldn't be happening. Please take your MAX into the nearest service center so we can fix you up. http://hoover.com/locator/. Please email Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare if you have any questions or concerns. Thanks! --John, Hoover Customer CareHoover
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Satisfied so far

10/21/2014
By ,
OHIO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used my new Hoover UH30600 for a few weeks now and very pleased with the performance. Since I have be married 47 years I have had a 2 Electrolux canisters which I wore out, and 2 upright Euraka uprights (which I would not recommend to any one even if the cost was 5 cents). Consumers Report had them rated best for a long time and I have no idea how they were tested but it makes you wonder. The Hoover is lighter than all the ones I had, has a lot of suction, the wands stay together, easy foot peddles, I am not found of the crevice tool, and I did read a lot of reviews which said that carpet fuzz piles up in the pathway going into the vacuum and is bothersome to clean. Over all I have found this vacuum to do a excellent job.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Not Entirely Happy

07/28/2013
By ,
Missouri
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought one a few months ago because I wanted something that could be used on both carpet and bare floors. The first one I had to send back after trying it one time because it made a horrible whining noise and also because the roller brush continued to spin when the handle was in in the locked upright position. The roller brush shut off properly in the replacement machine but after only a few months of use it now continues to spin while handle is in the upright position. The machine has started making a loud whining noise when I shut it off. It does pick up decently but pushing it on the bare floor setting is next to impossible. I always have to set the height to nearly max to make pushing it on bare floors possible. Overall I'm not entirely happy with my purchase but at least it does have good suction. Actually that is the only good thing I can say about this machine.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Good vac, strong suction

03/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this Hoover UH30600 based on Consumer Reports ratings. It has powerful suction, at times too powerful (it's hard to use on little throw rugs, and there's no suction control). I put it together in a few minutes and took it for a spin. My house has all hardwood floors, except kitchen and baths, which are tile. I have fringed oriental rugs throughout. With no suction control, I have to be careful not to suck up the fringe, but I have a technique for that. I use the carpet height adjuster to somewhat alter the suction (setting it higher decreases the suction a little). I wasn't impressed with the crevice tool, but the one from my old vac fits, so I'll use that. And I can use some other tools from old vacs that this one doesn't have. My biggest gripe is that the cord attaches at the bottom of the vac, it should come out up on the handle, which keeps it from being sucked up and damaged. I'll have to wire it up where the hose hanger is--I had to do that with my last vac, too. Why can't manufacturers see this as a problem? And an easy one to fix!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Good vaccuum for the price

10/19/2013
By ,
Folsom, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was voted a Consumer Guide Recommended Buy, which is why I chose this one. Carpet height adjustment is handy, especially since it has a barefloors setting, so I can use it on my hardwood floors as well as the carpeted areas. It is pretty light overall, especially compared to the old much heavier 10 year old vaccuum I was using. I have a dog and it seemed to pick up all the pet hair on the carpet well. It has a spinning brush at the bottom, which is better than just relying on a vaccuum with only suction. I also like that this uses a bag, easier to empty than one of those bagless models, especially when dealing with pet hair like me.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Design of cord storage and intake nozzle bad

10/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is an upright vacuum and seems to have good suction. However to use any of the attachments one has to detach the nozzle at a point of 1-2 inches from the floor and it is cumbersome. The storage of the crevice tool inside the extender tube is unbelievably klutzy; with the location of the tube and the cord it is difficult to believe that it is intended that the tools be stored on the vacuum. In summary, if having the wand portion of the upright vacuum is important to you, do not choose this vacuum.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Amazing machine!!!

05/13/2012
By ,
Cumming, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such an easy vacuum to use! It is light, has amazing sucking power, and uses bags so I don;t have to take the filter out and bang it on the garbage can after each use, a messy dirty process. The attachments work great and I love the when you bring the handle in the upright position, the brush/agitator stops spinning. There is a quick easy foot switch to switch to the hardwood floors setting without having to bend over and set the depth switch to "short" by hand - LOVE that feature. This is a great vacuum and the bonus is that we didn't have to shell out "an arm & a leg" for it. This vacuum has two separate filters that are easily accessible and a snap to clean when necessary. We have over 3,000 square feet of home and this vacuum easily does the trick... I highly recommend this machine to all home owners!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Good Vacuum

07/26/2013
By ,
NEW ORLEANS, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far - so good ! I am remaining hopeful that this one will continue to do well. This vacuum was bought as a replacement for another Hoover that I had to return due to poor performance on wood floors and tile. This one works well on hard flooring and excellent on carpet and rugs ! It has great suction on carpet and rugs and picks up particles and dust bunnies on hard flooring and doesn't just push them around. There is a lever on the base of the vacuum that you can step on to stop the roller brush from spinning which helps in the pick up of particles on hard flooring. I like the maroon color and the "metallic" finish. The area where the roller brush is clear where you can see through it to determine if the roller brush is spinning or not. I haven't used the attachments yet but I think they will prove useful as well. It's also not as noisy as I thought it would be. I am happy about that and my 16- month old daughter is too ! The sound of this vacuum doesn't startle her like the previous one did. This is a good buy for any type of flooring. I would recommend this one !
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Pleased with choice

10/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second Hoover of this model that I have purchased in the last few months. The first was for our second home and based on the service of that vacuum, I ordered the same one for our permanent home. I think it is well designed. We have three cats and it was ranked "very good" for picking up cat hair and it lives up to the ranking. I think it is easy to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Great vacuum for the money

10/18/2014
By ,
Arvada,CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use. Wide swath. Suction on carpet and bare floors very good
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Great value, good vacuum

10/14/2014
By ,
Madison, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this to replace my dirty, heavy, clumsy bagless Eureka with the irritatingly unflexible removable hose for tool attachments. The Hoover UH30600 none of those things and is every bit as good at removing dog hair, too. I'm glad. I'd give it five stars if it was about 10 decibels quieter.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

a great upgrade from my old Hoover.

10/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only had for a short time but I really like it. Lighter weight than my old vacuum, easier to use, and appears to work just as well.
Time will tell.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Great product!

10/05/2014
By ,
28786
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took it on it's first spin around the house and was amazed at how much it pulled up! The carpet is fluffier than it has been in years. The old upright just wasn't doing the job. I think we'll be very pleased with this purchase. Highly rated in Consumer Reports; thus our decision to try this model.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Strong

04/23/2012
By ,
Cincinnati , Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I owned a previous windtunnel model and this one is way better. It is a lot lighter and easier to push around. The suction on this thing is unbelievable. It makes carpets look brand new. It ruffles up the heavy traffic areas and makes them look like the rest of the carpet. I am very impressed wih this vacuum and it's built with Hoover quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

A great new vacuum cleaner

02/10/2012
By ,
Holden Beach, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our new Hoover Wind Tunnel Max is versatile, complete with all vacuuming tools and needs, easy to use, and does a great job.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Good vacuum for the price....

10/17/2013
By ,
Oxford, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this vacuum because of the good review it had received from a national Consumers magazine along with the great price at Walmart. After using it for the last couple weeks, cleaning every nook and cranny in my house, carpets, along the edging, lamp shades, upholstery, overall I would give it a good rating and good value. It picked up quite well. There are however three complaints I have. First, when using the attachments with the hose I found my hand was always getting pinched when I held the hose near the attachment and the hose was stretched then contracted. Second, although the brush does a good job of cleaning near the edge of the baseboards, there is an 1 1/2" strip about 3" from the baseboard that doesn't get cleaned because of the design of the brush. It's where the belt goes around. A second swipe will hit the spot, but I prefer the belt in the center so I can move over 6" with the second swipe as opposed to 3" the way it is now. Finally, my biggest complaint is that with this vacuum you are supposed to be able to shut off the brush spinning. When it is in the upright position it's automatic and when the handle is down there is a bar to step on. Although they do work to some degree I found, when I was using the hose attachments, the brush would still come on. It would shut off, but as I pulled on the vacuum while using the hose it would start spinning, not as fast as in the regular vacuum setting, but enough that I would feel the need to tip the vacuum to avoid additional wear on the carpet in one spot as I vacuumed the sofa etc. This brush on/off option was one of the features I was looking for in a vacuum and I must say I'm a little disappointed that it doesn't work as I expected.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Too heavy and difficult to push

10/18/2013
By ,
Atlantic City area, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought the Hoover UH30600 based on a recommended review from Consumer Reports, but when it arrived and I put it to use, I realized that the Consumer Reports reviewers must have been "mighty apes" with super strength. On any carpet pile setting other than the deep shag selection, this vacuum is VERY difficult and tiring to push around a carpeted floor. I'm no weakling, but I was tired after vacuuming only one room and my wife quit after pushing it back and forth for only a few strokes. Perhaps it has great suction and useful tools, but those benefits are not worth all the exertion you need to get the job done. I will return this unit today to Walmart. By the way, I called Hoover and was told, "That's just the way the cleaner is designed, but we DO get some complaints about the pushing effort required". So they know the problem but seemingly are unwilling to fix it,
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 298 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next