Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Hoover Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

The UH30600 Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright is a complete vacuum system. It has beater brushes to thoroughly clean your carpets and a hose with tools to clean stairs, window sills and other hard-to-reach areas. This bagged upright vacuum cleaner has WindTunnel MAX technology that provides three channels of suction. It has seven different floor settings and a wide nozzle to clean large areas in fewer passes. Its cord is 30 feet long, reducing the need to re-plug. The Hoover WindTunnel upright vacuum features an excellent filtration system to help reduce allergens. This floor cleaner uses a clean drop-bag system so you can deposit used bags into the trash without touching them.
Average Customer Rating:
3.697 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(350 Reviews) 330
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
141
4 stars
99
3 stars
26
2 stars
31
1 star
53
Customer Recommendation72%250 out of 347reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 288 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
141
4 stars
99
3 stars
26
2 stars
31
1 star
53
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600 My

04/29/2014
By ,
Derry, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600
My Review
A little heavier than I thought, wish it was self propelled, outside of that I like the Hoover WindTunnel , Would buy the self propelled if I did it again.
Thanks
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Very nice vacuum

01/22/2014
By ,
Northeast, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this after reading Consumer Reports for best vacuums for pet owners. It works very well, it picks up pet hair with no issues. The attachments work very well for furniture, dusting and general use. Bags hold much more than I expected I have used this 4 or 5 times for the whole house (small house) and still have not had to change the bag. I read a lot of reviews and saw an overwhelming amount of people that thought this was physically hard to use, I would agree to that somewhat but I think that the clean that I am getting from this is well worth the effort.This was very easy to put together. The only thing I have found that might be a long term issue is the handle. It is a somewhat flimsy plastic handle for a vacuum that is a little heavy and somewhat hard to manuever. I will just use it carefully and hopefully it will last for quite some time. Over all I like this product, I think it works very well, and like many of the attachments and have found uses for all of them.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

poor design, returned product

03/02/2013
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't buy it. Read this entire review. I've never written a review before, but I was so dissatisfied I didn't want anyone else to haul it home and have to haul it back. Does NOT run smoothly on bare floor (doesn't matter if the brushes are on or off#. Cord and attachment hose GET TANGLED. Extender wand is not easy to extend, DIFFICULT to lock in place, then DIFFICULT to unattach. DIFFICULT to turn the height adjuster #it's a push and turn, push to hard and it doesn't work, my husband actually had to turn it for me - and I don't let anybody touch my vacuum!# Very disappointed. It's going back. Also, if you do need a long cord, check out the product with the retractable cord. This has a long cord, put it kind of gets in the way. Also, be sure to start vacuuming on the left side of the room, if you begin on the right, the air movement from the filter #on the left of the machine) blows everything all over! Bigger mess than when I started.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Good vac, strong suction

03/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this Hoover UH30600 based on Consumer Reports ratings. It has powerful suction, at times too powerful (it's hard to use on little throw rugs, and there's no suction control). I put it together in a few minutes and took it for a spin. My house has all hardwood floors, except kitchen and baths, which are tile. I have fringed oriental rugs throughout. With no suction control, I have to be careful not to suck up the fringe, but I have a technique for that. I use the carpet height adjuster to somewhat alter the suction (setting it higher decreases the suction a little). I wasn't impressed with the crevice tool, but the one from my old vac fits, so I'll use that. And I can use some other tools from old vacs that this one doesn't have. My biggest gripe is that the cord attaches at the bottom of the vac, it should come out up on the handle, which keeps it from being sucked up and damaged. I'll have to wire it up where the hose hanger is--I had to do that with my last vac, too. Why can't manufacturers see this as a problem? And an easy one to fix!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Not Entirely Happy

07/28/2013
By ,
Missouri
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought one a few months ago because I wanted something that could be used on both carpet and bare floors. The first one I had to send back after trying it one time because it made a horrible whining noise and also because the roller brush continued to spin when the handle was in in the locked upright position. The roller brush shut off properly in the replacement machine but after only a few months of use it now continues to spin while handle is in the upright position. The machine has started making a loud whining noise when I shut it off. It does pick up decently but pushing it on the bare floor setting is next to impossible. I always have to set the height to nearly max to make pushing it on bare floors possible. Overall I'm not entirely happy with my purchase but at least it does have good suction. Actually that is the only good thing I can say about this machine.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Good vaccuum for the price

10/19/2013
By ,
Folsom, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was voted a Consumer Guide Recommended Buy, which is why I chose this one. Carpet height adjustment is handy, especially since it has a barefloors setting, so I can use it on my hardwood floors as well as the carpeted areas. It is pretty light overall, especially compared to the old much heavier 10 year old vaccuum I was using. I have a dog and it seemed to pick up all the pet hair on the carpet well. It has a spinning brush at the bottom, which is better than just relying on a vaccuum with only suction. I also like that this uses a bag, easier to empty than one of those bagless models, especially when dealing with pet hair like me.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Good Vacuum

07/26/2013
By ,
NEW ORLEANS, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far - so good ! I am remaining hopeful that this one will continue to do well. This vacuum was bought as a replacement for another Hoover that I had to return due to poor performance on wood floors and tile. This one works well on hard flooring and excellent on carpet and rugs ! It has great suction on carpet and rugs and picks up particles and dust bunnies on hard flooring and doesn't just push them around. There is a lever on the base of the vacuum that you can step on to stop the roller brush from spinning which helps in the pick up of particles on hard flooring. I like the maroon color and the "metallic" finish. The area where the roller brush is clear where you can see through it to determine if the roller brush is spinning or not. I haven't used the attachments yet but I think they will prove useful as well. It's also not as noisy as I thought it would be. I am happy about that and my 16- month old daughter is too ! The sound of this vacuum doesn't startle her like the previous one did. This is a good buy for any type of flooring. I would recommend this one !
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Suction is great and easy to use on staircase

08/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The suction on this vacumn is great and easy to use on staircase. Love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Amazing machine!!!

05/13/2012
By ,
Cumming, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such an easy vacuum to use! It is light, has amazing sucking power, and uses bags so I don;t have to take the filter out and bang it on the garbage can after each use, a messy dirty process. The attachments work great and I love the when you bring the handle in the upright position, the brush/agitator stops spinning. There is a quick easy foot switch to switch to the hardwood floors setting without having to bend over and set the depth switch to "short" by hand - LOVE that feature. This is a great vacuum and the bonus is that we didn't have to shell out "an arm & a leg" for it. This vacuum has two separate filters that are easily accessible and a snap to clean when necessary. We have over 3,000 square feet of home and this vacuum easily does the trick... I highly recommend this machine to all home owners!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Excellent product

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had the Hoover Windtunnel Max Bagged Upright (UH30600) for only a couple of weeks, but so far I love it. I had a Hoover Windtunnel vacuum for many years (and love it, too), but it finally started showing its age. I'm glad it did. I look its successor even better. It's about 4 lbs lighter, and easier to transport because of a new well-placed handhold. Lots of suction. All the right accessories (and they are conveniently placed -- one of the things I also loved about the earlier model. We have a lot of tile flooring, in addition to carpet (this vacuum is really good on both--it makes vacuuming the tile a lot more efficient than sweeping it). The hose and the electrical cord are both plenty long, and convenient placed on the vacuum. Even though it's light weight, it seems sturdily built.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Obviously already used..

08/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is obvious from the repacking that this was already opened and assembled. If it was returned without problems I'd have expected it to be examined and repackaged so as to appear in good shape. I will assemble and try it out but I'm dubious from the start.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Good vacuum good price

07/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does an excellent job, even on old, well worn carpet. I can see why it is rated a best buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

great vacuum

04/04/2014
By ,
dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this vacuum based on the great Consumer Reports review and price. My husband vacuumed with our old vacuum then used the carpet cleaner. A day later we received this vacuum and used it throughout our house. The vacuum bag was almost full when we were done! We have 2 cats and 2 young children and this vacuum got up what our old vacuum and carpet cleaner left behind! We are very happy and shipping was incredibly fast!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Don't know how it works because it arrived broken

07/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The vacuum arrived earlier than promised. When I opened the box and assembled it the foot pedal used to shut off the roller brush did not work. I called Hoover for help and the lady could not help me. She told me I had to take it to a service center 20 miles away. I was thinking why not just return it? but I did take it to the service center. The technician tried the pedal and it did not work for him either. I left it with him and he was to contact Hoover and get back with me. When I hear from him I will have to go pick it up and I will have driven 80 miles and spent a couple of hours getting something to work which should have worked right out of the box.
Recommends this product? No
From HooverUSA08/01/2014
Hi RBC3, you shouldn't have had to do that with a brand new machine. Please email Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com so we can ask you a few questions and make this right. Thanks!
--John, Customer CareHoover
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Too heavy and difficult to push

10/18/2013
By ,
Atlantic City area, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought the Hoover UH30600 based on a recommended review from Consumer Reports, but when it arrived and I put it to use, I realized that the Consumer Reports reviewers must have been "mighty apes" with super strength. On any carpet pile setting other than the deep shag selection, this vacuum is VERY difficult and tiring to push around a carpeted floor. I'm no weakling, but I was tired after vacuuming only one room and my wife quit after pushing it back and forth for only a few strokes. Perhaps it has great suction and useful tools, but those benefits are not worth all the exertion you need to get the job done. I will return this unit today to Walmart. By the way, I called Hoover and was told, "That's just the way the cleaner is designed, but we DO get some complaints about the pushing effort required". So they know the problem but seemingly are unwilling to fix it,
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Good vacuum for the price....

10/17/2013
By ,
Oxford, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this vacuum because of the good review it had received from a national Consumers magazine along with the great price at Walmart. After using it for the last couple weeks, cleaning every nook and cranny in my house, carpets, along the edging, lamp shades, upholstery, overall I would give it a good rating and good value. It picked up quite well. There are however three complaints I have. First, when using the attachments with the hose I found my hand was always getting pinched when I held the hose near the attachment and the hose was stretched then contracted. Second, although the brush does a good job of cleaning near the edge of the baseboards, there is an 1 1/2" strip about 3" from the baseboard that doesn't get cleaned because of the design of the brush. It's where the belt goes around. A second swipe will hit the spot, but I prefer the belt in the center so I can move over 6" with the second swipe as opposed to 3" the way it is now. Finally, my biggest complaint is that with this vacuum you are supposed to be able to shut off the brush spinning. When it is in the upright position it's automatic and when the handle is down there is a bar to step on. Although they do work to some degree I found, when I was using the hose attachments, the brush would still come on. It would shut off, but as I pulled on the vacuum while using the hose it would start spinning, not as fast as in the regular vacuum setting, but enough that I would feel the need to tip the vacuum to avoid additional wear on the carpet in one spot as I vacuumed the sofa etc. This brush on/off option was one of the features I was looking for in a vacuum and I must say I'm a little disappointed that it doesn't work as I expected.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Strong

04/23/2012
By ,
Cincinnati , Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I owned a previous windtunnel model and this one is way better. It is a lot lighter and easier to push around. The suction on this thing is unbelievable. It makes carpets look brand new. It ruffles up the heavy traffic areas and makes them look like the rest of the carpet. I am very impressed wih this vacuum and it's built with Hoover quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

A great new vacuum cleaner

02/10/2012
By ,
Holden Beach, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our new Hoover Wind Tunnel Max is versatile, complete with all vacuuming tools and needs, easy to use, and does a great job.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

great bagged vacuum

05/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a hoover that is 20 years old and I love it. I was looking for a bagged vacuum (I feel they are still the cleaner option) and there is a very small market for them now a days. So I saw this on line only and thought I'd take a chance...I am very happy. It has the power and tools to handle steps and hardwood that I was so use to in my old one. I could go on and on about its features. The only reason I gave it a 4 and not a 5 is because it is a bit heavy.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

disapointed

08/09/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have bought several Hoover Wind tunnel vacuums over the years. It's the best sweeper out there, however this one doesn't even compare. It's constructed of cheap plastic. I've had it one week and had to put the belt back on three times. The suction is no where near the other wind tunnels I've bought. Not impressed at all.
Recommends this product? No
From HooverUSA08/26/2014
Hi Joanna74, the belt to your cleaner should not slip. Replace the belt but this time inside out. If cleaner has barely any suction, check for any minor clogs. Remove both ends of hose off cleaner. Run a broomstick handle through the hose to knock out any possible clogs. Remove any carpet fibers/strings caught around the brush-roll. Hope this helps!

-Giselle
Hoover Customer CareHoover
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 285 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next