Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Hoover Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

The Hoover UH30600 WindTunnel MAX Bagged Upright is a complete vacuum system. It has beater brushes to thoroughly clean your carpets and a hose with tools to clean stairs, window sills and other hard-to-reach areas. Its WindTunnel MAX technology provides three channels of suction. The Hoover WindTunnel vacuum has seven different floor settings and a wide nozzle to clean large areas in fewer passes. Its cord is 30 feet long, reducing the need to re-plug. The Hoover upright vacuum cleaner features an excellent filtration system to help reduce allergens. This Hoover floor cleaner uses a clean drop-bag system so you can deposit used bags into the trash without touching them.
Average Customer Rating:
3.755 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(294 Reviews) 274
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
124
4 stars
85
3 stars
17
2 stars
25
1 star
43
Customer Recommendation73%214 out of 292reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 254 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
124
4 stars
85
3 stars
17
2 stars
25
1 star
43
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Very nice vacuum

01/22/2014
By ,
Northeast, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this after reading Consumer Reports for best vacuums for pet owners. It works very well, it picks up pet hair with no issues. The attachments work very well for furniture, dusting and general use. Bags hold much more than I expected I have used this 4 or 5 times for the whole house (small house) and still have not had to change the bag. I read a lot of reviews and saw an overwhelming amount of people that thought this was physically hard to use, I would agree to that somewhat but I think that the clean that I am getting from this is well worth the effort.This was very easy to put together. The only thing I have found that might be a long term issue is the handle. It is a somewhat flimsy plastic handle for a vacuum that is a little heavy and somewhat hard to manuever. I will just use it carefully and hopefully it will last for quite some time. Over all I like this product, I think it works very well, and like many of the attachments and have found uses for all of them.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Good vac, strong suction

03/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this Hoover UH30600 based on Consumer Reports ratings. It has powerful suction, at times too powerful (it's hard to use on little throw rugs, and there's no suction control). I put it together in a few minutes and took it for a spin. My house has all hardwood floors, except kitchen and baths, which are tile. I have fringed oriental rugs throughout. With no suction control, I have to be careful not to suck up the fringe, but I have a technique for that. I use the carpet height adjuster to somewhat alter the suction (setting it higher decreases the suction a little). I wasn't impressed with the crevice tool, but the one from my old vac fits, so I'll use that. And I can use some other tools from old vacs that this one doesn't have. My biggest gripe is that the cord attaches at the bottom of the vac, it should come out up on the handle, which keeps it from being sucked up and damaged. I'll have to wire it up where the hose hanger is--I had to do that with my last vac, too. Why can't manufacturers see this as a problem? And an easy one to fix!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

poor design, returned product

03/02/2013
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't buy it. Read this entire review. I've never written a review before, but I was so dissatisfied I didn't want anyone else to haul it home and have to haul it back. Does NOT run smoothly on bare floor (doesn't matter if the brushes are on or off#. Cord and attachment hose GET TANGLED. Extender wand is not easy to extend, DIFFICULT to lock in place, then DIFFICULT to unattach. DIFFICULT to turn the height adjuster #it's a push and turn, push to hard and it doesn't work, my husband actually had to turn it for me - and I don't let anybody touch my vacuum!# Very disappointed. It's going back. Also, if you do need a long cord, check out the product with the retractable cord. This has a long cord, put it kind of gets in the way. Also, be sure to start vacuuming on the left side of the room, if you begin on the right, the air movement from the filter #on the left of the machine) blows everything all over! Bigger mess than when I started.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Good Vacuum

07/26/2013
By ,
NEW ORLEANS, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far - so good ! I am remaining hopeful that this one will continue to do well. This vacuum was bought as a replacement for another Hoover that I had to return due to poor performance on wood floors and tile. This one works well on hard flooring and excellent on carpet and rugs ! It has great suction on carpet and rugs and picks up particles and dust bunnies on hard flooring and doesn't just push them around. There is a lever on the base of the vacuum that you can step on to stop the roller brush from spinning which helps in the pick up of particles on hard flooring. I like the maroon color and the "metallic" finish. The area where the roller brush is clear where you can see through it to determine if the roller brush is spinning or not. I haven't used the attachments yet but I think they will prove useful as well. It's also not as noisy as I thought it would be. I am happy about that and my 16- month old daughter is too ! The sound of this vacuum doesn't startle her like the previous one did. This is a good buy for any type of flooring. I would recommend this one !
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Not Entirely Happy

07/28/2013
By ,
Missouri
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought one a few months ago because I wanted something that could be used on both carpet and bare floors. The first one I had to send back after trying it one time because it made a horrible whining noise and also because the roller brush continued to spin when the handle was in in the locked upright position. The roller brush shut off properly in the replacement machine but after only a few months of use it now continues to spin while handle is in the upright position. The machine has started making a loud whining noise when I shut it off. It does pick up decently but pushing it on the bare floor setting is next to impossible. I always have to set the height to nearly max to make pushing it on bare floors possible. Overall I'm not entirely happy with my purchase but at least it does have good suction. Actually that is the only good thing I can say about this machine.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Good vaccuum for the price

10/19/2013
By ,
Folsom, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was voted a Consumer Guide Recommended Buy, which is why I chose this one. Carpet height adjustment is handy, especially since it has a barefloors setting, so I can use it on my hardwood floors as well as the carpeted areas. It is pretty light overall, especially compared to the old much heavier 10 year old vaccuum I was using. I have a dog and it seemed to pick up all the pet hair on the carpet well. It has a spinning brush at the bottom, which is better than just relying on a vaccuum with only suction. I also like that this uses a bag, easier to empty than one of those bagless models, especially when dealing with pet hair like me.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

great vacuum

04/04/2014
By ,
dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this vacuum based on the great Consumer Reports review and price. My husband vacuumed with our old vacuum then used the carpet cleaner. A day later we received this vacuum and used it throughout our house. The vacuum bag was almost full when we were done! We have 2 cats and 2 young children and this vacuum got up what our old vacuum and carpet cleaner left behind! We are very happy and shipping was incredibly fast!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Consider House Layout!

03/08/2014
By ,
Burlington ,Vt.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Before purchasing ,consider where you plan to vacuum. This machine works well on
large areas of open carpeting where you do not have to clean around and under furniture.
It is too large to fit under most beds and the hand tools which are included are too small for that purpose. The vacuum is awkward to have to carry and use on stairs. In comparison to the previous canister machine I used, the hand tools appear to be small and designed more for convenience of mounting on the unit than for their intended purpose.
It's a relative quiet running machine with good suction at an attractive price when on sale.
I suspect the limiting features of this upright vacuum are shared by other similarly priced brands and models.
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Don't Buy - Broke Within A Month

03/31/2014
By ,
Cypress, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not spend the money on this vacuum cleaner. We purchased this one to replace a Hoover we've had for 10 years. This one broke within a month.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
From HooverUSA04/02/2014
Hi! I'm sorry to hear that you're having trouble with your WindTunnel. Can you email me direct at Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com? We want to help.

-Ian
Hoover Customer CareHoover
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Too heavy and difficult to push

10/18/2013
By ,
Atlantic City area, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought the Hoover UH30600 based on a recommended review from Consumer Reports, but when it arrived and I put it to use, I realized that the Consumer Reports reviewers must have been "mighty apes" with super strength. On any carpet pile setting other than the deep shag selection, this vacuum is VERY difficult and tiring to push around a carpeted floor. I'm no weakling, but I was tired after vacuuming only one room and my wife quit after pushing it back and forth for only a few strokes. Perhaps it has great suction and useful tools, but those benefits are not worth all the exertion you need to get the job done. I will return this unit today to Walmart. By the way, I called Hoover and was told, "That's just the way the cleaner is designed, but we DO get some complaints about the pushing effort required". So they know the problem but seemingly are unwilling to fix it,
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Good vacuum for the price....

10/17/2013
By ,
Oxford, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this vacuum because of the good review it had received from a national Consumers magazine along with the great price at Walmart. After using it for the last couple weeks, cleaning every nook and cranny in my house, carpets, along the edging, lamp shades, upholstery, overall I would give it a good rating and good value. It picked up quite well. There are however three complaints I have. First, when using the attachments with the hose I found my hand was always getting pinched when I held the hose near the attachment and the hose was stretched then contracted. Second, although the brush does a good job of cleaning near the edge of the baseboards, there is an 1 1/2" strip about 3" from the baseboard that doesn't get cleaned because of the design of the brush. It's where the belt goes around. A second swipe will hit the spot, but I prefer the belt in the center so I can move over 6" with the second swipe as opposed to 3" the way it is now. Finally, my biggest complaint is that with this vacuum you are supposed to be able to shut off the brush spinning. When it is in the upright position it's automatic and when the handle is down there is a bar to step on. Although they do work to some degree I found, when I was using the hose attachments, the brush would still come on. It would shut off, but as I pulled on the vacuum while using the hose it would start spinning, not as fast as in the regular vacuum setting, but enough that I would feel the need to tip the vacuum to avoid additional wear on the carpet in one spot as I vacuumed the sofa etc. This brush on/off option was one of the features I was looking for in a vacuum and I must say I'm a little disappointed that it doesn't work as I expected.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Excellent performance for the money!

03/29/2014
By ,
Fort Wayne In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product met expectations listed in Consumers Report, minimal assembly and get suction power for cleaning animal hair as well general house work
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Very Effective and Easy

03/21/2014
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have always loved Windtunnel vacuums, and this is no exception. It picks up very nicely, especially on tile. Whereas some vacuums don't pick up sand or cat litter on hard surfaces, this one sure does.
My only complaint is that it is difficult to "lift" the front of the cleaner from a hard surface to a rug, for instance. It tilts so low that you nearly have to bring the handle to the floor to lift it up.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

We shall see

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good but I've only used it once. I don't like that the cord originates close to the bottom of the upright because I constantly have to bend over to pick it up and hold it so I don't roll over it and the wheels don't go over the lips of carpets very well. I do like that it is lighter than the last Wind Tunnel I had (for 10 years) and we shall see if this is as durable; as it seems nothing is made to last anymore. I miss the "clean light" indicator. It seems to clean very well however and is quieter than my last vacuum cleaner.
Recommends this product? Yes
From HooverUSA04/14/2014
Hi MsK98, there is a cord clip behind the handle grip where you can place the cord to keep it out of your way while you're cleaning. Give it a try and let us know if you have any questions. Hope this helps!

-Ian
Hoover Customer CareHoover
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

In love

04/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh this vacuum is just amazing! Great on carpet and bare floor, with 7 settings, amazing tools, 30' long cord and extremely long extension for the hand tools - makes your life so easy!! No wonder it's currently the best buy on Consumer Reports! :)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Love my new Hoover

04/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have three dogs and a black rug - I know, it's a crazy combination. I needed a vacuum that does a good job at picking up hair - this one is great! Carpet almost looks new.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Amazing machine!!!

05/13/2012
By ,
Cumming, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such an easy vacuum to use! It is light, has amazing sucking power, and uses bags so I don;t have to take the filter out and bang it on the garbage can after each use, a messy dirty process. The attachments work great and I love the when you bring the handle in the upright position, the brush/agitator stops spinning. There is a quick easy foot switch to switch to the hardwood floors setting without having to bend over and set the depth switch to "short" by hand - LOVE that feature. This is a great vacuum and the bonus is that we didn't have to shell out "an arm & a leg" for it. This vacuum has two separate filters that are easily accessible and a snap to clean when necessary. We have over 3,000 square feet of home and this vacuum easily does the trick... I highly recommend this machine to all home owners!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Consumer Reports Best Buy - Works Great

04/09/2014
By ,
Baltimorone, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Consumer Reports Best Buy - Functionally it works great on bare floors and carpets.
Read lots of other reviews - I do see that things could break on this - not the most durable product... I think with some care to not vacuum up strings or let it stop spinning and burn the belt out, and drop it, and ram it, etc. I can get some life out of it....Try to post a real review later in its life. But happy so far after 2 weeks.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

super

04/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn't aware of how badly my old vacuum was working. This one picked up every dog hair on the carpet.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600

Easy to handle

04/08/2014
By ,
fort myers, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This vacuum was easy to put together and even easier to use. It is lightweight and has an extra long cord to help you get more work done. The bag system makes it a cinch to replace as you never have to put your hands on the dirty one that is all full.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 233 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next