Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Crosman Crosman Tactical .177 Air Rifle

Crosman Crosman Tactical .177 Air Rifle

The Crosman Tactical .177 Air Rifle is a variable pump air rifle based on the AR platform. The .177 caliber air rifle features a rifled steel barrel and shoots both pellets (up to 625fps) and BBs (up to 660fps). The feature rich M4-177 has an adjustable sliding stock, various picatinny rails for mounting and removable/adjustable front/rear sights. Also included is a removable magazine to store extra Firepow'r clips (sold separately), ammo or other accessories.
Average Customer Rating:
4.059 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation88%15 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Crosman Tactical .177 Air Rifle

Nice gun for the price

09/08/2012
By ,
Corpus Christi, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ive had this gun for about a month now. So far im please with the performance. I purchased a 4X32 .22 BSA scope from Academy for $24.00 and a $6.00 set of dovetail to weaver adaptors to allow the scope to be mounted. Once I got the gun sighted I fired the gun about 100 times at some homeade targets. I shot from about 50ft at first with pellets with 8-10 pumps and was able to hit the bullseye or close to it at least 90% of the time even with my bad eyes. The accuracy is really good for a gun that is fairly inexpensive. The gun feels good and seems to be made out of high quality plastic. It comes with a fake clip that can be used for storage if need be but it seems to fall off the gun if you bump it too hard. The sights that come with the gun are easy to mount and simple to adjust. I use a scope because of my failing eyesight. As far as power I would give it an 8 out of 10. I believe it is advertised at 625ft/sec with pellets. With eight pumps I shot through a thick plastic mediciine bottle at about 50ft but it did not go through both ends of the bottle. I had a 1/4 inch plywood piece that I drew a target on and shot it a few times at the same distance with eight pumps and the pellets stuck in the wood but did not penetrate very deep. Im sure this gun would take down a squirrel which I intend to use it for to keep them away from my bird feeder. Its a good gun for the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Crosman Tactical .177 Air Rifle

Great rifle

04/17/2012
By ,
Huntington Station, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This m4/m15 is a good rifle if you own the real thing because itll give you practice if you cant make it to the range.Also the front sight must be adjusted out of the box.Mines was shooting high and that was bcause the sights were low.The higher yer front sight is the lower it shoots and vice versa.This rifle is all made out of plastic except for the barrel.I also recommend buying extra clips only 5 bucks for 4 of em at walmart.com.The rifle itself is beautiful and really resembles the real thing.Also besides the barrel being metal also the front and rear sights are metal.The barrel is rifled so i do not recommend shooting bbs as this will wear out the rifling and throw your aim off sights.It has piccatany rails where you canuse a scope or red dot or just the plain sights.I love this rifle and you will tooif you love military and police weapons.Great buy do not regret buying it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+95points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NC
Looks good, shoots bad...
Posted 05/01/2012
Got a M417 (the first one) and that broke in less than 2 months. Got another one M4177 (new release) - returned that one. I was in love with the idea of having a AR style CO2 rifle, but the inconsistent accuracy killed that idea. The plastic parts breaks and accuracy is a coin toss at best (I could track the BB downrange when the sun was at my back). As a disclaimer, I only used Crosman Copperhead BBs and did not try the pellet (which are said to be more accurate). But compared to my Daisy Powerline, this rifle is a joke where it counts - hitting something at distances greater than about 25 feet. Perfect if you're in it for looks and maybe hitting the target once in awhile. Oogle at the rifle because its cool...otherwise, I recommend you pass on this one unless you have low expectations from a CO2 rifle. I got better accuracy from Crosman P10/C11/C31 and Dasiy X15T pistols...and that is sad...a pistol with a 5 inch barrel out shooting a rifle....
-5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Crosman Tactical .177 Air Rifle

Great little riffle

11/09/2012
By ,
Honolulu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this at a local Walmart store. looks cool and preforms great. Very accurate for the price you pay. I thought it would be a little erratic but I hit my mark every time. I never tried very far distances yet so I don't know the drop off distance but so far for close (50') shooting it's great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Crosman Tactical .177 Air Rifle

Nice Shooter

10/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took seconds to zero in the peep sights, shoots straight and wont wake the dead. Not as loud as other air rifles and has enough rails to mount everything that you would want. The adjustable stock is a nice feature and with a red dot it will not only look cool it will be easy to track targets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Crosman Tactical .177 Air Rifle

Awsomely cool BB gun!

05/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this BB gun because I wanted to keep the deer away from my wife's flowers. It works great for that plus it just looks so cool! I've been sick and can't make it out to the range to shoot any of my other guns, so I've been setting up targets in my back yard and plinking to my heart's content. Be careful doing this though. I have an open field behind me, so it's safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Crosman Tactical .177 Air Rifle

M4-177

01/20/2013
By ,
Navarre Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ive had this rifle for 2 weeks and i am very impressed with the accuracy. Ive been shooting from 25 yds and holding a 1/2 to 1 inch group with standard Crosman hunting pellets. I have not shot any BB's yet. It was very easy to sight in. I plan to put a 4x32 scope and a bipod on it. This rifle is definitly worth the money..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Crosman Tactical .177 Air Rifle

Perfect for my needs.

09/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in da country and it great!!! I wish it had a little more power though. But it gets da job done!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Crosman Tactical .177 Air Rifle

Good bird n small game gun

08/16/2013
By ,
Paris, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
More powerful then was expecting.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Crosman Tactical .177 Air Rifle

FUN TO SHOOT

09/06/2012
By ,
Ocoee,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought mine at the local store.This is a fun gun to shoot.Worth every penny.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Crosman Tactical .177 Air Rifle
08/09/2013
By ,
vilonia arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product just wish the front sights were not missing
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Crosman Tactical .177 Air Rifle

Looks good, shoots bad...

05/01/2012
By ,
NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Got a M417 (the first one) and that broke (where the plastic front sight meets the pump hinge) in less than 2 months. Got another one M4177 (newer release - thought that one would be better) - returned that one too. I was in love with the idea of having a AR style CO2 rifle, but the inconsistent accuracy killed that idea. The plastic parts breaks and accuracy is a coin toss at best (I could see the BBs go wild when the sun was at my back). As a disclaimer, I only used Crosman Copperhead BBs and did not try the pellet (which are said to be more accurate). But compared to my Daisy Powerline (also using BBs), this rifle is a joke where it counts - hitting something at distances greater than about 25 feet. Perfect if you're in it for looks and maybe hitting the target once in awhile. Oogle at the rifle because its cool...otherwise, I recommend you pass on this one unless you have low expectations from a CO2 rifle. I got better accuracy from Crosman P10/C11/C31 and Dasiy X15T pistols...and that is sad...a pistol with a 5 inch barrel out shooting a rifle....I gave it a 2 star because it looks so good...Crosman is the right track - but need to beef up the accuracy...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tunrer, Maine
M4177
Posted 05/21/2012
What type of bbs or pellets did you use while shotting it?
-3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Crosman Tactical .177 Air Rifle

Excellent Product

06/23/2013
By ,
Manitowoc, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not sure what the poor reviews were expecting. I've had mine for about 2 months now & am VERY satisfied. This rifle has a standard picatinny rail, so you have a wide range of options for it. If it'll fit on a real M4/M-15, it'll fit on this rifle.
It comes with "iron sights". (Actually their made of durable plastic)
But anyway, the first time out, I attached the sights & had a ragged one hole group from 25 yds.
With the sights attached it does not fit back in the box, so if you keep it in the original box you have to reattach the sights each time you shoot.
Eventually I want to add a scope & a larger case so I can zero it in & leave the scope on it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Crosman Tactical .177 Air Rifle

IS NOT WORTH YOUR TIME!

10/17/2012
By ,
South Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When i got this gun it shot like i had it for 4 years. It had no power behind the shot. When i cocked the gun and to pump it, it made my hand hurt. Aim in the gun is poor and all so its uncomfortable. Byour wallut a good thing about it is ,it holds a lot of bb so no refilling for a while. Lastly
the gun is apperantly not for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Crosman Tactical .177 Air Rifle

the best design I have ever seen

12/27/2013
By ,
Alabama
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the butt snapped off like a cheep twig. wile pumping the toy I flexed the butt lightly against my shoulder,. It fell to the ground. I wept. I love this thing. Great design, cheep plastic!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Crosman Tactical .177 Air Rifle

Check the contents before you buy!!!

12/26/2012
By ,
Aurora, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased the tan version(M4-177T) before Christmas and after I had mounted the front and rear iron sites(at home) I realized that the 5-pellet magazine was missing. The boxes were on display in unsealed boxes so I wasn't sure if some other spectator had removed the magazine prior to my purchase or if it came like that from Crosman. I tried to contact Crosman through their website, but their online contact form was disabled for maintenance and it was too late to call them by phone. I basically had an $84 mantle piece(not sure why it costed more at the store compared to the online price. Crosman advises that consumers do not return the pellet gun to the store, but that was my only option. I could have payed $5-$10 since you proably pay shipping to get the set of magazines from Crosman, since no-one else seems to sell them, but $90.72 with tax for a pellet gun was already an expensive investment with no way to test the performance of the pellet gun. Walmart's customer service agreed that the magazine was supposed to be included in the package so I was refunded the full $90.72. I would have exchanged it, but the one I purchased was the last tan M4-177T.
Pros: The appearance and weight is very realistic with metal iron sites, an M4 magazine that detaches for storage, and a telescoping stock for shoulder adjustments. The handgrip could be better since it doesn't really conform to your hand. I haven't been able to test the performance of the gun since I did not have a pellet magazine, but a tool is included in the package so that you can make adjustments to the sites for better accuracy.
Cons: The night before I returned the pellet gun I tested out the pumping mechanism a couple times and there seemed to be a lot of resistance compared to other pellet guns I've used. As a result, I recommend that you pump the gun before inserting a full pellet magazine so that you don't accidentally misfire the gun into something you're not willing to destroy. There might be other cons, but I was unable to test the functionality of the gun.
I probably wouldn't recommend buying the gun from the store unless you're able to get a Walmart associate to confirm that everything is accounted for which I'm sure they would be willing to do so).
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
 
My Product Recommendations
 
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Crosman Tactical .177 Air Rifle
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5