Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lil Sew & Sew Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Lil Sew & Sew Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Get crafty with the Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine. This mini machine is perfect for small sewing projects. It is equipped with 6 Volt motor to deliver reliable performance. With two speeds, this electronic sewing machine is ideal for sleeve sewing and more. It has versatile features that includes double-thread capacity, 8 built-in stitch patterns, forward and reverse sewing and automatic thread rewind. You can even operate this double-thread sewing machine in low light conditions as it has a built-in sewing light. This device can be operated using the hand switch or foot pedal that makes for easy use. Thread bag is included with this portable sewing machine for added convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
3.545 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(112 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
8
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation71%79 out of 112reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 122 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
8
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

I am very pleased with this little machine!

12/13/2012
By ,
Surprise, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am amazed at how well this little machine works. I used it for a sweatshirt project for my niece. It comes ready to use with white thread which was great to learn how to thread the machine as well as it being ready to use right out of the box. It comes with a foot pedal also!
Its small but Im only using it for small projects, pillows, crafts, ect. It performed well with thicker sweatshirt material even tho its a small machine. I was pleased with this purchase, esp the great value and price! I didnt want an expensive machine for as much as i would be using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

It does the job!

08/12/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was skeptical about this product when I first picked it up because it was so light-weight, but I found that weight and size is not a factor for being able to sew simple things adequately. I love that I can bring it upstairs and downstairs easily and that it doesn't take up space. The spool lever on top extends to fit regular sized spools of thread. The bobbin winding took a while to figure out because I wasn't turning the bobbin pin as I was pushing in on it to try to get it extended. I had to rest the thread on top of the tension until I was finished threading though everything and with every time I needed to pull more top thread out. Then I need to remember to pull apart the tension pieces to get the thread in the correct position, otherwise, the thread would fall off the tension wheel. I tried loosening the tension wheel, but it didn't seem to make a difference.
Pros: it works!, it's cost-effective, light-weight, space-saving
Cons: no light; the tension is bothersome; couldn't figure out how to back-stitch, so I just turned the cloth around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Great little machine for small jobs or beginners

01/03/2014
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually purchased three of these little machines for an 8 yr old, a 10 yr old and a 13 yr old so I could teach them some sewing basics. Although I did have to loosen the tension on all the machines (the thread was too tight for them to easily slide the material out of the machine when they needed to), they ran smoothly. All in all, I couldn't be happier for the value and the price. I also bought each child the book The Best of Sewing Machine Fun for Kids, if any of you are buying this for a child, and I would highly recommend supervising all usage until you are comfortable with his or her ability. Best of luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Nice

10/30/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very useful when I need to do simple sewing to clothes such as on pants, etc. Now this is a small sewing machine not some industrial machine, it's not meant for hard core sewing. Unless you know how to sew like a professional, this is a good product for beginners. It is lightweight so keep that in mind. Give it a try if you are new to sewing. Takes a little practice to get used to it. If i can figure out how to work this thing than anyone can. You can't beat the price. If you don't like it go buy an expensive one if this one doesn't suit you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Great Quality, but Misleading Description

10/15/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First off, the description is misleading. I think they copied/pasted it from a different model, but this one is very basic.
The machine does NOT have
- 8 built in stitches
- forward/reverse stitching
- have a built in sewing light
It DOES have
- two speeds, high and low
- foot pedal
- power adapter
- sample sewing piece
I'm an absolute novice when it comes to sewing, but as far as I can tell, this machine is great quality. I've had it for about a week.
I love that it comes pre-threaded with a sample sewing piece. It was nice to see how it's threaded should I need to change the thread myself.
I was able to sew through four layers of flannel/fleece (three layers flannel, one layer fleece). I was making nursing pads. The stitches held up fairly well.
Though probably not recommended, I was also able to sew through elastic. It was a little tricky, but it did it. Not sure how well the stitches will hold over time though.
Great for beginners learning how to sew. Because it only comes with a basic stitch, it's a great way to get familiar with all the sewing machine parts without being overwhelmed with a hundred things going on.
I learned quite a bit from this simple sewing machine. For $22 it's an amazing bargain. Great for simple sewing projects.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Cute Lil' Sewing Machine

12/11/2013
By ,
LaGrangeville, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I gave this 4 stars because I did have a hard time with the thread staying in the needle and actually getting the thread to stitch. I also had a hard time adjusting the fabric I was sewing but that could be because the machine is smaller then a regular sized sewing machine. If you're a beginner, it's frustrating at first but I think once you keep practicing on it, you'll get it. I was able to sew an 11"x11" pillow within 15 minutes. Also, parts of the instructions seemed vague to me so I went online and looked at a video instead on how to use this. Overall, I really do like this Lil' Sew & Sew now that I've got a handle on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Great basic sewing machine

01/05/2014
By ,
Claremont, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This sewing machine is pretty great for the value. It lacks many of the features that larger machines have (being able to sew in reverse, making a button hole stitch and such) but it is really great for simple, small and quick sewing jobs. It only has 2 sewing speeds and the stitch width is the same for both but it is really easy to carry around. Highly recommended if you are looking for a light sewing machine to do simple jobs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Great for young sewers

03/11/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 12yr old daughter and she loves it. It works with the electrical cord it comes with or for a period of time, without it, as the product summary describes. It came with a pre threaded bobbin and a spool of thread, so it is ready to use right out of the box.
I dont think it is meant for heavy everyday use, or for thick materials, but it works very well with all sorts of thin to medium fabrics.
It would be great for repairs and is quite handy- being portable and all, if you need to take it with you because of its ability to run cordless and its compact size and very lightweight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+161points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Great little machine

07/13/2012
By ,
Orange County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews before I bought this and for a machine this small, it's worked at hemming jeans (it can bend the needle some if you're not careful) and I've sewn baby clothes with it.
I was dreading threading the machine correctly (because of errors other reviewers had reported, even in the instructions), but it came already threaded, with a little piece of cloth already there to try it out.
Awesome for what it was made for (a tiny machine that works fine for small projects).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine
05/31/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this little bad boy. I've never sewn a day in my life and was able to figure this one out. I hemmed a dress and it did a good job for me. It's super tiny and compact.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Great Lil' Machine

07/17/2012
By ,
Cape Coral, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This machine works amazingly well for such a small, inexpensive automatic sewer. I wouldn't use it for anything major or of particularly high quality. But, for smaller, quick and dirty (and not so dirty) projects, it works great! I used it to repair a nylon flag that flies at my dock and the repairs are holding despite the heavy winds and rain we've been having. Also modified some king-size pillow cases and made them standard. They look good. Give it a try...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Very useful for the price

01/16/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this on a whim. I use an old Singer to repair sails and covers on my sailboat. I found this to be useful for basting and small projects that will not bear any loads.
You can hold it in one hand and work on upholstery and such things.
I have not tried it on any canvas or heavy duty materials. I'm probably using it beyond what the manufacturer intended.
I would buy this for a child to get them interested in sewing and doing small projects.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+133points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

good purchase

02/17/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After purchasing singer handheld machine I was skeptical about this one too...but it's a real good purchase. Works wonderful.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Michley Li'l Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine
Posted 06/09/2013
I am delighted. This is a remarkable value, and it sews beautifully.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Michley Lil Sew & Sew LSS-202

12/10/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User Manual, Page Four, Bottom Bobbin Replacement, Item 4, "Turn the wheel handle clockwise". Clockwise did not work, but counter-clockwise, (thanks to another reviewer) did work.
Works well, but the LSS-202 received does not have a sewing light, eight-stitches, reverse sewing listed on the product description above.
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Okay for light duty, BUT...

02/01/2014
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one of these for my daughter Christmas before last and while it is a cute little sew & sew, she did not find it durable enough to do much more than light mending and basic sewing jobs. It doesn't work well with thicker fabric. Felt clogs it up horribly, even if it's a lightweight felt, so you can imagine that it won't work on denim, twill or heavy broadcloth, either. We also found foot control to be poorly constructed, as it's a tiny plastic thing smaller than your average computer mouse. It cracked the first time she used it-she ended up putting the foot control on the desktop and using it like a mouse! The continuous feed would be handy for making simple quilt tops, but don't expect it to actually sew through a layer of batting and two layers of fabric. There are a few things this machine would be great for, including teaching a young child how to sew-it's the perfect size for a pre-teen, but you would need to stick to lightweight fabrics and graduate to a better machine in a year or two. The machine is easy to thread, bobbin just drops in, and there's only a couple stitch settings. After the day she tried to sew a stuffed animal together (unstuffed, of course) and the bobbin wouldn't stay in the case and the needle was hopelessly stuck, she decided it was time to stop trying and we had to throw this little sew & sew away. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine
03/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is good for a child to learn to sew it is light weight so a child can carry it to were they want to use it at. My daughter just loves it she is ticked over it. I would recommend this to any mom with a daughter who wants to learn how to sew.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+92points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Great little machine

09/08/2012
By ,
Boise. ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In an age when merchants try to make us pay more and more for features we don't want or need, this thing is a real delight. This is just your basic sewing machine. It doesn't have a built in light, it doesn't sew backwards, it doesn't have a lot of fancy stitches, but by golly it works!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Good value and meet expectations

03/23/2014
By ,
Palo alto, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a very straight forward and simple sewing machine. The best thing is that it really works! I like it also because it has a paddle and we can use both AA batteries and DC power. My daughter who is a beginner said the stitches go very fast and she wishes that the speed can be slower.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Sri

03/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cheap and works light
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine
04/18/2012
By ,
Louisville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product! It is small in size and works great. Has an ac adapter so you don't have to worry about batteries. The foot pedal is a great added bonus as well because it allows you to use both your hands when working with material.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 94 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next