Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lil Sew & Sew Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Lil Sew & Sew Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

You and your family can get crafty with the Michley Lil' Sew and Sew Mini Sewing Machine. This is an ideal appliance for small sewing projects. It is equipped with a powerful 6-volt motor to deliver reliable performance. With two speeds, this portable sewing machine is great for just about any light sewing needs you may have. It is lightweight and easy to take with you to crafting and quilting clubs or to your child's school for those last minute costume repairs. It has versatile features that include double-thread capacity and automatic thread rewind. The device can be operated using the hand switch or foot pedal for easy use. A thread bag is included with this Michley Lil' Sew and Sew sewing machine for added convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
3.456 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(147 Reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
39
3 stars
9
2 stars
14
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation67%98 out of 147reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
58 Questions | 162 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
39
3 stars
9
2 stars
14
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

I am very pleased with this little machine!

12/13/2012
By ,
Surprise, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am amazed at how well this little machine works. I used it for a sweatshirt project for my niece. It comes ready to use with white thread which was great to learn how to thread the machine as well as it being ready to use right out of the box. It comes with a foot pedal also!
Its small but Im only using it for small projects, pillows, crafts, ect. It performed well with thicker sweatshirt material even tho its a small machine. I was pleased with this purchase, esp the great value and price! I didnt want an expensive machine for as much as i would be using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

A Small Great Sewing Machine

09/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never sewn in my life and needed one for a Halloween costume. I looked on Google and found this one and for $20, I figured why not. If it works, great and if not ... ehhh it was only $20 and I literally could not be more pleased!! It's doing everything that I needed it to do. Stitching and I sewed on patches and Velcro. This little thing is freaking awesome! If you just need a great, small, simple sewing machine, here you go.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Very usefull

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for basic stitching. This is the first time I'm using a sewing machine. It's very simple and easy to use.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Awesome little thing!

06/01/2014
By ,
Austin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I know (knew) NOTHING about sewing. I bought this small sewing machine to learn and to try out basic sewing. I use it to sew holes in clothes and do little projects (like a little felt monster (picture attached), birthday banner, etc) using felt and other fabics. It works perfectly. It is small, so its a little hard fitting a big shirt, blanket, etc., but I make it work. I recommend this to all beginners. I'll upgrade once I get better, but for now, this is great and very easy to use.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

more than a toy, less than sufficient

08/15/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I decided to take a chance on this little machine even as just a repair standby. In some ways I was impressed that the stitching mechanics worked like a real machine BUT...this is very lightweight, the pedal is unpredictable and raced out of control, and the machine does not appear to have a backstitch for ends of rows. Only one same size stitch, and tension is a real problem: you have to cut the thread at the end of the row, because there is no where to snap it off. Don't buy it for a child: too dangerous because it is more like a real machine than a toy, but without safeguards. For some it will do but for me, the stitching was fine, but hard to guide the material because of the size, and the thread kept coming unthreaded. With a little more design function, this could be nifty, but it is hard to control.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

It does the job!

08/12/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was skeptical about this product when I first picked it up because it was so light-weight, but I found that weight and size is not a factor for being able to sew simple things adequately. I love that I can bring it upstairs and downstairs easily and that it doesn't take up space. The spool lever on top extends to fit regular sized spools of thread. The bobbin winding took a while to figure out because I wasn't turning the bobbin pin as I was pushing in on it to try to get it extended. I had to rest the thread on top of the tension until I was finished threading though everything and with every time I needed to pull more top thread out. Then I need to remember to pull apart the tension pieces to get the thread in the correct position, otherwise, the thread would fall off the tension wheel. I tried loosening the tension wheel, but it didn't seem to make a difference.
Pros: it works!, it's cost-effective, light-weight, space-saving
Cons: no light; the tension is bothersome; couldn't figure out how to back-stitch, so I just turned the cloth around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Good value for the price

05/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for my 7 year old - I looked at the reviews - they were correct. She asked for a sewing machine since she saw one at our local craft store. The reviews for that machine - Singer were not good. I saw the Alex sewing machine same one different color for 3x the price - I know it came with an ice box but I did not thing $60 was reasonable - so I waited for this one to be available. Once she masters this I would purchase a biginner sewing machine, if she still has an interest. I supervise her at all times - we have been using it for two weeks now. She loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Perfect for my needs!

05/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently lost over 40 pounds and didn't want to buy all new clothes, so I took a chance on this little sewing machine, and boy, did it deliver! Perfect for taking in skirts and dresses. I hadn't touched a sewing machine in over 30 years, and this was so easy to use. Highly recommend it for small jobs.
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Good sewing machine for beginner.

04/27/2014
By ,
Glen Allen, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this device to hem my own khaki pants. This device includes 4 bob-bin reels (two already strung, and two empty ones). A great thing about this machine is that it enables you to transfer yarn onto the empty bob-bin reels. So convenient. After hemming my khakis with this device, I was instantly satisfied with the results. The stitching turned out better than expected. The machine works well on flat and thin cloths. Highly recommended for anyone who's looking for a single stitching device for small projects.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Not for Adult Projects

10/15/2014
By ,
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was tired of paying $10 every time my husband and I need to hem up a pair of pants. I decided that I was going to buy a sewing machine to save money and be more DIY. I knew it was a mini sewing machines as the title of the product is listed, but it was too small and light to where the unit was running away from me as I was sewing. I used one hand to hold down the unit and the other to hold down the pants. The hem wasn't too bad, but the finished product looked sloppy. I've used heavy duty sewing machines in the past, so this was too "little kiddie" for me. Great for young teens though. I plan to return this unit and maybe invest in something bigger.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Great Quality, but Misleading Description

10/15/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First off, the description is misleading. I think they copied/pasted it from a different model, but this one is very basic.
The machine does NOT have
- 8 built in stitches
- forward/reverse stitching
- have a built in sewing light
It DOES have
- two speeds, high and low
- foot pedal
- power adapter
- sample sewing piece
I'm an absolute novice when it comes to sewing, but as far as I can tell, this machine is great quality. I've had it for about a week.
I love that it comes pre-threaded with a sample sewing piece. It was nice to see how it's threaded should I need to change the thread myself.
I was able to sew through four layers of flannel/fleece (three layers flannel, one layer fleece). I was making nursing pads. The stitches held up fairly well.
Though probably not recommended, I was also able to sew through elastic. It was a little tricky, but it did it. Not sure how well the stitches will hold over time though.
Great for beginners learning how to sew. Because it only comes with a basic stitch, it's a great way to get familiar with all the sewing machine parts without being overwhelmed with a hundred things going on.
I learned quite a bit from this simple sewing machine. For $22 it's an amazing bargain. Great for simple sewing projects.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+106points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Nice

10/30/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very useful when I need to do simple sewing to clothes such as on pants, etc. Now this is a small sewing machine not some industrial machine, it's not meant for hard core sewing. Unless you know how to sew like a professional, this is a good product for beginners. It is lightweight so keep that in mind. Give it a try if you are new to sewing. Takes a little practice to get used to it. If i can figure out how to work this thing than anyone can. You can't beat the price. If you don't like it go buy an expensive one if this one doesn't suit you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Great for young sewers

03/11/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 12yr old daughter and she loves it. It works with the electrical cord it comes with or for a period of time, without it, as the product summary describes. It came with a pre threaded bobbin and a spool of thread, so it is ready to use right out of the box.
I dont think it is meant for heavy everyday use, or for thick materials, but it works very well with all sorts of thin to medium fabrics.
It would be great for repairs and is quite handy- being portable and all, if you need to take it with you because of its ability to run cordless and its compact size and very lightweight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+165points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Great little machine

07/13/2012
By ,
Orange County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews before I bought this and for a machine this small, it's worked at hemming jeans (it can bend the needle some if you're not careful) and I've sewn baby clothes with it.
I was dreading threading the machine correctly (because of errors other reviewers had reported, even in the instructions), but it came already threaded, with a little piece of cloth already there to try it out.
Awesome for what it was made for (a tiny machine that works fine for small projects).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Great little machine for small jobs or beginners

01/03/2014
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually purchased three of these little machines for an 8 yr old, a 10 yr old and a 13 yr old so I could teach them some sewing basics. Although I did have to loosen the tension on all the machines (the thread was too tight for them to easily slide the material out of the machine when they needed to), they ran smoothly. All in all, I couldn't be happier for the value and the price. I also bought each child the book The Best of Sewing Machine Fun for Kids, if any of you are buying this for a child, and I would highly recommend supervising all usage until you are comfortable with his or her ability. Best of luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

great machine for the price!

09/13/2014
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is well made for the 19.00 price. It has a foot peddle and sews nicely.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine
05/31/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this little bad boy. I've never sewn a day in my life and was able to figure this one out. I hemmed a dress and it did a good job for me. It's super tiny and compact.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Cute Lil' Sewing Machine

12/11/2013
By ,
LaGrangeville, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I gave this 4 stars because I did have a hard time with the thread staying in the needle and actually getting the thread to stitch. I also had a hard time adjusting the fabric I was sewing but that could be because the machine is smaller then a regular sized sewing machine. If you're a beginner, it's frustrating at first but I think once you keep practicing on it, you'll get it. I was able to sew an 11"x11" pillow within 15 minutes. Also, parts of the instructions seemed vague to me so I went online and looked at a video instead on how to use this. Overall, I really do like this Lil' Sew & Sew now that I've got a handle on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Great Lil' Machine

07/17/2012
By ,
Cape Coral, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This machine works amazingly well for such a small, inexpensive automatic sewer. I wouldn't use it for anything major or of particularly high quality. But, for smaller, quick and dirty (and not so dirty) projects, it works great! I used it to repair a nylon flag that flies at my dock and the repairs are holding despite the heavy winds and rain we've been having. Also modified some king-size pillow cases and made them standard. They look good. Give it a try...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Mini Sewing Machine

Hard to use

10/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It is not easy to use or something is wrong with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 129 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next