Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lil Sew & Sew Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine

Lil Sew & Sew Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine

The Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Desktop Sewing Machine is versatile enough take care of all your sewing needs or craft projects. This multi-purpose 8-stitch sewing machine features two speed settings, reverse and forward sewing, double-thread capacity, automatic thread rewind, and eight integrated stitch patterns. A built-in LED light brighten up the workspace. This Michley Lil' Sewing Machine allows you to use either its included foot pedal or hand switch. This portable Michley Lil' Sew & Sew Desktop Sewing Machine has a compact and lightweight design. You can store additional thread and other sewing accessories in the storage drawer of this 8-stitch sewing machine.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation75%30 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 50 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine

Desktop sewing m/c good for small craft project

12/06/2012
By ,
Easton, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I brought this sewing machine for my mother who wanted a handy machine for alteration and small craft projects. It met her expectation but if you are looking for a sturdy and fast machine buy a full size model. The price and quality seems reasonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine

meets my needs

03/21/2013
By ,
Alpine, Calif.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received this little machine 2 days ago from a big chain store for 56.25
When I saw the price at Walmart I could have flipped--39.97
The machine arrived with a sample piece of fabric under the presser foot with all the different stitches. After reading every word in the manual, I plugged it in and only tried a few stitches on the sample fabric, the stitches looked exactly what had been sewn on the fabric sample.
In the manual on page 10--it states the thickness of cloth to use with this machine.
Best to sew double layers of cloth, thus every stitch is available. And best to use No. 6, 7, and 8 stitch to sew soft cloth or silk instead of other stitch patterns.
As for the thread breaking the problem maybe the needle or tension as suggested in the problem page in back of the manual.
The main purpose of purchasing this machine was to use in our 5th wheel when traveling. I think it will do its job for what I want it to do.
A word to the wise---ALWAYS CHECK WALMART PRICES FIRST
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine

Great Little Machine

06/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed something portable for my Event business, and this was the ticket. Lightweight, with a good selection of stitches, operates on a battery as well as AC (!) - perfect for my job. I was skeptical, but after using it for 2 upcoming events, the machine exceeded my expectations for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine

Started off okay but it doesn't last

07/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a serious novice when it comes to sewing but I needed a simple machine to sew the dozens and dozens of patches and merit badges on my sons' Boy Scout uniforms. This machine worked okay for about a year, but now suddenly the bobbin thread won't engage with the top thread. I spent hours trying to work this out with the product maker via email, to no avail. While they did respond, they really didn't have the advice I needed to fix it. I even took it into a sewing machine repair shop who couldn't figure out why the bobbin thread wouldn't pull through. They of course told me it was a cheap P.O.S. So the bottom line is - it worked for a while, but you get what you pay for. This was just too cheap and I should have know better. I'll spend a little more on the next one so it will last longer
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine

Great for beginners (Kids)

12/26/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 10 year old granddaughter has developed an interest in sewing. She made pillows of all family members with my sewing machine. When she opened her gifts and saw this machine, she was overjoyed! She could not wait to use. It is more her size and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine

Good learner, minor frustrations

07/07/2012
By ,
Austin, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a good sewing machine for a beginner or for someone who wants to occasionally craft. I purchased it for my 7 yo daughter to use for making doll clothes, etc. It is extremely light weight and small making it very easy to store when not in use. I wanted something with a foot pedal vs. just batteries and the fact that this machine comes with a pedal is a bonus compared to other small machines in the same price category. We have not used every stitch thus far - - only the straight stitch and the zig zag stitch. Each have worked fine. It is very easy to switch between stitches by using the dial on the front of the machine. Being an experienced sewer, it was easy for me to overcome any of the frustrations that came with this machine but an inexperienced sewer might give up on sewing altogether if using this independently (without someone there to help you out/to help you problem solve). Here is a rundown of the issues that we had with the machine:
- The thread broke quite frequently but that being said, this machine is VERY easy to thread.
- The bobbin winder was pretty ineffective, winding the bobbin very poorly and sloppily. The thread slipped off the bobbin while winding and wound itself, instead, around the bobbin pin (perhaps there is a missing cap or something of that sorts?) Rather than struggling with this I just used my little side winder to wind any bobbins that we needed. Please note that you must use metal bobbins with this machine as the bobbin tension is set with a magnet.
- The machine comes with a cap to put on top of the spool, but we almost immediately lost this top. :( This is not your typical cap. Rather than sitting on top of the thread it kind of "locks" into place. The machine still works without it, but the thread will sometimes, but infrequently slip without this part.
- Spool size is an issue with this machine. Only the smaller half-sized thread spools will fit in this machine. This is not really because of height but rather girth. The spool pin sits down in a little gully of sorts. A regular sized spool is too fat to fit in this gully. In addition to the half size spools, I also managed to use the taller, skinnier Gutterman thread spools with this machine. When using these you can not us the spool cap at all. Without this cap, the thread sometimes slipped.
- The feed dog is very, very weak. You have to basically use some light pushing and pulling to get the fabric through. This became a nuisance at both the beginning and ending edges of the project, and was very challenging for my 7 yo daughter. We overcame this by me starting and finishing off each row for her. But, it should be noted that even I had a difficult time starting and stopping each row since without a properly working feed dog, the fabric would easily get stuck in the machine. This issue also made it very difficult to keep a straight line while sewing.
- The arm on the machine is what you see is what you get - - stationery. So, doing arm holes or hemming would be rather difficult on this.
Bottom line - - if you are wanting to sew seriously and this is your only machine - - I would not purchase this. But, if you are teaching someone to sew and want to spend little this seems to be an o.k. purchase used in conjunction with existing sewing tools that you already own (such as bobbin winder, more advanced machine, etc). Another good use of this machine is if you want a lightweight portable occasional machine for crafting or light sewing, this machine will do the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+141points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bradley, OK
Feed dogs and straight line sewing
Posted 08/11/2012
I use the chain sewing method and do not have a problem with fabric getting pushed down into the feed. I also do not have to push or pull the fabric. The machine pulls the fabric just fine by itself without assistance. I have no problem starting or stopping. The feed dogs are weak. I have to guide the fabric along my marked seam lines, but it does sew straight.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine

Excellent for light usage

12/16/2013
By ,
Ward AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love to quilt. I have been using it for sewing my quilt blocks. It is good if you don't have a lot of room. Also for the first time sewer very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine

Don't Like it

02/19/2012
By ,
FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I thought this would be a great sewing machine, but after I began to use it, it wasn't at all what I expected. It doesn't sew straight and sometimes it gets stuck and will not stop. Plus you have to keep untangling the bobbin, Maybe this would be good for a kid that is first learning on how to sew but not for sewers.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine

I love this little machine

08/08/2012
By ,
Bradley, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I use this machine for sewing quilt pieces together and for ditch quilting. It can attach borders with difficulty. I have to use the hand wheel and a 16 gauge needle for this. I would not recommend it for garments because the stitches are not tight enough. However, the looseness of the stitches and longer stitch length (3 options) make it perfect for quilting. I have a 1972 model Husqvarna Viking and a 1964 Montgomery Ward Straight Stitch, and this Michley is my every day machine. I love the light weight portability. I can use it anywhere. Other machines have feet and require special furniture. This one has a flat base so I can use it on any level surface, even my lap. The slow speed means fewer mistakes and consistent seams. I also like the drop in bobbin.
This machine has a lot of drawbacks. It is not for the impatient or the inexperienced. It does not function like a standard machine because it does not have the motor power. It only has one speed and that is slow. The wiring schematic was not followed correctly in the factory and this basically makes it a lemon. But, I've learned to make lemonade.
Disregard what it says in the item description. This machine must be used with the foot pedal and the switch in the OFF position. The Low/High switch positions were mis-wired in the factory and do not function properly. Using these positions will cause the machine to run by itself with or without the foot pedal. It sews fine with the switch in the OFF position using the foot pedal. Do not try to use it any other way; you will only get frustrated.
The back stitch function is difficult because the switch doesn't lock. You have to hold it down with one hand while guiding the fabric with the other. An auto stitch lock function would have been better, but they probably would have screwed that up too. The length of even the shortest stitch makes back stitching a waste of time anyway. I leave long tails of thread when I remove a finished piece from the machine, tie a knot in each and pull the thread under the fabric with a needle like in hand quilting.
The thread loop (number 2 position on the machine) does not hold the thread very well. It will occasionally come out and the thread will catch in the bobbin, causing a bird's nest and the machine will hang up. A simple solution is, using two small strips of the new painter's tape, secure a piece of fabric over the opening. The thread will not slip or adhere to the tape. This new tape does not leave a sticky residue and can be removed and placed back easily for threading.
The spool pin does not accommodate a standard spool. I use a bobbin on the spool pin and it works just fine. This trick can be used on any machine and several bobbins with different thread colors can be stacked on the pin. To change thread, simply remove it from the needle and place it back out of the way and re-thread with a different color without moving the bobbins. This works for using a twin or multi-needle when you only have one spool pin and for embroidery.
The plate does not have seam guides, so I marked 1/4 and 1/2 inch with an ultra fine permanent marker. I haven't used the bobbin winder because I have a Side Winder.
Considering that the machine does not function properly, I feel that I paid too much for it. $20 would have been a better price. I still like the machine and will continue to use it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine
02/28/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
if you are doing small projects its ok but would not recommend if you are a person that is going
to sew a lot, not a good choice presser foot too small.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine
03/06/2012
By ,
stafford, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great startter machine, i just have to get use to the machine running without me stepping on pedal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine

Great sewing machine for a 7 year old beginner.

12/30/2012
By ,
Hoffman Estates, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The power in the machine is just right for a young beginner. She can control it easily. And yet when she masters sewing you can use the faster speed button. She stitched her Girls Scott badges on with ease.
Love the many stitch selections.
I worried that I should have spend my money on a more advanced model for her but I am very happy with the machine. I have been a sewer for many years so I have some knowledge as to how a machine works.
On any machine, the bobbin area can easily jam up, you have to be careful to keep the threads in the bobbin area how they should be.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine

Don't risk it.

02/14/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've know how to sew for 60 years--learned on an old-fasioned treadle machine and moved on from there. I never did figure out how to get this machine to catch a stitch. I suspect the problem was with the bobbin, but I couldn't be sure. There was nothing in the printed directions to help me. When I called the customer "help" number a recording referred me to the web page. When I went to the web page, there were no FAQ's as promised and when I clicked "support", the screen said that page couldn't be found. At that point, I gave up. I hope I just happened to get a rare lemon, but the customer support fiasco might indicate otherwise.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine

Great for small jobs.

04/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hemmed two pair of pants and was very pleased. Good little machine.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine

Hate it!

09/27/2012
By ,
Pensacola, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's way too slow to get anything done and the stitch size is inconsistent. So is the tension. Pay the $60 and get something that works!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine

Terrible product.

01/10/2013
By ,
Hiram, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought the Michley as a first sewing machine. I wanted to learn how to sew and I was excited to try. I learned a lot with this machine...mostly about what things can go wrong.
I had issues with:
- The thread coming out of the eye several times in the middle of sewing. Occasional breakage also.
- I had no idea how to thread the bobbin. I did it by accident a few times, but it was hard. I looked in the manual AND I watched several videos to try to figure it out to no avail. I had to go to a sewing store and have a professional help me. The lady told me that this machine was more of a cheap child's toy than a sewing machine.
- One time, the needle just fell right off in the middle of sewing.
- The top thread didn't want to pick up the bobbin thread a few times. I had to call customer service at one point. They could barely speak English and had very little skill or politeness.
- The machine is very noisy and the bobbin spinner shakes/clanks like it's falling apart.
- The tension is very hard to manage. I had issues with skipping, keeping the thread even and tight, etc.
- The bobbin winder was AWFUL. It would wind the thread normally and tightly at first, then it would widen and send little loops out all over the place. I tried to sew with it just like that and numerous times, the machine would eat the loops of thread because they'd hang out.
- The thread will sometimes come off and wrap around the top or the bottom of the holder.
- The plastic thread holder is cheap and will pop right off if you let it.
Admittedly, I learned how to machine sew no problem. But all of the issues it took to learn plus all of the bad things that continuously cropped up ARE NOT WORTH IT!
I know everyone is trying to save money these days, but my advice is to save your money for a better machine with a real name behind it, such as Singer or Brother. Do some research and get a machine that will last you YEARS, not a couple of months like mine.
I returned this machine and I will avoid Michley/Tivax products like the plague.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine

Machine

09/10/2012
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used couple time recently. It is small what suit me. Easy to operate and only for simple mending. I like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine

Great sewing machine for beginners

10/30/2012
By ,
philadelphia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I believe this product is great . I would recommend this to everyone who wants to sew .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine

Sewing Machine

03/24/2014
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was disappointed in my choice of this machine. I tried to repair a double knit blouse and the stiches would not hold. It does not have a light like most machines, and I'm sorry I did not order the more expensive machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 8-Stitch Desktop Sewing Machine
08/01/2013
By ,
Fresno
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this sewing machine work excellent I make 3 dress very nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1 2 Next