Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lil Sew & Sew Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine

Lil Sew & Sew Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine

Sew any material from silk to denim with the Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2 Stitch Portable Sewing Machine. It provides perfect stitch control and makes a great gift for handicraft enthusiasts, beginner, or students studying fashion designing. The compact sewing machine features automatic thread rewind, and forward and reverse sewing. With a user-friendly design, the Michley sewing machine provides a top drop-in bobbin for easy threading, an easy on/off control button, automatic thread rewind, and a large-sized button for changing the speed setting from minimum to maximum. The automatic threading sewing machine consumes DC 6-volt power. Ideal for small projects, the sewing machine can be started using a foot pedal or hand switch.
Average Customer Rating:
3.227 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation62%13 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine

sewing

11/22/2012
By ,
Arvada, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great!! it's very easy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine

You get what you pay for.

05/04/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this machine because I wanted to start sewing, and I didn't want to spend a lot of money and find out that I hated sewing. The motor on it is so small that it can't propel the fabric through on its own, as a result you have to pull and push causing lines that are nowhere near straight. If you dont push or pull the fabric it will continue to needle the same spot until you move it. I made a few projects, but it isn't meant for more than two layers of fabric. The backstitch lever is a nightmare, because you have to feed the fabric through and pull it out and hold the backstitch all at the same time. The bobbin threader was horrible, you have to hold your spool of thread to keep it from spinning out of control, even with that help, they are some pretty ill-shapen bobbins. The directions were not well written and very vague, with many typos. All in all $30, I learned that I like sewing and that I will have to move on to something a little more powerful. I just wish I could return it now, since it just broke 2 months in with only a few projects.
:Walmart.com
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine
10/07/2013
By ,
Birmingham, Alabama
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Small, but works well, sews like a large machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine
09/17/2013
By ,
Shelton Wa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My boyfriend bought me this knowing how much I love sewing, I had read a bit about this machine so we thought we would try it. We ended up taking it back. I could not even get it to sew through a layer of fabric. It is light weight, cute, and can use batteries however the actual machine does not run at a very quick speed even plugged in. I would never recommend this even for a beginner or a child, it would be to frustrating. I found a machine in the store that I never saw listed online and it was about 30$ more. I is worth spending a little more for a different working machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine

Worth what I paid

04/25/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First off, I have zero experience sewing....but I wanted to make something for my friend's children. I bought this little machine on clearance and love it. It's perfect for me. Granted I paid half this price because it was on clearance, but it has definitely been worth the $$. I've made two cotton kindermat covers and hemmed a shower curtain for my grandmother.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine

Great for Beginners and very basic use

02/23/2013
By ,
Washington DC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Out of the Box you receive the sewing machine with the foot pedal, AC adapter, additional needle as well as some threading. The product already comes per-threaded, but it is threaded the wrong way (I think to make sure that it stays temporarily as an -almost- example of how it should be. The light that come with it is not quite bright but good enough to help out if you are in a dim setting. So far I've only used it to turn a winter hat into a headband (for the reason being that girls who wear winter skull hats with pony tails look silly) , which was 4 layers, so you will not be able to adjust the presser foot to a higher height if the fabric is too thick. The only stitch patterns are these (---). Overall it is a decent product for someone just wanting the VERY BASICS of sewing. Kind of like having a pair of regular scissors- you can use it on a variety of things but it still only has one function. Don't try anything too fancy although I later am determined to use this product to sew together my first steel boned corset. This is quite I project so if I can use this machine to do that, I will be very happy with the product.
P.S. You might want to purchase a warranty as well since I've read that it occasionally has its malfunctions.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine

MichleyLil sewing machine

08/26/2012
By ,
Cypress texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased it to teach my grandaughters how to sew. It works with normal fabrics it does the job of a normal sewing machine. You do have to take into consideration that is very small is not for huge tasks, but for simple sewing jobs it works perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine

Terrible!

03/18/2012
By ,
Westminster, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was able to sew about 2 feet of hem and then the sewing machine started breaking the top thread and the motor would stall. Don't waste your time or money on this piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine
01/30/2013
By ,
Mesa, Ariizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am retired and no longer needed a full size sewing machine and this one is fantastic for me to do minor mending and repairs. It is light weight and easy to use and excellent directions. I like the 2 stitch option - Wish it came with a foot control. I am sure for the price it is well worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine

Great sewing machine for a beginner.

10/13/2012
By ,
San Ramon CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this for my 15 year old daughter. She likes it, and it's great for small projects.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine

wish it worked

08/24/2013
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought it for my wife. Looking for something simple to use and easy set up for small jobs. So she wouldn't have to pull out her large electronic one. She loved how light it was. But after two days of messing withing it trying to get it to sew. No special instructions on how to insert the bobbin. Just drop in, drop foot rotate handle and get thread when it came out. That worked. But the stitch would never grab. Returned to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine

Not sure it's worth it

02/11/2014
By ,
LV NV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this sewing machine for my 8 year old granddaughter. I DID NOT want to buy her a toy...I wanted to buy her a real sewing machine which is what this product advertised itself as being. It said it was for the beginning sewer. It's usable...but it's just one notch above a toy...it's not very sturdy. It's difficult for her to use... It was hard for even me to use... Just to get it to sit still while it stitched took two hands which made it difficult to hold the fabric...it's just not worth it.
It does what it advertised...but it's just not worth it. I should have bought a more expensive, REAL sewing machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine

Bought this for my 5yr old granddaughter

02/08/2014
By ,
BIXBY, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
She wanted to be able to sew with her great grandmother who sews all the time. Had looked at other sewing machines and reviews that show they are toy machines. They were not only more expensive but did not really sew and looked cheap. My mother who has owned several showing machines and a quilting machine was even impressed with this. Probably a good item for beginners ages 5 to 12. Maybe even for a 13/14 yr old
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine

Not even new

01/01/2014
By ,
Columbus ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this as a gift for my daughter. When we opened it, we quickly realized that someone had used it, broken it, returned it and then we bought the broken used one. Very disappointed. Walmart didn't check the retrined item. All the thread was half gone and whoever had it before us left fabric they had practiced on in the machine! Obviously used! We are returning it, hope no one else gets this particular used machine again! Picture is how machine cane out of box!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine
07/15/2013
By ,
queens ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For someone who doesn't or ever used a machine this is easy to use. Love it Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine

grandma's helper

03/31/2013
By ,
Sacramento ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect for all those little, nips,tucks, seleves, trouser cuffs & assorted wash day mending tasks, that is also easy to put away when the laundry is finished. It also is easy on arthritic hands.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine
03/12/2013
By ,
Ashland Oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was impressed the first time I used this machine, however the second time the machine would not stitch evenly then it failed to stitch at all
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine

Sewing Machine

12/02/2013
By ,
Peoria, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Me and my granddaughter loves to do crafts she has been gluing things together when she isnt at my house to use my machine. So, I cant wait for her to open this on Christmas
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine
09/30/2013
By ,
Lynchburg VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for the full time RVer. Light and easy to store. Works well for small repairs
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Michley Lil' Sew & Sew 2-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine

Don't waste your money!!!

09/04/2013
By ,
Nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I should have known this was a waste of time and money. Got it home and it did not work! I sent it back to the store for a refund. Please don't waste your time and just buy a normal size seeing machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next