Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 0.9 cu ft Microwave, Black

RCA RCA 0.9 cu ft Microwave, Black

The RCA RMW953 0.9-Cubic Foot Microwave Oven can be an ideal choice to defrost, cook or reheat your food. You can make use of its six one-touch functions for preparing an assortment of delicious food items. It has 900 watts of cooking power, which can be used on 10 different power levels. This auto cook microwave oven includes a removable glass turntable for easy cleaning. The spacious 0.9-cubic foot oven features a child lock-out feature for safety and the black exterior of the microwave looks good in any kitchen.
Average Customer Rating:
4.103 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(214 Reviews) 156
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
115
4 stars
58
3 stars
10
2 stars
10
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation84%177 out of 210reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 82 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
115
4 stars
58
3 stars
10
2 stars
10
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 0.9 cu ft Microwave, Black

Excellent, low cost microwave

12/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This microwave was just shipped to me and I was glad it's just what I expected. Very user friendly and gets the job done!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA 0.9 cu ft Microwave, Black
02/07/2013
By ,
highland springs, va
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i have only had the microwave 2 days...and have used it 2 or 3 times...its a little louder than I'm use to..I'm going to give it a few more tries..may return it..just a little too loud for me..it sounds like my last microwave before it died..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
 
My Product Recommendations
 
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA 0.9 cu ft Microwave, Black

Beware if you need service help for this microwave

04/08/2014
By ,
SW VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This microwave is alright if you just need it for cooking small things or warming up. It tends to leave hot and cold areas and requires additional cooking time resulting in areas being over cooked. I needed help with a small item dealing with the setup and called the service dept. Be aware that you will not get much help because they are in Canada and are not very good at speaking English. I was hung up on the first time when the person couldn't help me and the second time I was told they could not tell what to do because they would not be held responsible if I caused any damage. When I asked to speak to an American who could understand what I was asking, I was told no one worked there that was American that the service dept. was in Canada. I asked if I could have a number so I could talk to an American service dept. he said he didn't have one and I promptly thanked him and hung up. I called my local Walmart and they helped me solve my problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA 0.9 cu ft Microwave, Black

We Love It!

05/04/2013
By ,
middletown, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for our office at work, with about 8-10 people who would have access to it.
Wal-mart may not have a big selection of microwaves in their stores, but they for sure have the biggest & best selection on-line. I did the free shipping with the site-to-store option. When I ordered it, it said it would be about 2 weeks to arrive at my local store, it was actually there in less than a week.
It's a great price for a very nice looking, popular name brand microwave....who even knew RCA made microwave ovens ?? It's quiet, and easy to use. (the instruction manual was not in the box & we were still able to figure out all the features & how to use them) It has the rotating carousel & cooks in a timely fashion.
Easy to read & use touch pad, with some pre-set cooking times. Can also cook by weight. The clock is a bright color & easy to read also. You can't go wrong here, if this is the size (0.9cu ft) microwave you are looking for, this is a great looking, inexpensive microwave. We all love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA 0.9 cu ft Microwave, Black
03/12/2012
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this to be shipped to my home and I received it in 3 days! I've had this microwave for 3 weeks and it's great. The size is the same as my previous 700 watt microwave but has 900watts of power, which is exactly what I was searching for. I wanted black or a stainless look but it doesn't come in stainless. I like the panel design as I can quickly key in 20 sec. to reheat coffee. No 30 second heat which works for me. It has a pull handle which is what I wanted. The only things that were not quite up to par were that the finish on top was uneven and the metal panel on one side had only one screw holding it on (the other side had two) so the panel was not flush with the front panel on that side. Both of these things are not very noticeable unless you really look closely. Overall, it's a great microwave!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA 0.9 cu ft Microwave, Black

Great product for the price!

05/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This microwave is quiet, heats evenly and quickly, and is compact in size. The interior is large enough for a dinner plate. Popcorn cooks in 2 minutes, which shocked me. It took 3 1/2 minutes to cook popcorn with my old microwave. Being disabled, I rely on a microwave oven for all hot meals, and this one meets my needs. The door handle is attached very securely, which was a concern I had prior to my decision to purchase this model. The exterior is as attractive as pictured on this site. To prevent the microwave from sliding when opening the door, I cut small squares of rubberized drawer liner material and placed them between the counter top and microwave legs. I am very pleased with my purchase.
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA 0.9 cu ft Microwave, Black

Great for small spaces and sleek design

02/24/2012
By ,
San Francisco, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just ordered this microwave for my small studio apartment. I like that this microwave is very easily accessible; rather than having to push 'cook time' or another button before you enter time, you can just automatically enter the time. I like the glass turntable and the variety of buttons for quick cooking options. This heats up my food just fine and is a little bit smaller than an average microwave - but this is not noticeable at all. I also like that it has a handle rather than a push button to open.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA 0.9 cu ft Microwave, Black

Good, so far, but it has only been 3 weeks.

11/25/2013
By ,
Asheville, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this to replace a Sunbeam which only lasted 4 months. I was disappointed to see that this RCA was EXACTLY identical to the one going to the landfill. Same door, same case, same instructions, same annoying beeps if you don't remove your food immediately. The only difference is the layout of the touch pad controls. My research revealed that both RCA and Sunbeam are brands owned by Curtis, International. The microwaves are manufactured by Galanz in Guangdong, China. Though I didn't happen to see as many reviews of poor reliability for the RCA as for the Sunbeam, I suspect that the chances of this one lasting through the warrantee period are no greater than if I had bought another Sunbeam. However, "Sunbeam's" warrantee procedure is not as difficult as "RCA's". If this one dies in a few months, I have to ship the whole thing to Canada to get my money back. Maybe I be luckier this time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA 0.9 cu ft Microwave, Black

Perfect for my space

10/31/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's not too loud while it's on, and the bell is not annoying. The "time countdown" disappears while it's timing but if you touch the timer button, it tells you how much time is left. Fits nicely on my small counter and it looks nice there. No cheesy push-to-open found here, it has a regular handle. I recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA 0.9 cu ft Microwave, Black
03/16/2012
By ,
Duncannon, Pennsyvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this on Tuesday of this week and got it yesterday.....I am so pleased with this microwave. It is very quiet and has a great look. Heats very well. The only thing I didn't like was when using the timer feature once you put in the minutes you cannot see the countdown time it switches back to the regular time until the beep sounds when the timer is finished. I would highly reccomend this to everyone.......What a great microwave for the money!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA 0.9 cu ft Microwave, Black

Happily using for the past 6 months

12/28/2013
By ,
Union City, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been using this product for the past 6 months and I would definitely say it's worth the price. We never faced any issues with this microwave and it very much serves our day-to-day needs. Only mistake that I did was opting for a 0.9 cu ft. Sometimes, I feel we should have opted for a bigger one. Rest, it works just like a charm.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA 0.9 cu ft Microwave, Black

900 Watts of Power

04/16/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this microwave for two main reasons:
1) Price
2) Power
The Price was great, and it wasn't sold in any store...
The Power is fantastic!!! My husband likes his food re-heated hot, and when I went to re-heat some food for him, he couldn't even eat it right away cause it was so hot and I used the re-heat button, which displayed 3.15 minutes...
I really like the fact that there are several menu buttons that you can actually use... Although we don't really "cook" in it per say.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA 0.9 cu ft Microwave, Black

Nice small oven but with inefficient controls

03/12/2012
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This microwave is the perfect size for me; full size dinner plates easily fit inside. It also looks good and works well. However, Walmart's product description stating "6 one-touch cooking functions" is incorrect. All of the cooking functions require more than one button to be pressed. On my recently deceased microwave, I could cook something for 2 minutes, 3 minutes, 4 minutes, etc by pressing just one button. This machine requires four button presses to do the same thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA 0.9 cu ft Microwave, Black

Product is fine.

03/17/2014
By ,
United States
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This small microwave has a lot of space inside. I can heat my tall cup of coffee up with no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA 0.9 cu ft Microwave, Black

good product!

04/14/2012
By ,
HANOVER, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the budget conscious, this item is terrific; it does the basic things a microwave is expected to do satisfactorily plus the incredible low price with added good looks that it appears very presentable indeed.
I would definitely recommend it to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA 0.9 cu ft Microwave, Black

Nice Microwave!

02/10/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful microwave for my bedroom suite! Since I'm handicapped I appreciate the convenience of this great microwave!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA 0.9 cu ft Microwave, Black

Works great!

01/25/2012
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this item shipped to me today and I love it already. It's smaller than I expected but is powerful and looks nice in the kitchen. It was a well spent $59!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+96points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA 0.9 cu ft Microwave, Black

A great product!

03/14/2012
By ,
Very upstate New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Designed to cook substantial amounts, especially with the rounded back, but fits nicely on the counter and in micro carts. Easy to operate. Has a lot of bells and whistles I don't use, but no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA 0.9 cu ft Microwave, Black

Good price, but highly disappointed

04/27/2012
By ,
Mount Vernon, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I checked out the previous reviews on this particular microwave and they were very good. So, I decided to purchase it. I ordered it online the Friday. By Tuesday, the product was already delivered to my home. One side of it was dented in. Thinking that it was a minor detail, I went on to use it anyway. It worked ok the 1st couple of times very quietly. Then the sound started getting a little louder. It cut off a couple of times and I guess after the microwave reset itself, it turned back on. Then I noticed that whenever I would open the door to either put something in or take something out, it had an odor like burning electric wires and the light inside of it would flicker on and off every now and then. But there was no smoke. But guess what? I will be returning it tomorrow. Based on the previous reviews (which were mostly good), I guess I got a defective one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA 0.9 cu ft Microwave, Black

I would suggest trying another brand of microwave.

02/05/2014
By ,
Helen, MT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Regardless of power setting this microwave has a major league hot spot in the middle, so most meals end up with an inedible, hard crusty center. The instructions say to stir occasionally while cooking to distribute the heat, but many of the recipes and meals I make can't or shouldn't be stirred.
The clock is fast and has to be reset monthly.
This may be a petty complaint or personal issue, but in my kitchen, the beep or audible signal the microwave makes when cooking is complete seems very loud and annoying to, which makes the fact that for some reason they've made it beep even when you open the door after cooking, even more annoying.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 157 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next