Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Simmons Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope

Simmons Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope

This Simmons Blazer Spotting Scope is a rugged, durable scope with multiple uses. The Simmons Spotting Scope 20-60X60 is equally at home in the field, at the shooting range or even while bird watching. This Simmons Scope is fully fog-proof and waterproof. Wherever you use it, the Simmons Blazer Spotting Scope will give you a clear view, every time.
Average Customer Rating:
3.481 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation70%19 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope

Worthless Tripod

01/25/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While the optics and functions of the scope are acceptable for the price, the tripod included is awful. Its made of thin aluminum and very cheap, flimsy plastic. It attempts to give you table-top and ground set-up in one device and does neither well. The tripod is just flimsy and you can't get zeroed in on an object. You can adjust and adjust for five minutes and then only get your object slightly centered in the end. The scope vibrates around in the slightest breeze and should you give it the lightest touch, the image bounces around. Simmons could have made this product a LOT better just by pairing it with a simple, table-top tripod instead of the tripod it has with extendable legs and a crank-up stem. The tripod, in a word, is just junk and barely usable in any format. It wouldn't keep a camera stable for a shot at 10 feet, let alone a scope that's zeroed in at 200 yards! I'll keep the scope and retro fit it to a tripod of my own design made of steel.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope

Great Scope For The Money!

07/27/2012
By ,
Augusta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This scope works very well with excellent clarity. No problem seeing .17 caliber holes in a target at 100 yards. I know there have been some less glowing reviews, but this scope has more than met my expectations. Considering the low cost it is a phenomonal value. The tripod takes a little getting used to but once you get the hang of it, it works well. The elevation crank handle on the tripod is probably the weakest part so just make sure the centerpost is free before working the crank handle because placing too much pressure on it could cause it to break easily. So, just use a little caution and I think you will be very satisfied with this scope, plus the purchase won't put you in the poorhouse or get you in trouble with your spouse!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope

Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope

11/21/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the price, it is a good scope, at first I had a little difficulty with the view finder, with the very light weight tri-pod, it does bounce around a little, but if you put the scope on a shooting table or some other solid foundation, it seems to work ok, I did not want to spend a lot of money on a spotting scope, and this unit will do for me, but I have a feeling that for very serious shooters they will want more. However, if you are like me, that shoot occasionally, and not in competition, this scope should fill your needs... hope this helps with your decision.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope

Simmons Blazer Spotting Scope

12/31/2012
By ,
Ashtabula
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let's make one thing perfectly clear here, this is a 59.00 scope with tripod. It would be totally unrealistic to compare this scope to the high end scopes. With that being said, here is my reveiw of this scope. First ditch the tripod, it is extremely unstable. The head assembly of the tripod, where you mount the scope; is poorly made. The slightest vibration will cause the sight picture to jump all over the place. Go out and purchase a good quality camera tripod, the mounts are the same. Now the scope is good, zoom and focus works well. I was able to clearly see my pistol shots at the 25 yard line and my rifle shots at the 50 yard line. I have no dought this scope will perform well at the 100 and 200 yard lines. A good tripod is the key as you need a sturdy platform for the scope.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope

Bringing the world up close and personal

11/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great little scope especially for the price. I have taken it out into the field and it worked great. Compact enough to throw in my back pac a atv all over the mountains. Thanks. I'm sure Ill get years of use out of this scope.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope

Great Scope for the Money!

11/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this at the range and have had no issues with it. You can't beat the price and the 2 year protection plan covers the scope & tripod for under $7. WalMart.com does it again in a big way for me. So much better than in-store selections. Getcha one of these if you like to shoot!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope

Great deal

08/08/2013
By ,
Duncan, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this scope several months ago for target shooting and it's a winner.
The tripod is flimsy, but it IS INCLUDED! I was thrilled they included a tripod and it has a number of features I use regularly. The 3 position adj legs are great for uneven ground and it has pan & tilt as well as a quick release that's really handy.
I have a small video camera that I mount on the Simmons tripod and a heavy duty tripod I use for the scope.
The video camera acts as my spotter and records hits for very long distance targets.
The optics are as good or better than any other in this range. I like where the focus knob is on the body, not close to the range adjustment so they don't get confused.
Scopes are often blamed for bad optics but Air turbulence, heat mirage, dust, humidity, haze and other atmospheric conditions all affect image quality so take that into consideration while reading reviews.
I'm using this to look for pencil size holes in paper and cardboard two hundred yards away.
That's two football fields away, usually with wind and dust, and it works great.
For about $60 it's an awesome deal.
And since I have a friends scope to compare with... It doesn't matter which one I use, the farther the distance the lesser the image quality and the harder it is to get aligned.
I didn't expect thousand dollar optics and I didn't get them, but I did get a better deal than anticipated!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope

Simmons blazer 20x60x60 spotting scope.

11/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great scope, super clear, nice zoom and the price is right. The only con is vertically no eye relief.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope

Good Buy

07/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have got to admit I didn't think this scope was going to be much, but I was surprised. I took out to sight in a iron sights 20" Rossi 45 colt at 150 yards. After a couple shots I took a look at 60 Power it was clear and sharp. I think this scope would be good up to 300 yards. You get what you pay for but great for the price. For the person who wants something for occasional shooting this is the scope. I hope Walmart continues to stock them. The down side the tripod is cheap but works if you glue the mounting bracket to the post. Also the carrying bag only holds the scope and offers no protection. I had also bought a scope from Harbor Freight and took it back. Its wouldn't make a good kids toy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope

decent, for the price.

08/26/2014
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used the Blazer at home looking at various distances in the woods. The scope works well at all powers (20-60) showing a good clear picture. When mounted on the tripod, it seems very front heavy but that also helps stabilize the scope and prevent teetering back and forth in the winds. The neck of the tripod should be made stronger. For the price, I would say that it is a good value. For people who shoot at the range occasionally, it will do the job up to 100 yards and not break the bank.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope

Good Scope - Not so Good Tripod

01/04/2013
By ,
Kimberly, Idaho
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this scope for use in sighting in our hunting rifles. It seems to work good for that purpose. Haven't had a chance to do anything else with it, but it's early in the year. The tripod for it is pure junk. I used my camera tripod and it's pretty stable. The eye relief at the higher setting don't work well with my glasses, but I don't need them so much when looking through the scope. I think for the price it's well worth it. Just toss the tripod to begin with.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope

very favorable

10/06/2014
By ,
Jasper AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This scope's quality far exceeded the price that I paid. Shipping was faster than advertised. Thanks Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope

The eye relief at the long zoom range is unusable

09/11/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It is good at 20x range but when it gets closer to 40x or 60x, then it is unusable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope

Poor long range view

03/30/2014
By ,
Columbus
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this scope to spot for target shooting. I saw all the reviews about the poor tripod, but it is fine if you're using it on a bench/table top. Viewing targets at 100yrds was excellent, but the scope would not focus clearly on a target at 200yrds and beyond and the view was foggy. I was hoping to be able to use this scope for distances up to 300yrds but it didn't make the cut so I returned it. I was hoping to get by with a cheap scope, but it looks as though I will have to spent a little more than $60.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope
12/20/2012
By ,
Ocala, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great scope for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope

Good spotting scope for a beginner.

10/03/2013
By ,
Vicksburg, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Simmons Spotting Scope was exactly what I was looking for. I have deer and other wildlife in a field about 400 yards away. This scope brings them into good view. The tripod was a little short and I need to put it on a table, but it is all good. The zoom and focus features are in a good position and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope
09/27/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I wanted. Great to shop without leaving home and using expensive gas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope

Decent for the price, but tripod is trash

01/21/2013
By ,
Melbourne, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First one had bubbles and other imperfections on an inner lens so it was returned. I actually got the only one in nearby stores, so I had a competitor price match and bought it there. 2nd one I got had a hard time screwing in the tripod mount (store display unit tripod mount was completely stripped out) but once I got it threaded it was OK. Opened up the tripod and one leg was busted... the tripod is literally junk. Replaced tripod with a better one I already had as well as a tabletop tripod for when a full sized is not needed or just too big.
Find a good one that's not busted and it's worth the $60
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope

Very unstable

05/26/2012
By ,
Indiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very unstable and difficult to focus and 100yds.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
franklin nj
simmons spotting scope
Posted 07/21/2012
dont buy it. .ok at 20 setting, but soon as you try to adjust it collapses to a white dot. i cant even give it away. its worthless
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope
09/12/2013
By ,
Alamogordo, NM
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product is a super buy as far as the scope itself goes. However, the tripod is a piece of junk. Fortunately I had a tripod for my camera and am using it with the scope. I like the scope a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next