Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Evenflo Evenflo - Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna

Evenflo Evenflo - Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna

The Evenflo Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna is designed to fit babies weighing 5 to 22 pounds. It offers three shoulder harness positions and two crotch buckle positions for a secure fit. This rear facing car seat has an energy-absorbing foam liner that provides maximum comfort and protection to your child. It features a canopy that provides shade and shields your baby from sun, wind, and other harmful elements. The seat pad detaches easily for hassle-free maintenance. Installation is a breeze with the convenient latch system. You can easily carry this baby car seat with its ergonomic handle.
Average Customer Rating:
4.051 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
15
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation81%47 out of 58reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 31 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
15
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Evenflo - Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna

As a grandmother,I would not buy it

11/25/2012
By ,
Waco,Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not support my granddaughters head,I was told to put something under back of the base to make it lean back.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Evenflo - Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna

Fantastic car seat for the price!

04/14/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this car seat for my daughter to use while we were on vacation so we wouldn't have to take her car seat on the airplane. I decided to get a "cheap" car seat since we would only be using it for a week or so. The only thing "cheap" about this car seat is the price! I was pleasantly surprised at the quality. We own another very expensive, "top-rated" car seat, and this car seat worked just as well as the one we have at home. I love that it's lightweight (ours is SO heavy), the fabric is stain-resistant, the handle is designed to be easy to carry, and the design is so cute. The only thing I would change about it would be to make the strap adjustment feature easier. It was not easy to do. However, that was a minor flaw in comparison to all the other great things about it. I have definitely learned my lesson...more expensive does NOT always equal better. This seat is absolutely fantastic, and I will keep it in mind if/when we have future children.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Evenflo - Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna

VERY CHEAP CARSEAT you get what you pay for......

05/03/2012
By ,
RoseBud AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this for our daughter the day she was born. She was early and we had to have a seat. The Walmart store only had three seats to choose from. This one this seat in boy and a Graco. We should have bought the Graco. I have only had this seat for four months and the sunshade has already broken on it. The seat is very inconvient to wash, and it doesn't have much padding. The prongs that hold the seat straps in at the crotch are made of very flimsy plastic. I am very disappointed with this seat. If you are considering buying this seat do your self a favor and don't do it. Don't waste your money. I had a Graco seat with my other 2 kids and NEVER had one ounce of trouble out of it. Please spend the few extra dollars and buy the GRACO. THis is a very cheap carseat. You get what you pay for.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
newhampshire
VERY CHEAP WORTH THE PRICE
Posted 06/01/2013
i got this car seat last year for lily and she loves sitting in it
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Evenflo - Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna

Is this the best seat for you?

02/17/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As a Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician and Instructor I've installed the Discovery 5 many many times in the 11 years I've been certified. While this seat does tend to fit newborn babies quite well and the price is great. It does have many downfalls.
First, you must loosen and tighten the harness webbing from the back of the seat. Why is this such a big deal? Because with newborn babies, they are quite small (even the bigger newborns) and when the harness is properly fitted there is not a lot of webbing to work with. So when putting baby in and taking baby out of the seat it is quite difficult if you do not loosen the webbing some. This is not an easy task with this seat. I recommend that parents to play with the adjuster before purchasing. Put a doll in the seat and see if you can easily tighten it, and then loosen it.
The second major downfall to this seat is that it does not fit well in most vehicles. Evenflo REQUIRES that the handle be in a down and locked position in the vehicle, and that there be 1.5-2 inches of clearance from the handle in all directions. In most vehicles this would put the front seats pushed dangerously forward for whoever rides in that seat. I highly suggest to anyone considering purchasing this seat that they try it in their vehicle prior to purchasing.
Another downfall is that it is hard to put in and remove from the base. There is a lip on the front of the base that "holds" the seat into the base. This makes it more difficult to get the seat in and out of the base. I suggest playing with it before purchasing.
So in summary...
Pros: Seat fits newborn babies well and the price is great.
Cons: Handle must be down and locked and requires 1.5-2in of clearance around it. Has a rear harness adjuster making it harder to loosen and tighten. And its difficult to get in and out of the base.
Parents, choose a seat with will fit your car, your baby, and one you will use correctly each and every single time. Do your research and try seats out, play with the adjusters etc... prior to purchasing. Before your baby is born, find a Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician in your area and visit them to ensure your seat is installed correctly and you know how to use it correctly.
Recommends this product? No
 
My Product Recommendations
Chicco - KeyFit 30 Infant Car Seat, Fuego
5 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
Safety 1st - onBoard 35 Infant Car Seat, Orion Pink
4.7 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Walmart.com Response:From PaolaMerchandise Buyer03/07/2012
Thank you for your comments regarding our Discovery Infant Carrier.
A best practice is to adjust the harness position with each use to ensure a good fit. This car seat does fit in MOST vehicles and it is required that the handle be in a down and locked position, but the gap between the front seat need only be 1.5 inches. If this is a problem for smaller vehicles, a good fit can also be found in a center rear seating position. The “Stay-in-Car” base does have a lip on the front, which makes the installation different from other seats but allows the base to lock to the seat without the need for additional parts.
+125points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
To Paola...
Posted 04/11/2012
With all due respect I have to greatly disagree. This carseat does NOT fit in most vehicles. I've been checking carseats for 11 years as a Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician and Instructor. I've literally dealt with this seats hundreds and hundreds of times. In the last 4 years I've had a very small handful actually fit into vehicles. It will not fit even in a Dodge Durango, in any seating position. You must have the clearance all the way around the handle, in all directions. So often times the space between the seats in the middle position is not large enough to accommodate that either. Also keep in mind there are center consoles etc... And you must also have the clearance from those. I've spoken in great detail with the engineers at Evenflo on this topic. I'm quite knowledgeable in the matter.
Other seats don't have "other parts" to lock them into the base either. I do not know a single infant seat that requires another part to lock it into the base, and this one has the lip on the front of the base which makes snapping the seat into the base difficult.
+6points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Evenflo - Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna

Does not work with the Snap and Go Stroller

05/02/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The price is a deal and the safety ratings are up to par, however it does not work with the Snap and Go stroller or any other frame stroller that we could find. The Snap and Go site states that the stroller works with Evenflo carseats, however we found out after we purchased it that it does not work with this particular Evenflo car seat. We have registered for an alternate stroller, but had originally been looking for that convenience. I called the Evenflo customer service hotline, but they do not have a list of any frame strollers that would work with this car seat.
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
des moines
It DOES work with snap and go!
Posted 04/23/2013
we have this EXACT car seat with the same snap and go stroller and it works fine! not sure why this review says it doesn't work....
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Evenflo - Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna

good car seat for travel

07/08/2012
By ,
Austin, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this car seat to use on a trip so we didn't have to take our great big Britax with us. Buying and shipping this one to our destination was a lot cheaper than renting a car seat from the rental car co. and I didn't have to worry about our expensive car seat getting lost or damage going through baggage. My daughter is 10 months old and she fit nicely in the car seat and seemed comfortable. The car seat was easy to adjust and install when we arrived at the rental car co. Overall it worked well however there were a few cons. I am sure it is not as safe as our regular car seat and the clearance required from this car seat to the front seat required us to have a big rental car (which we needed anyway). I would do this again!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Evenflo - Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna

Great car seat for an infant

08/25/2012
By ,
chantilly VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with the Evenflow-Discovery 5 infant car seat Marianna, is very light and you can carry it around almost every where. not too expensive. I love it, would recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Evenflo - Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna
04/15/2013
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I LOVE the appearance of this carseat. As soon as I knew I was having a girl I thought I HAD to have that. Even better I got it on sale at my local walmart for about half the price.
But now that I've used it for 2 weeks, I'm thinking I should have spent more on a better, easier to use (but less cute) carseat. The canopy is very short compared to other seats, and the harness is a pain to work with. It all tightens in the back, and each strap has to be done one at a time. Add in a wiggling, screaming baby, and you'll understand my frustration. And I really don't like that it doesn't come with any support cushions for a newborn. My little girl was born over 8lbs, but her head was just bobbing around in the thing and the harness straps are just a tad too wide for her shoulders.
Otherwise it's been easy to install in our Jeep Liberty (which also has our Son's Evenflo Tribute V convertible) both with and without the base.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Evenflo - Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna

Very cheaply made!!

09/25/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this product for my newborn child, I hate it!! The seat sits way to straight up which makes her head fall forward. The car seat gets stuck in the base that buckles into the car it took me over 15 min to get it loose. I got my money back and will never buy this brand of car seat again!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Evenflo - Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna

Gorgeous

05/09/2013
By ,
Greenville, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gorgeous and affordable. I was surprised this item didn't cost much. It is extremely cute and exceeds my expectations......go for it....order one today.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Evenflo - Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna

Poorly Built

01/14/2014
By ,
Rigby,ID
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this right after our daughter was born. Before this one we had a Graco and expected more from this carseat. A month after we bought it the umbrella part on it broke. It's a pain in the neck to adjust. The quality of it feels very poor.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Evenflo - Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna

Great price.

07/08/2012
By ,
Estelline, SD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would purchase this again. Easy to install. Easy to carry. Typical adjustment, best done remove from vehicle.
The car seat does not fit well in the back seat of a small car, but works great in the mini-van.
We did need to purchase a separate neck support for the new born, but the additional cost was still less expensive than most other car seats in the store. I like the fabric, it should be easy to keep clean.
The price and shipping cost couldn't be beat. Arrived in less than a week.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Evenflo - Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna

No compatible stroller available

11/09/2012
By ,
PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Marianna car seat is okay. Pretty pattern and easy to install, not much cushion, had to purchase that separately. Eveflo customer service has advised that they DO NOT OFFER A STROLLER IN THIS STYLE. Apparently the only stroller that accepts the Discovery 5 is the Journey stroller (no numbers following the name) which is only offered in a brown multi print and only sold at Kmart. I wish I knew this before purchasing. Hopefully, I can exchange this headache.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Evenflo - Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna

Beautiful seat!

02/19/2012
By ,
80015
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this carseat and I love it! It's beautiful, very easy to figure out.
I also got the matching infant carrier.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Evenflo - Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna

loved the product and the price

03/21/2014
By ,
pasadena,tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered online and got it shipped to my store for free. Didn't take long at all. Looks beautiful and works perfect!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Evenflo - Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna
01/08/2013
By ,
Riverdale, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for $54.88 and it was cute however I did not read the reviews. It does not connect to a stroller so it would not be feasbile to use. Also after I purchased Walmart lowered the price to $41.00. I sent it back.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Evenflo - Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna

Ok for the price

06/28/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought this for our first baby. I checked out lots of car seats and most of them seemed way too pricy. I thought, why so expensive, if they are all the same?! ... Boy was i wrong... Every day I struggle to put my baby into the car seat base because of the hook part. Also, because it is so high up on the seat, my daughter's head always tilts forward and when i see her, she is drooling all over herself. Geez... And I came to see the more expensive car seats are much easier to deal with. I am very glad my baby will be outgrowing it in a few months. I will be investing on the extra bucks on the next baby and buy a better car seat, to let my baby and myself have a better experience...
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Evenflo - Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna

love this

01/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the pattern on this car seat. Very easy to use and install.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Evenflo - Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna

Easy to use

01/19/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lightweight but durable. Love it
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Evenflo - Discovery 5 Infant Car Seat, Marianna

Great Infant Car Seat for the Price!

01/09/2014
By ,
Winston Salem NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful for a Girl and a Great Car Seat for the Price!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1 2 3 Next