Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Toshiba Camileo X400 Full HD Digital Camcorder w/ 23x Optical Zoom, 3.0" LCD Display, Electronic Image Stabilization

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Toshiba Toshiba Camileo X400 Full HD Digital Camcorder w/ 23x Optical Zoom, 3.0" LCD Display, Electronic Image Stabilization

The Toshiba Camileo X400 Camcorder with 3.0" LCD display unleashes the artist within. You'll easily fill the frame without destroying the picture, thanks to a powerful 23x optical zoom lens and Electronic Image Stabilization. Like all Camileo models, this full HD digital camcorder w/ 23x optical zoom records stunning 1080p Full HD video in stereo. You'll enjoy sensational sound and visuals while capturing footage from parties, vacations, graduations and other events. Plus, this camcorder with image stabilization comes with a microphone jack, mini HDMI and AV outputs. Note: Memory card not included with the Toshiba Camileo X400 Camcorder. Purchase of a memory card is highly recommended.
Average Customer Rating:
3.87 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation76%35 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Toshiba Camileo X400 Full HD Digital Camcorder w/ 23x Optical Zoom, 3.0" LCD Display, Electronic Image Stabilization

waste of money!

12/23/2012
By ,
Keeseville, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned this product within 2 weeks of purchase. The video constantly faded in and out of focus. The pictures were all blurry. HORRIBLE!! Do NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY! If I could have given it a ZERO for a rating I would have. Very disappointed!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 2 for Toshiba Camileo X400 Full HD Digital Camcorder w/ 23x Optical Zoom, 3.0" LCD Display, Electronic Image Stabilization

Tremendously Efficient Camcorder

10/27/2012
By ,
Cleveland, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camcorder is great. First, it offers many features in which an individual can understand and use it effectively. The camcorder has great optical zoom and great light absorption. Also, the touchscreen 3" LCD screen is sweet! The screen is easy to maneuver through and offers great ease with the finger. Finally, the battery life is alright. I haven't used it and had my battery die, so I think it's battery life will not propose a problem for anyone who wishes to use it for a long period of time (buying a spare battery is always an option). In conclusion, this Toshiba camcorder is great for the range of film makers that are beginners to experts, it offers great features and styles that many other camcorders do not. Good Luck in your decision!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 3 for Toshiba Camileo X400 Full HD Digital Camcorder w/ 23x Optical Zoom, 3.0" LCD Display, Electronic Image Stabilization

A lot of camera for the price.

10/19/2012
By ,
TOOL,TEXAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for an HD camera with the features this camera has.
The time lapse and telephoto zoom to start with is a real plus. The quality of workmanship and packaging was another. The bundling of the camera, SD Card, and the camera case was also a great deal. The still photos are sharp with vivid color, the video is also sharp and vivid. To get quality results from this camera, become familiar with it and refer to the instructions often. I also like the touch screen menu features. I judge a video by the texture of the grass and the leaves on trees. If you can see grass blades and leaves on the trees instead of blobs of color, you can say that's High Definition. This camera does that, a lot of camera for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+65points
Review 4 for Toshiba Camileo X400 Full HD Digital Camcorder w/ 23x Optical Zoom, 3.0" LCD Display, Electronic Image Stabilization

Okay camcorder for price

10/30/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This camcorder has problems stabilizing. Besides that it seems fine for the price. Just keep in mind that in the middle of your videos your camcorder will start to refocus itself.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Review 5 for Toshiba Camileo X400 Full HD Digital Camcorder w/ 23x Optical Zoom, 3.0" LCD Display, Electronic Image Stabilization

A good little cam for the money,

11/09/2012
By ,
denton
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life is less than expected with the optional light on. BUT easy to handle and carry.Simple to explore options thru the touch screen.It was a special ,came with an SD card and carrying case. I have a Mac and was happy to see the card plays well on it . Good deal for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 6 for Toshiba Camileo X400 Full HD Digital Camcorder w/ 23x Optical Zoom, 3.0" LCD Display, Electronic Image Stabilization

Nice Camcorder

10/26/2012
By ,
Utica, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks good, works well, and has a good price.
Photos are a little low quality, but it's a camcorder, right?
Also struggles a bit in low light...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Review 7 for Toshiba Camileo X400 Full HD Digital Camcorder w/ 23x Optical Zoom, 3.0" LCD Display, Electronic Image Stabilization
10/30/2012
By ,
cols.,ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good product for the money, couldn't be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 8 for Toshiba Camileo X400 Full HD Digital Camcorder w/ 23x Optical Zoom, 3.0" LCD Display, Electronic Image Stabilization

WONDERFUL

10/26/2012
By ,
PORT ST. LUCIE, FLORIDA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VERY SIMPLE AND COMPACT AND EASY.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 9 for Toshiba Camileo X400 Full HD Digital Camcorder w/ 23x Optical Zoom, 3.0" LCD Display, Electronic Image Stabilization

Good family camcorder. Just used it on Thanksgivi

11/26/2012
By ,
brownsville, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It takes good video and is easy to handle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 10 for Toshiba Camileo X400 Full HD Digital Camcorder w/ 23x Optical Zoom, 3.0" LCD Display, Electronic Image Stabilization
11/27/2012
By ,
vernal,ut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use . Quality videos.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Toshiba Camileo X400 Full HD Digital Camcorder w/ 23x Optical Zoom, 3.0" LCD Display, Electronic Image Stabilization

Not what I had hoped

10/29/2012
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not happy with this camera. Not hard to use, but the result is grainy and not good quality. I am planning on returning it pronto.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 12 for Toshiba Camileo X400 Full HD Digital Camcorder w/ 23x Optical Zoom, 3.0" LCD Display, Electronic Image Stabilization

Disappointing... DON'T BUY!!!

01/27/2013
By ,
Pomfret, CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This camera is packed so thoughtfully, you think you are getting something terribly expensive!- the box is so gorgeous! And your anticipation is hard to control!!!
But -- when you start trying it out, your anticipation wanes to disappointment...
You must get an expansion memory card. You only get like 30sec on the internal memory...
The Start/Stop button is hard to push, making it difficult AND - doesn't protrude out enough for you to have a good 'feel'...
Why it has to be so BIG compared to the OTHER buttons is a mystery...
The Zoom button is either full zoom or nothing. There is no such thing as 'slow' zoom.
You can't put a bigger battery into the camera - and it is a mongrel non-standard...
It's available on eBay for a shocking $19.99 ! What a rip!
The recorded sound level is WAY too low!!! THAT is enough reason to return it!
The operating icons on the screen aren't big enough. The icons in the Menus aren't big enough! Plan on using a stylus - if you can FIND one! (I hope you have tiny fingertips...)
Ditto when recording. You have to squint to see if you are recording or not...
You can't attach a lens hood, so make sure the sun is BEHIND you - not on the side of you!
The supplied Toshiba camera bag is too small, and just too tight for the camera, and you can't carry anything else, like the charger... It's worthless...
The Walmart bonus bag is roomy enough for the camera, but the side pockets are too small for the charger...
If you want to plug in an ext mic, you have to open the LCD, which turns on the camera. The ext mic does not help the audio problem!!!
The video output connector doesn't make a good connection!
I went thro TWO of these. I returned the 1st one because of low audio, and the 2nd one because of low audio AND NO HI DEF PICTURE!!!!
Will I buy a 3rd?
nawwwwww...
Don't forget - You only get 15days to return it if you don't like it!!!
I'm really glad I bought it from Walmart instead of eBay! I'd be stuck with it if I bought it on eBay...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Toshiba Camileo X400 Full HD Digital Camcorder w/ 23x Optical Zoom, 3.0" LCD Display, Electronic Image Stabilization
10/25/2012
By ,
Sugarland, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The camera has a 23X Optical Zoom but it will not zoom. I am taking it back to the WalMart closest to my home for either repair or getting a new camera. Not pleased at all!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Toshiba Camileo X400 Full HD Digital Camcorder w/ 23x Optical Zoom, 3.0" LCD Display, Electronic Image Stabilization

Love this camcorder!

12/16/2012
By ,
Springfield, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this camcorder after searching for one for several months online. I thought the packaging was very nice and it looked very expensive. (although it wasn't) I had bought another camcorder and it went back because it basically had no directions and was very grainy and hard to navigate. However, this one is AWESOME I LOVE IT! Super easy to work and trust me I'm no pro, but I was camcording my grandchildren in no time at all! The only thing I've had problems with is when we view what we've taped we have icons on it that I can't figure out how to get them off, we watch it on the tv or on the camcorder itself it has icons on top and bottom, but I'm sure I'll figure it out after I play with it for awhile. I would recommend this camcorder to anyone, it's a keeper! Very very affordable also!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Toshiba Camileo X400 Full HD Digital Camcorder w/ 23x Optical Zoom, 3.0" LCD Display, Electronic Image Stabilization

bang for your buck!

01/07/2013
By ,
Bridgewater, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my fiance is obsessed w this camera. works well- probably should invest in a tripod (focus a little shaky with movement). other than that- grrrreat value for the low price. add about $35 to the overall price though, no memory card.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 16 for Toshiba Camileo X400 Full HD Digital Camcorder w/ 23x Optical Zoom, 3.0" LCD Display, Electronic Image Stabilization
12/10/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a nice camcorder however it was too small for my hands. I could not seem to grip it properly with one hand so I ended up holding it mostly between my fingers without it seated in the palm of my hand. Then I would need to steady it with my other hand. Distance focus was very good. Close up, and video within 10 ft was grainy. My backyard is habbitat for mourning doves and other birds, with feeders etc, and sometimes they get close to the window and I wanted to take closeups of normal and unusual bird activity. Also after the full 4hour plus charging, the battery was more than 50% spent after 7 mins of video according to red and green bars on the battery indicator. I returned the camcorder to wallmart store. I read the reviews about grainy photos and short battery life bfore I bought. I still think this is a good deal but the battery life was really the reason I was concerned and returned it within the Wallmart 15 day return window. Also I was comparing the photo quality with my Sony digital camera which is excellent. If wallmart return period was 30 days or more then maybe I would have adjusted to the camcorder but I did not want to risk being stuck with something I was not satisfied with. As always Wallmart was excellent with customer service nd I am thankfull for that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 17 for Toshiba Camileo X400 Full HD Digital Camcorder w/ 23x Optical Zoom, 3.0" LCD Display, Electronic Image Stabilization

Nice camcorder

03/13/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera has a very nice optical zoom and the video quality is very good. One disappointment is that in order to use the camera as a webcam, it kills all operation of the camera including the screen image. You can't adjust the zoom while in the webcam mode. You have to set it up where you want it before plugging the USB cord into the camera from the computer. It is, however, the only camcorder that I have found that can be used as a webcam. Fairly light, but heavy enough to feel sturdy. It has audio input so you can plug in a better microphone or mixer board for your sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 18 for Toshiba Camileo X400 Full HD Digital Camcorder w/ 23x Optical Zoom, 3.0" LCD Display, Electronic Image Stabilization

Great camera

03/01/2013
By ,
Louisville, Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got this camera and I think it is awesome for the price! Has many cool features. It will more then serve my needs. The bag that comes with the package is a little smaller then I had expected but it will work fine as long as all I need to carry is the charger. Other cables will not fit. Also if you are thinking of buying it without the sd card and case, a small case actually comes in the camera box. For everyday home use I think this is a great value and a great camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 19 for Toshiba Camileo X400 Full HD Digital Camcorder w/ 23x Optical Zoom, 3.0" LCD Display, Electronic Image Stabilization

Don't Buy

01/24/2013
By ,
Elkin, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This camcorder does everthing but work. It will not stay focused when things or people are moving and the battery won't last long enough for sporting events. Loved all the features and they worked good but a camcorder's first job is to have clear images and last through the events but this one falls very short of that. If you buy this item you will regret it. And I bought it as a package and the memory card showed up 5 days after the camcorder and it won't work without a card.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Toshiba Camileo X400 Full HD Digital Camcorder w/ 23x Optical Zoom, 3.0" LCD Display, Electronic Image Stabilization

Nice little camer

12/01/2012
By ,
daytona beach
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We did not want to spend to much money on camcorder so we chose this one. Toshiba usually have good products, and this is one of them. Everything is working as it should. Sometimes I have trouble to connect it to my computer, it does not recognize it immediately. Not sure if this is user error. I was afraid about the life on the battery after reading some bad reviews about it, but so far so good. I will purchase back up anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next