Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Revlon Revlon Smoothstay 1" Titanium Plated Hair Straightener

Revlon Revlon Smoothstay 1" Titanium Plated Hair Straightener

Titanium transfers heat faster than other materials, so you get instant, frizz-free results in less time with this Revlon Smoothstay Titanium Plated 1" Hair Straightener. With faster heat transfer, this Revlon Hair Straightener allows less damage for healthier, shinier styles. The ion-producing properties of titanium naturally lock in moisture for healthy, shiny, frizz-free results. With an easy-glide slim plate, this Titanium Hair Straightener can be used for straightening, curling and creating flips. This Revlon Smoothstay Titanium Plated 1" Hair Straightener has 400 F professional high heat with a 30-second heat-up time, allowing you to use it right away. With variable heat setting and an automatic shut-off, this Revlon Hair Straightener is easy to use for almost anyone. This Titanium Hair Straightener also has a separate on/off switch with an "on" indicator light and a tangle-free swivel cord.
Average Customer Rating:
2.706 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation41%7 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 0 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Revlon Smoothstay 1" Titanium Plated Hair Straightener

Titanium beats Ceramic

02/16/2014
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned a Revlon Titanium Plated Iron for two years and it still functions as if I just purchased it. I have had my share of Ceramic irons and from my experience the plates become scratched in months and they build up hair product residue over time making the plates look rusted.
I have read the reviews with low ratings and it is my belief that those with thick wavy hair who have used the flat iron and have not achieved straight results are using the product incorrectly by trying to straighten large sections of hair at a time. It is important to straighten small sections when it comes to using a flat iron on thick wavy hair. Also, I have seen reviews that state that the iron did get their hair straight but their hair did not maintain the straightness. To touch on that, the purpose of the iron is to straighten out the hair so, the tool did what it was intended to do. I would advise that users apply a heat protectant product and or a frizz control serum in order to retain straightness for a longer duration of time.
To sum things up, I am "African American" and I have very thick medium wavy hair. I am able to straighten my hair with this tool effectively--In fact, after using the flat iron my hair looks like it has been relaxed. This is my reasoning for my rating.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Revlon Smoothstay 1" Titanium Plated Hair Straightener

It has swag

11/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works very well (:
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Revlon Smoothstay 1" Titanium Plated Hair Straightener

Doesnt do the job. Hair is still wavy

12/01/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The only good thing about this flat iron is how smoothly it glides through your hair. But it absolutely does not get the curl out. I have thick wavy hair and have used many many different flat irons. In this 10 years that ive been flat ironing my hair, This is by far the worst iron ive used. When I finish the wave is still there. It glides through SO smoothly that it doesnt really do anything. It doesnt pull the hair enough to straighten it. I gave it to my daughter who has biracial hair, she said she doesnt want it because it doesnt straighten her hair either
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Houston
Its...okay..but want something better
Posted 02/04/2012
I have very wavy, thick hair when I blow dry my hair fresh out of the shower. This straighter works alright once you flatten it through the first time, then i go to sleep, I wake up with wavy hair, and takes a little while to get it all straight again to go to school, then once i come back from school, or once school's almost over, my hair starts getting a little wavy again, but thick, to the point where I have to just tie my hair back, and I've heard it can damage your hair, or prevent hair growth, so i'm scared to use it any longer, and want a new one.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Revlon Smoothstay 1" Titanium Plated Hair Straightener

Very helpful

10/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a good working flat iron . it doesn't burn & smell like my other ceramic flatirons .
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Revlon Smoothstay 1" Titanium Plated Hair Straightener
03/09/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have dark, thick, curly hair and this did no justice to it.
It was still curly after going the same section multiple times!
It does not get hot enough at all.
I took it back after using it only one time and got a Remington.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Revlon Smoothstay 1" Titanium Plated Hair Straightener

HORRIBLE! MADE HAIR STRINGY AND DIDN'T STRAIGHTEN!

08/12/2014
By ,
Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this only because my other straightener gave out and I wanted to try a smaller plate. Oh how wrong was I. It made my semi-thick hair stringy and oily and took forever to straighten and it doesn't stay that way! I run it over a wave, and it stays wavy.It gets hot fast, but does nothing but damage my hair. It is breaking and falling out now! It gets so hot that you cannot grab it or use both hands. Now I don't like to straighten it, Id rather leave it wavy. Do not buy this item! I want my money back!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Revlon Smoothstay 1" Titanium Plated Hair Straightener

Dull hair

05/24/2012
By ,
crossville tn
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have been looking for a good inexpensive straightener for a while now. I have the 2" Wet to Straight but it drys out my hair bad. My mom has the Revlon smooth stay 1.5" and I tried it the other day after I had already used my wet to straight. I made my hair silky and smooth and I loved it. So I went yestarday and bought the 1" Smoothstay and used it this morning after my hair dried naturally over night. I have major thick hair and its kinky and wavy. After using this straightener I would not recomend it at all. My hair is fluffy....not the good volume way either its just fluffy. It works great if you use it after another straightener but not on its own. I am returning it today.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Revlon Smoothstay 1" Titanium Plated Hair Straightener

BURNED MY HAIR OFF!!!!

02/26/2013
By ,
MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this straightener for about 6 months. At first I will admit I loved this product. I would straighten my hair and it would glide through smoothly. Did not burn my hair or cause any kind of problem. Today I went to straighten my hair and on one of my last passes I smelt a strange smell. When I looked at the straightener it had burned off a chunk of my bangs. I now have a small section of hair that is about a 1/4" from my scalp. My hair was completely dry and I ALWAYS use a heat protectant when straightening my hair. The straightener over heated.... It was to the point that it burnt the area that I placed it down on 5 seconds after trying to fix my horribly burnt hair. As much as I love REVLON products. This one I highly suggest NOT buying!!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Revlon Smoothstay 1" Titanium Plated Hair Straightener

The Compact is Worth More Than the Straightener

06/27/2013
By ,
Pikeville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This straightener is, for lack of a better word, junk. It doesn't even come close to getting hot enough. It feels hot to the touch, and even kind of feels hot when you first apply it to your hair, but instantly seems cooler. Even with running it through my hair for an hour it didn't get the job done...what it did straighten instantly waved. Although cheap, it still isn't worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Revlon Smoothstay 1" Titanium Plated Hair Straightener

Great Flat Iron

07/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have semi thick but fine African American hair. I've had this straightener for about 2 years now and it never fails to keep the natural shine of my hair and get it straight! Now it doesn't get it all the way bone straight but it does the job. I believe that the products you use in your hair also contribute to how your hair looks and feels after washing, blow drying and straightening it. Overall this product does the job well even at its inexpensive price.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Revlon Smoothstay 1" Titanium Plated Hair Straightener

Worst straightener Ever

08/04/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I haven't even had this 6 months and one of the plates has a lump on it where it looks like stuff got under the coating and it ended up burning my hair. I have tried two of these and they do not work well and do not last long at all. I have wavy hair but I still straighten it because it gets poofy and frizzy and this couldn't even handle that. Worst straightener ever used!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Revlon Smoothstay 1" Titanium Plated Hair Straightener

eh

01/25/2014
By ,
Oregon
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have medium/thick, wavy hair, and while it would mostly straighten it, I'd look in the mirror in a few hours and it was wavy again. Doesn't keep it straight, and isn't worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Revlon Smoothstay 1" Titanium Plated Hair Straightener

Waste of money

01/02/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this since summer and today I plugged it in like I normally do...smelt something funny after 15 minutes of turning it on only to find it this hair straightener stopped working! The outside got too hot to where there's no place for you to hold at tip of straightener.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Revlon Smoothstay 1" Titanium Plated Hair Straightener

TERRIBLE!!!!

06/02/2013
By ,
Newark, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst flat iron ever. I have super fine, thin, permed hair. All this does is make my hair SUPER frizzy and it takes forever to straighten my hair. DO NOT BUY THIS!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Revlon Smoothstay 1" Titanium Plated Hair Straightener

works with fine hair not THICK AND WAVY

07/13/2013
By ,
Pittsburg, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works great with thin hair that has little curl. So if you have THICK WAVY HAIR OBVIOUSLY DO NOT BUY THE PRODUCT.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Revlon Smoothstay 1" Titanium Plated Hair Straightener

Great Straightener

05/28/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This straightener got my hair straighter and smoother in less time than my $150 straightener. I'm very pleased with the results with this iron.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Revlon Smoothstay 1" Titanium Plated Hair Straightener

Not Too Bad

06/23/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this for a year, and when I first got it I thought it was wonderful! It works pretty good, but unfortunately it can never really get the ends of my hair 'bone' straight. Another bad thing is that the heat dial is right on the inside, so I always end up bumping it and turning the heat setting on accident. My friend has the same one, and she loves it though! It does its job, and that's all that's important I guess!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
rhode island
so mad!!!
Posted 02/04/2014
this is by far the worst product i have ever purchased from walmart! i have had it one day and absolutely hate it!!!! its junk i have bought cheaper straighteners that put this one to shame. so unsatisfied!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)