Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Kingsford Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Kingsford Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

The 30" Kingsford barbeque grill provides an 820-square-inch total cooking area with 24-burger capacity. The charcoal grill features porcelain-coated, cast-iron cooking grates, metal shelves on the front and side, and a wire rack for storage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.491 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(112 Reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
77
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation92%103 out of 112reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 64 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
77
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Excellent BBQ Grill

01/18/2013
By ,
Middleburg, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not be more pleased with this grill. It is everything I expected.
Pros:
1. adjustable height suspended fire tray
2. extremely large grilling area
3. 4 separate removable grills make up the grilling area - means you can use all 4 at once, or just one
4. easy to move around the patio
5. the 2 exterior trays are steel, instead of wood
6. vents at both ends of the bottom barrel
7. temperature gauge - a must!
Cons:
1. Ease of construction, not - OMG, there was not one part of this grill that came assembled. I spent some serious hours getting this thing put together. It is not for the faint of heart! But, because of the amount of money I spent on this grill, and the fact that I wanted it to last me a long time, I followed the instructions to the T. I really took my time trying to make sure I did everything right. Also, make sure that you allow for a very large work area for assembling the grill, as I highly recommend that you lay all the parts out before attempting to assemble the grill. AND, do READ the instructions first before assembling.
2. Removable chrome warming tray. Doesn't really seem to fit as it should. I mean it works fine, but has a tendency to sometimes come loose. Not a big deal to me, as I seldom if ever use these things in any of my grills. I am not a fan of these things to start with. I have not used the one that came with this grill.
3. Has the look of a heavy gauge steel grill/smoker, but it is not. I thought it would be a much thicker steel gauge, but in reality, it is not different (except in color) from any other portable patio grill.
Accessories I purchased at Walmart at the time I purchased my grill:
1. 1 vinyl grill cover - cost = $10.00
2. 2 non-stick BBQ griddle/grill trays = $10.00/each
I bought this grill on-line from Walmart. This is January, so there were none on hand in the store, none that I could visually inspect before purchase. I bought it sight-unseen, based upon the reviews from other buyers that had posted comments & other on-line research I did on the grill. I knew before I received the grill that I was in for a struggle in assembling the grill, so I was not surprised when I put mine together. Get past the assembly, and you will not be disappointed with this grill. I really like it, and could not be happier with it. I uploaded 2 photos that I took immediately after complete assembly, but before I seasoned it with the first fire.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Kingsford 820 Sq inch Barrel Grill #6

05/28/2012
By ,
Northern Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked at it first at the store to make a comparison. After a careful review, I considered it and purchased it and found it easy to assemble. It exceeded my expectations on ease of use and the food was absolutely delicious. Cleanup was a snap. I am pleased about the price and the quality of this product. The only small downside was that some of the paint came off in a very small part of the BBQ, but that was easy to fix with BBQ high heat paint and looks new again. Overall, this grill is perfect for a tight budget and providing what you need and it takes up little space. I would recommend this grill to anyone on a budget and still get a "quality" product. The temperature got up to over 800 degrees and then cooled to 400 degrees after the coals settled down and the food cooked to perfection. No fuss no muss, and a great buy..Thanks Kingsford and Walmart!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Austin, TX
omg!!! :)
Posted 05/12/2014
Love your pic of your "next grill" :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

All I can say is, this grill cooks very NICE!!

06/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just brought this grill in June 2014 for Father's Day and my husband can't stay off of it. I really like how durable the cast iron cooking grates are and how well the food cooks on them; the entire grill is strong/durable. It also gives the food a good smoked bar-b-que taste. As for putting it together...well, you really have to follow the directions exact or you could find yourself taking everything apart and putting it back together again. Only a couple of the parts were a little confusing but, we quickly figured it out. It really wasn't as difficult putting it together, as we actually made it ourselves. However, the lid is slightly off track (manufacture error) but, it's a minor distortion and it didn't take away from the quality of how the food taste or how the charcoals burned...it's just a popping sound whenever we open/close the lid. And we were not about to take that entire thing apart again just to return it for that small concern - for all of that work, we can live with it. Other than that, it was reasonably priced, ready for pick up at the correct scheduled time it was supposed to have been, the C/S Reps were very professional and helpful at the time of pick up and overall...everything was good! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Very happy with this purchase!

04/10/2012
By ,
El Paso,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I prefer charcoal grills and this is the first big one that we've purchased. We love it! It is way bigger than we anticipated and assembling it wasn't very difficult, it took us about an hour and a half. We used it for the first time this past Easter weekend and we fit so much food on it at one time. We got tons of compliments on it and one of my friends loved it so much she went out the same night and bought one too. It looks great, my husband didn't believe I only spend 100 dollars on it. We almost bought a grill at a home improvement store for almost twice the price. Definitely worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

great grill

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to put together,took us an hour & half to get it together. cooks great.fixed some ny strip steaks on it,cooked them 15 minutes on each side,meat never stuck & no flare ups. even cooked breakfast on it.came out great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Great Grill

03/26/2012
By ,
Biloxi, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my son and he was thrilled with it. Easy to assemble and perfect. Larger than I thought it would be and that was a pleasant surprise. Great product and would recommend to all!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Grill exceeded expectations - BUT Check all parts!

06/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great grill - especially at the price! I like that you can lower & raise the charcoal easily without getting burned. Nothing sticks to the grates! Appears to be a good, sturdy grill that should last several years if maintained properly.
*** Word of caution - inspect all pieces before beginning to put it together. My husband left the lid in the box because installing it was one of the last steps. After the whole thing was put together, the lid had a huge dent in the side (from shipping I assume). We don't have a vehicle large enough to return it put together and did not want to spend all that time taking it apart. We are living with the dent :(, but it does not affect the use of the grill. Would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Nice Grill at a Even Better Price!

06/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this grill last night and decided to wait until this afternoon to assemble it. I put this together with my 3 year old son holding the wrenches all in metric. We completed the grill in 3 and half hours thanks to well written instructions and nicely laid out bolt and nut package (great layout fool proof). I am at the end of "seasoning" the grill at the moment everything is nice and tight on the grill no wobble or pops, it's nice to assemble your own grill first one for me" feels like a 200.00 grill. Tonight, will be Chedder and Bacon Burgers with Ears of BBQ Corn with a light smoke...can't wait. Don't wait to buy and pick up a cover. Keith
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Great grill

03/16/2012
By ,
Van Nuys, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a 370 lb off-set smoker and I was in need of a charcoal grill. This Kingsford barrel grill looks just like some other "Home Improvement" grills that sell for a hundred bucks more so I took the chance. I am very glad I did. The assembly is very easy and can be assembled by one person if you can't find a helper. Since I have had this huge off-set made out of 1/4 inch steel, I was a little surprised at the thin metal this grill is constructed with. The adjustable charcoal grate though is what will take all the abuse and if you dump the ashes out the next day and keep the grill covered it should last a long time,so the thinner metal is not an issue. When the aah tray is out for cleaning take some paper towels and wipe up excess grease that will build up in the bottom of the barrel. This way if a stray pc of coal happens to fall into the bottom of the barrel you will not have a grease fire. The lid is not airtight but it fits flush on all sides. The room this grill offers is real nice. This bad-boy can hold a bunch of grub. Another big plus is the lid has a stainless steel handle and the front and side shelves are metal. The grills I looked at that were 100 bucks more had the handles and shelves made out of wood. Thermometer is not terribly accurate but this is a grill. If you plan on cooking indirect you might want to grab a better thermometer and replace the original one because temps will become more crucial when cooking indirect. Holding steady temps when slo cooking will become a challenge because this grill is not air-tight but come on...it's a grill and it's under 100 bucks!!
This is the grill I have been looking for. It is easy to move around the patio. The cast iron cooking grates offer a bunch of cooking space and this grill just looks good!! If you are looking for a nice charcoal grill and you don't want to break the bank you should grab one of these..you will be very pleased and have a grill you will look forward to using.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+97points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Good value

06/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this grill for $98.88 and it does a great job for the price. I wasn't looking to spend a lot and was surprised at how heavy duty it was at this price point.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

The Real Deal BBQ

02/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was glad to finally get my hands on this grill. I had seen one on vacation last year but my Walmart store didn't carry it before. Now they do.
The barrel design is the original true BBQ pit design. More great barbeque has come off a barrel grill than any other grill on the planet. I have done the basics (Burgers and Chicken) and it has been great. This weekend going to do some indirect cooking. I've got some babybacks for the super bowl.
Getting one for my brother this spring!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+92points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

an awesome choice for a grill

03/29/2014
By ,
Shorewood, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this grill a little on the iffy side. I was really pleased with it upon completion of putting it together. Sturdy and solid. I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Great barbecue grill

03/28/2014
By ,
Crystal Springs, ms.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
( 1) easy to assemble. (2) good-sized . (3 ) the way you can raise or lower the heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Great grill for the $

05/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been pricing similar grills and this was the best buy that I found.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Big Grill - Tedious Assembly

07/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The grill is great and functions as it should. It did arrive a tad banged up and dented (I noticed when un-packaging). This was a challenging assembly for me in part due to some of the vague instructions and improvising on some of the required tools. Even my electric screwdriver did not speed up the assembly process. It took me approximately 3.5 hours to put together. It may go faster if two people perform assembly together (as instructions suggest).
It doesn't seem as heavy duty as it appears, but it is a nice looking grill, it is a really large grill (for those with a balcony or small deck, you'd want to consider a smaller version).
Finally, if you assemble the grill in the house, like I did - make sure you can get it out the door after assembly. I did end up having to take it apart to move it outside. That was an oversight on my part.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

A very nice grill

03/19/2012
By ,
Ms.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I just purchased this grill. It did take him a whole morning to put it together by himself. It's larger than what we're use to so will have to experiment with it. Have grill hamburgers and skirt steak and they did real well. Love the cast iron grates. A little more work to empty the ashes but well worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Quite satisfied!

07/05/2012
By ,
Wilson, N.C.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this particular grill after much deliberation and shopping around. There were 4 units (all pre-assembled) at my local store and all but the inside display unit had a dent or a ding, but the head guy on duty at the garden center graciously allowed me to have the one inside. I have a strong mechanical background and I knew up-front what I was purchasing. This is not a "professional" grade cooker. it is very simple in design, made of relatively light materials, but I am very confident that I can get quite a long service life out of it. I already plan to add a bar across the front (under the shelf) with "s" hooks on it to hang grilling tools, a paper towel roll hanger under the side shelf. The first thing I did when I got it home was to "season" the grill.i first coated the entire unit, inside and out with olive oil , olive oil doesn't go rancid and will prevent rust as well as provide a good seasoning to the cast surfaces. I fired approx. 2 lbs. of Kingsford coal in my chimney ( I NEVER use lighter fluid) and spread it evenly in the coal pan. This brought the temp. up to 400 deg.peak then I just let it burn out. Next day I cooked on it for the first time. 2 small prk loins, a 10" x 12" dish of potatoes and 4 ears of corn. The unit held the temp. pretty well, I will have to learn how it likes the dampers adjusted for optimum efficiency, it took about 4 lbs. of coal and 2 i/2 hours for this meal and itcame out very good. I did discover that when I need only 1/2 or 3/4 of the cooking surface, I will wrap the unused cooking grates(the one(s)) directly under the chimney stack with heavy duty aluminum foil thereby creating a more efficient convection of heat where needed. So far very pleased, only 4 stars because the 5 star rating denotes excellence and that is very rare. I am happy so far!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Great so far!

04/02/2012
By ,
Rantoul, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for an affordable grill that wasn't a tiny little grill. So far this grill is amazing and cooks food quick! a lot of space so I can cook large quantities so I don't have to cook all week. A busy girl appreciates that!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

it's worth it

08/08/2012
By ,
Canton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been looking for a grill with cast iron grates for awhile. I was tired of buying grills with cheap wire grates rusting after two cookouts. After reading the reviews about all the dings, dents and cheap materials of this grill I was hesitant about buying it. But after buying it I can honestly say I was very pleased with it.
It was packaged with care. Each item was protected in it's own plastic bag. Nuts and bolts are on a bubble pack cardboard, clearly marked. There were cardboard spacers to keep everything tight in the box. I had no dents or scrapes on the paint. Everything is painted, even the nuts and bolts. Every hole lined up perfectly and the lid is of quality heavy metal and fits the bottom barrel squarely and tightly. The lid is heavy when fully assembled. The instructions are drawn out clearly. You must assemble and FINGER TIGHTEN the bolts of the base and bottom barrel on a FLAT surface (not on the grass or gravel driveway) and THEN tool tighten them in order for the lid to fit properly. Assembly took me about 2 hrs.
I seasoned the cooking grates by coating them with Crisco shortening (not wesson oil) and baked them in my oven on 350* for an hour. The idea is to create a varnish-like glaze on them so they don't rust and food wont stick. Use a brass brush to clean them, not a steel brush. I also seasoned the inside of the grill as per their instructions. I bought a cover for it at H.D. for less than $17.
Over all : this grill is less than $100. and worth every penny. It's well made, well packaged and Kingsford should be commended for it. And thank you Walmart for selling it at a great price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
seasoning
Posted 04/07/2013
doesn't this grill have porcelain coated cooking grates? i'm not sure why you would need to season them as they're not bare cast iron.. the only problem with porcelain coated ones is you have to be careful in cleaning them and not using metal utensils because if you chip it, then it will rust from the inside out.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

ready for summer

03/24/2014
By ,
indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently bought this grill. It was easy to assemble, instructions in English or spanish. It took about an hour to put together. I used it the next day an the food came out good . Its a sturdy grill, i like the thermostat to indicate the temp. I would recommend this to a friend . Good value for your money. ...hope to use it for some years to come. ..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 103 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next