Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Kingsford Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Kingsford Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

The 30" Kingsford barbeque grill provides an 820-square-inch total cooking area with 24-burger capacity. The charcoal grill features porcelain-coated, cast-iron cooking grates, metal shelves on the front and side, and a wire rack for storage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.468 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation91%72 out of 79reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 49 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Excellent BBQ Grill

01/18/2013
By ,
Middleburg, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not be more pleased with this grill. It is everything I expected.
Pros:
1. adjustable height suspended fire tray
2. extremely large grilling area
3. 4 separate removable grills make up the grilling area - means you can use all 4 at once, or just one
4. easy to move around the patio
5. the 2 exterior trays are steel, instead of wood
6. vents at both ends of the bottom barrel
7. temperature gauge - a must!
Cons:
1. Ease of construction, not - OMG, there was not one part of this grill that came assembled. I spent some serious hours getting this thing put together. It is not for the faint of heart! But, because of the amount of money I spent on this grill, and the fact that I wanted it to last me a long time, I followed the instructions to the T. I really took my time trying to make sure I did everything right. Also, make sure that you allow for a very large work area for assembling the grill, as I highly recommend that you lay all the parts out before attempting to assemble the grill. AND, do READ the instructions first before assembling.
2. Removable chrome warming tray. Doesn't really seem to fit as it should. I mean it works fine, but has a tendency to sometimes come loose. Not a big deal to me, as I seldom if ever use these things in any of my grills. I am not a fan of these things to start with. I have not used the one that came with this grill.
3. Has the look of a heavy gauge steel grill/smoker, but it is not. I thought it would be a much thicker steel gauge, but in reality, it is not different (except in color) from any other portable patio grill.
Accessories I purchased at Walmart at the time I purchased my grill:
1. 1 vinyl grill cover - cost = $10.00
2. 2 non-stick BBQ griddle/grill trays = $10.00/each
I bought this grill on-line from Walmart. This is January, so there were none on hand in the store, none that I could visually inspect before purchase. I bought it sight-unseen, based upon the reviews from other buyers that had posted comments & other on-line research I did on the grill. I knew before I received the grill that I was in for a struggle in assembling the grill, so I was not surprised when I put mine together. Get past the assembly, and you will not be disappointed with this grill. I really like it, and could not be happier with it. I uploaded 2 photos that I took immediately after complete assembly, but before I seasoned it with the first fire.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Kingsford 820 Sq inch Barrel Grill #6

05/28/2012
By ,
Northern Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked at it first at the store to make a comparison. After a careful review, I considered it and purchased it and found it easy to assemble. It exceeded my expectations on ease of use and the food was absolutely delicious. Cleanup was a snap. I am pleased about the price and the quality of this product. The only small downside was that some of the paint came off in a very small part of the BBQ, but that was easy to fix with BBQ high heat paint and looks new again. Overall, this grill is perfect for a tight budget and providing what you need and it takes up little space. I would recommend this grill to anyone on a budget and still get a "quality" product. The temperature got up to over 800 degrees and then cooled to 400 degrees after the coals settled down and the food cooked to perfection. No fuss no muss, and a great buy..Thanks Kingsford and Walmart!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

great grill

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to put together,took us an hour & half to get it together. cooks great.fixed some ny strip steaks on it,cooked them 15 minutes on each side,meat never stuck & no flare ups. even cooked breakfast on it.came out great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

an awesome choice for a grill

03/29/2014
By ,
Shorewood, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this grill a little on the iffy side. I was really pleased with it upon completion of putting it together. Sturdy and solid. I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Great barbecue grill

03/28/2014
By ,
Crystal Springs, ms.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
( 1) easy to assemble. (2) good-sized . (3 ) the way you can raise or lower the heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Instructions are wrong

04/08/2014
By ,
Houston, TX, gift for Door Co WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took 2 people 4 hours to assemble because the instructions were horrible. Parts were labeled wrong in their packages but correct in manual. steps are missing in manual. It's a guessing game.
But the guys really love this grill. Only one tiny ding in lid. The wire hanger for the drip cup is useless. May need to bend it differently.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Very happy with this purchase!

04/10/2012
By ,
El Paso,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I prefer charcoal grills and this is the first big one that we've purchased. We love it! It is way bigger than we anticipated and assembling it wasn't very difficult, it took us about an hour and a half. We used it for the first time this past Easter weekend and we fit so much food on it at one time. We got tons of compliments on it and one of my friends loved it so much she went out the same night and bought one too. It looks great, my husband didn't believe I only spend 100 dollars on it. We almost bought a grill at a home improvement store for almost twice the price. Definitely worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

ready for summer

03/24/2014
By ,
indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently bought this grill. It was easy to assemble, instructions in English or spanish. It took about an hour to put together. I used it the next day an the food came out good . Its a sturdy grill, i like the thermostat to indicate the temp. I would recommend this to a friend . Good value for your money. ...hope to use it for some years to come. ..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

this is a good grill for the price

04/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchase this grill 2 weeks ago it cooks super fast I would recomended thank you walmart for this item good price too
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Great for Grilling

03/21/2014
By ,
Corpus Christi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although there were many parts to put together, it wasn't difficult.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Damge product missing screws

04/21/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
wow
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

barrel grill

03/15/2014
By ,
greensboro, .ga.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was a little disappointed in weight of the metal that the grill is made of. It's a little flimsy compared to the grills I have had in the past. But , I cooked a turkey on it today and it cooks great. For the price, it's a great grill. I just hope it lasts for couple of years at least!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

I love this grill

04/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grill is easy to put together for you DIY people. Burns great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Great grill

04/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my son and his family. They love it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Not so good

04/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The charcole support broke very first time I loaded the with charcole. Caused me lot of trouble. Assembly instruction was very poor.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Great Grill

03/26/2012
By ,
Biloxi, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my son and he was thrilled with it. Easy to assemble and perfect. Larger than I thought it would be and that was a pleasant surprise. Great product and would recommend to all!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Great grill

03/16/2012
By ,
Van Nuys, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a 370 lb off-set smoker and I was in need of a charcoal grill. This Kingsford barrel grill looks just like some other "Home Improvement" grills that sell for a hundred bucks more so I took the chance. I am very glad I did. The assembly is very easy and can be assembled by one person if you can't find a helper. Since I have had this huge off-set made out of 1/4 inch steel, I was a little surprised at the thin metal this grill is constructed with. The adjustable charcoal grate though is what will take all the abuse and if you dump the ashes out the next day and keep the grill covered it should last a long time,so the thinner metal is not an issue. When the aah tray is out for cleaning take some paper towels and wipe up excess grease that will build up in the bottom of the barrel. This way if a stray pc of coal happens to fall into the bottom of the barrel you will not have a grease fire. The lid is not airtight but it fits flush on all sides. The room this grill offers is real nice. This bad-boy can hold a bunch of grub. Another big plus is the lid has a stainless steel handle and the front and side shelves are metal. The grills I looked at that were 100 bucks more had the handles and shelves made out of wood. Thermometer is not terribly accurate but this is a grill. If you plan on cooking indirect you might want to grab a better thermometer and replace the original one because temps will become more crucial when cooking indirect. Holding steady temps when slo cooking will become a challenge because this grill is not air-tight but come on...it's a grill and it's under 100 bucks!!
This is the grill I have been looking for. It is easy to move around the patio. The cast iron cooking grates offer a bunch of cooking space and this grill just looks good!! If you are looking for a nice charcoal grill and you don't want to break the bank you should grab one of these..you will be very pleased and have a grill you will look forward to using.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+95points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

The Real Deal BBQ

02/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was glad to finally get my hands on this grill. I had seen one on vacation last year but my Walmart store didn't carry it before. Now they do.
The barrel design is the original true BBQ pit design. More great barbeque has come off a barrel grill than any other grill on the planet. I have done the basics (Burgers and Chicken) and it has been great. This weekend going to do some indirect cooking. I've got some babybacks for the super bowl.
Getting one for my brother this spring!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+92points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

So far.....

03/27/2014
By ,
San Jose, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the BBQ but a bit difficult to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

My New Grill

03/20/2014
By ,
Chicago, ILL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yhis is one the best purches I have made I most definite reconmend to my friend
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next