Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Kingsford Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kingsford Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

The 30" Kingsford barbeque grill provides an 820-square-inch total cooking area with 24-burger capacity. The charcoal grill features porcelain-coated, cast-iron cooking grates, metal shelves on the front and side, and a wire rack for storage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.491 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(112 Reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
77
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation92%103 out of 112reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
77
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Excellent BBQ Grill

01/18/2013
By ,
Middleburg, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not be more pleased with this grill. It is everything I expected.
Pros:
1. adjustable height suspended fire tray
2. extremely large grilling area
3. 4 separate removable grills make up the grilling area - means you can use all 4 at once, or just one
4. easy to move around the patio
5. the 2 exterior trays are steel, instead of wood
6. vents at both ends of the bottom barrel
7. temperature gauge - a must!
Cons:
1. Ease of construction, not - OMG, there was not one part of this grill that came assembled. I spent some serious hours getting this thing put together. It is not for the faint of heart! But, because of the amount of money I spent on this grill, and the fact that I wanted it to last me a long time, I followed the instructions to the T. I really took my time trying to make sure I did everything right. Also, make sure that you allow for a very large work area for assembling the grill, as I highly recommend that you lay all the parts out before attempting to assemble the grill. AND, do READ the instructions first before assembling.
2. Removable chrome warming tray. Doesn't really seem to fit as it should. I mean it works fine, but has a tendency to sometimes come loose. Not a big deal to me, as I seldom if ever use these things in any of my grills. I am not a fan of these things to start with. I have not used the one that came with this grill.
3. Has the look of a heavy gauge steel grill/smoker, but it is not. I thought it would be a much thicker steel gauge, but in reality, it is not different (except in color) from any other portable patio grill.
Accessories I purchased at Walmart at the time I purchased my grill:
1. 1 vinyl grill cover - cost = $10.00
2. 2 non-stick BBQ griddle/grill trays = $10.00/each
I bought this grill on-line from Walmart. This is January, so there were none on hand in the store, none that I could visually inspect before purchase. I bought it sight-unseen, based upon the reviews from other buyers that had posted comments & other on-line research I did on the grill. I knew before I received the grill that I was in for a struggle in assembling the grill, so I was not surprised when I put mine together. Get past the assembly, and you will not be disappointed with this grill. I really like it, and could not be happier with it. I uploaded 2 photos that I took immediately after complete assembly, but before I seasoned it with the first fire.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Review 2 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Kingsford 820 Sq inch Barrel Grill #6

05/28/2012
By ,
Northern Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked at it first at the store to make a comparison. After a careful review, I considered it and purchased it and found it easy to assemble. It exceeded my expectations on ease of use and the food was absolutely delicious. Cleanup was a snap. I am pleased about the price and the quality of this product. The only small downside was that some of the paint came off in a very small part of the BBQ, but that was easy to fix with BBQ high heat paint and looks new again. Overall, this grill is perfect for a tight budget and providing what you need and it takes up little space. I would recommend this grill to anyone on a budget and still get a "quality" product. The temperature got up to over 800 degrees and then cooled to 400 degrees after the coals settled down and the food cooked to perfection. No fuss no muss, and a great buy..Thanks Kingsford and Walmart!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Austin, TX
omg!!! :)
Posted 05/12/2014
Love your pic of your "next grill" :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

All I can say is, this grill cooks very NICE!!

06/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just brought this grill in June 2014 for Father's Day and my husband can't stay off of it. I really like how durable the cast iron cooking grates are and how well the food cooks on them; the entire grill is strong/durable. It also gives the food a good smoked bar-b-que taste. As for putting it together...well, you really have to follow the directions exact or you could find yourself taking everything apart and putting it back together again. Only a couple of the parts were a little confusing but, we quickly figured it out. It really wasn't as difficult putting it together, as we actually made it ourselves. However, the lid is slightly off track (manufacture error) but, it's a minor distortion and it didn't take away from the quality of how the food taste or how the charcoals burned...it's just a popping sound whenever we open/close the lid. And we were not about to take that entire thing apart again just to return it for that small concern - for all of that work, we can live with it. Other than that, it was reasonably priced, ready for pick up at the correct scheduled time it was supposed to have been, the C/S Reps were very professional and helpful at the time of pick up and overall...everything was good! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 4 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Grill exceeded expectations - BUT Check all parts!

06/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great grill - especially at the price! I like that you can lower & raise the charcoal easily without getting burned. Nothing sticks to the grates! Appears to be a good, sturdy grill that should last several years if maintained properly.
*** Word of caution - inspect all pieces before beginning to put it together. My husband left the lid in the box because installing it was one of the last steps. After the whole thing was put together, the lid had a huge dent in the side (from shipping I assume). We don't have a vehicle large enough to return it put together and did not want to spend all that time taking it apart. We are living with the dent :(, but it does not affect the use of the grill. Would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 5 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Nice Grill at a Even Better Price!

06/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this grill last night and decided to wait until this afternoon to assemble it. I put this together with my 3 year old son holding the wrenches all in metric. We completed the grill in 3 and half hours thanks to well written instructions and nicely laid out bolt and nut package (great layout fool proof). I am at the end of "seasoning" the grill at the moment everything is nice and tight on the grill no wobble or pops, it's nice to assemble your own grill first one for me" feels like a 200.00 grill. Tonight, will be Chedder and Bacon Burgers with Ears of BBQ Corn with a light smoke...can't wait. Don't wait to buy and pick up a cover. Keith
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 6 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Good value

06/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this grill for $98.88 and it does a great job for the price. I wasn't looking to spend a lot and was surprised at how heavy duty it was at this price point.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 7 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Big Grill - Tedious Assembly

07/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The grill is great and functions as it should. It did arrive a tad banged up and dented (I noticed when un-packaging). This was a challenging assembly for me in part due to some of the vague instructions and improvising on some of the required tools. Even my electric screwdriver did not speed up the assembly process. It took me approximately 3.5 hours to put together. It may go faster if two people perform assembly together (as instructions suggest).
It doesn't seem as heavy duty as it appears, but it is a nice looking grill, it is a really large grill (for those with a balcony or small deck, you'd want to consider a smaller version).
Finally, if you assemble the grill in the house, like I did - make sure you can get it out the door after assembly. I did end up having to take it apart to move it outside. That was an oversight on my part.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 8 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

great grill

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to put together,took us an hour & half to get it together. cooks great.fixed some ny strip steaks on it,cooked them 15 minutes on each side,meat never stuck & no flare ups. even cooked breakfast on it.came out great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Review 9 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Great grill for the $

05/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been pricing similar grills and this was the best buy that I found.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 10 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

an awesome choice for a grill

03/29/2014
By ,
Shorewood, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this grill a little on the iffy side. I was really pleased with it upon completion of putting it together. Sturdy and solid. I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Review 11 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Very happy with this purchase!

04/10/2012
By ,
El Paso,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I prefer charcoal grills and this is the first big one that we've purchased. We love it! It is way bigger than we anticipated and assembling it wasn't very difficult, it took us about an hour and a half. We used it for the first time this past Easter weekend and we fit so much food on it at one time. We got tons of compliments on it and one of my friends loved it so much she went out the same night and bought one too. It looks great, my husband didn't believe I only spend 100 dollars on it. We almost bought a grill at a home improvement store for almost twice the price. Definitely worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+55points
Review 12 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Great barbecue grill

03/28/2014
By ,
Crystal Springs, ms.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
( 1) easy to assemble. (2) good-sized . (3 ) the way you can raise or lower the heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 13 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Great grill for the price!

06/30/2014
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband prefers to charcoal grill and this fits the bill! It is a exceptional value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 14 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Great!

06/27/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This grill is really nice. Easy to put together. Only think I don't really like is the grate you cook on is 4 separate cast iron pieces...otherwise I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 15 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

poor directions

06/24/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great deal; but no directions on how to regulate heat or adjust the temperature. I've used a weber for 20+ years, the instructions give no information on how to operate the grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 16 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Great for charcoal grilling.

07/10/2014
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent deal due to clearance pricing, but it was what I was looking for even for a few dollars more. It was easy to put together without assistance in about an hour, taking my time. It seems good and solid, and my first use resulted in excellent food. It was also delivered free.
I wish the height adjustment for the coals were different, with a more convenient controller, and I wish the holder for the coals were a little different, maybe slightly larger so that coals could not fall underneath if I'm not careful, but they both work.
It's not perfect, but it is a fantastic grill for an excellent price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Review 17 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Best. Grill. Ever.

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this grill for my dad for Father's Day and he absolutely loves it. Great grill. Great food!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 18 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Great Grill

03/26/2012
By ,
Biloxi, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my son and he was thrilled with it. Easy to assemble and perfect. Larger than I thought it would be and that was a pleasant surprise. Great product and would recommend to all!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+37points
Review 19 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

Great grill for the price, but...

07/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for the price, but after picking up following assembly, I know there are going to be durability issues in the future with the handle that lowers the charcoal rack and ash pan
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill

The grill was great and really big.

07/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The grill was great and really big. We used it for a July 4th family get together
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 103 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next